Procedures for promoting integrity and for preventing and addressing misconduct in research

1. The responsibilities of researchers and scholars

The primary responsibility for high standards of conduct in research and scholarship rests with the individuals carrying out these activities.

2. The responsibilities of research institutions

The Canadian Cancer Society holds the institutions that administer its funds responsible for investigating allegations of misconduct involving researchers, trainees or research staff receiving funds. Promotion by the institutions of understanding of the issues involved in integrity in research and scholarship offers a valuable means of preventing cases of misconduct.

(a) Promotion of integrity in research and scholarship

Integrity in research and scholarship is best encouraged by developing awareness among all involved of the need for the highest standards of integrity, accountability and responsibility. Research institutions should provide an environment conducive to this goal and actively promote programs for education of researchers, scholars, trainees and staff.

The Canadian Cancer Society encourages institutions that administer its funds to establish a mechanism to educate all who are involved in the collection, recording, citing, reporting and retention of scientific or scholarly material about their expectations for the highest standard of integrity.

Mechanisms for meeting this objective might include encouraging awareness of the issues involved and establishing policies on specific areas. Awareness might be encouraged by establishing information sessions on the principles and practices of scientific integrity for scientists, scholars, graduate students and other trainees and research staff when they arrive in the institution and at regular intervals thereafter. Institutions are encouraged to develop policies on such areas as requirements for authorship for publications or applications, on copyrights and patents and on the responsibilities for retention of data appropriate to the range of disciplines that they cover.

(b) Investigating allegations of misconduct in research and scholarship

Allegations may arise from anonymous or identified sources within or outside the research institution; the allegations may be well-founded, honestly erroneous or mischievous. Whatever their source, motivation or accuracy, such allegations have potential to cause great harm to the persons accused, to the accuser, to the institution and to research and scholarship in general.

The Canadian Cancer Society requires the research institutions that administer its funds to establish appropriate impartial and accountable procedures to:

  • receive written allegations of misconduct in research and scholarship
  • conduct and document appropriate investigations within an established and reasonable time period
  • protect the privacy of the person(s) accused and of the person(s) making the allegations throughout the investigation through mechanisms consistent with due process and natural justice
  • decide whether there has been misconduct
  • determine the actions to be taken as a result of conclusions reached, including:
  • the sanctions to be imposed
  • any actions to be taken to protect or restore the reputation(s) or credibility of person(s) wrongly accused of or implicated in misconduct in research, including the procedures to ensure that, if the charges have been dismissed, copies of documents and related files provided to third parties have been destroyed
  • any actions to be taken to protect the person(s) deemed to have made a responsible accusation
  • inform the accused person(s) of the results of the investigation and of the actions that have been decided upon
  • prepare a report on the above

3. Responsibilities of the Canadian Cancer Society

The Canadian Cancer Society is responsible for ensuring that research funds are used with a high degree of integrity, accountability and responsibility.

Each institution receiving research funds must have established procedures for dealing with allegations of misconduct that are consistent with the above expectations. The Canadian Cancer Society has the right, but not the obligation, to review the policies and procedures of the institution with regard to integrity in research and scholarship.

Allegations of misconduct made to the Canadian Cancer Society or to research institutions might involve past or present grantees/awardees, trainees or staff supported by or working in laboratories receiving Canadian Cancer Society funds. Such allegations might also arise from the peer review processes of the Canadian Cancer Society. Under provision of the Privacy Act, the Canadian Cancer Society may only transmit allegations of misconduct in research with the permission of their author. The Canadian Cancer Society will not transmit oral allegations to the institution or otherwise act upon them, since these cannot be assessed or transferred accurately. In the event that the Canadian Cancer Society, or one of its peer review committees, identifies evidence of misconduct as part of the peer review processes, the Canadian Cancer Society will initiate an inquiry to gather and expeditiously review factual information to determine if an investigation of the allegation is warranted. An inquiry is not a formal hearing; it is designed to separate allegations deserving of further investigation from frivolous, unjustified, or clearly mistaken allegations. Based upon recommendations from the Canadian Cancer Society inquiry, the Canadian Cancer Society may request that the institutions(s) involved to carry out an investigation and inform the Canadian Cancer Society of the outcome.

The Canadian Cancer Society requires that institutions that have carried out investigations of alleged misconduct in research or scholarship involving projects funded by the Canadian Cancer Society inform the Canadian Cancer Society of the allegations made and the progress of investigations and provide the Canadian Cancer Society with the report prepared.

The Canadian Cancer Society will consider the report and may request clarification or additional information. In cases in which misconduct is concluded to have occurred, the Canadian Cancer Society will also consider imposing its own sanction(s) in relation to grants made to the individual(s) or the institutions(s) implicated, in accordance with its policies. If actions are being considered, the Canadian Cancer Society will provide an opportunity for the persons or institutions involved to present their position. These actions may include, but are not limited to:

  • refusal to consider future applications for a defined time period
  • withdrawal of remaining installments of the grant(s) or award(s)
  • seeking a refund of all or part of the funds already paid as a grant(s) or award(s) for the research or scholarship involved

The Canadian Cancer Society will inform the person(s) and the institution(s) involved of any impending action.

The Canadian Cancer Society must retain the right at any time to bring a case to the attention of the appropriate legal authorities.

Last modified on: October 20, 2017

Procédés visant à assurer l'intégrité et à prévenir tout manquement à l'éthique dans la recherche

1. Responsabilités des chercheurs et des scientifiques

Les chercheurs sont avant tout responsables du maintien de rigoureux critères d'éthique.

2. Responsabilités des établissements de recherche

La Société canadienne du cancer tient les établissements qui administrent ses fonds responsables d'enquêter sur toutes les allégations concernant un manquement à l'éthique de la part d'un chercheur, d'un stagiaire ou des employés qui reçoivent des fonds. De plus, en insistant sur la compréhension de la question de l'intégrité dans la recherche et la formation scientifiques, ils contribuent à prévenir de tels manquements.

(a) Promotion de l'intégrité dans la recherche et la formation scientifiques

Tous les intéressés doivent être sensibilisés à la nécessité d'imposer des critères rigoureux afin de promouvoir l'intégrité, l'imputabilité et la responsabilité dans la recherche et la formation scientifiques. Les centres de recherche doivent offrir un milieu qui contribue à réaliser cet objectif et promouvoir activement des programmes d'enseignement à l'intention des chercheurs, des scientifiques, des stagiaires et du personnel.

La Société canadienne du cancer encourage les établissements qui administrent ses fonds à instaurer des mécanismes pour enseigner à tous ceux qui participent à la cueillette, à l'introduction, à la citation, à l'exposition et à la conservation de matériel scientifique les rigoureux critères d'intégrité qu'elles exigent.

Pour réaliser cet objectif, il faut sensibiliser tous les intervenants aux questions déontologiques et établir des directives précises. Il serait utile de tenir des séances d'information sur les principes et pratiques liés à l'intégrité dès l'arrivée des scientifiques, des boursiers, des étudiants diplômés, des stagiaires et du personnel de recherche, puis à intervalles réguliers par la suite. Les établissements sont encouragés à adopter des politiques ayant trait à la paternité des publications et des demandes, aux copyrights et aux brevets, et à la conservation de données, en fonction des diverses disciplines qu'ils embrassent.

(b) Enquête sur les allégations de manquement à l'éthique dans la recherche et la formation scientifiques

Ces allégations peuvent provenir de sources anonymes ou connues au sein ou à l'extérieur de l'établissement de recherche; elles peuvent être fondées, honnêtement erronées ou malveillantes. Quelle que soit leur source, la motivation qui les sous-tend ou leur précision, ces allégations peuvent causer beaucoup de tort aux accusés, à l'accusateur, à l'établissement, à la recherche et à la formation scientifiques en général.

La Société canadienne du cancer exige que les établissements de recherche qui gèrent ses fonds établissent des procédures appropriées et impartiales dont ils doivent rendre compte :

  • recevoir les allégations écrites concernant le manquement à l'éthique dans la recherche et la formation scientifiques 
  • enquêter et se renseigner dans une période raisonnable et établie d'avance
  • protéger pendant toute la période de l'enquête l'identité et la vie privée des personnes accusées et des personnes soutenant les allégations, par le biais d'une procédure équitable conforme à la justice
  • décider s'il y a eu manquement à l'éthique
  • déterminer les décisions à prendre en fonction des conclusions tirées, notamment :
  • les sanctions à imposer
  • les mesures à prendre pour protéger ou restaurer la réputation et la crédibilité des personnes accusées à tort ou ayant fait preuve d'un manquement à l'éthique dans la recherche, y compris, si les accusations ont été réfutées, les procédures visant à s'assurer que les copies de documents et les dossiers connexes transmis à des tiers ont été détruits
  • les mesures à prendre pour protéger la personne dont l'accusation a été jugée responsable 
  • informer les accusés des résultats de l'enquête et des mesures prises
  • préparer un rapport complet sur l'affaire

3. Responsabilités de la Société canadienne du cancer

La Société canadienne du cancer assume la responsabilité de veiller à ce que les fonds de recherche soient utilisés selon de rigoureux principes d'intégrité, d'imputabilité et de responsabilité.

Tous les établissements qui reçoivent des fonds de recherche doivent établir des procédures qui leur permettront de prendre les mesures nécessaires advenant une allégation de manquement à l'éthique en conformité avec les attentes précitées. La Société canadienne du cancer a le droit, mais non l'obligation, d'examiner les politiques de ces établissements relatives au manquement à l'éthique dans la recherche et la formation scientifiques.

Les allégations de manquement à l'éthique soumises à la Société canadienne du cancer ou à l'établissement de recherche peuvent impliquer des boursiers ou récipiendaires de subventions dans le passé ou le présent, des stagiaires, des employés ou des assistants de laboratoire, financés par les fonds de la Société canadienne du cancer. Elles peuvent provenir des processus d'évaluation par les pairs de l'Institut. En vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, la Société canadienne du cancer ne peut transmettre les allégations de manquement à l'éthique scientifique qu'avec l'autorisation de leur auteur. La Société canadienne du cancer ne transmettra pas d'allégations orales à l'établissement, ni ne leur donnera suite, puisqu'elles ne peuvent être évaluées ni transmises avec précision. Si la Société canadienne du cancer, ou l'un des comités d'évaluation par les pairs, découvre avec certitude qu'un manquement à l'éthique résulte du processus d'évaluation par ces derniers, il ordonnera une enquête visant à recueillir et examiner promptement toute information factuelle en vue de déterminer s'il faut donner suite à l'allégation. Une telle enquête n'est pas officielle; il s'agit simplement de différencier les allégations nécessitant une investigation plus poussée, des allégations futiles, injustifiées ou clairement erronées. À partir des recommandations découlant de l'enquête, la Société canadienne du cancer peut demander à l'établissement concerné de faire sa propre investigation et de l'informer des résultats.

La Société canadienne du cancer exige que les établissements ayant effectué des enquêtes concernant une allégation de manquement à l'éthique relativement à la recherche ou à la formation scientifiques, dans le cadre de projets financés par ses soins, l'informent des allégations soutenues, du progrès des enquêtes et lui soumettent un rapport à cet effet.

Après avoir étudié le rapport, la Société canadienne du cancer peut exiger des renseignements supplémentaires. Dans les cas où le manquement à l'éthique est prouvé, il peut également décider d'imposer ses propres sanctions en fonction des subventions versées au chercheur et à l'établissement concernés. Si une action quelconque est envisagée, la Société canadienne du cancer fournira à la personne et à l'établissement concernés l'occasion de se défendre. Cette action peut compter les mesures suivantes sans toutefois s'y limiter :

  • le refus d'étudier toute demande future pendant une période établie
  • le refus de verser toute portion supplémentaire de la subvention ou de la bourse
  • demander le remboursement de la totalité ou d'une partie des fonds déjà versés à titre de bourse ou de subvention pour la recherche ou formation en question.

La Société canadienne du cancer informera la personne et l'établissement concernés de toute action imminente.

La Société canadienne du cancer conserve en tout temps le droit de soumettre un cas à l'attention des autorités judiciaires compétentes.

Dernière modification le: 20 octobre 2017