A A A

Eligibility and requirements

1. Description

Grants for research will be awarded to projects deemed worthy of support, provided that the basic equipment and research facilities are available in the institution concerned and that it will provide the necessary administrative services. Such awards will be granted for the purchase and maintenance of animals, expendable supplies, minor items of equipment, payment of graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and technical and professional assistants, open access publication costs, research travel and permanent equipment.

These grants do not provide for personal salary support of the Principal Investigator (PI) and/or Co-applicants nor for institutional overhead costs.

2. Eligibility

A researcher who is designated as the Principal Investigator must be based in, or formally affiliated with, an eligible Canadian Host Institution such as a university, research institute or health care agency. Graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, research associates, technical support staff, or investigators based outside of Canada are not eligible to be a Principal Investigator. Both the Principal Investigator and executive authorities of the Host Institution are required to agree to the terms of the Host Institution/Canadian Cancer Society Agreement included as part of the application, thereby acknowledging and agreeing to all the responsibilities and obligations outlined in that Agreement.

The person named as the PI remains the PI on a grant for the duration of the grant unless given express permission by the Canadian Cancer Society.

Applicants who do not yet hold an eligible position

Investigators who have a firm offer of a research position at an eligible Host Institution and where the appointment is not contingent on the success of a pending application, can submit an application as Principal Investigator provided that the position commences by the start date of the grant. In such cases, a letter from an appropriate authority of the Host Institution must be included, which provides clear details as to the exact nature of the appointment (including title and major responsibilities), as well as the expected start date and duration of the appointment.

A researcher designated as Co-Principal Investigator or Co-applicant is a researcher who may or may not have a formal affiliation with the Host Institution, but will take responsibility for particular administrative and scientific aspects of the research project. These categories may not include graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, research associates, technical support staff, or investigators based outside of Canada. These individuals are not eligible to receive salary support from a grant.

The third category, Additional Authors, formally recognizes other individuals who will make substantial intellectual contributions to the research project or have contributed to the drafting of the application itself, but who are not eligible to be included as Co-Principal Investigators or Co-applicants. Students, postdoctoral fellows, research associates, lay contributors and investigators based outside of Canada may be included in this category. Students, post-doctoral fellows and research associates may receive salary support from a grant.

3. Certificates

The following may be required from all participating institutions, depending on the proposed work:

  • If this application involves the use of biological materials, a certificate must be submitted from each institutional Biohazards Committee guaranteeing that the project will be conducted under conditions which satisfy the "Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines", published by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and Health Canada. Please reference their website for current guidelines.
  • If this application involves the use of experimental animals, a certificate must be submitted from each institutional Animal Care Committee guaranteeing that all animals will be cared for and studied under conditions meeting the standards stated in "Guide to the Care and Use of Experimental Animals" (Vol 1: 2nd edition 1993 and Vol 2: 1984), published by the Canadian Council on Animal Care.
  • If this application involves human experimentation, a certificate must be submitted from the appropriate Committee of each institution involved, stating that the protocols and methods have been found acceptable from an ethical point of view in accordance with the "TCPS 2 - Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans" (TCPS 2 has replaced the 1st edition of the TCPS (1998)), published by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.
  • Human embryonic stem cell research – Any investigator proposing human embryonic stem cell research must contact the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute prior to submitting an application. The Government of Canada has passed Bill C-6, An Act respecting assisted human reproduction and related research that regulates, among other things, the use and creation of human embryonic stem cells. The Act may be found on Health Canada's website. Its provisions dictate the regulations incumbent on applicants, Host Institutions and the funder in the contemplation of carrying out of research covered by the legislation. This will often involve special ethics and other approval mechanisms (beyond approval via the usual local Ethics Review Board).

The Canadian Cancer Society has endorsed and adopted the Guidelines set forward by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, entitled Human Pluripotent Stem Cell Research: Guidelines for CIHR-Funded Research. In addition, based on the recommendation of the CIHR-led Ad hoc Working Group on Stem Cell Research, a Stem Cell Oversight Committee (SCOC) has been struck. The SCOC will review applications dealing with human embryonic stem cells and other ethically sensitive human stem cell research to ensure that they are in accordance with CIHR's stem cell Guidelines. As with all ethical approvals, for any research grant involving human embryonic stem cells, it is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that the work proposed has been approved by the SCOC.

Please be advised that no funds will be released to successful applicants until all required certificates are received.

4. Host institution/Canadian Cancer Society agreement

Grants are made only with the consent and knowledge of the administrative head of the institution at which they are to be held and institutions must abide by the policies contained in the Host Institution/Canadian Cancer Society Agreement. Approvals indicate that the officials at the Host Institution have read and understood all of the various obligations of the parties, which now includes a formal policy on Integrity in Research and Scholarship. No funds will be released to successful applicants without these approvals. Applicants are reminded that the agreement also contains a disclaimer and indemnity clause. Specific terms of the agreement are available.

5. Support of research associates and professional assistants

Grant applications may contain requests for the support of professional assistants or research associates. It is recognized that research associates may often be key personnel in a research program. However, any person holding an academic rank equivalent to Assistant Professor or higher cannot be considered to be a professional assistant or research associate and therefore may not be paid from a grant.

6. Support of trainees

The support of graduate trainees and postdoctoral fellows are encouraged. The CCSRI no longer utilizes a stipend scale for salaries for trainees. Salaries requested should conform to the Host Institution rate based on the experience of the individual required for the project as of the first year of the project. If the person is unnamed, justify the need for a post-doctoral fellow with the number of years of experience required specifying the work to be undertaken.

Taxation will depend on your Host Institution policy regarding trainees.

7. Notification of award

Successful applicants will receive an official “Notification of Award” (NOA) indicating the duration and the value of the grant. The financial office and the research office of the Host Institution will also be informed. Results of the competition will be posted on the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute website. All applicants will subsequently be provided with the scientific critique prepared by the review panel. It is the objective of the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute to support the highest calibre of cancer research.

8. Funds for conference travel

Grantees may use up to 5% of the grant budget for legitimate scientific and conference travel. Any monies spent on travel must be accounted for in annual accounting statements.

9. Scientific reporting, publications and communications-related activities

All grant recipients must submit scientific reports throughout the grant and after the grant end date.Principal Investigators will be emailed instructions about completing the report in our online system (EGrAMS). Submission of these reports is mandatory. Failure to submit the required reports will result in the future instalments on a grant being withheld.

Annual progress and end of grant reports

Investigators are asked to provide a summary of progress, a list of publications and presentations associated with the grant, details on trainees, and impacts of their research. Investigators will also be asked to list any activities that have helped to promote the Society.

Post grant reports

As impacts of research may occur beyond the termination date, grantees must submit a “Post Grant” report two years after the grant termination date. The report will capture publications, status of trainees, etc.

For more information on how we evaluate the impact of our research, please see our research impacts section.

In order to highlight research findings to the public, grantees are requested to contact the Canadian Cancer Society Research Communications Specialist with copies of important preprints and reprints and to involve the appropriate office in any media interactions that emanate from the funded research activities. The funder acknowledgement (item 11) must be included in any grant announcements.

10. Open access policy

Please see the Canadian Cancer Society open access policy, which states that research findings must be made publicly available within twelve months of the peer-review publication date.

11. Acknowledgement of funds

Investigators are expected to publish their results in peer-reviewed scientific journals, and to present their findings at scientific conferences. Grantees must acknowledge the funder in all scientific communications and media releases related to the grant. Proper acknowledgement would be "This research is supported by the Canadian Cancer Society (grant #XXXXXX)". Grants co-funded /funded by a partner/donor will be advised of appropriate language for the acknowledgement.

12. Financial reporting

An annual Statement of Account is required within 60 days of the grant year end. Statement of account forms may be found on the Financial Administration page of our website. The financial administration page also describes policies and practices which govern how grant funds are spent.

13. Restrictions regarding tobacco industry funding

The Canadian Cancer Society has a strict policy that it will not accept financial or other assistance from a manufacturer or wholesale distributor of tobacco products, nor will it knowingly accept financial or other assistance from any business if a substantial portion of the revenue of that business is derived from the promotion, distribution or sale of tobacco products.

14. Other provisions

Grantees and Host Institutions should be aware of the conditions and regulations that apply to all individuals receiving research funds or training assistance.

Last modified on: November 10, 2014

A A A

Admissibilité, exigences et obligations

Ce qui suit s'applique à toutes les options de subventions actuelles.

1. Description

Ces subventions à la recherche sont accordées aux travaux jugés dignes d'en bénéficier, sous réserve que le matériel et les installations de recherche indispensables soient disponibles à l'établissement hôte et que ce dernier puisse fournir les services administratifs nécessaires. Des subventions de cette nature sont consenties pour l'achat et le soin des animaux de laboratoire, les fournitures remplaçables, les petits appareils, le salaire des étudiants diplômés, des boursiers postdoctoraux et des adjoints techniques et professionnels, les coûts de publication en libre accès, les frais de déplac et des adjoints techniques et professionnels, les coûts de publication en libre accès, les frais de déplacement aux fins de recherche et l'équipement permanent.

Ces subventions ne sont pas fournies à titre de salaire pour le chercheur principal ou les codemandeurs ni pour les frais indirects de l'établissement.

2. Admissibilité

La personne désignée à titre de chercheur principal doit travailler ou être officiellement rattachée à un établissement hôte canadien admissible tel qu'une université, un centre de recherche ou un organisme de soins de santé. Les étudiants diplômés, les boursiers postdoctoraux, les associés de recherche, le personnel de soutien technique, ou les chercheurs établis ailleurs qu'au Canada ne peuvent agir à titre de chercheur principal. Le chercheur principal (CP) et les autorités exécutives de l'établissement hôte doivent tous deux accepter les modalités de l'entente incluse dans la trousse de demande et liant ledit établissement et la Société canadienne du cancer, reconnaissant et acceptant de ce fait toutes les responsabilités et obligations contenues dans l'entente.

La personne nommée CP demeurera CP aux fins de la subvention pour la durée de celle-ci, à moins qu’une autorisation expresse contraire n’ait été donnée par la Société canadienne du cancer.

Candidats qui n'occupent pas un poste admissible au moment de la demande

Les chercheurs qui ont reçu une offre ferme pour un poste dans le domaine de la recherche dans un établissement hôte admissible dont la nomination à ce poste ne dépend pas du succès d’une demande en attente d’approbation peuvent soumettre une demande à titre de chercheur principal pourvu qu'ils entrent en fonction au plus tard à la date de début de la subvention. Dans ce cas, les candidats doivent joindre une lettre émanant d’un responsable autorisé de l’établissement hôte et dans laquelle doivent figurer une description claire et détaillée de la nature exacte de l’emploi (y compris le titre et les principales responsabilités) ainsi que la date de début et la durée de l’emploi prévues.

Un chercheur assigné à titre de cochercheur principal ou de codemandeur est un chercheur associé ou non à l'établissement hôte et qui assume des responsabilités quant à certains aspects administratifs et scientifiques du projet de recherche. Ces catégories ne peuvent inclure des étudiants diplômés, boursiers de niveau postdoctoral, associés de recherche, du personnel de soutien technique ou des chercheurs établis ailleurs qu'au Canada. Ces particuliers ne sont pas admissibles à toucher une rémunération tirée d'une subvention.

La troisième catégorie, visant les auteurs additionnels, reconnaît formellement d'autres individus qui apporteront des contributions intellectuelles importantes au projet de recherche ou à la rédaction de la demande, mais qui ne peuvent être nommés cochercheurs principaux ou codemandeurs. Les étudiants, les boursiers de niveau postdoctoral, les associés de recherche, les collaborateurs profanes, et les chercheurs établis ailleurs qu'au Canada pourraient être inclus dans cette catégorie. Les étudiants, les boursiers de niveau postdoctoral et les associés de recherche peuvent toucher un salaire financé en vertu d’une subvention.

3. Certificats

Les documents suivants sont exigés de tous les établissements participants, selon le travail proposé.

  • Si cette proposition nécessite l'usage de matières biologiques, il est nécessaire de présenter un certificat émanant du comité d'examen des risques biologiques de chaque établissement concerné, garantissant que le projet sera mené conformément aux conditions stipulées dans les « Lignes directrices en matière de biosécurité en laboratoire », publiées par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et Santé Canada. Pour connaître les lignes directrices actuelles, veuillez consulter leur site Web.
    Si cette proposition exige des expériences sur des animaux, il est nécessaire de présenter un certificat émanant du comité de soins aux animaux de chaque établissement concerné, garantissant que les animaux seront traités conformément aux conditions stipulées dans le « Manuel sur les soins et l'utilisation des animaux d'expérimentation » (vol. 1 : révisé en 1993 et vol. 2 : 1984), publié par le Conseil canadien de protection des animaux.
  • Si cette proposition prévoit des expériences tentées sur des humains, il est nécessaire de présenter un certificat émanant de chacun des établissements concernés, garantissant que les protocoles et méthodes qui seront utilisés ont été jugés acceptables du point de vue de l'éthique conformément aux conditions stipulées dans « EPTC 2 - Énoncé de politique des trois conseils : Éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains » (L’EPTC 2 a remplacé la première édition de l’EPTC [1998]), publiée par le Conseil de recherches médicales du Canada, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada.
  • Si une demande propose la création ou l'usage d'une recherche sur les cellules souches embryonnaires humaines, le chercheur doit contacter l'Institut de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer avant de soumettre sa demande. Le gouvernement du Canada a adopté le projet de loi C-6, la Loi sur la procréation assistée et les recherches afférentes qui gouverne, entre autres, l’utilisation et la création de cellules souches embryonnaires humaines. Le texte de cette loi peut être obtenu sur le site Web de Santé Canada. Ses clauses dictent les règles qui s’appliquent aux candidats, aux établissements hôtes et au bailleur de fonds pour ce qui est des projets de recherche couverts par cette loi. Des clauses spéciales sur l’éthique et d’autres processus d’autorisation (au-delà de l’autorisation par le Comité d’éthique local) seront applicables dans plusieurs cas.

La Société canadienne du cancer a sanctionné et adopté les lignes directrices mises de l’avant par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, intitulées Recherche sur les cellules souches pluripotentes humaines : lignes directrices pour la recherche financée par les IRSC. De plus, suivant les recommandations du groupe de travail ad hoc dirigé par les IRSC portant sur la recherche sur les cellules souches, un Comité de surveillance des cellules souches (CSCS) a été mis en place. Le CSCS examinera les demandes traitant des cellules souches embryonnaires humaines et autres recherches sur les cellules souches humaines sensibles du point de vue éthique pour s’assurer qu’elles respectent les lignes directrices des IRSC sur les cellules souches. Comme pour toutes les autorisations concernant l’éthique, pour toute demande de recherche impliquant des cellules souches embryonnaires humaines, il est de la responsabilité du candidat de s'assurer que le travail proposé a été approuvé par le CSCS.

Nous tenons à vous aviser qu'aucune subvention ne sera versée aux demandeurs acceptés tant que ces certificats n'auront pas été reçus.

4. Entente entre l'établissement hôte et la Société canadienne du cancer

Les subventions ne sont faites qu'avec le consentement du cadre administratif de l'établissement où la recherche sera effectuée, et les établissements doivent se conformer aux politiques énoncées dans l'entente conclue entre l'établissement hôte et la Société canadienne du cancer. Les approbations indiquent que les cadres de l'établissement hôte ont lu et compris les diverses obligations des parties qui incluent maintenant une politique officielle sur l'intégrité de la recherche et sur l'octroi des bourses. Aucun fonds ne sera libéré sans ces approbations. Nous rappelons aux candidats que l’entente comporte aussi une clause de décharge de responsabilité et une clause d’indemnisation. Les modalités spécifiques de cette entente sont disponibles.

5. Soutien aux associés de recherche et adjoints professionnels

Les demandes de subvention peuvent inclure des demandes pour le soutien des associés de recherche ou des adjoints professionnels. Il est reconnu que les associés de recherche sont souvent des employés essentiels dans un programme de recherche. Toutefois, les titulaires d'un rang professoral équivalent à celui de professeur adjoint ou d'une catégorie supérieure ne peuvent être considérés comme adjoints professionnels ou associés de recherche et, en conséquence, ne peuvent être rémunérés à même la subvention.

6. Soutien aux stagiaires

Les soutien aux stagiaires diplômés et aux boursiers. L’IRSCC n’utilise plus d’échelle de rémunération pour fixer les salaires des stagiaires. Les salaires demandés devraient être conformes à la rémunération offerte par l’établissement hôte ainsi que correspondre au nombre d'années d'expérience de la personne nécessaire pour le projet à partir de la première année du projet. Si le nom de la personne n'est pas divulgué, justifiez la nécessité d'un boursier postdoctoral avec le nombre d'années d'expérience demandé en précisant les travaux à réaliser. N’incluez pas les augmentations annuelles.

Le taux d’imposition peut varier en fonction des politiques de l’institution hôte en ce qui a trait aux stagiaires.

7. Avis d'octroi de subvention

Les candidats acceptés recevront un « avis d'octroi de subvention » (AOS) officiel stipulant la durée de la subvention et son montant. L'agent financier et le bureau de recherche de l'établissement hôte seront aussi informés. Les résultats du concours seront affichés sur le site Web de la Société canadienne du cancer. Tous les candidats recevront par la suite une critique scientifique préparée par le comité d’examen. L'Institut s'efforce de soutenir des recherches du plus haut calibre sur le cancer.

8. Allocations de déplacement pour assister à des congrès scientifiques

Des allocations de déplacement ne sont plus ajoutées au montant de base des subventions. Toutefois, les candidats subventionnés peuvent utiliser jusqu'à 5 % du budget de la subvention pour assister à des congrès scientifiques légitimes. Les sommes consacrées aux déplacements doivent être consignées dans les relevés comptables annuels.

9. Rapports scientifiques, publications et activités de nature médiatique

Tous les récipiendaires de subvention doivent présenter des rapports scientifiques pendant toute la durée de la subvention, ainsi qu'après la fin de la subvention. Les chercheurs principaux recevront des instructions par courrier électronique quant à la façon de remplir le rapport grâce à notre système EGrAMS en ligne. Ces rapports sont obligatoires. À défaut de soumettre les rapports exigés, tout versement ultérieur relatif à la subvention accordée sera alors retenu.

Rapports intérimaires annuels sur les progrès et rapports de fin de subvention

Les chercheurs sont priés de fournir un sommaire des progrès réalisés, une liste des textes publiés et des présentations faites sur le projet subventionné, des détails sur les stagiaires et d’indiquer l'impact de leur recherche. On demande aussi aux chercheurs de préciser toute activité qui a pu aider à promouvoir la Société.

Rapport postérieur à la période de la subvention

Étant donné que les impacts de la recherche peuvent survenir après la période de subvention, les récipiendaires de subvention peuvent fournir un « rapport postérieur » deux ans après la fin de la période de subvention. Le rapport inclura les publications, la situation des stagiaires, etc.
Pour plus de renseignements sur la façon dont nous évaluons l'impact de la recherche, veuillez vous reporter à la section concernant l'impacts de la recherche.

Afin de mettre en évidence les conclusions de leurs recherches à l'intention des médias et du grand public, les récipiendaires de subventions sont priés de communiquer au specialiste en communication de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer des copies d'importants documents en préimpression ou en réimpression, et d'associer le service approprié à toute interaction avec les médias qui découle des activités de recherche subventionnées. Le bailleur de fonds doit être mentionné dans toute annonce de subvention. Le bailleur de fonds (article 11) doit être mentionné dans toute annonce de subvention.

10. Politique de libre accès

Veuillez vous reporter à la politique de libre accès de la Société canadienne du cancer, où il est stipulé que les résultats de recherche doivent être rendus publics dans un délai de 12 mois après la date de la publication évaluée par des pairs.

11. Reconnaissance du financement

Les chercheurs doivent publier leurs résultats dans des revues scientifiques évaluées par des pairs et présenter leurs découvertes lors de conférences scientifiques. Les récipiendaires d'une subvention doivent mentionner le bailleur de fonds dans tous les écrits scientifiques et communiqués de presse liés à la subvention. Une reconnaissance adéquate serait « Cette recherche est appuyée par la Société canadienne du cancer (subvention no XXXXXX) ».

12. Communication de l'information financière

Un relevé de compte annuel est exigé dans les 60 jours après la fin de l'année de la subvention. Des formulaires de relevés de compte sont disponibles dans la section administration financière de notre site Web. Cette section décrit également les politiques et les pratiques qui gouvernent la façon dont les fonds des subventions sont utilisés.

13. Restrictions concernant le financement émanant de l'industrie du tabac

La Société canadienne du cancer a mis en place une politique stricte en vertu de laquelle elle n'acceptera aucun soutien financier ou autre de la part d'un fabricant ou distributeur en gros de produits du tabac, ni n'acceptera en connaissance de cause aucun soutien financier ou autre de la part de toute compagnie dont une importante partie des revenus provient de la promotion, de la distribution ou de la vente de produits du tabac.

14. Autres clauses

Les récipiendaires de subventions et les établissements hôtes devraient avoir pris connaissance des conditions et des règlements s'appliquant à tous les individus us recevant un financement pour la recherche ou un soutien pour la formation.

Dernière modification le: 19 février 2014