A A A

Bibliometric analysis of research grants

The evaluation of the research grants program included two bibliometric analyses.  Five bibliometric indicators of scientific performance were measured: number of papers, average of relative citations (ARC), number of papers in the 5% most cited papers, average of relative impact factors (ARIF), and specialization index (SI). These studies have generated a wealth of information pertaining to the scientific output and impact of the research grants program, which has informed CCS decisions regarding future program design.

Phase I

The first analysis quantified the scientific output of researchers who received an NCIC research grant between 1994-2006 (includes Canadian Cancer Society and Terry Fox Foundation funding). The output of researchers receiving funding through the NCIC was also benchmarked against Canadian researchers as a whole and those funded by the National Cancer Institute (US).

Key findings:
  • Researchers funded through the NCIC authored nearly half of all Canadian papers published in cancer-related journals.
  • Papers published by researchers funded through the NCIC had a higher scientific impact than papers published by other Canadian researchers.
  • Researchers funded through the NCIC produced, on average, nearly as many papers annually as NCI researchers despite receiving about five times less funding per researcher.
  • Researchers were more productive while receiving funding through the NCIC than when not receiving funding through the NCIC.
  • Papers published by researchers while receiving funding through the NCIC had a higher scientific impact than when not receiving funding through the NCIC.

Phase II

The second analysis quantified the scientific production of researchers who received individual research grants (funded by Canadian Cancer Society only) between 1994-2006 while they were receiving funding and not receiving funding and compared their scientific production to Canadian researchers as a whole. Additionally, it provided a comparative analysis between a group of researchers who received individual research grants and another group that received team research grants (includes Canadian Cancer Society and Terry Fox Foundation funding).

Key findings:
  • Papers published by Canadian Cancer Society supported researchers had a higher scientific impact than papers published by other Canadian researchers.
  • Papers published by Canadian Cancer Society supported researchers had a higher scientific impact while they were receiving Canadian Cancer Society funding than when they were not receiving Canadian Cancer Society funding.
  • Canadian Cancer Society supported researchers published 33% of the Canadian papers within the subfield of cancer research.
  • Canadian Cancer Society supported researchers were more productive while receiving funding from the Canadian Cancer Society than when not receiving Canadian Cancer Society funding.
  • Researchers who received team research grants were more productive and their published papers had higher scientific impact than researchers who received individual research grants.

Last modified on: October 13, 2017

Analyse bibliométrique des subventions de recherche

L’évaluation du programme de subventions de recherche comprend deux analyses bibliométriques. Cinq indicateurs bibliométriques de la performance scientifique ont été mesurés : le nombre d’articles, la moyenne des citations relatives (MCR), le nombre d’articles dans les 5 % d’articles les plus cités, la moyenne des facteurs d’impact relatifs (MFIR) et l’indice de spécialisation (IS). Ces études ont généré tout un éventail de renseignements sur la production scientifique et sur l’impact du programme de subventions de recherche. La SCC a mis à profit ces renseignements lors des décisions concernant l’avenir du programme. 

Phase I

La première analyse a quantifié les données scientifiques produites par les chercheurs ayant bénéficié d’une subvention de recherche de l’Institut national du cancer du Canada (INCC) entre 1994 et 2006 (comprend les subventions accordées par la Société canadienne du cancer et la Fondation Terry Fox). La productivité des chercheurs ayant bénéficié d’une subvention de l’INCC a également été comparée à celle des chercheurs canadiens en général et à celles des chercheurs subventionnés par le National Cancer Institute (NCI) des États‑Unis.

Points saillants
  • Les chercheurs subventionnés par l’INCC sont à l’origine de près de la moitié des articles canadiens parus dans les revues médicales traitant du cancer.
  • Les articles publiés par les chercheurs subventionnés par l’INCC ont eu un impact scientifique plus important que ceux publiés par les autres chercheurs canadiens.
  • Les chercheurs subventionnés par l’INCC ont produit, en moyenne, pratiquement autant d’articles par an que les chercheurs subventionnés par le NCI, bien qu’ils aient bénéficié de subventions d’un montant environ cinq fois moindre par chercheur.
  • Les chercheurs subventionnés par l’INCC ont été plus productifs que ceux qui ne l’ont pas été.
  • Les articles publiés par les chercheurs subventionnés par l’INCC ont eu un impact scientifique plus important que ceux publiés par les chercheurs non subventionnés par l’INCC.

Phase II

La seconde analyse a quantifié la production scientifique des chercheurs ayant bénéficié de subventions de recherche individuelles (accordées par la Société canadienne du cancer uniquement) entre 1994 et 2006, alors qu’ils recevaient des fonds et qu’ils n’en recevaient pas, pour la comparer ensuite à celle des chercheurs canadiens en général. L’analyse a également établi une comparaison entre un groupe de chercheurs ayant bénéficié de subventions de recherche individuelles et un autre groupe ayant bénéficié de subventions de recherche collectives (accordées par la Société canadienne du cancer et la Fondation Terry Fox).

Points saillants
  • Les articles publiés par les chercheurs subventionnés par la Société canadienne du cancer ont eu un impact scientifique plus important que les articles publiés par les autres chercheurs canadiens.
  • Les articles publiés par les chercheurs subventionnés par la Société canadienne du cancer ont eu un impact scientifique plus important lorsque ceux‑ci bénéficiaient des subventions de la Société canadienne du cancer que lorsqu’ils n’en bénéficiaient pas.
  • Les chercheurs subventionnés par la Société canadienne du cancer sont à l’origine de 33 % des articles canadiens parus dans le domaine de la recherche sur le cancer.
  • Les chercheurs subventionnés par la Société canadienne du cancer ont été plus productifs lorsqu’ils bénéficiaient des subventions de la Société que lorsqu’ils n’en bénéficiaient pas.
  • Les chercheurs qui ont bénéficié de subventions de recherche collectives ont été plus productifs et les articles qu’ils ont publiés ont eu un impact scientifique plus important que ceux des chercheurs ayant bénéficié de subventions de recherche individuelles.

Dernière modification le: 22 septembre 2017