A A A

Career Development Awards in Prevention (for post-doctoral and clinical fellows and junior faculty)

Please see the eligibility and requirements section prior to creating an application.

Deadline dates

Application due date: April 1
Results announcement: July
Anticipated start date: August 1

Application guides can be found on the EGrAMS documentation for applicants page. See FAQs.

The Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute (CCSRI) in partnership with the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation has established a joint funding opportunity to support additional Career Development Awards focused on increasing Canada’s capacity for breast cancer prevention research. Recently appointed Assistant Professors, postdoctoral and clinical fellows in the field of breast cancer, breast health, and cancer prevention are encouraged to apply. This partnership will allow for funding of additional Career Development Awards in breast cancer prevention. Please see the ‘Partners description’ section below for more information.

Program description

Career Development Awards in Prevention have been created to establish or maintain the career development of post-doctoral fellows, clinical fellows or junior investigators in the area of cancer prevention/risk reduction research and community-based clinical research in cancer prevention by providing protected research time and research funds. Applications are invited from researchers in the fields of social/psychosocial and behavioural science, health policy, population health, health promotion, health services, cancer etiology, health economics and genetics aimed at improving cancer prevention.

The goal of this program is to provide salary and research support during the early years of a developing career for cancer prevention researchers. The program is designed to support researchers whose work has the potential for high impact within the domain of prevention/risk reduction research.

Applications must include the commitment of a supervisor/mentor who will work with the applicant over the term of the award. In addition, the Host Institution must be prepared to make a commitment as described below.

Prevention programs will focus on research that reduces the risk of cancer. The Canadian Cancer Society recognizes that in order to change the risk profile, prevention research can be accomplished anywhere along the research continuum from identifying factors that affect the risk of cancer at an individual or population level to interventions that lead to action to reduce established risk factors.

Priority areas identified by the Society and/or the Canadian Cancer Research Alliance include, but are not limited to:

  • tobacco control
  • occupational and environmental carcinogens (O&E)
  • UV radiation exposure
  • healthy eating and physical activity http://www.cbcf.org/
  • screening
  • health economics and health systems related to cancer prevention

Examples of projects within a program of research that may be appropriate for this grant opportunity include, but are not limited to:

  • studies of the impact of cancer prevention interventions on health care costs
  • comparative effectiveness or efficacy of interventions to reduce cancer-related risk factors
  • effects of using new modalities for communication of cancer risks and/or preventive strategies
  • identifying at risk individuals for effective targeted activities and interventions
  • analysis of effective policies to increase cancer prevention-related behaviours in a population
  • development and testing of strategies to reduce cancer incidence in defined populations
  • identification or characterization of carcinogenic exposures
  • application of basic research including better understanding of cancer etiology and gene-based studies related to risk reduction and prevention

Applications focusing on quality of life or psychosocial outcomes will not be considered under this funding opportunity. Applicants interested in quality of life research are encouraged to apply to our Quality of Life Research Grants program.

Eligibility

At the time of application, applicants for this award must be either a:

  • postdoctoral or clinical fellow with at least one year of postdoctoral training completed, or
  • Assistant professor* within the first five years of their appointment.

*Note that as part of the Host Institution’s commitment to the career development a candidate in a faculty position, the Host Institution will be required to commit, as part of the application process, an additional two years of support to the applicant at an appropriate rank and salary upon termination of this Career Development Award. The Host Institution must also commit to providing the applicant with adequate infrastructure and physical space to conduct their research program during and after the granting period. If the salary portion of this award offsets the institutional commitment, the incremental benefit of the award must be clearly indicated in the application. 

Applicants must identify an accomplished investigator as a supervisor/mentor who will assist in the development and direction of the research program. It is preferred that the supervisor/mentor be located in the same institution as the applicant but if that is not possible, a clear rationale for the chosen supervisor/mentor and details of the nature and frequency of the interactions must be provided.

Applicants must be Canadian citizens or residents of Canada at the time of application and the award must be taken up at an eligible Canadian Host Institution.

Program details

Applicants must devote the majority of their time to their cancer prevention research programs. In the case where the applicant is a junior investigator, time should also be spent supervising associates/trainees participating in those programs. It is expected that the applicant may be required to assume other responsibilities (e.g. teaching and administration, clinic responsibilities and/or additional research activities) by the Host Institution; however the institution must confirm that the applicant will commit at least 80% of their working time to their cancer prevention research program. All remaining time must be dedicated to the development of the applicant’s career as an independent cancer prevention scientist.

Funds available

Budgets awarded will not exceed $75,000 per year, for up to 3 years, to a maximum of $225,000 per award. This award is meant to primarily support the salary of the individual; therefore at least $50,000 per year must be used for salary support except where it exceeds the institution salary scale. The remaining amount of the award is to be used for research and support (e.g. research expenses including pilot study data collection, research personnel, supplies, and/or equipment, travel to scientific conferences, etc.). Requested research costs must be associated with the applicant’s described research program and be well aligned in terms of the requirements for a specific project.  In cases where the value of the teaching and other duties are less than the salary portion of this award, the Host Institution must ensure this award benefits the awardee through other means (e.g. travel allowance, access to research staff or support, etc.).

It is anticipated that up to 3 awards will be funded each competition. Funding will be provided to support the direct costs of the applicant’s salary, research costs, including supplies, expenses, wages and equipment associated with the applicant’s proposed work. Equipment requests of up to $10,000 can be included within the proposed budget and must be appropriately justified.  

Note that indirect costs, the salaries for supervisor/mentors, secretarial or administrative assistants or tuition fees are not eligible expenses.

Peer review

A multidisciplinary peer review committee will be assembled to review the applications. The peer review committee will consist of scientific experts with broad expertise, along with community representatives to provide patient/survivor/caregiver perspectives.  At a minimum, candidates will be interviewed by a member of the panel however applicant presentations to the panel may be requested.

Application

When preparing the application, the following will be required:

  1. as part of the public (non-scientific) summary, a cancer prevention relevance statement clearly describing the potential of the applicant’s research program to advance or enhance cancer prevention knowledge
  2. a summary of the applicant’s previous training and/or relevant research experience in cancer prevention
  3. a description of the impact the research will have on reducing the burden of cancer incidence and the advancement of cancer prevention research
  4. a description of the applicant’s career development plan and goals
  5. a responsiveness statement which addresses the appropriateness of the application to this funding opportunity and demonstrate that this award will relieve the candidate of teaching and other responsibilities
  6. up to three letters of reference supporting the applicant and the research program (including one from the supervisor/mentor)
  7. a proposal describing their research program, containing no more than 5 pages of single spaced text which includes a description of the following:
    • a rationale for this cancer prevention research program and the prevention research educational objectives
    • a rationale for selection of the supervisor/mentor (additional details on working relationship is required if different institution that the applicant)
    • a description of the research environment including resources and facilities available to the applicant and a brief description of the dedicated research space
    • a description of the prevention research career education and training opportunities that will be accessed during the grant award period



      In addition, 5 pages of data figures/tables/charts and their associated legends are allowed. Specific guidelines for the online application are available
  8. a budget justification related to the supplies, equipment and personnel associated with the research program as well as the details for the specific portion of the applicant’s salary.

Note that the Host Institution is required to sign off on the application which includes confirmation of their commitment of the additional two years of support for those in faculty positions.

Review criteria

Panel members use the career development awards and responsiveness rating scales. The review criteria for the application will include, but not necessarily be restricted to the following:

  • potential of advancement of the mission of the Canadian Cancer Society to reduce the incidence of cancer
  • relevance of the proposed work to this funding opportunity
  • the applicant’s academic and publication record and research experience
  • potential value (in protected time) to the applicant and potential impact of the award on the applicant’s career path and of the applicant becoming a leader in the cancer prevention research field in Canada
  • the scientific merit of the cancer prevention research program and the likelihood that the proposed research program will have an impact on cancer incidence
  • an assessment of the supervisor/mentor, the career educational program objectives and plan and the quality of the research environment
  • the quality of the applicant’s reference letters
  • commitment of the Host Institution to provide protected time and research support funds
  • appropriateness of the term and support requested

Multiple applications/multiple sources of funding 

It is understood that applications may also be made to other agencies to provide support for grants/ programs similar to those submitted to the Canada Cancer Society Research Institute. The onus is on the applicant to indicate the extent (or absence) of overlap.

Applicants are reminded to review the eligibility and requirements section for details on scientific and financial reporting, funder acknowledgement, Canadian Cancer Society policies on open access and tobacco related funding.

Partners description

The Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation is the leading community-driven organization in Canada dedicated to creating a future without breast cancer. The Foundation’s investments in innovative and relevant research and education have led to progress in breast cancer prevention, diagnosis, treatment and care. Since 1986, the Foundation has been at the forefront of a nationwide movement supporting and advocating for the breast cancer community. For more information please visit www.cbcf.org.

Last modified on: June 13, 2016

Bourse de développement de carrière en prévention (pour les boursiers postdoctoraux ou en clinique et les chercheurs débutants)

Veuillez consulter la section admissibilité, exigences et obligations avant de créer une demande.

Dates limites

Date limite pour la présentation d’une demande : 1er avril
Annonce des résultats : juillet
Date de début prévue : 1er août

Des guides pour la présentation d’une demande sont disponibles sur la page EGrAMS documentation for applicants (en anglais seulement). Consultez notre FAQ (en anglais seulement). 

L’institut de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer (IRSCC) a créé, en partenariat avec la Fondation canadienne du cancer du sein, une occasion de financement conjointe pour appuyer des bourses de développement de carrière supplémentaires visant à accroître la capacité du Canada en matière de recherche sur la prévention du cancer du sein. Nous encourageons les professeurs adjoints, les boursiers en cliniques et les boursiers postdoctoraux récemment habilités aux domaines de recherche du cancer du sein, de la santé des seins ou de la prévention du cancer à poser leur candidature. Ce partenariat permettra le financement d’un plus grand nombre de bourses de développement des capacités pour la recherche en prévention du cancer du sein. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter la section « description des partenaires » ci-dessous.

Description du programme

Les bourses de développement de carrière en prévention ont été créées afin d’établir ou de maintenir le perfectionnement professionnel de boursiers postdoctoraux ou en clinique et de chercheurs débutants dans le domaine de la prévention du cancer et de la réduction des risques et dans celui de la recherche clinique communautaire en prévention du cancer, leur donnant l’assurance de pouvoir consacrer du temps à leurs recherches et d’en assurer le financement. Les chercheurs souhaitant travailler à l’amélioration de la prévention du cancer œuvrant dans les sphères des sciences sociales/psychosociales et des sciences du comportement, des politiques de la santé, de la santé des populations, de la promotion de la santé, des services de santé, de l’étiologie du cancer, de l’économie de la santé et de la génétique sont invités à présenter une demande.

Le programme a pour objectif d’offrir à des chercheurs en prévention du cancer une aide salariale et un soutien à la recherche pour les premières années d'une carrière en développement. Il est conçu pour appuyer les chercheurs dont les travaux pourraient avoir une incidence majeure dans le domaine de la recherche en prévention ou en réduction des risques.

La demande doit comprendre l'engagement d'un superviseur/mentor qui travaillera avec le candidat au cours de la période couverte par la bourse. L’établissement d’accueil doit de son côté être disposé à prendre l’engagement décrit ci-après.

Les programmes de prévention seront axés sur les travaux de recherche visant à réduire les risques de cancer. Selon la SCC, la recherche sur la prévention visant la modification du profil de risque peut s’effectuer à tout point du continuum de recherche, qu’il s’agisse de la définition des facteurs liés au risque de cancer chez une personne ou d’interventions dans la population visant à encourager les actions qui réduisent des facteurs de risques reconnus (modification d'une politique ou de pratiques).

Les secteurs prioritaires ciblés par la Société canadienne du cancer et l’Alliance canadienne pour la recherche sur le cancer comprennent sans s’y limiter :  

  • la lutte contre le tabagisme
  • les carcinogènes professionnels et environnementaux
  • l’exposition aux rayons UV
  • l’alimentation saine et activité physique
  • le dépistage
  • l’économie de la santé et des systèmes de santé liés à la prévention du cancer

Les projets suivants pourraient, à titre d’exemple, s’avérer pertinents dans le cadre de ce programme de subvention :

  • des études concernant l’effet des interventions de prévention du cancer sur le coût des soins de santé
  • une comparaison des interventions visant à réduire les facteurs de risque liés au cancer, en termes d’efficacité
  • les effets de nouvelles modalités pour la communication des risques de cancer et/ou des stratégies préventives
  • le repérage des personnes à risque, pour des activités et des interventions ciblées porteuses de résultats
  • l’analyse des politiques efficaces pour la propagation des comportements liés à la prévention du cancer au sein d’une population

Les demandes axées sur la qualité de vie ou les enjeux psychosociaux ne seront pas considérées dans le cadre de ce concours. Les candidats intéressés par la recherche sur la qualité de vie sont invités à postuler à notre programme de subvention de recherche sur l'amélioration de la qualité de vie.

Admissibilité

Au moment de la présentation de sa demande, le candidat pour cette bourse doit être :

  • un boursier postdoctoral ou un moniteur clinique ayant complété au moins une année de formation postdoctorale ou plus ; ou
  • un professeur adjoint* en poste depuis cinq ans ou moins

* Veuillez noter que dans le cadre de son engagement à l’égard du perfectionnement professionnel d’un candidat occupant un poste de professeur de faculté, l’établissement d’accueil devra accepter, lors de la présentation d’une demande, de continuer à soutenir ce candidat pendant encore deux ans après la fin de la période couverte par la bourse de développement de carrière, en lui garantissant un rang et un salaire appropriés. Il devra aussi s’engager à fournir au candidat une infrastructure et un espace physique adaptés pour la réalisation de son programme de recherche, pendant et après la période de subvention. Si la partie de cette bourse représentant le salaire compense l’engagement de l’établissement, les avantages supplémentaires de la bourse doivent être mentionnés clairement dans la demande.

Le candidat doit désigner, en tant que superviseur/mentor, un chercheur d’expérience qui l’aidera à mettre sur pied et à diriger le programme de recherche. Cette personne sera, dans la mesure du possible, rattachée au même établissement que lui. Si ce n’est pas le cas, le choix du superviseur/mentor devra être clairement justifié, et la nature et la fréquence des interactions devront être indiquées.

Les candidats doivent être citoyens ou résidents canadiens au moment où ils présentent leur demande.

Détails du programme

Les candidats doivent consacrer l’essentiel de leur temps à leur programme de recherche en prévention du cancer. S’il s’agit de chercheurs débutants, un certain nombre d’heures doit aussi être dédié à la supervision d’associés/de stagiaires prenant part au programme. On s’attend à ce que le candidat doive assumer d’autres responsabilités (enseignement et administration, responsabilités cliniques et/ou autres activités de recherche, par exemple) au sein de l'établissement d'accueil; ce dernier est toutefois tenu de confirmer qu’au moins 80 % des heures travaillées par le candidat seront consacrées à son programme de recherche en prévention du cancer. Les heures restantes sont réservées, dans leur totalité, au développement de la carrière du candidat en tant que scientifique indépendant en prévention du cancer. 

Fonds disponibles

Le budget annuel maximal est fixé à 75 000 $ pour une durée pouvant aller jusqu'à 3 ans, soit un maximum de 225 000 $ par bourse. La bourse est avant tout destinée à couvrir le salaire de la personne; au moins 50 000 $ par année doivent donc être utilisés à cette fin, sauf dans le cas où cela dépasserait  l'échelle salariale de l'établissement. Le montant restant est destiné au soutien de la recherche (dépenses de recherche telles que la collecte de données pour une étude pilote, la rémunération du personnel de recherche, les fournitures et/ou le matériel, les frais de déplacement pour assister à des conférences scientifiques, etc.). Les coûts de recherche réclamés doivent être associés au programme de recherche décrit par le candidat et correspondre aux exigences d’un projet spécifique à la prévention. Si la valeur monétaire de l’enseignement et des autres tâches est inférieure à la portion salaire de la bourse, l’établissement hôte doit s’assurer que le récipiendaire du prix en bénéficie d’une autre façon (par exemple, en allocation de déplacement, en personnel de recherche ou de soutien, etc.).

Nous prévoyons que jusqu'à trois bourses seront accordées àchaque compétition. Le financement sera fourni afin de couvrir le salaire du candidat et les coûts directs de la recherche, y compris les fournitures, les dépenses, les salaires et le coût du matériel associé aux travaux envisagés. Le budget proposé peut comprendre jusqu’à 10 000 $ en demandes de subvention de matériel, à condition que ces demandes soient justifiées.

Veuillez noter que les coûts indirects, les salaires des superviseurs/mentors, des secrétaires ou des adjoints administratifs ou les droits de scolarité ne constituent pas des dépenses admissibles. 

Évaluation par les pairs

Un comité d’évaluation multidisciplinaire par les pairs sera mis sur pied pour procéder à l’évaluation des demandes. Il se composera d’experts scientifiques au vaste savoir-faire et de représentants de la communauté, ce qui permettra de connaître le point de vue des patients, des survivants et des fournisseurs de soins. Tous les candidats seront interrogés par un membre du comité, mais certains pourraient avoir à donner une présentation devant le comité.

Demande

La demande devra contenir les éléments suivants :

  1. dans le cadre du résumé « public » (non scientifique), un énoncé de pertinence pour la prévention du cancer décrivant clairement en quoi le programme de recherche du candidat pourrait faire progresser les connaissances en matière de prévention du cancer ou y contribuer
  2. un résumé de la formation antérieure du candidat et/ou de ses expériences pertinentes en recherche pour la prévention du cancer
  3. une description de l'effet qu’aura la recherche sur la réduction du fardeau associé à l'incidence de la maladie ou sur l’avancement de la recherche en prévention
  4. une description du plan et des objectifs de carrière du candidat
  5. un énoncé de pertinence traitant de la légitimité de la demande par rapport à cette occasion de subvention et la démonstration que l’octroi de ce prix déchargera le lauréat de sa tâche d’enseignement et de ses autres responsabilités
  6. jusqu’à trois lettres de recommandation appuyant sa candidature et le programme de recherche (dont une du superviseur/mentor)
  7. une proposition détaillée d’au plus cinq pages à simple interligne décrivant le programme de recherche et comprenant une description des éléments suivants :
    • la raison d’être de ce programme de recherche en prévention du cancer et les objectifs éducatifs de la recherche en prévention
    • les motifs justifiant le choix du superviseur/mentor (ainsi que des détails concernant les relations de travail si ce dernier n’est pas rattaché au même établissement que le candidat)
    • une description du milieu de recherche, dont les ressources et installations à la disposition du candidat, ainsi qu’une brève description de l'espace consacré à la recherche
    • une description des occasions d’éducation et de formation pour une carrière de recherche en prévention dont le candidat prévoit se prévaloir au cours de la période visée par la subvention

    Il est également permis d’inclure jusqu’à cinq pages de chiffres, de tableaux et de diagrammes accompagnés de leur légende. Des directives précises sont fournies pour la présentation d’une demande en ligne.

  8. une justification budgétaire concernant les fournitures, le matériel et le personnel associés au programme de recherche, ainsi que les détails relatifs à la portion de la bourse versée au candidat à titre de rémunération

Veuillez noter que les candidats employés par leur établissement hôte devront faire apposer la signature d’un représentant de celui-ci dans leur demande afin de confirmer le soutien de l’établissement pour deux années supplémentaires.  

Critères d'évaluation

Les membres du groupe utilisent les échelles de bourses de développement de carrière et d’évaluation de la pertinence. Les critères d’évaluation de la demande comprendront, sans nécessairement s’y limiter :

  • la contribution potentielle à la mission de la Société canadienne du cancer pour réduire l’incidence de la maladie
  • la pertinence des travaux proposés par rapport à l’occasion de financement
  • le dossier scolaire du candidat, ses publications à ce jour et son expérience en recherche 
  • la valeur potentielle (en temps réservé) pour le candidat et l’incidence potentielle de la bourse sur le cheminement de carrière du candidat et la probabilité que ce dernier devienne un chef de file dans le domaine de la recherche en prévention du cancer au Canada
  • le mérite scientifique du programme de recherche en prévention du cancer et la probabilité qu’il ait des répercussions sur l’incidence du cancer
  • l'évaluation du superviseur/mentor, des objectifs et du plan du programme éducatif en situation de carrière et de la qualité de l'environnement de recherche
  • la qualité des lettres de recommandation du candidat
  • l’engagement de l’établissement d’accueil à allouer du temps et des fonds d’appui à la recherche
  • le caractère approprié du soutien demandé et de la durée

Demandes multiples et sources de financement multiples

Il est entendu que des demandes pourraient aussi être présentées à d'autres organismes aux fins de soutien à des subventions ou des programmes similaires à ceux présentés à l’Institut de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer. Il incombe au candidat d'indiquer l’étendue (ou l’absence) de tout chevauchement.

On rappelle aux candidats de consulter la section admissibilité, exigences et obligations pour en apprendre davantage sur la présentation de rapports scientifiques et financiers, les remerciements aux bailleurs de fonds, les politiques de libre accès de la Société canadienne du cancer et le financement relatif au tabac.

Description des partenaires

La Fondation canadienne du cancer du sein est le principal organisme communautaire canadien consacré à la création d'un avenir sans cancer du sein. Nos investissements dans des programmes essentiels de recherche, d’éducation et de promotion de la santé ont mené à des progrès dans la prévention, le diagnostic, le traitement et les soins du cancer du sein. Depuis 1986, la Fondation canadienne du cancer du sein a été au premier rang d'un incroyable élan de sensibilisation et de mobilisation à l'égard du cancer du sein. Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous à www.cbcf.org.

Dernière modification le: 13 juin 2016