A A A

Open Access Policy FAQs

 

What is an open access publication?

An Open Access Publication is one that meets the following two conditions:

  • The author(s) and copyright holder(s) grant(s) to all users a free, irrevocable, worldwide, perpetual right of access to, and a license to use, distribute, transmit and display the work publicly and to make and distribute derivative works, in a digital medium for any responsible purpose, subject to proper attribution of authorship, as well as the right to make small numbers of printed copies for their personal use.
  • A complete version of the work and all supplemental materials, including a copy of the permission as stated above, in a suitable standard electronic format, are deposited immediately upon initial publication in at least one online repository that is supported by an academic institution, scholarly society, government agency, or other well-established organization that seek to enable open access, unrestricted distribution, interoperability, and long term archiving.

The above definition was drawn from the Bethesda Statement on Open Access Publishing established at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute on April 11, 2003.

What is the Canadian Cancer Society’s policy on open access?

The Canadian Cancer Society’s policy of open access is as follows:

Effective July 2013, all researchers supported in whole or in part through the Canadian Cancer Society are required to make their published results of Canadian Cancer Society-supported work publicly available. Researchers are encouraged to make their work publicly available as soon as possible, but must do so no later than twelve months after the final publication date.

Why is the Canadian Cancer Society doing this?

Unrestricted public access to research findings is a crucial part of upholding the values and responsibilities of the Canadian Cancer Society as a transparent granting agency for cancer research. Our grants are funded through donations from the public and we have a responsibility to report back to them and to the public on the results of the research they fund. Also, open access allows for the global dissemination of knowledge and promotes research advancement world-wide, which is crucial to the Canadian Cancer Society’s mission.

My research findings/publications are written for a scientific audience. How will the lay public benefit from access to scientific journal articles? Isn’t this something better served by the media?

The media and other public relations vehicles are one way the Canadian Cancer Society communicates to the public about the research we fund. Providing access to the primary scientific literature is another valuable way we can increase our ability to report back to our donors about the research they have funded. An open access policy also benefits the global research community, facilitating greater knowledge sharing between research and the broader health community.

How do I comply with this policy?

There are several ways to comply with the Canadian Cancer Society open access policy:
  • Publish your article in an open access journal that will make articles immediately and freely available on the publisher’s website.
  • Publish in any journal that allows for a copy of the final, peer-reviewed manuscript to be deposited into a freely accessibly, digital archive.
  • Publish in any journal that allows for the article to be made available on the researcher’s personal and/or institutional website.

The Public Library of Science (PLoS) is an example of an open access journal that allows for all publications to be immediately and freely available online.

It is important to note that the Canadian Cancer Society appreciates the importance of publishing research results in the most widely read and respected scientific journals. In no way is this policy designed to compromise the ability of any researcher supported through the Canadian Cancer Society to publish in these journals.

What is PubMed Central?

PubMed Central is a free digital archive of full-text biomedical and life science journal articles, developed and maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed central seeks to preserve and maintain unrestricted access to electronic literature. More information about PubMed Central can be found at: http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/about/faq.html

For a list of journals that automatically deposit articles in PubMed Central visit http://publicaccess.nih.gov/submit_process_journals.htm.

What types of papers does this policy apply to?

The Canadian Cancer Society policy of open access applies to all publications that have resulted from support provided by the Canadian Cancer Society. Support may be in the form of a research grant, a program project grant, a major program grant or a personnel award. In each case it is the responsibility of the grantee or awardee to ensure their research findings are published in accordance with this policy.

Will I need to make my previously published, Canadian Cancer Society-supported papers available?

This policy was effective as of July 2013, for all new grants and awards. The Canadian Cancer Society encourages all continuing grantees to find ways to make their research findings publicly accessible. Any Canadian Cancer Society supported publications over 12-months-old have likely been made fully accessible by publishers.

What if a journal is compliant with open access, but does not allow the paper to be made freely available after 12 months after publication?

Researchers are able to submit their work to a journal that does not support public availability within twelve months of the publication date. The Canadian Cancer Society does not wish to compromise the ability of researchers to publish in high-impact journals. However, researchers must inform the Canadian Cancer Society of this limitation and the paper must be made freely available as soon as possible. Please email research@cancer.ca when this issue arises for monitoring purposes.

Will the Canadian Cancer Society pay for any costs associated with adhering to this policy?

The Canadian Cancer Society will provide support for any charges levied by publishers. This expense must be fully justified in the budget of the original grant application.

Who can I contact for more information and/or help?

Any queries about this policy should be directed to research@cancer.ca

Last modified on: November 10, 2014

A A A

À propos de politique de libre accès

 

Qu’est-ce qu’une publication à libre accès ?

Une publication à libre accès est une publication qui remplit les deux conditions suivantes :

  • L’auteur ou les auteurs et le(s) titulaire(s) du droit d’auteur accordent à tous les utilisateurs un droit d’accès gratuit, irrévocable, mondial et perpétuel et une licence pour utiliser, distribuer, transmettre et afficher les travaux publiquement et faire et distribuer des travaux dérivés dans un média numérique pour toute fin responsable, moyennant l’attribution adéquate de la qualité d’auteur, ainsi que le droit de faire de petits nombres de copies imprimées pour leur usage personnel.
  • Une version complète des travaux et tout matériel supplémentaire, y compris une copie de la permission énoncée précédemment, dans un format électronique standard convenable, est déposée immédiatement après la première publication dans au moins un dépôt d’archives en ligne soutenu par une institution universitaire, une société intellectuelle, un organisme gouvernemental ou un autre organisme bien établi qui cherchent à permettre le libre accès, la distribution libre, l’interopérabilité et l’archivage à long terme.

La définition ci-dessus est tirée de Bethseda Statement on Open Access Publishing établi au Howard Hughes Medical Institute, le 11 avril 2003.

Quelle est la politique de libre accès ?

La politique de libre accès de la Société canadienne du cancerest la suivante :

À partir de juillet 2013 tous les chercheurs financés en tout ou en partie par la Société canadienne du cancer seront tenus de rendre accessibles au public les résultats publiés de leurs travaux financés par la Société canadienne du cancer. Nous encourageons les chercheurs à rendre leurs travaux accessibles au public le plus rapidement possible, et ils doivent le faire au plus tard 12 mois après la date de publication finale. De 2009 à 2013, les chercheurs devaient garantir le libre accès à leurs recherches six mois après la publication de celles-ci.

Pourquoi la Société canadienne du cancer agit-il ainsi ?

Le libre accès par le public aux résultats de recherche est un élément essentiel qui confirme les valeurs et les responsabilités de la Société canadienne du cancer en tant qu’organisme subventionnaire transparent pour la recherche sur le cancer. Nos subventions sont financées par les dons du public et nous avons la responsabilité de leur rendre compte ainsi qu’au public des résultats des recherches qu’ils financent. De plus, le libre accès permet une diffusion mondiale des connaissances et favorise l’avancement de la recherche à l’échelle mondiale, volet essentiel de la mission de la Société canadienne du cancer.

Mes résultats de recherche et mes articles sont rédigés à l’intention d’un lectorat scientifique. Comment le public en général pourra-t-il profiter de l’accès à des articles de revues scientifiques? N’est-ce pas plutôt le rôle des médias ?

Les médias et les autres outils de relations publiques sont un moyen pour la Société canadienne du cancer faire connaître au public la recherche que nous finançons. Fournir l’accès à la documentation scientifique de base est un autre moyen utile d’accroître notre capacité à rendre compte à nos donateurs des recherches qu’ils ont financées. Une politique de libre accès peut également profiter à l’ensemble du milieu de la recherche en facilitant un meilleur partage des connaissances entre le milieu des chercheurs et le milieu plus large de la santé.

Comment puis-je me conformer à cette politique ?

Il y a plusieurs façons de se conformer à la politique de libre accès de la Société canadienne du cancer :
  • Publier votre article dans une revue à libre accès qui rend les articles accessibles immédiatement et gratuitement sur le site de l’éditeur.
  • Publier dans une revue qui permet qu’une copie du manuscrit final examiné par des pairs soit déposée dans un dépôt d’archives numériques accessible gratuitement.
  • Publier dans toute revue qui permet que l’article soit rendu accessible sur le site personnel du chercheur ou sur celui de l’institution.

La Public Library of Science (PLoS) (Bibliothèque scientifique publique) est un exemple d’une revue à libre accès qui permet que toutes les publications soient accessibles en ligne immédiatement et gratuitement.

Il est important de noter que la Société canadienne du cancer reconnaît l’importance de publier les résultats de recherche dans les revues scientifiques les plus lues et les plus respectées. Cette politique ne vise aucunement à compromettre la capacité de tout chercheur financé par la Société canadienne du cancer à publier dans de telles revues.

Qu’est-ce que le PubMed Central ?

Le PubMed Central est un dépôt d’archives numériques qui regroupe les textes intégraux d’articles biomédicaux et des sciences de la vie, élaboré et maintenu par les U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) à la National Library of Medicine (NLM). Le PubMed central cherche à préserver et à assurer le libre accès à la documentation électronique. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements à propos du PubMed Central à http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/about/faq.html

Pour obtenir la liste des revues qui déposent automatiquement des articles dans le PubMed Central, rendez-vous à http://publicaccess.nih.gov/submit_process_journals.htm

À quels types de documents cette politique s’applique-t-elle ?

La politique de libre accès de la Société canadienne du cancer s’applique à toutes les publications qui découlent du soutien fourni par la Société canadienne du cancer. Le soutien peut prendre la forme d’une subvention de recherche, d’une subvention pour un projet du programme, d’une importante subvention pour un programme ou d’une bourse personnelle. Dans chaque cas, il incombe au bénéficiaire de la subvention ou de la bourse de veiller à ce que les résultats de sa recherche soient publiés conformément à la politique.

Faudra-t-il que je rende accessibles mes documents financés par la Société canadienne du cancer et déjà publiés ?

La politique est entrée en vigueur en juillet 2013, pour toutes les subventions et bourses. La Société canadienne du cancer encourage tous les bénéficiaires continus de trouver des moyens de rendre les résultats de leur recherche accessibles au public. Toute publication de plus de 12 mois soutenue par la Société canadienne du cancer a probablement été rendue accessible par les éditeurs. De 2009 à 2013, les chercheurs devaient garantir le libre accès à leurs recherches six mois après la publication de celles-ci.

Que se passe-t-il lorsque la revue est libre d’accès, mais que les articles ne peuvent être consultés avant 12 mois ?

Les chercheurs peuvent présenter leurs travaux à une revue qui n’appuie pas l’accès par le public dans les 12 mois de la date de publication. La Société canadienne du cancer ne veut pas compromettre la capacité des chercheurs à publier dans les revues à impact élevé. Cependant, les chercheurs doivent informer la Société canadienne du cancer de cette restriction et le document doit être rendu accessible gratuitement le plus tôt possible. Veuillez envoyer un courriel à research@cancer.ca lorsqu’une telle situation se présente, aux fins de la surveillance.

La Société canadienne du cancer paiera-t-il les frais associés à l’adhésion à la politique ?

La Société canadienne du cancer assurera le soutien pour tous frais prélevés par les éditeurs. Ces frais doivent être entièrement justifiés dans le budget de la demande de subvention originale.

À qui puis-je m’adresser pour obtenir plus d’information ou de l’aide ?

Vous pouvez acheminer toute question portant sur la politique à research@cancer.ca.

 

Dernière modification le: 22 décembre 2015