A A A

Research grants

This category is not open to applications. Details are provided for information only.

1. Description

Grants for research will be awarded to projects deemed worthy of support, provided that the basic equipment and research facilities are available in the institution concerned and that it will provide the necessary administrative services. Such awards will be granted for the purchase and maintenance of animals, expendable supplies, minor items of equipment, payment of graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and technical and professional assistants, open access publication costs, research travel and permanent equipment.

These grants do not provide for personal salary support of the Principal Investigator (PI) and/or Co-applicants nor for institutional overhead costs.

The Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute reserves the right not to accept more than 3 applications from a single Principal Investigator in a given research grants competition (3 submissions in total). Only one INITIAL or RE-APPLICATION submission from each Principal Investigator/Co-Principal Investigator will be accepted. Renewals are not affected by this limit.

2. Eligibility

A researcher who is designated as the Principal Investigator must be based in, or formally affiliated with, an eligible Canadian Host Institution such as a university, research institute or health care agency. Graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, research associates, technical support staff, or investigators based outside of Canada are not eligible to be a Principal Investigator. Both the Principal Investigator and executive authorities of the Host Institution are required to agree to the terms of the Host Institution/Canadian Cancer Society Agreement included as part of the application, thereby acknowledging and agreeing to all the responsibilities and obligations outlined in that Agreement.

The person named as the PI remains the PI on a grant for the duration of the grant unless given express permission by the Canadian Cancer Society.

Applicants who do not yet hold an eligible position

Investigators who have a firm offer of a research position at an eligible Host Institution and where the appointment is not contingent on the success of a pending application, can submit an application as Principal Investigator provided that the position commences by July 1, 2011. In such cases, a letter from an appropriate authority of the Host Institution must be included, which provides clear details as to the exact nature of the appointment (including title and major responsibilities), as well as the expected start date and duration of the appointment.

A researcher designated as Co-Principal Investigator or Co-applicant is a researcher who may or may not have a formal affiliation with the Host Institution, but will take responsibility for particular administrative and scientific aspects of the research project. These categories may not include graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, research associates, technical support staff, or investigators based outside of Canada. These individuals are not eligible to receive salary support from a grant.

The third category, Additional Authors, formally recognizes other individuals who will make substantial intellectual contributions to the research project or have contributed to the drafting of the application itself, but who are not eligible to be included as Co-Principal Investigators or Co-applicants. Students, postdoctoral fellows, research associates, lay contributors and investigators based outside of Canada may be included in this category. Students, post-doctoral fellows and research associates may receive salary support from a grant.

3. Types and terms of grants

Applications may be for a period of research up to a maximum of three years.

Resubmissions of Previously Unsuccessful Applications: An investigator who is submitting a revised grant application that was unsuccessful in the preceding grant competition (special initiatives included) will be permitted to provide a response to the critiques of the previous proposal. These applications will be considered as Re-Applications. If the investigator chooses not to respond to the critiques, the application will be an Initial Application.

4. Certificates

The following may be required from all participating institutions, depending on the proposed work:

  • If this application involves the use of biological materials, a certificate must be submitted from each institutional Biohazards Committee guaranteeing that the project will be conducted under conditions which satisfy the "Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines", published by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and Health Canada. Please reference their website for current guidelines.
  • If this application involves the use of experimental animals, a certificate must be submitted from each institutional Animal Care Committee guaranteeing that all animals will be cared for and studied under conditions meeting the standards stated in "Guide to the Care and Use of Experimental Animals", published by the Canadian Council on Animal Care.
  • If this application involves human experimentation, a certificate must be submitted from the appropriate Committee of each institution involved, stating that the protocols and methods have been found acceptable from an ethical point of view in accordance with the "TCPS 2 - Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans" (TCPS 2 has replaced the 1st edition of the TCPS (1998)), published by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.
  • Human Embryonic Stem Cell Research – Any investigator proposing human embryonic stem cell research must contact the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute prior to submitting an application. The Government of Canada has passed Bill C-6, An Act respecting assisted human reproduction and related research that regulates, among other things, the use and creation of human embryonic stem cells. The Act may be found on Health Canada's website. Its provisions dictate the regulations incumbent on applicants, Host Institutions and the funder in the contemplation of carrying out of research covered by the legislation. This will often involve special ethics and other approval mechanisms (beyond approval via the usual local Ethics Review Board).

The Canadian Cancer Society has endorsed and adopted the Guidelines set forward by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, entitled Human Pluripotent Stem Cell Research: Guidelines for CIHR-Funded Research. In addition, based on the recommendation of the CIHR-led Ad hoc Working Group on Stem Cell Research, a Stem Cell Oversight Committee (SCOC) has been struck. The SCOC will review applications dealing with human embryonic stem cells and other ethically sensitive human stem cell research to ensure that they are in accordance with CIHR's stem cell Guidelines. As with all ethical approvals, for any research grant involving human embryonic stem cells, it is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that the work proposed has been approved by the SCOC.

Please be advised that no funds will be released to successful applicants until all required certificates are received.

5. Host Institution/Canadian Cancer Society Agreement

Grants are made only with the consent and knowledge of the administrative head of the institution at which they are to be held and applications must be countersigned on the Host Institution/Canadian Cancer Society Agreement. These signatures indicate that the officials at the Host Institution have read and understood all of the various obligations of the parties, which now includes a formal policy on Integrity in Research and Scholarship. No funds will be released to successful applicants without these signatures and titles. Applicants are reminded that this form also contains a disclaimer and indemnity clause. Specific terms of the Agreement are available.

6. Ceilings on research grant budgets

The ceiling for salaries and supplies combined is $300,000 per year per grant, for research involving clinical studies, epidemiology, behavioural, psychosocial, supportive care, palliative care, health promotion and health services research and is $150,000 per year per grant for all other types of research. This ceiling only refers to the limit of contribution that the Canadian Cancer Society will make towards a project and investigators should detail the full budget requirements. This does not preclude an investigator exceeding these limits if supplementary funding can be found from other sources and partners providing that the total obtained from all sources does exceed the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute's panel recommended amount deemed necessary by the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute’s Grants Panel. In this case, Canadian Cancer Society funds may be encumbered pending confirmation of such additional funding from other sources, should it be deemed critical to the project’s success.

7. Request for permanent equipment

The ceiling is $70,000 per grant for the purchase of necessary permanent equipment only as part of a research grant. This cap only applies to the contribution the Canadian Cancer Society would make towards the equipment and if a higher amount is recommended, other sources of funding can be found to augment the contribution. Please note that any approved equipment requests will not be counted towards the $150,000 or $300,000 ceilings on the budget. The cost of each item must exceed $1,000 to be considered under this category.

Applicants should note that due to financial constraints and in an effort to fund more grants, the ‘regular’ equipment funds category has been suspended. Equipment funds have only been approved for the New Investigators category. This policy remains in effect, however if finances allow, equipment may be funded in future competitions.

All grantees may use up to $10,000 per year or 5% of the amount awarded in the supplies and salaries budget for the purchase of equipment.

8. Support of research associates and professional assistants

Grant applications may contain requests for the support of professional assistants or research associates. It is recognized that research associates may often be key personnel in a research program. However, any person holding an academic rank equivalent to Assistant Professor or higher cannot be considered to be a professional assistant or research associate and therefore may not be paid from a grant.

9. Support of trainees

The support of graduate trainees and postdoctoral fellows are encouraged. The current maximum awards for trainees are as follows:

 

Regular students $19,500 per annum
Summer students $1,500 per month
Postdoctoral fellows $35,000; $36,580; $38,165; $39,750; $41,335; $42,915; $44,500 maximum per annum (Stipends for postdoctoral fellows are dependent on the number of years of experience post-PhD or post-MD). Note that no annual increments are currently provided.
Student and postdoctoral fellow salaries are considered training awards as defined by Section 56(1)(n) of the Income Tax Act. As such there are no deductions required for CPP/QPP, Employment Insurance or provincial health taxes. Fringe benefits such as medical, dental or private pension plans as well as academic fees are also ineligible expenses.

10. Multiple applications/multiple sources of funding

It is understood that applications may also be made to other agencies to provide support for grants/programs similar to those submitted to the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute. There must not be substantive overlap (more than 75%) with any pending application to any agency as of October 15, 2010. This pertains to initial, re-applications or renewal applications. Duplicate applications will not be accepted. The onus is on the applicant to indicate the extent (or absence) of overlap. If submitting duplicate applications to other agencies after October 15, grantees can accept funds from other sources, up to the total panel recommended amount, as long as the Canadian Cancer Society grant is accepted in full. The Canadian Cancer Society will not consider funding specific/partial aims of a project. Grantees can accept funds received from other sources up to the panel recommended amounts.

11. Notification of award

Successful applicants will receive an official “Notification of Award” (NOA) indicating the duration and the value of the grant. The financial office and the research office of the host university or institution will also be informed. Results of the competition will be posted on the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute website in the spring. All applicants will subsequently be provided with the scientific critique prepared by the review panel. It is the objective of the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute to support the highest calibre of cancer research.

12. Funds for conference travel

Travel funds are no longer added to the base amount of grants, however grantees may use up to 5% of the grant budget for legitimate scientific and conference travel. Any monies spent on travel must be accounted for in annual accounting statements.

13. Grant start date

The start date for grants applied for in October 2010 will be July 1, 2011.

14. Scientific reporting, publications and communications-related activities

All grant recipients must submit scientific reports throughout the grant and after the grant end date. Principal Investigators will be emailed instructions about completing the report in our online system (EGrAMS). Submission of these reports is mandatory.

Annual Progress and End of Grant Reports: Investigators are asked to provide a summary of progress, a list of publications and presentations associated with the grant, details on trainees, and impacts of their research. Investigators will also be asked to list any activities that have helped to promote the Society. These reports are due by July 15 each year.

Post Grant Reports: As impacts of research may occur beyond the termination date, grantees must submit a “Post Grant” report two years after the grant termination date. The report will capture publications, status of trainees, etc. These reports are due by July 30 each year.

Failure to submit the required reports may result in the future installments on a grant being withheld.

In order to highlight research findings to the public, grantees are requested to contact the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute communications department Communications Manager with copies of important preprints and reprints and to involve the appropriate office in any media interactions that emanate from the funded research activities. The funder acknowledgement (item 16) must be included in any grant announcements.

15. Open access policy

Please see the Canadian Cancer Society Open access policy.

16. Acknowledgement of funds

Grantees must acknowledge the funder in all scientific communications and media releases related to the grant. The Notification of Award will detail the funder clearly. Proper acknowledgement would be "This research is supported by (funder) (grant #XXXXXX)".

17. Other conditions

For further information regarding procedures for grants awarded funding, please refer to the financial administration page.

Application, review and grant allocation process

Last modified on: October 30, 2013

A A A

Subventions de recherche

Cette catégorie n'est pas offerte. Des détails sont fournis à titre d'information uniquement. Veuillez consulter la section Administration financière pour les mises à jour des exigences et des politiques scientifiques et financières.

1. Description

Ces subventions à la recherche sont accordées aux travaux jugés dignes d'en bénéficier, sous réserve que le matériel et les installations de recherche indispensables soient disponibles à l'établissement hôte et que ce dernier puisse fournir les services administratifs nécessaires. Des subventions de cette nature sont consenties pour l'achat et le soin des animaux de laboratoire, les fournitures remplaçables, les petits appareils, le salaire des étudiants de troisième cycle, des boursiers post-doctoraux et des adjoints techniques et professionnels, les coûts de publication en libre accès, les frais de déplacement aux fins de recherche et l'équipement permanent.

Ces subventions ne sont pas fournies à titre de salaire pour le chercheur principal ou les codemandeurs ni pour les frais administratifs de l'établissement.

L'Institut de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer se réserve le droit de ne pas accepter plus de trois demandes présentées par un même chercheur principal dans le cadre d’un concours d’attribution de subventions de recherche (trois demandes au total). Une seule NOUVELLE demande ou RÉITÉRATION de demande sera acceptée de la part de chaque chercheur principal/co-chercheur principal. Les renouvellements ne sont pas affectés par cette limite.

2. Admissibilité

La personne assignée à titre de chercheur principal conformément à une subvention de recherche doit travailler ou être officiellement attachée à un établissement hôte canadien admissible, tel qu'une université, un centre de recherche ou un organisme de services de santé. Les étudiants diplômés, les boursiers de niveau post-doctoral, les associés à la recherche, le personnel de soutien technique, ou les chercheurs établis ailleurs qu'au Canada ne peuvent agir à titre de chercheur principal. Le chercheur principal et les autorités exécutives de l'établissement hôte doivent tous deux accepter les modalités de l'entente incluse dans la trousse de demande, liant ledit établissement et la Société canadienne du cancer, reconnaissant et acceptant de ce fait toutes les responsabilités et obligations contenues dans l'entente.

La personne nommée CP demeurera CP aux fins de la subvention pour la durée de celle-ci, à moins qu’une autorisation expresse n’ait été donnée par la Société canadienne du cancer.

Candidats qui n'occupent pas un poste admissible au moment de la demande

 

Les chercheurs qui ont reçu une offre ferme pour un poste dans le domaine de la recherche dans un établissement hôte admissible dont la nomination à ce poste ne dépend pas du succès d’une demande en attente d’approbation peuvent soumettre une demande à titre de chercheur principal pourvu qu'ils entrent en fonction d'ici le 1er juillet 2011. Dans ce cas, les candidats doivent joindre une lettre émanant d’un responsable autorisé de l’établissement hôte dans laquelle doivent figurer une description claire et détaillée de la nature exacte de l’emploi (y compris le titre et les principales responsabilités) ainsi que la date de début et la durée de l’emploi prévus.

Un chercheur assigné à titre de co-chercheur principal ou de co-demandeur est un chercheur associé ou non à l'établissement hôte et qui assume des responsabilités quant à certains aspects administratifs et scientifiques du projet de recherche. Ces catégories ne peuvent inclure des étudiants diplômés, boursiers de niveau post-doctoral, associés à la recherche, du personnel de soutien technique, ou des chercheurs établis ailleurs qu'au Canada. Ces particuliers ne sont pas admissibles à toucher une rémunération tirée d'une subvention.

La troisième catégorie, visant les auteurs additionnels, reconnaît formellement d'autres individus qui apporteront des contributions intellectuelles importantes au projet de recherche ou à la rédaction de la demande, mais qui ne peuvent être nommés co-chercheurs principaux ou co-demandeurs. Les étudiants, les boursiers de niveau post-doctoral, les associés à la recherche, les collaborateurs profanes, et les chercheurs établis ailleurs qu'au Canada pourraient être inclus dans cette catégorie. Les étudiants, les boursiers de niveau post-doctoral et les associés de recherche peuvent toucher un salaire financé en vertu d’une subvention.

3. Types de subvention et durée de l'octroi

Les demandes de subventions sont pour une période maximale de trois années de recherche.

Nouvelle soumission d'une demande refusée : Un chercheur qui soumet une nouvelle demande par suite d'un refus lors d'un concours antérieur (y compris les initiatives spéciales) aura l'option de fournir une réfutation de la critique de sa demande antérieure. Ces demandes seront considérées comme une nouvelle soumission d'une demande refusée. Si le chercheur décide de ne pas répondre à la critique, la demande sera évaluée comme s'il s'agissait d'une première proposition.

4. Certificats

Les documents suivants sont exigés de tous les établissements participants :

  • Si cette proposition nécessite l'usage de matières biologiques, il est nécessaire de présenter un certificat émanant du comité d'étude des risques biologiques de chaque établissement concerné, garantissant que le projet sera mené conformément aux conditions stipulées dans les « Lignes directrices en matière de biosécurité en laboratoire », publiées par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et Santé Canada.
  • Si cette proposition exige des expériences sur des animaux, il est nécessaire de présenter un certificat émanant du comité de soins aux animaux de chaque l'établissement concerné, garantissant que les animaux seront traités conformément aux conditions stipulées dans le « Manuel sur les soins et l'utilisation des animaux d'expérimentation », publié par le Conseil canadien de protection des animaux.
  • Si cette proposition prévoit des expériences tentées sur des humains, il est nécessaire de présenter un certificat émanant de chacun des établissements concernés, garantissant que les protocoles et méthodes qui seront utilisés ont été jugés acceptables du point de vue de l'éthique conformément aux conditions stipulées dans « EPTC 2 - Énoncé de politique des trois conseils : Éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains » (L’EPTC 2 a remplacé la 1e édition de l’EPTC (1998)), publiées par le Conseil de recherches médicales du Canada, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada.
  • Si une demande propose la création ou l'usage d'une recherche sur les cellules souches embryonnaires humaines, le chercheur doit contacter l'Institut de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer avant de soumettre sa demande. Le gouvernement du Canada a adopté le projet de loi C-6, la Loi sur la procréation assistée et les recherches afférentes qui gouverne, entre autres, l’utilisation et la création de cellules souches embryonnaires humaines. Le texte de cette loi peut être obtenu sur le site Web de Santé Canada. Ses clauses dictent les règles qui s’appliquent aux candidats, aux établissements hôtes et au bailleur de fonds pour ce qui est des projets de recherche couverts par cette loi. Des clauses spéciales sur l’éthique et d’autres procédés d’autorisation (au-delà de l’autorisation par le Comité d’éthique local) seront applicables dans plusieurs cas.

La Société canadienne du cancer a sanctionné et adopté les lignes directrices mises de l’avant par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada intitulées Recherche sur les cellules souches pluripotentes humaines: lignes directrices pour la recherche financée par les IRSC. De plus, suivant les recommandations du groupe de travail ad hoc dirigé par les IRSC portant sur la recherche sur les cellules souches, un Comité de surveillance des cellules souches (CSCS) a été mis en place. Le CSCS examinera les demandes traitant des cellules souches embryonnaires humaines et autres recherches sur les cellules souches humaines sensibles du point de vue éthique pour s’assurer qu’elles respectent les lignes directrices des IRSC sur les cellules souches. Comme pour toutes les autorisations concernant l’éthique, pour toute demande de recherche impliquant des cellules souches embryonnaires humaines, il est de la responsabilité du candidat de s'assurer que le travail proposé a été approuvé par le CSCS.

Nous tenons à vous aviser qu'aucune subvention ne sera versée aux demandeurs acceptés tant que ces certificats n'auront pas été reçus.

5. Entente avec l'établissement hôte/la Société canadienne du cancer

Les subventions ne sont faites qu'avec le consentement du cadre administratif de l'établissement où la recherche sera effectuée, et les demandes doivent en conséquence être contresignées dans l'entente avec l'établissement hôte/la Société canadienne du cancer. Ces signatures indiquent que les cadres de l'établissement hôte ont lu et compris les diverses obligations des parties qui incluent maintenant une politique officielle sur l'intégrité de la recherche et sur l'octroi des bourses. Aucun fonds ne sera libéré sans ces signatures et titres. Nous rappelons aux candidats que ce formulaire comporte aussi une clause de décharge de responsabilité. Les termes spécifiques de cette entente sont disponibles.

6. Plafonds des budgets de subventions de recherche

Le plafond établi pour les salaires et les fournitures est de 300 000 $ par année par subvention pour la recherche nécessitant des études cliniques, et la recherche en épidémiologie, sur le comportement, psychosociale, soins de soutien, soins palliatifs, sur la promotion de la santé et les services de santé et de 150 000 $ par année par subvention pour tous les autres types de recherches. Ce plafond ne réfère qu'à la limite de la contribution de la Société canadienne du cancer à un projet et que les chercheurs doivent présenter une demande de budget détaillée. Le chercheur peut toutefois excéder ces limites si une subvention additionnelle peut être obtenue d'autres sources ou partenaires à condition que le total des fonds obtenus de toutes les sources ne dépasse pas le montant de la subvention jugé nécessaire par le comité d’étude de l’Institut de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer. Dans pareil cas, la Société canadienne du cancer peut supporter l'excédent de subvention jusqu'à ce que le financement d'autres sources soit confirmé, si cela s'avérait essentiel au succès du projet.

7. Demande de subventions d'équipement permanent

Le plafond est de 70 000 $ pour l'achat d'équipement permanent nécessaire uniquement pour les projets de recherche subventionnés. Ce plafond ne s'applique qu'à la cotisation de la Société canadienne du cancer pour l'achat d'équipement et, si une somme plus importante est recommandée, ce montant peut être augmenté par d'autres sources de financement. Veuillez noter que les fonds approuvés pour l'équipement sont en sus des plafonds de budget de 150 000 $ ou 300 000 $. Le coût de chaque article doit être supérieur à 1 000 $ pour être étudié dans le cadre de cette catégorie.

Les candidats à une subvention doivent noter que, compte tenu des contraintes financières et afin d'offrir un plus grand nombre de subventions, la catégorie de subvention d’équipement « régulier » a été annulée. Les subventions d’équipement ont seulement été approuvées que pour la catégorie « Nouveaux chercheurs ». Cette politique demeure en vigueur, toutefois, si les fonds le permettent, l’équipement pourrait être subventionné dans le cadre des concours futurs.

Les bénéficiaires peuvent consacrer à l'achat d'équipement par année un maximum de 10 000 $ ou 5 p. cent du montant accordé au budget de base.

8. Soutien aux associés de recherche et adjoints professionnels

Les demandes de subvention peuvent inclure des demandes pour le soutien des associés de recherche ou des adjoints professionnels. Il est reconnu que les associés de recherche sont souvent des employés essentiels dans un programme de recherche. Toutefois, les titulaires d'un rang professoral équivalent à celui de professeur adjoint ou d'une catégorie supérieure ne peuvent être considérés comme adjoint professionnel ou associé à la recherche et, en conséquence, ne peuvent être rémunérés à même la subvention.

9. Soutien aux stagiaires

L'Institut préconise le soutien aux stagiaires diplômés et aux boursiers post-doctoraux. Les niveaux de rémunération maximaux pour les apprentis sont les suivants :

 

Étudiants à temps plein : 19 500 $ par année
Étudiants, session d'été : 1 500 $ par mois
Boursiers post-doctoraux : 35 000 $; 36 580 $; 38 165 $; 39 750 $; 41 335 $; 42 915 $; 44,500 $ par année (Les sommes allouées ici sont fonction du nombre d'années d'expérience post-PhD ou post-MD). Veuillez noter qu’aucune augmentation annuelle n’est actuellement offerte.

En vertu de l'interprétation de la section 56(1) (n) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, les salaires des étudiants et boursiers post-doctoraux sont considérés comme des bourses de formation. À ce titre, aucune déduction n'est requise pour le RPC/RRQ, l'assurance-emploi ou l'assurance-santé provinciale. Les avantages sociaux comme les régimes de soins médicaux et dentaires et les régimes de retraite privés ainsi que les frais de scolarité ne sont pas des dépenses admissibles.

Mise à jour : août 2014. Veuillez consulter la section Administration financière pour les mises à jour concernant la rémunération et le taux d’imposition des boursiers postdoctoraux.

10. Multiples demandes/sources de financement

Il est entendu que des demandes de subvention peuvent être faites à d'autres agences pour appuyer les programmes/subventions similaires à ceux presentés à l'Institut de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer. Il ne devrait pas y avoir de chevauchement important (plus de 75 %) en ce qui concerne toute demande en instance auprès de tout organisme à compter du 15 octobre 2010. Ceci se rapporte aux demandes initiales, aux réitérations de demandes ou aux renouvellements. Les demandes en double ne seront pas acceptées. Le demandeur est responsable d'indiquer l'étendue (ou l'absence) du chevauchement. S'ils présentent des demandes en double à d'autres agences après le 15 octobre, les récipiendaires de subventions peuvent accepter les fonds en provenance d'autres sources jusqu'à concurrence du montant maximal recommandé par le comité, tant que la totalité de la subvention de la Société canadienne du cancer est acceptée. La Société canadienne du cancer ne financera pas des volets de recherche spécifiques/partiels. Les récipiendaires peuvent accepter les fonds reçus d’autres sources dans la limite des montants recommandés par le comité.

11. Avis d'octroi de subvention

Les candidats acceptés recevront un « avis d'octroi de subvention » (AOS) officiel stipulant la durée de la subvention et son montant. L'agent financier et le bureau de recherche de l'université ou de l'établissement hôte seront aussi informés. Les résultats du concours seront affichés au site Web de la Société canadienne du cancer au printemps. Tous les candidats recevront par la suite une critique scientifique préparée par le comité d'étude. L'Institut s'efforce de soutenir des recherches du plus haut calibre sur le cancer.

12. Allocations de déplacement pour assister à des congrès scientifiques

Des allocations de déplacement ne sont plus ajoutées aux subventions. Toutefois, les candidats subventionnés peuvent utiliser jusqu'à 5 p. cent du budget de la subvention pour assister à des congrès scientifiques légitimes. Ces fonds doivent être documentés précisément dans les relevés comptables annuels.

13. Date d'amorce de la période de subvention

La date de l'amorce des subventions dont la demande a été faite en octobre 2010 est le 1er juillet 2011.

14. Rapports scientifiques, publications et activités de nature médiatique

Tous les récipiendaires de subvention doivent présenter des rapports scientifiques pendant toute la durée de la subvention, ainsi qu'après la fin de la subvention. Les chercheurs principaux recevront des instructions par courrier électronique quant à la façon de remplir le rapport grâce à notre système EGrAMS en ligne. Ces rapports sont obligatoires.

Rapports intérimaires annuels sur les progrès et rapports de fin de subvention : Les chercheurs sont invités à fournir un sommaire des progrès réalisés, ainsi qu’une liste des textes publiés et des présentations faites sur le projet subventionné, des détails sur les stagiaires et l'impact de leur recherche. On demande aussi aux chercheurs de préciser toute activité qui a pu aider à promouvoir la Société. Ces rapports doivent être présentés au plus tard le 15 juillet de chaque année.

Rapport postérieur à la période de la subvention : Étant donné que les impacts de la recherche peuvent survenir après la période de subvention, les récipiendaires de subvention peuvent fournir un « rapport postérieur » deux ans après la fin de la période de subvention. Le rapport inclura les publications, la situation des stagiaires, etc. Ces rapports doivent être présentés au plus tard le 30 juillet de chaque année.

À défaut de soumettre les rapports exigés, tout versement ultérieur de la subvention accordée pourrait être retenu.

Afin de mettre en évidence les conclusions de leurs recherches à l'intention des médias et du grand public, les bénéficiaires de subventions sont priés de contacter la direction du Service des communications de l'Institut de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer ou de remettre au directeur des communications de l’Alliance canadienne pour la recherche sur le cancer du sein avec des copies d'importants documents en préimpression ou en réimpression, et d'associer ces services à toute relation avec les médias concernant celles de vos recherches qui sont subventionnées. Le fournisseur de fonds (article 16) doit être mentionné dans toute annonce de subvention.

15. Politique de libre accès

Veuillez vous reporter à la politique de libre accès de la Société canadienne du cancer.

16. Reconnaissance du financement

Les bénéficiaires d'une subvention doivent mentionner le fournisseur des fonds dans tous les écrits scientifiques et communiqués de presse reliés à la subvention. L'avis de subvention précisera clairement le fournisseur des fonds. Une reconnaissance adéquate serait « Cette recherche est appuyée par (le fournisseur des fonds) (no XXXXXX de la subvention de recherche). »

17. Autres conditions

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet des procédures à suivre pour l'octroi de subventions, veuillez consulter administration financière.

Le processus de demande, d'étude et d'allocation des subventions

Dernière modification le: 6 novembre 2014