You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Test your home for radon – here’s how

Radon levels in most homes should be reduced to as low as possible. The only way to know how much radon is in your home is to test it.

The Canadian Cancer Society recommends that Canadians test their homes for radon and take action to reduce high levels.

To test your home for radon, you can purchase a test kit at some hardware stores or online from several organizations that are working to reduce radon. You can also hire a certified professional to perform a test for you. Find out more about how to test for radon in your home.

Health Canada’s radon action guideline is 200 Bcq/m3, but other jurisdictions have set different limits. The World Health Organization (WHO) recommends a limit of 100 to 300 Bcq/m3 and the United States has a limit of 148 Bcq/m3.

If the level of radon is above 200 Bcq/m3, you should work with a C-NRPP certified professional to lower the levels in your home. Even if the radon levels are below 200 Bcq/m3, you may still want to try to get them lower.


Explore related articles

What is radon – and how are we exposed to it?

Radon and cancer

Continue reading


Take Action

The Canadian Cancer Society believes all Ontarians have the right to know if they are being exposed to cancer-causing substances so they can make informed decisions affecting about their health. We recommend that the Government of Ontario adopts the National Building Code guidelines regarding radon mitigation into Ontario’s Building Code and conduct a public education program on radon.

A-|A|A+

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Comment vérifier la présence de radon dans votre maison

Technician installing a radon detector in someone's home.

La concentration de radon devrait être réduite au plus bas niveau possible. Le seul moyen de savoir quelle est la concentration de radon dans votre maison, c’est de la mesurer.

La Société canadienne du cancer recommande aux Canadiens de faire mesurer la concentration de radon dans leur maison et, si elle est élevée, d’agir pour la diminuer.

Pour mesurer la concentration de radon dans votre maison, vous pouvez acheter une trousse d’analyse dans certaines quincailleries, ou en ligne auprès de plusieurs organismes qui s’emploient à réduire l’exposition au radon. Vous pouvez aussi demander à un professionnel certifié d’effectuer l’analyse pour vous. Apprenez-en plus sur les façons de mesurer la concentration de radon dans votre maison.

La concentration de radon à laquelle des correctifs s’imposent est de 200 Bq /m3 dans la ligne directrice de Santé Canada, mais diffère d’un pays ou d’un organisme à l’autre. L’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) recommande une limite de 100 à 300 Bq/m3, et les États-Unis fixent la limite à 148 Bq/m3.

Si la concentration de radon chez vous dépasse 200 Bq/m3, vous devriez travailler avec un professionnel certifié du PNCR-C pour la réduire. Même si elle est inférieure à 200 Bq/m3, rien ne vous empêche de prendre des moyens pour l’abaisser davantage.


Découvrez des articles connexes

Qu’est-ce que le radon – et comment y sommes-nous exposés?

Radon et cancer

Poursuivez votre lecture

A-|A|A+