Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Occupational exposure

Occupational exposure occurs when a person is exposed to potentially harmful chemical, physical or biological substances at work. People who work with cancer-causing substances (carcinogens) on the job may be exposed to much higher levels of these substances than they would be at home or in their community. Since higher exposure can lead to greater cancer risk, eliminating or reducing exposure is important in the primary prevention of cancer.

Current scientific evidence suggests that being exposed to cancer-causing substances on the job is responsible for a small percentage of cancers. But for those workers, their exposure and risk of cancer is much higher than the average person’s.

  • Exposure and level of risk

    Occupational exposure is any contact between the human body and a potentially harmful substance that occurs in the workplace. The highest risk occurs when body surfaces, such as the skin, nasal passages and lungs, come in direct contact with the carcinogen. The cancer-causing substance may be absorbed or inhaled. Specific exposures are related to the type of work and the safety precautions taken to reduce exposure.

    Potential health risks may also be associated with how certain industries provide services or production. For example, researchers are studying the impact of shift work (working outside the normal workday, often at nighttime) and how it may be associated with cancer risk in workers.

    The level of risk depends on the amount and length of exposure, how powerful the carcinogen, the presence of other risk factors and a person’s susceptibility. Some workers may have greater and longer exposures to harmful chemicals in the workplace and their risk of cancer may be a lot higher.

  • Our position

    The Canadian Cancer Society strongly supports that Canadian workers should not be exposed to carcinogens in the workplace. Where exposure cannot be eliminated, it should be reduced to the lowest possible level. We also believe this will require the following commitments by employers, governments and individuals.

    Employers must:

    • educate workers about cancer and inform them about their exposure to carcinogens in the workplace 
    • eliminate or reduce exposure to carcinogens by removing them or by using a different substance 
    • establish processes and make changes to the workplace so that workers’ exposure to hazardous substances, including carcinogens, is minimized. The use of personal protective clothing or equipment should be a last resort
    • set up education and training programs for workers exposed to hazardous products in the workplace. Employers must also make sure that products are labelled, a Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) is present for each product and they are readily available to workers.

    Governments must develop evidence-informed legislation and regulations to protect workers.

    Individuals have the right (under provincial, territorial and federal health and safety legislation) to refuse work that exposes them to known and highly suspected carcinogens.

    What you can do

    If you’re concerned about exposure to a potential cancer-causing substance or would like more information about potential hazards in your workplace, contact the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety or the Canadian Cancer Society’s Cancer Information Service at 1-888-939-3333.

  • What workers can do

    Workers should do the following to help reduce their risk from occupational exposures:

    • Follow the employer’s occupational health and safety instructions when using, storing and disposing of hazardous materials.
    • Use all the protective clothing and equipment provided by the employer to help minimize the risk of exposure to potentially harmful substances.
    • Follow government and manufacturers guidelines for handling harmful substances.
      • Materials in the workplace have a Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS). This document contains information on the potential hazards, health effects of exposure and how to work safely with the product. These guidelines are printed on the packaging and are posted in the workplace.
      • Canada’s Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) identifies the hazards of a chemical and provides information on the safe use of hazardous materials. WHMIS information is provided through product labels, MSDS information and worker education programs.
    • Participate in training programs and use this information to work safely with hazardous materials. Tell employers when labels on containers have been accidentally removed or if the label is no longer readable.
    • Report accidental exposure immediately.

    Occupational research studies have given employers the knowledge to take actions aimed at reducing or preventing exposures to carcinogens in the workplace. Overall, the risk of exposure in the workplace today is much less than in the past because occupational health and safety practices have greatly reduced or eliminated exposure to cancer-causing materials.

  • Information about specific workplace exposures

    Canadian workers can be exposed to numerous substances or situations that have been shown to cause cancer or are suspected of causing cancer. Although studies have shown that some exposures increase a person’s risk of developing certain cancers, it may not be possible to conclusively link the cancer to a particular exposure.

    • Some workers may be more likely to come in contact with carcinogens. These include construction workers, woodworkers, miners, painters, pesticide workers and workers in the chemical, rubber or dye industries.
    • Arsenic, asbestos, benzene, beryllium, cadmium, chromium, ionizing radiation, nickel compounds, radon and vinyl chloride are examples of carcinogens that workers may be exposed to in the workplace.

    The Occupational Cancer Research Centre (OCRC) in Canada was established to increase information on the causes and prevention of occupation-related cancers. For more information, visit the OCRC website.

    The following pages have information on some specific exposures and how to protect yourself:

  • Suggested links for more information

    Reducing occupational exposures
    These organizations work to promote the health and safety of workers, which includes making sure they are protected from occupational exposure to carcinogenic substances.

    Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety
    National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, CDC
    Health Canada Occupational Health & Safety
    Health and Safety Executive (UK)
    World Health Organization – Global Plan of Action on Workers’ Health

    Information about workers’ rights in Canada
    Find out about your rights concerning health, safety and compensation for work-related injury and illness. 

    Association of Workers’ Compensation Boards of Canada
    Canadian Labour Congress 
    Canadian Labour Code – Section 125.1 outlines the duties of employers to protect employees from exposure to hazardous substances

    Research about occupational exposures
    These groups do research on occupational exposures and their impact on the cancer burden in Canada and internationally. 

    Occupational Cancer Research Centre 
    CAREX Canada 
    International Agency for Research on Cancer 
    National Toxicology Program (US)

A-|A|A+

Stories

Researcher Dr John Bell Dr John Bell revealed how cancer-killing viruses attack tumour blood vessels.

Learn more

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Exposition professionnelle

On parle d’exposition professionnelle lorsqu’une personne est exposée à des substances chimiques, physiques ou biologiques possiblement nocives dans son milieu de travail. Les personnes qui sont en contact avec des substances carcinogènes en milieu de travail risquent d’être en présence de concentrations beaucoup plus élevées de ces substances que si elles étaient exposées à la maison ou dans la communauté. Une plus grande exposition étant souvent associée à un risque accru de cancer, l’élimination ou du moins la réduction de l’exposition compte pour beaucoup dans la prévention primaire du cancer.

Les données scientifiques actuelles donnent à penser que l’exposition à des substances carcinogènes en milieu de travail est associée à un faible pourcentage de cas de cancer. Pour certains travailleurs, l’exposition ainsi que le risque de cancer sont considérablement plus élevés que la moyenne.

  • L'exposition et le niveau de risque

    L'exposition professionnelle se définit par tout contact qui se produit au travail entre le corps humain et une substance potentiellement nocive. Le risque est le plus grand quand des surfaces corporelles, comme la peau, les voies nasales et les poumons, viennent en contact direct avec le carcinogène. La substance qui cause le cancer peut être absorbée ou inhalée. On a établi un lien entre des expositions spécifiques et le type de travail ainsi que les mesures de sécurité qui sont prises pour les limiter.

    On peut aussi associer les risques possibles pour la santé à la façon dont certaines industries assurent leur production ou leur service. Des chercheurs tentent de savoir, par exemple, comment le travail par quarts (c’est-à-dire travailler hors des heures normales, souvent la nuit) peut affecter le risque de cancer chez ces travailleurs.

    Le niveau de risque dépend du degré et de la durée de l'exposition, de la puissance du carcinogène, de la présence d'autres facteurs de risque et de la susceptibilité d'une personne. Certains travailleurs peuvent être exposés davantage et plus longtemps à des substances chimiques nuisibles au travail et leur risque de développer un cancer peut être beaucoup plus élevé.

  • Notre position

    La Société canadienne du cancer appuie fermement que les Canadiens ne devraient pas être exposés à des substances carcinogènes dans leur milieu de travail. Si l’exposition à de telles substances ne peut être totalement évitée, elle devrait à tout le moins être réduite au plus bas niveau possible. Nous considérons également que cela exigera les engagements

    Les employeurs doivent :

    • sensibiliser les travailleurs au cancer et les informer de leur niveau d’exposition à des substances carcinogènes au travail; 
    • éliminer ou limiter l’exposition à des substances carcinogènes en les retirant de l’environnement de travail ou en utilisant des produits différents;
    • établir des méthodes de travail et apporter les modifications requises aux conditions de travail de façon à minimiser l’exposition des travailleurs à des substances carcinogènes. L’utilisation d’équipement de protection individuelle devrait constituer une solution de dernier recours;
    • établir des programmes d'éducation et de formation pour leurs employés qui sont exposés à des produits dangereux au travail. Ils doivent également s'assurer que les produits sont étiquetés, qu'une fiche signalétique (FS) est présente avec chaque produit et qu'elle est facilement accessible aux travailleurs.

    Les gouvernements doivent mettre en place une législation et une réglementation fondées sur les preuves scientifiques afin de protéger les travailleurs.

    Les individus ont le droit (en vertu des lois fédérales, provinciales ou territoriales sur la santé et la sécurité au travail) de refuser d’effectuer un travail qui les expose à des substances carcinogènes connues ou des substances fort probablement carcinogènes.

    Ce que vous pouvez faire

    Si vous craignez d’être exposé à un agent possiblement carcinogène ou si vous désirez obtenir plus de renseignements sur les risques d’exposition dans votre milieu de travail, communiquez avec le Centre canadien d'hygiène et de sécurité au travail ou contactez le Service d’information sur le cancer de la Société canadienne du cancer au 1 888 939-3333.

  • Ce que les travailleurs peuvent faire

    Les travailleurs devraient adopter les mesures suivantes afin d’aider à réduire leur risque d’expositions professionnelles :

    • suivre les directives de leurs employeurs sur la santé et la sécurité au travail lorsqu'ils utilisent, entreposent et disposent des matières dangereuses;
    • utiliser tout l'équipement et tous les vêtements protecteurs fournis par l'employeur pour aider à minimiser le risque d'exposition à des substances potentiellement nocives;
    • suivre les directives des gouvernements et des fabricants sur la manipulation de substances nuisibles :
      • Les matières dangereuses en milieu de travail sont accompagnées d'une FS (fiche signalétique), document qui contient des renseignements sur les dangers possibles, les effets sur la santé d'une exposition à ce produit et sur la façon de manipuler ce produit en toute sécurité. Ces directives sont imprimées sur l'emballage et sont affichées sur les lieux de travail.
      • Au Canada, le Système d'information sur les matières dangereuses utilisées au travail (SIMDUT) identifie les dangers des produits et donne l’information nécessaire sur l'utilisation sans risque de matières dangereuses. Les renseignements sont inscrits sur l'étiquette des produits et sur la FS et sont également dévoilés lors des programmes d'éducation pour les travailleurs.
    • participer à des programmes de formation et utiliser les renseignements qui leur sont fournis pour travailler sans risque avec les matières dangereuses. Ils devraient également aviser leur employeur lorsque l'étiquette d'un contenant a été enlevée par mégarde ou n'est plus lisible;
    • immédiatement signaler toute exposition accidentelle.

    Des études de recherche sur le milieu professionnel ont permis aux employeurs d'obtenir les connaissances nécessaires pour prendre des démarches visant à réduire ou à prévenir les expositions aux carcinogènes au travail. Dans l’ensemble, le risque d'exposition en milieu de travail est donc beaucoup plus faible de nos jours puisque les pratiques de santé et de sécurité au travail ont réduit grandement ou bien éliminé l’exposition à des substances qui causent le cancer.

  • Renseignements sur des sources particulières d’exposition en milieu de travail

    Les travailleurs canadiens sont susceptibles d’être exposés à de nombreuses substances ou situations dont on sait ou soupçonne qu’elles causent le cancer. Bien que des études aient démontré que certaines expositions font augmenter le risque de développer certains cancers, il pourrait ne pas être possible de lier de façon concluante le cancer à un type particulier d'exposition.

    • Certains travailleurs peuvent être plus susceptibles d’entrer en contact avec des carcinogènes. Ce sont entre autres les travailleurs de la construction, les travailleurs du bois, les mineurs, les peintres, les personnes qui travaillent avec des pesticides ou dans les industries des produits chimiques, du caoutchouc ou des colorants.
    • L'arsenic, l'amiante, le benzène, le béryllium, le cadmium, le chrome, le rayonnement ionisant, les composés du nickel, le radon et le chlorure de vinyle sont tous des exemples de carcinogènes auxquels les gens peuvent être exposés au travail.

    Au Canada, le Occupational Cancer Research Centre (OCRC) a été mis sur pied afin qu’il y ait plus d’information sur les causes et la prévention des cancers liés au travail. Pour avoir plus de renseignements, consultez le site Web de l’OCRC.

    Vous trouverez dans les pages qui suivent de l’information sur des types spécifiques d’exposition et sur les mesures à prendre pour vous protéger :

  • Suggestions de sites Web pour en savoir plus

    Réduction de l’exposition professionnelle
    Les organisations ci-dessous travaillent à promouvoir la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs, entre autres en s’assurant qu’ils demeurent à l’abri de toute exposition à des substances carcinogènes en milieu de travail.

    Centre canadien d’hygiène et de sécurité au travail
    National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, CDC (É.-U.) en anglais
    Santé de l'environnement et du milieu de travail
    Health and Safety Executive (UK) en anglais
    Organisation mondiale de la santé – Plan d’action mondial pour la santé des travailleurs en anglais

    Renseignements sur les droits des travailleurs au Canada
    Voyez quels sont vos droits en matière de santé, de sécurité et d’indemnisation en cas de lésion ou de maladie liée au travail.

    Association des commissions des accidents du travail du Canada 
    Congrès du travail du Canada 
    Code canadien du travail – La section 125.1 décrit les obligations des employeurs pour protéger leurs employés de l’exposition à des substances dangereuses.

    Recherche sur l’exposition professionnelle
    Ces groupes mènent des recherches sur l’exposition professionnelle et son impact sur le fardeau du cancer au Canada et à l’étranger. 

    Occupational Cancer Research Centre en anglais 
    CAREX Canada – Surveillance de l’exposition aux agents cancérogènes en milieu de travail et dans l’environnement pour la prévention du cancer 
    Centre international de recherche sur le cancer 
    National Toxicology Program (É.-U.) en anglais

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Sophie Lebel Ma famille est fière du travail que j’accomplis pour amener des changements positifs dans la vie des gens.

Lisez l’histoire de Dre Lebel

Un chez-soi loin de chez soi

Illustration d’une maison

La Société canadienne du cancer offre son hospitalité aux personnes atteintes de cancer qui doivent parcourir de longues distances pour recevoir leurs traitements.

Apprenez-en plus