A A A

Industry-related research

The Task Force on Industry–Related Research was constructed in order to formulate recommendations regarding the policy and guidelines that should govern the conduct of the Canadian Cancer Society when reviewing and supporting cancer research in which the research itself, the investigator or the context in which the work is carried out has, or may develop, a commercial interest. Such instances are likely to increase in frequency with the growth of industrial support for biomedical and other research and the burgeoning programs for joint action between government agencies, research entities and commercial ventures. The Task Force strongly believes that such activities are to be encouraged: the successful application of basic discoveries (to yield benefits for all) will in many cases require the participation of the corporate sector.

This mix between industry and academia, however desirable, also has the potential to generate conflicts of interests that may undermine the manner in which research is conducted, communicated or viewed by members of the public. These situations require special attention for funding agencies such as the Canadian Cancer Society whose mission is centered on the support of high-quality cancer research. Unlike those of Federal Government agencies, for example, the mission and mandate of the Canadian Cancer Society do not include providing seed money for commercial ventures, creating employment opportunities in the private sector, or facilitating technology transfer to the private sector. Furthermore, since the Canadian Cancer Society's revenues derive completely from charitable donations, there is accountability to the Canadian public.

It was the goal of this Task Force to provide recommendations that are consonant with all of the following:

  • the Mission Statement of the Canadian Cancer Society
  • the values and principles that anchor that Mission Statement
  • the sensitivities specific to a not-for-profit charitable-based organization
  • the spirit of investigator-driven, peer-reviewed research of the highest quality
  • the desire for investigators (and their Host Institutions) to forge interactions and partnerships with the for-profit sector

Based on the recommendations of the Task Force, the following policy statement on industry-related research has been approved:

  • As is the case with all Canadian Cancer Society supported research, a Host Institution must take full responsibility for the conduct of the research being funded, according to all existing Canadian Cancer Society policies. These include, but are not limited to, maintaining integrity in research and scholarship, full ethical review and surveillance, compliance with accepted biohazard and animal care regulations and full financial accounting and control.
  • For-profit organizations are not eligible to be Host Institutions for grant applications to the Canadian Cancer Society.
  • The Principal Investigator on any Research Grant or Program Project Grant administered by the Canadian Cancer Society must be based in, or be formally affiliated with (but not necessarily receive salary support from), a Canadian Host Institution which will take responsibility described above, for the duration of the funding period.
  • Research may be performed at the collected premises of the Host Institution, but also at any other locations as needed or as appropriate for the efficient conduct of the research. This includes the facilities of a for-profit organization, subject to the provisions above.
  • The Canadian Cancer Society reaffirms that it does not wish to own or have a vested interest in Intellectual Property (IP) which may emanate from any of the research projects it is supporting. Neither does the Canadian Cancer Society wish to dictate terms to Host Institutions as to how they handle such IP. The Canadian Cancer Society does, however, continue to insist that the Host Institution have a clear policy regarding IP, such policy to be in force at the time any award is made. Note, however, that it is the intent of the Canadian Cancer Society that the primary objective of funded research must not be the promotion of commercial interests.
  • Full disclosure of any existing or intended funding of the applicant’s research and any agreements that pertain to that research, by any other source, whether not-for-profit or for-profit, must be made by the applicants to the Canadian Cancer Society to support any application for research. The details and mechanism of such disclosure must be sufficient to allow the Canadian Cancer Society to make a determination of the amount of overlap, if any, with projects being submitted for support. Moreover, during the period of a Canadian Cancer Society grant, any changes in funding status that pertain to overlap are to be disclosed to the Canadian Cancer Society. The Canadian Cancer Society is prepared to have such disclosure made to a limited group of its senior officials, under an agreement of confidentiality, if necessary, to protect the rights of third parties.
  • It is the policy of the Canadian Cancer Society that investigators should be free to disseminate advances arising from its funded research to other researchers, practitioners, policy makers and the public without undue delay.

Last modified on: October 20, 2017

A A A

Recherche liée à l'industrie

Le Groupe de travail sur la recherche liée à l'industrie fut constitué dans le but de formuler des recommandations au sujet d'une politique et d'énoncés de principe qui devraient présider à la conduite de la Société canadienne du cancer lorsqu'il s'agit d'étudier et de soutenir des projets de recherche sur le cancer dans le cadre desquels la recherche, le chercheur ou le contexte dans lequel celle-ci est menée peut ou pourrait avoir des retombées commerciales. De telles occurrences sont susceptibles de survenir plus fréquemment à mesure que s'amplifie le soutien de l'industrie en faveur de la recherche biomédicale ou autre et que de nouveaux programmes d'action commune entre les organismes gouvernementaux, les établissements de recherche et les entreprises commerciales voient le jour. Le Groupe de travail est d'avis que de telles activités méritent encouragement; en effet, la participation du secteur privé est très souvent essentielle pour que les retombées de découvertes fondamentales puissent profiter à tous.

Une telle alliance entre l'industrie et les centres de recherche, bien qu'elle soit souhaitable, porte en elle le germe de conflits d'intérêts pouvant nuire à la manière dont la recherche est menée, communiquée ou perçue par le grand public. Ce genre de situation exige une attention particulière de la part d'organismes subventionnaires tels que la Société canadienne du cancer dont l'existence est articulée autour du soutien à la recherche de haut calibre sur le cancer. Contrairement à la raison d'être d'organismes fédéraux, par exemple, il n'est pas du ressort de la Société canadienne du cancer à proprement dit de distribuer des subventions à des fins commerciales, de créer des emplois dans le secteur privé ou de faciliter le transfert de technologies au profit de ce dernier. De plus, étant donné que les revenus dont dispose la Société canadienne du cancer proviennent exclusivement du public, il convient avant tout de rendre des comptes à la population canadienne.

Le Groupe de travail a voulu formuler des recommandations qui respectent les grandes lignes suivantes :

  • l'énoncé de la mission de la Société canadienne du cancer;
  • les valeurs et les principes qui sous-tendent l'énoncé de la mission;
  • les cordes sensibles inhérentes à un organisme de bienveillance sans but lucratif;
  •  une recherche de haut calibre, menée par un chercheur principal et passée en revue par ses égaux; et
  • la volonté des chercheurs (et des établissements hôtes) de tisser des liens et de nouer des associations avec le secteur commercial.

Se fondant sur les recommandations du Groupe de travail, l'énoncé de politique suivant concernant la recherche liée à l'industrie a été approuvé :

  • Ainsi qu'il en est de toute recherche financée par la Société canadienne du cancer, l'établissement hôte doit assumer l'entière responsabilité de la conduite de la recherche ainsi financée, conformément à l'ensemble des politiques de la Société canadienne du cancer en vigueur. Ces dernières englobent, sans toutefois s'y limiter, l'intégrité de la recherche et du processus d'attribution des bourses, le respect et la surveillance de tous les préceptes éthiques, l'observance des règlements sur les risques biologiques et l'expérimentation animale, et l'entière responsabilité financière.
  • Les organismes à but lucratif ne sont pas admissibles à titre d'établissements hôtes aux fins d'une demande de subvention de la Société canadienne du cancer.
  • La personne désignée à titre de chercheur principal pour toute subvention de recherche ou de projet de programme administré par la Société canadienne du cancer doit travailler ou être officiellement liée (sans nécessairement en toucher un salaire) à un établissement hôte canadien lequel assumera les responsabilités décrites plus haut et ce, pour la durée de la période de financement.
  • La recherche peut être menée dans l'ensemble des locaux de l'établissement hôte, mais également en tout autre emplacement qui s'avère pertinent en fonction de la recherche menée, y inclus les locaux d'un organisme à but lucratif, sous réserve des dispositions décrites plus haut.
  • La Société canadienne du cancer réaffirme qu'il ne souhaite aucunement détenir de quelque façon que ce soit la propriété intellectuelle pouvant résulter d'un projet de recherche qu'il subventionne. De même, la Société canadienne du cancer ne désire en rien dicter aux établissements hôtes leur conduite quant à la façon dont ils peuvent traiter cette propriété intellectuelle. La Société canadienne du cancer insiste toutefois pour que les établissements hôtes se dotent d'une politique précise concernant la propriété intellectuelle et qu'elle soit en vigueur au moment où une subvention leur sera versée. Précisons ici qu'il n'est pas dans l'intention de la Société canadienne du cancer que l'objectif premier des projets recevant un financement s'inscrive dans la promotion d'intérêts commerciaux.
  • Les candidats doivent révéler au moment de leurs demandes toute autre source de financement en cours ou éventuel, de même que toute entente afférente au projet faisant l'objet de la subvention, qu'elle soit liée à un organisme à but lucratif ou non. Les détails et le mode de divulgation doivent être suffisamment explicites pour que la Société canadienne du cancer puisse déterminer les sommes qui chevaucheraient, le cas échéant, celles d’autres projets qui sont également présentés. Qui plus est, pendant la période au cours de laquelle la Société canadienne du cancer subventionne un projet, les bénéficiaires sont tenus de lui révéler tout changement relatif à leur financement grâce auquel des subventions pourraient se chevaucher. La Société canadienne du cancer consent à ce qu'une telle divulgation ne soit faite qu'en présence d'un groupe restreint de ses administrateurs, moyennant un accord de confidentialité, afin de protéger les droits des tierces parties.
  • En vertu de la politique de la Société canadienne du cancer, les chercheurs sont libres de distribuer des avances provenant d'une recherche financée par l'Institut à d'autres chercheurs, praticiens, décideurs et citoyens sans délai déraisonnable.

Dernière modification le: 20 octobre 2017