Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 


Radon is a colourless, odourless, tasteless radioactive gas found naturally in the environment. It is released into the air during the natural breakdown of uranium in rocks and soil. Once released, radon breaks down into radioactive elements that can attach to dust and other substances in the air we breathe. It’s also a common type of radiation exposure.

  • How you’re exposed to radon

    We are exposed to radon when we breathe in contaminated air. You may be exposed to radon-contaminated air for a variety of reasons:

    • Indoor air can have high levels of radon when radon from the soil and rocks around the home seeps in and builds up in enclosed spaces that are poorly ventilated. 
    • Workplace exposure can occur from air in uranium and other underground mines that naturally have high levels of radon if proper ventilation systems are not in place. The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission and provincial mining authorities regulate the levels of radon in these mines. Other underground workers, such as subway or tunnel workers, may also be at high risk of radon exposure.
    • Outdoor air also contains some radon. Radon levels outdoors or in the open air are usually very low (between 5 and 15 Bq/m3) since the radon gas is continuously diluted by fresh air. Because of this, radon gas is unable to build up to levels high enough to pose a health risk.
    • It’s rare, but radon can also be found in water. Radon in water can be a problem when the water is from the ground, such as from private or community wells. Radon is released from the water into the air during normal use such as showering or cooking. However, most communities get water from reservoirs or other open bodies of water where radon concentrations are very low.
  • Radon and cancer

    The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) classifies radon as a known cause of cancer. Find out more about how cancer-causing substances are classified.

    Exposure to radon gas increases your risk of lung cancer. This risk depends on the level and length of exposure, as well as if you are a smoker. Lung cancer can develop after years of radon exposure. Health Canada estimates that about 16% of lung cancer deaths are related to being exposed to radon in the home. Radon exposure is the leading cause of lung cancer in non-smokers and it’s estimated that in Canada there are more than 3300 lung cancer deaths related to radon each year. If you smoke, you are at an even higher risk of developing lung cancer if you are exposed to radon.

  • Our recommendation

    Radon levels in most homes should be reduced to as low as reasonably achievable. The age of your home is not a good indicator of how high indoor radon levels could be – the only way to know how much radon is in your home is to test. 

    The Canadian Cancer Society recommends that Canadians test their homes for radon and take action to reduce high levels.

    To test your home for radon, you can purchase a test kit at some hardware stores, or online from several organizations working to reduce radon. You can also hire a certified professional to perform a test for you. Find out more about how to test for radon in your home.

    Health Canada’s radon action guideline is 200 Bcq/m3, but other jurisdictions have set different limits. The World Health Organization (WHO) recommends a limit of 100-300 Bcq/m3, and the United States has a limit of 148 Bcq/m3.

    If the level of radon is above 200 Bcq/m3, you should work with a C-NRPP certified professional to lower the levels in your home. However, even if the radon levels are below 200 Bcq/m3, you may still want to take action to lower the levels in your home.

  • Purchase a radon test kit

    The Canadian Cancer Society recommends testing your home when the weather is cold and your windows are closed using a long-term test kit.

    Your kit should be placed in the lowest lived-in level of your home and left there for at least 3 months before sending it away for analysis. Kits are small, discreet devices that collect data about the air inside your home.

    Purchase a discounted test kit here. $12 from each kit purchased will support the Canadian Cancer Society. Offer good until July 30th, 2017 - while quantities last.

    *The Canadian Cancer Society does not endorse any one specific brand of test kit.

  • Take Action

    The Canadian Cancer Society believes all Ontarians have the right to know if they are being exposed to cancer-causing substances so they can make informed decisions affecting about their health. We recommend that the Government of Ontario adopts the National Building Code guidelines regarding radon mitigation into Ontario’s Building Code and conduct a public education program on radon.



David Rex I was staying in St. John’s all by my lonesome because my wife was too sick to travel with me. Daffodil Place was my lifeline.

Read David's story

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Radon

Incolore, inodore et insipide, le radon est un gaz présent naturellement dans l’environnement. Le radon se répand dans l’air au cours du processus de désintégration naturelle de l’uranium qui se trouve dans la pierre et le sol. Une fois relâché, le radon se fragmente en particules radioactives qui peuvent se fixer à la poussière et aux autres particules présentes dans l’air que nous respirons. C’est également une forme répandue d’exposition au rayonnement.

  • Sources d’exposition au radon

    Nous sommes exposés au radon lorsque nous respirons de l’air contaminé. Plusieurs modes d’exposition à du radon présent dans l’air sont possibles :

    • L’air intérieur peut être contaminé lorsque le radon présent dans le sol et la pierre autour de la maison s’infiltre à l’intérieur et s’accumule dans des espaces fermés et mal ventilés. 
    • L’air dans les mines d’uranium et les autres mines souterraines contient naturellement des concentrations élevées de radon qui peuvent demeurer élevées en l’absence d’une ventilation adéquate. La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire de même que les autorités provinciales en matière d’exploitation minière régissent les concentrations de radon acceptables dans ces mines. Le risque d’exposition au radon peut également être élevé pour d’autres travailleurs en milieu souterrain, comme le métro ou les tunnels.
    • L’air extérieur aussi contient du radon. Les concentrations de radon en plein air sont habituellement très faibles (entre 5 et 15 Bq/m³) puisque le radon est constamment dilué par l’air frais. À l’extérieur, le radon ne peut s’accumuler à des concentrations suffisamment élevées pour menacer la santé.
    • Rarement, on peut aussi retrouver du radon dans l’eau. Le problème peut se poser lorsque l’eau provient d’une source souterraine, par exemple un puits privé ou communautaire. Le radon qui y est présent s’échappe dans l’air au cours de l’utilisation normale de l’eau, par exemple pendant la douche ou durant la cuisson des aliments. Il importe de préciser que la plupart des collectivités tirent leur eau de réservoirs ou d’autres récipients ouverts, où les concentrations de radon sont très faibles.
  • Radon et cancer

    Le Centre international de recherche sur le cancer (CIRC) classe le radon parmi les causes connues de cancer. Plus de détails sur la classification des substances carcinogènes.

    L’exposition au radon augmente votre risque de cancer du poumon. Le risque dépend du degré et de la durée de l’exposition, et du fait que vous fumiez ou non. Le cancer du poumon peut apparaître après des années d’exposition au radon. D’après des estimations de Santé Canada, qu’environ 16 % des décès par cancer du poumon sont liés à l’exposition au radon dans les habitations. L’exposition au radon est la principale cause de cancer du poumon chez les non-fumeurs; au Canada, on estime plus de 3 00 le nombre de décès par cancer du poumon associé au radon, chaque année. Si vous fumez et que vous êtes exposé au radon, vous courez encore plus de risques de développer un cancer du poumon.

  • Notre recommendation

    La concentration de radon doit être abaissée autant qu’elle peut raisonnablement l’être. L’âge de votre maison n’est pas un bon indicateur de la quantité probable de radon à l’intérieur. Le seul moyen de savoir quelle est la concentration de radon dans votre maison, c’est de la mesurer.

    La Société canadienne du cancer recommande aux Canadiens de faire mesurer la concentration de radon dans leur maison et, si elle est élevée, d’agir pour la diminuer.

    Pour mesurer la concentration de radon dans votre maison, vous pouvez acheter une trousse d’analyse dans certaines quincailleries, ou en ligne auprès de plusieurs organismes qui s’emploient à réduire l’exposition au radon. Vous pouvez aussi demander à un professionnel certifié d’effectuer l’analyse pour vous. Apprenez-en plus sur les façons de mesurer la concentration de radon dans votre maison.

    La concentration de radon à laquelle des correctifs s’imposent est de 200 Bq/m3 dans la ligne directrice de Santé Canada, mais diffère d’un pays ou d’un organisme à l’autre. L’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) recommande une limite de 100 à 300 Bq/m3, et les États-Unis fixent la limite à 148 Bq/m3.

    Si la concentration de radon chez vous dépasse 200 Bq/m3, vous devriez travailler avec un professionnel certifié du PNCR-C pour la réduire. Toutefois, même si elle est inférieure à 200 Bq/m3, rien ne vous empêche de prendre des moyens pour l’abaisser encore plus dans votre maison.

La Société canadienne du cancer considère que tous les Ontariens ont le droit de savoir s’ils sont exposés à des substances carcinogènes afin qu’ils puissent prendre des décisions éclairées en ce qui concerne leur santé. Nous recommandons que le gouvernement de l’Ontario adopte les lignes directrices du Code national du bâtiment concernant la réduction du radon dans le Code du bâtiment de l’Ontario et qu’il présente un programme d’éducation publique sur le radon. Apprenez-en davantage sur cette recommandation et passez à l’action à takeaction.cancer.ca

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Je suis reconnaissante de la chance que nous avons eue, et je veux que toutes les familles aient la même. C’est pour cette raison que la Société canadienne du cancer figure dans mon testament.

Plus de details

Un chez-soi loin de chez soi

Illustration d’une maison

La Société canadienne du cancer offre son hospitalité aux personnes atteintes de cancer qui doivent parcourir de longues distances pour recevoir leurs traitements.

Apprenez-en plus