A A A

Prevention translation supplement award

This category is not open to applications, Details are provided for information only. Please see Financial administration for updated information on scientific and financial reporting requirements and policies.

Eligibility

The proposed work must result from a peer reviewed grant to be eligible for funding under this supplemental award. This competition was previously open to current Canadian Cancer Society research grant holders but this eligibility has been expanded to allow any investigator with current or prior funding from any recognized peer-review funding agency to apply.

Investigators may propose collaborations with different research institutions, as appropriate. Research proposals must demonstrate an evaluable impact on increasing understanding of and action around cancer prevention. The supplement award will support pilot studies that meet the following conditions:

  1. The original grant involves identifying or quantifying a cancer risk factor cause or behaviour change that could be modified through an intervention in the human population;
  2. Costs for the proposed intervention cannot have been included in the original grant;
  3. The Principal Investigator (PI) for the supplement award must be a named investigator on the original grant. If the PI of the original grant is not a listed participant on the supplement award, a letter of acknowledgement and support for the proposed pilot study must be provided to the CCS with the full application.

Abstract registration must be completed in order to submit a full application.

Program description

The purpose of this funding initiative is to stimulate the translation of basic research, epidemiological research and observational research findings into cancer prevention action by supporting pilot studies of interventions derived from a currently funded research project (referred to as “the original grant”). Priority areas identified by the Canadian Cancer Society include, but are not limited to:

  • tobacco control
  • occupational and environmental carcinogens (O&E)
  • UV radiation exposure
  •  healthy eating and physical activity
  • basic research including better understanding of cancer etiology and gene-based studies related to risk reduction and prevention

These projects are expected to take existing evidence and transition it into an intervention research project. A central focus of this funding program and the reason for its prioritization by the Canadian Cancer Society End 1 Development Committee is to provide an opportunity to build on existing cancer research findings and turn them into cancer prevention action.

Applications are invited from any investigator with current or prior funding from any recognized peer-review funding agency across all disciplines to submit pilot studies that will translate their research findings into identifying effective interventions that reduce the cancer incidence in the human population. Examples of studies that may be appropriate for this initiative include (but are not limited to):

  • early phase studies to determine the appropriate dosage and side effects of a promising intervention strategy derived from the original grant, which could include pharmacologic agents (e.g., chemoprevention) or behaviours (e.g., physical activity)
  • pilot studies to examine the feasibility (e.g., recruitment, accrual, compliance, effect size) of an intervention derived from the original grant
  • pilot cancer prevention interventions in human populations that further examine the use of biomarkers and predictors of outcomes identified in the original grant
  • pilot cancer prevention interventions in groups at high risk based on findings of the original grant (e.g., genetic predisposition to cancer)

Investigators applying for these supplement awards are strongly encouraged to establish appropriate collaborations to secure unique expertise related to the design and implementation of cancer prevention interventions. These collaborations may involve, for example, experts in behavioural science and/or oncology practitioners.

Funds available

Individual supplement awards will be funded to a maximum of $200,000 over a two-year period. Budget requests can include (within the funding cap) a request for permanent equipment of up to $35,000.

The time-frame and associated expenses must be clearly justified in the budget. The grant is non-renewable.

Peer review panel

A single multidisciplinary peer review committee will be assembled for this competition. The peer review committee will consist of scientific experts, along with community representatives to provide patient/survivor/caregiver perspectives.

Abstract registration

Registration is mandatory and will require applicant details (Principal Investigator(s)/Co-Applicants/Additional Authors), scientific abstract, keywords, suggested reviewers and research tracking information.

Any significant changes to the proposed project or applicant team after the Abstract registration deadline should be communicated to the CCS (research@cancer.ca) as soon as they are known.

The application is accessible through the CCS online research application system EGrAMS. All applications must meet the eligibility requirements.

Full application structure

The proposal will contain no more than 5 pages of single-spaced text and 5 pages of figures/tables/charts and associated legends. Specific guidelines for the online application are available.

When preparing the full application, applicants are required to provide the following:

  1. a detailed outline of the work to be performed and how the proposed supplement will transition and build on the research findings of the original grant
    • an indication of which member(s) of the research team will be responsible for each aspect of the project including a detailed rationale for their inclusion in the project
    • a scientific outline that clearly states the aims of the project(s) including any previous work done in the area, experimental design, methods and analysis
    • relevance of the project to cancer prevention including the impact research results will have on the burden of cancer or the advancement of cancer prevention research
    • a detailed description of the actual products expected to result from the project
    • a detailed plan for the dissemination of the research findings beyond scientific publication, including a knowledge translation and exchange strategy which may include partnerships with policy, program delivery and advocacy experts
  2. a budget justification related to the supplies, expenses and personnel associated with the research project. This must include the number of personnel required to complete the work and a description of their experience and/or education level. Should equipment be required to complete the research, at least 2 price quotes for each piece of equipment over $10,000 is required

Review criteria

The review committee will prepare written critiques. The review criteria for the written application will include but not necessarily be restricted to the following:

  • relevance to the mission of the Canadian Cancer Society
  • relevance to the risk reduction and prevention priority areas identified by the Canadian Cancer Society
  • scientific merit of the research project for preventing cancer
  • qualifications and experience of the investigators responsible for the research components
  • innovativeness of the proposed research project
  • appropriateness of the methods for the focus of the research
  • appropriateness of the knowledge translation and exchange strategy to disseminate research finding s beyond scientific publication
  •  likelihood that the proposed research will have an impact on moving the field of cancer prevention research forward
  • appropriateness of the term and amount of support requested

Multiple applications/multiple sources of funding

It is understood that applications may also be made to other agencies to provide support for grants/programs similar to those submitted to the Canadian Cancer Society. The onus is on the applicant to indicate the extent (or absence) of overlap. Grantees can accept funds from other sources, up to the CCS grant panel recommended amount.

Applicants are reminded to review the eligibility and requirements page for details on scientific and financial reporting, funder acknowledgement, Canadian Cancer Society policies on open access and tobacco related funding.

Last modified on: September 14, 2017

Bourse supplémentaire transposée en faveur de la prévention du cancer

Cette catégorie n'est pas offerte. Des détails sont fournis à titre d'information uniquement. Veuillez consulter la section Administration financière pour les mises à jour des exigences et des politiques scientifiques et financières.

Admissibilité

Aux fins d’admissibilité à une bourse supplémentaire, le travail proposé doit découler d’une subvention soumise à une évaluation par les pairs. Ce concours était auparavant ouvert aux bénéficiaires actuels de subventions de la Société canadienne du cancer, mais il est désormais ouvert à tout chercheur bénéficiant ou ayant bénéficié d’un financement d’un organisme subventionnaire reconnu d’évaluation par les pairs.

Les chercheurs peuvent collaborer avec d’autres établissements de recherche, le cas échéant. Les propositions de recherche doivent démontrer un impact mesurable pour ce qui est d’acquérir de nouvelles connaissances en matière de prévention du cancer et de favoriser la mise en pratique de ces connaissances. La bourse supplémentaire viendra appuyer les études pilotes qui répondent aux exigences suivantes :

  1. La subvention d’origine inclut l’identification ou la quantification d’une cause de facteur de risque de cancer ou d’un changement de comportement qui pourrait être modifié par le biais d’une intervention au sein de la population humaine.
  2. Les coûts inhérents à l’intervention suggérée ne peuvent avoir été inclus dans la subvention d’origine.
  3. Le chercheur principal pour la bourse supplémentaire doit être nommé en tant que chercheur dans la subvention d’origine. Si le chercheur principal de la subvention d’origine n’est pas cité en tant que participant pour la bourse supplémentaire, une lettre d’accusé de réception et de soutien en faveur de l’étude pilote proposée doit être fournie à la SCC avec la demande intégrale.

L’inscription du résumé doit avoir été effectuée afin de pouvoir présenter une demande intégrale.

Description du programme

L’objectif de cette initiative de financement est de stimuler la transposition des découvertes issues de la recherche fondamentale, de la recherche épidémiologique et de la recherche observationnelle en faveur de la prévention du cancer en soutenant les études pilotes axées sur les interventions issues d’un projet de recherche actuellement financé (c’est-à-dire « la subvention initiale »). Les secteurs prioritaires établis par la Société canadienne du cancer incluent, mais ne sont pas limitées à :

  • la lutte contre le tabagisme
  • les carcinogènes professionnels et environnementaux
  • l’exposition aux rayons UV
  • l’alimentation saine et l’activité physique
  • la recherche fondamentale, dont l’acquisition de nouvelles connaissances sur l’étiologie du cancer, et des études axées sur les gènes liées à la réduction du risque et à la prévention

On prévoit que ces projets miseront sur les preuves existantes afin de les transposer dans un projet de recherche axé sur les interventions. Un élément clé de ce programme de financement, et la raison pour laquelle des secteurs prioritaires ont été établis par le comité d’établissement de l’objectif 1 de la Société canadienne du cancer, est de donner la possibilité d’approfondir les découvertes actuelles en matière de recherche sur le cancer afin de les mettre en pratique pour prévenir le cancer.

Les demandes doivent émaner de tout chercheur bénéficiant ou ayant bénéficié d'un financement d'un organisme subentionnaire reconnu d'évaluation par les pairs dans toutes les disciplines et présenter des études pilotes visant à la transposition des résultats de recherche dans le but d’identifier des interventions efficaces pour la réduction de l’incidence du cancer parmi la population humaine. Des exemples d’études qui pourraient être appropriées dans le cadre de cette initiative comprennent (sans toutefois s’y limiter) :

  • les premières phases des études visant à déterminer la posologie appropriée et les effets secondaires d’une stratégie d’intervention prometteuse issue de la subvention initiale, qui pourrait inclure des agents pharmacologiques (par ex., la chimioprévention) ou des comportements (par ex., les activités physiques)
  • les études pilotes afin d’examiner la faisabilité (par ex., le recrutement, le nombre de sujets, l’assiduité, l’ampleur de l’effet) d’une intervention issue de la subvention initiale
  • les interventions pilotes en faveur de la prévention du cancer dans les populations humaines qui examinent plus en profondeur l’utilisation de marqueurs biologiques et les prédictions de résultats identifiés dans la subvention initiale
  • les interventions pilotes en faveur de la prévention du cancer dans des groupes à risque élevé selon les découvertes de la subvention initiale (par ex. la prédisposition génétique au cancer)

Les chercheurs qui font une demande pour ces bourses supplémentaires sont vivement encouragés à établir des collaborations appropriées afin d’obtenir l’expertise unique liée à la conception et à la mise en œuvre des interventions en faveur de la prévention du cancer. Ces collaborations peuvent impliquer, par exemple, des experts de la science du comportement et/ou des praticiens en oncologie.

Fonds disponibles

Les bourses supplémentaires individuelles s’élèveront à un maximum de 200 000 $ sur une période de deux ans. Les demandes budgétaires peuvent comprendre (dans la limite du plafond de financement) une demande de subventions d’équipement permanent allant jusqu’à 35 000 $.

Le délai et les dépenses associées doivent être clairement justifiés dans le budget. La subvention n’est pas renouvelable.

Comité d’évaluation par les pairs

Un comité d’évaluation par les pairs unique et interdisciplinaire se réunira pour ce concours. Le comité d’évaluation par les pairs se composera d’experts scientifiques, ainsi que de représentants de la communauté afin de fournir le point de vue des patients/survivants/prestataires de soins.

Inscription du résumé

L’inscription est obligatoire et devra inclure les renseignements concernant le candidat (chercheurs principaux, codemandeurs, auteurs additionnels), les résumés, les mots clés, des suggestions concernant les évaluateurs et les données concernant le suivi de la recherche.

Tout changement majeur quant à la proposition de projet ou à l’équipe de demandeurs survenant après la date limite pour l’inscription des résumés devrait être communiqué à la SCC (research@cancer.ca) dès qu’il est connu.

Le formulaire de demande en ligne est accessible depuis le système de demande en ligne de la SCC, EGrAMS. Toutes les demandes doivent respecter les exigences d’admissibilité.

Structure de la demande intégrale

La proposition ne contiendra pas plus de 5 pages à simple interligne et 5 pages de chiffres, tableaux, diagrammes et légendes qui accompagnent les textes. Des directives spécifiques pour la demande en ligne sont disponibles.

En préparant l’application intégrale, les candidats doivent fournir les renseignements suivants :

  1. Une description détaillée des travaux qui seront menés, et la façon dont la bourse supplémentaire servira de transition et approfondira les découvertes de la subvention initiale :
    • une précision sur quel(s) membre(s) de l’équipe de recherche sera (seront) responsable(s) de chacun des aspects du projet, y compris le raisonnement détaillé de leur participation au projet
    • un aperçu scientifique énonçant clairement les buts du projet, notamment les travaux antérieurs menés dans ce domaine, la méthodologie expérimentale et les méthodes d’analyse
    • une explication de la pertinence du projet en matière de prévention du cancer, notamment de l’impact que les résultats de la recherche pourraient avoir sur le fléau qu’est le cancer ou l’avancement de la recherche sur la prévention du cancer
    • une description détaillée des produits actuels que l’on prévoit mettre au point dans le cadre du projet
    • un plan détaillé pour la dissémination des découvertes issues de la recherche, au-delà des revues scientifiques, y compris la stratégie de transposition des connaissances et d’échanges qui peut comprendre des partenariats avec des experts en matière de politiques, d’application des programmes et de défense de la cause
  2. Une justification budgétaire en ce qui concerne les fournitures, les dépenses et le personnel liés au projet de recherche. Elle doit comprendre le nombre de membres du personnel nécessaires afin d’entreprendre les travaux et une description de leur expérience et/ou niveau d’études. Si un équipement spécial est nécessaire pour mener les travaux, au moins deux devis pour chaque pièce d’équipement d’une valeur supérieure à 10 000 $ doivent être soumis.

Critères d’évaluation

Le comité d’évaluation fera des critiques par écrit. Les critères d’évaluation de la demande écrite comprendront, sans toutefois s’y limiter, ceux qui suivent :

  • la pertinence dans le contexte de la mission de la Société canadienne du cancer
  • la pertinence dans les secteurs prioritaires de la réduction du risque et de la prévention identifiés par la Société canadienne du cancer
  • le mérite scientifique du projet de recherche pour ce qui est de la prévention du cancer
  • les qualifications et l’expérience des chercheurs responsables des diverses composantes du projet de recherche
  • le caractère innovateur du projet de recherche proposé
  • l’adéquation des méthodes quant à l’objectif de la recherche
  • l’adéquation de la stratégie de transposition des connaissances et d’échanges afin de disséminer les découvertes issues de la recherche au-delà des revues scientifiques
  • la probabilité que la recherche proposée ait un impact sur l’avancement du domaine de la recherche sur la prévention du cancer
  • l’adéquation de la période et du montant du financement requis

Multiples demandes ou sources de financement

Il est entendu que des demandes peuvent également être soumises à d'autres agences à des fins de soutien à des subventions ou programmes similaires à ceux présentés à la Société canadienne du cancer. Le demandeur est tenu d'indiquer l'étendue (ou l'absence) de tout chevauchement. Les récipiendaires de subventions peuvent accepter les fonds provenant d'autres sources jusqu'à concurrence du montant recommandé par le comité de la SCC.

Nous rappelons aux candidats de passer en revue la section admissibilité, exigences et obligations pour en savoir plus sur la présentation de l’information scientifique et financière, la mention reconnaissant le fournisseur de fonds, les politiques de la SCC sur le libre accès et le financement lié au tabac.

Dernière modification le: 14 septembre 2017