You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Help someone quit smoking

It’s great that you want to help your friend or loved one quit smoking. Supporting someone during the quit process can be challenging, but our booklet can help. Smokers’ Helpline can also give you more information about supporting someone when they’re trying to quit.

It’s important to understand that you cannot make someone quit smoking. The decision to quit must be made by the smoker – for their own reasons and in their own time. What you can do is help make their quitting process a little easier by being sensitive to their moods and needs. At different times, they may want help, to be left alone or to talk about their success. So if they slip back to smoking, let them know you’re ready to help when they’re ready to try again.

All smokers have their own reasons for smoking, and each will be motivated to quit by different things. Smoking is a powerful addiction. Some people may try to quit 4 or 5 times, or even more, before they quit for good.

In the end, remember that they are your friend or loved one first and a person who smokes second. Show them you care no matter what you think about their smoking.

A-|A|A+

Stories

Photo of Claude Perreault Dr Perreault identified new molecules that may help make immunotherapies work for more people.

Read more

What’s the lifetime risk of getting cancer?

Icon - 1 in 2

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report shows about half of Canadians are expected to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Aider quelqu’un à cesser de fumer

Votre désir d’aider un proche à cesser de fumer vous honore. Accompagner quelqu’un durant le processus d’abandon du tabagisme est parfois difficile, mais notre brochure peut vous donner un coup de pouce. Le service Téléassistance pour fumeurs (ligne j’Arrête au Québec) est également en mesure de vous fournir de l’information pour mieux épauler une personne qui essaie d’arrêter de fumer.

Il est important de comprendre que vous ne pouvez pas forcer quelqu’un à renoncer au tabac. C’est le fumeur lui-même qui doit décider d’écraser – pour ses propres raisons et au moment qui lui convient. Vous pouvez toutefois lui faciliter les choses en étant sensible à ses émotions et à ses besoins. Selon les circonstances, il pourra rechercher du soutien, avoir envie d’être seul ou vouloir parler de ses progrès. Et s’il recommence à fumer, dites-lui qu’il pourra compter sur vous lorsqu’il sera prêt à faire une nouvelle tentative.

Tous les adeptes du tabac ont leurs propres raisons de fumer, et chacun aura ses propres motivations pour arrêter. Le tabac entraîne une forte dépendance. Certaines personnes doivent faire quatre ou cinq tentatives – ou même plus – avant d’écraser définitivement.

Au bout du compte, souvenez-vous que cette personne est d’abord un ami ou un être cher, et en deuxième lieu quelqu’un qui fume. Montrez-lui qu’il ou elle a de l’importance pour vous, peu importe ce que vous pensez de son tabagisme.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Dr Connie Eaves Suivre la croissance des cellules souches

De l’aide pour les fumeurs qui veulent cesser de fumer

Illustration du symbole d’interdiction de fumer

Il est normal d’avoir besoin d’aide pour cesser de fumer. La Société canadienne du cancer est là pour soutenir les fumeurs qui sont prêts à arrêter et même ceux qui ne le sont pas.

Apprenez-en plus