Sunsense

You are here: 
A-|A|A+

SunSense program

Skin cancer is one of the most common forms of cancer and the incidence is increasing.

The SunSense program supports schools in creating a sun safe environment and developing a SunSense policy to protect staff and students through education and awareness of sun safe practices.

Please contact us at:

sunsense@ontario.cancer.ca.

Register

  • About the program

    The Canadian Cancer Society (Ontario Division), Evergreen and Ophea have collaborated to provide easy to understand information and free tools that support schools in fostering sun safety. Learning about sun safety and how to enjoy the outdoors in a healthy and safe way is an essential part of every child’s education.

    There are compelling benefits to children playing and learning outdoors. Appropriate sun safety habits are essential to maximize health and enjoyment all year round and prevent skin cancer, one of the most common and preventable types of cancer in Canada.

    Schools can practise SunSense by:

    • developing their own school SunSense policy.
    • building SunSense into everyday school routines.
    • enhancing shade on the school grounds.
    • increasing awareness about SunSense practices.

    On behalf of the SunSense Team, we thank you very much for your interest in our sun safety program. It is important to all of us to help you educate Ontarian children, families and caregivers on how to prevent and reduce their risk of developing skin cancer. To learn more about skin cancer prevention, click here or call 1-888-939-3333.

    For questions or concerns, please contact us at:

    sunsense@ontario.cancer.ca.

  • Program components and resources

    The SunSense program consists of a policy “how-to” guide for schools along with FREE tools and resources have been developed to assist in the implementation of this policy.

    Free SunSense tools and resources available for download and / or order include:

    Teaching Guide Grades 1 -3

     

    The Teaching Guide provides lessons and activities on sun safety and provides ideas on how to use the UV bracelets and baggage tags in the lesson.

    A presentation slide deck is also included to assist in delivering the lesson.

    Teaching Guide Grades 4 -6

     

    The Teaching Guide provides lessons and activities on sun safety and provides ideas on how to use the UV bracelets and baggage tags in the lesson.

    A presentation slide deck is also included to assist in delivering the lesson.

    Download Teaching Guide

    Download Presentation

    Policy guide

    A step-by-step process and supporting tools to develop and implement a sun protection policy for schools. This can also be adapted for other places where children play, learn and are cared for, including camps, post-secondary schools and child care centres.

    Info card

    A two-sided info card – SunSense tips on one side and importance of the SunSense campaign on the other. Can be used as a promotional tool.

    Sell sheet

    An overview of the SunSense program and its key components. Can be used as a promotional tool.

    Fact sheet

    The importance of sun protection and how schools can build a culture of SunSense

    Poster

    Key SunSense tips on how to enjoy the outdoors safely that can be displayed across the school.

    + Available for order

    Checklist

    A checklist with key sun safety steps that can be can be personalized with your organization’s logo(s).


    UV Beads

    Ultra Violet (UV) beads come with a string that can be assembled in the form of a bracelet. Students can wear these as a reminder of the presence of UV rays and to practise SunSense when outdoors in the sun. Each package comes enclosed with SunSense tips.

    Order only

    Luggage Tags

    Luggage tags can be fastened on the child’s back pack to serve as a reminder to pack sun safety materials and practise SunSense. Each luggage tag comes with key SunSense tips listed at the back of the tag.

    Order only

    For any questions, please contact the Sun Sense program lead at the Canadian Cancer Society at:

    sunsense@ontario.cancer.ca.

    To register and order materials, click here.

    Additional resources

    #newfamilyrule

    This video is a great resource to share with parents. newfamilyrule.com has tips for families to protect their skin from the sun, and fun stuff and activities for kids.

    #newfamilyrule is a joint initiative of the David Cornfield Melanoma Fund & the Douglas Wright Foundation.

    newfamilyrule.com

     Why Shade Matters

     

    This video highlights the importance of shade as well and provides insights on shade design and planning.

    Developed by the Shade Working Group of Waterloo, Canadian Cancer Society and Evergreen (2016)
     Watch video

     Sun Safety Sing-A-long

    A fun tool for teaching children about sun safety and how to apply sunscreen.

    Source: Melanoma Network of Canada

    Watch Video

  • About skin cancer

    Skin cancer is the most common type of cancer in Canada and also one of the most preventable!

    While the cause of many cancers remains unknown, the reason for this most common cancer is too many sunburns and too much UVR exposure over many years. 1 in 7 people will be diagnosed with skin cancer in their lifetime; however, we know that this disease is largely preventable. People under the age of 18 are at the highest risk. Children and youth spend more time outside than adults do – in fact, 80% of people’s exposure to UVR occurs before the age of 18.

    Research indicates childhood exposure to ultraviolet radiation (UVR) is an important contributing factor to the development of skin cancer in later life. Given students are at school during the highest risk period of the day – between 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. – schools play a major role in both minimizing students’ exposure and positively influencing student behavior by establishing and reinforcing healthy sun safe habits.

    Staying inside is not the answer. As Canadian children are spending more time indoors, physical activity is decreasing, childhood obesity rates are soaring, and there is a diminished sense of community amongst children. These trends are impossible to ignore. It is imperative that children spend time outdoors.

    By establishing effective routines, enhancing shade on school grounds, and developing and implementing a SunSense policy, schools can ensure that children are enjoying the range of benefits associated with time in the outdoors while being sun safe.

    To learn more about skin cancer prevention, click here or call 1-888-939-3333

  • Use your SunSense: create shade!

    Skin cancer is the most common cancer, is on the rise and yet is highly preventable. Shade in outdoor spaces is considered one of the most effective approaches to reduce exposure to ultraviolet radiation (UVR) from the sun, which is classified as cancer causing. Shade can also encourage physical activity, reduce greenhouse gas and air pollutant emissions, mitigate the urban heat island effect, and reduce energy costs.

    If your shadow is shorter than you, it’s time to find some shade!

    Shade Resources:

    The EcoSchools Designing for Shade and Energy Conservation Guide by Evergreen and the Toronto District School Board draws on greening practices specific to school boards and on emerging research about how best to provide natural shade where children play and learn.

    Ontario has a large variety of leafy canopy trees that provide excellent shade and protection from the sun’s harmful UV rays. For more information on practical tips for involving the school community in the design process, conducting a shade audit of the school ground, creating a planting plan and developing a fundraising strategy visit Evergreen.ca

A-|A|A+

Stories

Hannah What helped is being able to visit Camp Goodtimes together as a family.

Read Hannah's story

What’s the lifetime risk of getting cancer?

Icon - 1 in 2

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report shows about half of Canadians are expected to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Programme sur le bon sens sous le soleil

Le cancer de la peau est un des types de cancer les plus courants et son incidence augmente.

Le programme sur le bon sens sous le soleil aide les écoles à créer un environnement sécuritaire au soleil et à développer une politique sur le bon sens sous le soleil pour protéger le personnel et les étudiants grâce à l’éducation et à la sensibilisation aux pratiques de protection contre le soleil.

  • À propos du programme

    La Société canadienne du cancer (Division de l’Ontario), Evergreen et Ophea ont collaboré pour fournir de l’information facile à comprendre et des outils gratuits qui aident les écoles à encourager la protection contre le soleil. L’apprentissage sur la protection contre le soleil et la façon de profiter du plein air d’une manière saine et sécuritaire est une partie essentielle de l’éducation de chaque enfant.

    Le jeu et l’apprentissage à l’extérieur comportent des avantages indéniables pour les enfants. Des habitudes adéquates de protection contre le soleil sont essentielles pour maximiser la santé et le plaisir toute l’année et prévenir le cancer de la peau, un des types de cancer les plus fréquents et évitables au Canada.

    Les écoles peuvent faire preuve de bon sens sous le soleil en :

    • développant leur propre politique de bon sens sous le soleil.
    • incorporant les pratiques de bon sens sous le soleil aux routines quotidiennes de l’école.
    • améliorant l’ombre sur les terrains de l’école.
    • sensibilisant aux pratiques de bon sens sous le soleil.

    Au nom de l’équipe du programme sur le bon sens sous le soleil, nous vous remercions de votre intérêt envers notre programme de protection contre le soleil. Il est important pour nous tous de vous aider à éduquer les enfants, les familles et les aidants de l’Ontario sur la manière de prévenir et de réduire leur risque de développer un cancer de la peau. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, veuillez communiquer avec nous à sunsense@ontario.cancer.ca

    Pour en apprendre plus sur la prévention du cancer de la peau, cliquez ici ou composez le   1-888-939-3333.

  • Éléments et ressources du programme

    Le programme sur le bon sens sous le soleil consiste en un guide pratique pour les écoles et des outils et des ressources GRATUITS ont été développés pour aider à mettre en œuvre cette politique.

    Les outils et les ressources disponibles gratuitement en les téléchargeant et/ou en les commandant comprennent :

     Guide d’enseignement 1-3

    Le guide d’enseignement propose des leçons et des activités de même que des idées pour utiliser les bracelets UV et les étiquettes de bagage au cours de la leçon.

    Une présentation de diapositives est aussi incluse pour vous aider lors des leçons.

    Guide d’enseignement 4-6

     

    Le guide d’enseignement propose des leçons et des activités de même que des idées pour utiliser les bracelets UV et les étiquettes de bagage au cours de la leçon.

    Une présentation de diapositives est aussi incluse pour vous aider lors des leçons.

    Lignes directrices de la  politique

    Un guide étape par étape et outils de soutien pour développer et mettre en œuvre une politique de protection contre le soleil pour les écoles. Ceci peut aussi être adapté pour d’autres endroits où les enfants jouent, apprennent et sont gardés, y compris les camps, les écoles post-secondaires et les garderies.

    Info card

    Une carte de renseignements recto-verso - Conseils sur le bon sens sous le soleil sur un côté et l'importance de la campagne sur le bon sens sous le soleil sur l'autre. Peut être utilisée comme outil de promotion.

    Fiche de vente

    Un survol du programme sur le bon sens sous le soleil et de ses éléments clés. Peut être utilisée comme outil de promotion.

    Feuille de renseignements

    L’importance de la protection contre le soleil et comment les écoles peuvent développer une culture de bon sens sous le soleil.

    Affiche

    Conseils sur le bon sens sous le soleil pour profiter du plein air en toute sécurité et pouvant être affichés dans toute l’école.

    + commande

    Liste de contrôle

    Une liste de contrôle incluant les étapes pour la protection contre le soleil, pouvant être personnalisée avec le logo de votre organisation.

    + commande

    Billes UV

    Billes UV avec une corde pouvant être assemblées pour former un bracelet. Les étudiants peuvent les porter comme rappel de la présence des rayons UV et de faire preuve de bon sens sous le soleil lorsque dehors au soleil. Chaque paquet contient des conseils de bon sens sous le soleil.

    Commande seulement

    Porte-adresses

    Le porte-adresse peut être attaché au sac à dos de l’enfant et sert de rappel d’apporter les articles de protection contre le soleil et de faire preuve de bon sens sous le soleil. Chaque porte-adresse contient les conseils de bon sens sous le soleil à l’endos.

    Commande seulement

    Pour commander le matériel, veuillez remplir le formulaire de commande Bon sens sous le soleil.

    Si vous avez de la difficulté à télécharger le formulaire ou si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec les responsables du programme à la Société canadienne du cancer à sunsense@ontario.cancer.ca.

    Ressources additionnelles

    #newfamilyrule

    Cette vidéo (en anglais seulement) est une ressource précieuse à partager avec les parents. newfamilyrule.com offre aux familles des conseils de protection de la peau contre le soleil, ainsi que des suggestions et des activités amusantes pour les enfants.

    #newfamilyrule est une initiative conjointe du David Cornfield Melanoma Fund et de la Douglas Wright Foundation.

    newfamilyrule.com
  • À propos du cancer de la peau

    Le cancer de la peau est le type de cancer le plus courant au Canada et un des types de cancer les plus évitables!

    Bien que la cause de beaucoup de cancers demeure inconnue, trop de coups de soleil et trop d’exposition aux rayons UV sur plusieurs années font que ce cancer est le plus courant.  Une personne sur 7 aura un diagnostic de cancer de la peau au cours de sa vie; cependant, nous savons que cette maladie est en grande partie évitable. Les personnes de moins de 18 ans ont un risque plus élevé. Les enfants et les jeunes passent plus de temps dehors que les adultes; en fait, 80 % de l’exposition aux rayons UV se produit avant 18 ans.

    La recherche indique que l’exposition au soleil dans l’enfance est un facteur important contribuant au développement du cancer de la peau plus tard dans la vie. Étant donné que les étudiants sont à l’école pendant la période de la journée à risque plus élevé, c.-à-d. entre 11 h et 15 h, les écoles jouent un rôle important pour minimiser l’exposition des étudiants et influencer positivement le comportement des étudiants en établissant et en renforçant les habitudes de sécurité au soleil.

    Mais rester à l’intérieur n’est pas la solution. Au fur et à mesure que les enfants canadiens passent plus de temps à l’intérieur, l’activité physique diminue, les taux d’obésité chez les enfants montent en flèche et il existe un sentiment d’appartenance à la communauté réduit parmi les enfants. Ces tendances sont impossibles à ignorer. Il est impératif que les enfants passent du temps à l’extérieur.

    En établissant des routines efficaces, en améliorant l’ombre sur les terrains de l’école, et en développant et en mettant en œuvre une politique de bon sens sous le soleil, les écoles peuvent s’assurer que les enfants profitent des avantages du plein air tout en étant en sécurité au soleil.

    Pour en apprendre plus sur la prévention du cancer de la peau, cliquez ici ou composez le 1-888-939-3333.

  • Faites preuve de bon sens sous le soleil : Créez votre ombre!

    Le cancer de la peau est le cancer le plus courant et à la hausse et pourtant, il est très évitable. L’ombre dans les lieux extérieurs est considérée comme étant une des approches les plus efficaces pour réduire l’exposition à la radiation ultraviolette (rayons UV) du soleil, qui est classifiée comme carcinogène. L’ombre peut aussi encourager l’activité physique, réduire le gaz à effet de serre et les émissions de polluants atmosphériques, atténuer l’effet d’îlot thermique urbain et réduire les coûts énergétiques.

    Si votre ombre est plus courte que vous, c’est le temps de trouver de l’ombre.

    Ressources sur l’ombre :

    La Shade Design Fact Sheet, développée par le Groupe de travail sur l’ombre, Municipalité régionale de Waterloo, la Société canadienne du cancer et Evergreen, a été créé pour aider les personnes qui pensent à écrire ou à réviser une politique municipale ou scolaire pour y incorporer des éléments visant à augmenter l’ombre. Que votre organisation ou groupe soit responsable de la conception, planification, exploitation ou construction de lieux publics extérieurs comme zones occupées par les places assises ou réservées aux spectateurs, paysages de rue, pistes, terrains de jeux et parcs, les politiques peuvent être écrites pour s’engager formellement à offrir de l’ombre. Visitez Why Shade Matters pour en apprendre plus.

    Le EcoSchools Designing for Shade and Energy Conservation Guide par Evergreen et le Conseil scolaire du district de Toronto s’appuie sur les pratiques écologiques particulières aux conseils scolaires et sur la recherche sur la meilleure façon de fournir de l’ombre où les enfants jouent et apprennent.

    L’Ontario a une grande variété d'arbres feuillus qui offrent de l’ombre et protègent contre les rayons UV nuisibles du soleil. Pour plus d’information sur les conseils pratiques pour faire participer la communauté scolaire au processus de conception, effectuer une vérification de l’ombrage sur les terrains de l’école, créer un plan de plantation et développer une stratégie de collecte de fonds, visitez Evergreen.ca.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Le Dr David Malkin, chercheur Le Dr David Malkin contribue à accroître la survie des patients grâce au dépistage.

Plus de details

Réduisez votre risque

Icône – silhouette en train de courir

Le plus récent rapport Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer montre que le cancer est la première cause de mortalité au Canada. Apprenez comment vous pouvez réduire votre risque.

Apprenez-en plus