You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Oyster and soy sauce

During the last few years, there has been some talk about cancer-causing chemicals in liquid condiments – in particular, oyster and soy sauces. The manufacturing process for these products can cause the formation of 3-MCPD, a chemical that may cause cancer. From published reports, we have learned the following:

  • 3-MCPD has been found mainly in a number of oyster and soy sauces sold in Canada and other countries. The levels of 3-MCPD are different from product to product, ranging from very low levels to very high levels.
  • 3-MCPD is part of the chloropropanol group of chemicals and is a possible carcinogen in humans.
  • Health Canada has concluded that there is no health risk to Canadians from use of available soy and oyster sauces. Because continuous lifetime exposure to high levels of 3-MCPD could pose a health risk, Health Canada has established 1.0 part per million (ppm) as a guideline for importers of these sauces, in order to reduce Canadian's long-term exposure to this chemical. This is considered to be a very safe level.
  • The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) has advised importers and manufacturers that the level of 3-MCPD in these products must be below 1.0 ppm. CFIA has been watching the level of 3-MCPD in these products, and it announces health hazard alerts when the level exceeds this guideline.

To find these health alerts, visit the Canadian Food Inspection Agency website.

A-|A|A+

Stories

Morgan Smith Even though we are high school students, we were able to raise so much money for the Canadian Cancer Society. It just goes to show what can happen when a small group of people come together for a great cause.

Read Morgan's story

Funding lifesaving clinical trials

Illustration of science instruments

The Canadian Cancer Society is funding lifesaving clinical trials that give people with cancer access to the newest types of treatment.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

La sauce aux huîtres et la sauce soya

Au cours des dernières années, la présence de certains produits chimiques carcinogènes dans les condiments liquides, en particulier la sauce aux huîtres et la sauce soya, a été le sujet de plusieurs discussions. Le processus de fabrication de ces produits peut causer la formation de 3-MCPD, une substance chimique qui peut causer le cancer.

Des rapports publiés nous indiquent ce qui suit :

  • La présence de 3-MCPD a été décelée principalement dans certaines sauces soya et sauces aux huîtres vendues au Canada et au Royaume-Uni. Les concentrations de 3-MCPD varient selon les produits et vont de très faibles à très élevées. 
  • Le 3-MCPD appartient au groupe des chloropropanols et pourrait être carcinogène chez les humains. 
  • Santé Canada a conclu que les Canadiens ne courent aucun risque pour leur santé en utilisant les stocks disponibles de sauces soya et de sauces aux huîtres. Étant donné qu'une exposition continue au cours de la vie à des concentrations élevées de 3-MCPD pourrait constituer un risque pour la santé, Santé Canada a déterminé que le seuil de 1,0 partie par million (ppm) servirait de ligne directrice pour les importateurs de telles sauces afin de réduire les risques d’exposition à long terme des Canadiens à cette substance. Il s'agit d'une concentration considérée comme étant très sécuritaire. 
  • L'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) a avisé les importateurs et les fabricants que la concentration de 3-MCPD dans ces produits devait être inférieure à 1,0 ppm. L’ACIA surveille le niveau de 3-MCPD dans ces produits et émet des avertissements de danger pour la santé quand le niveau dépasse la norme établie. 

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de ces avertissements, visitez le site Web de l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Photo of Pat Hartley Malgré l’expérience et les connaissances que j’avais sur le cancer, j’étais en état de choc.

Lisez l'histoire de Pat

Financement d’essais cliniques qui sauvent des vies

Illustration d’instruments scientifiques

La Société canadienne du cancer subventionne des essais cliniques d’une importance vitale, qui permettent aux personnes atteintes de cancer d’avoir accès aux plus récents types de traitement.

Apprenez-en plus