Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Food additives and cancer

Food additives are chemicals that help preserve, colour and flavour our food. It is very unlikely that food additives cause cancer.

Food additives are subjected to safety testing before they are even considered for approval by the Health Products and Food Branch, Bureau of Chemical Safety of Health Canada. Once approved and in use, all food additives are continuously monitored and reviewed for adverse reactions and hazards. If at any time the safety of a food additive is shown to be harmful, it is removed from the market.

Any food dyes or cosmetics that were once linked to cancer are no longer used in Canada.

Artificial sweeteners
Aspartame (also known as Nutrasweet) does not cause cancer. Cyclamates and saccharin in high doses have caused cancer in laboratory rats, but there is no proven link between these substances and cancer in humans. It is advisable to use these artificial sweeteners in moderation.

A-|A|A+

Stories

Harold Johns His amazing career and legacy live on today, inspiring a new generation of scientists who are discovering new ways to harness the power of medical imaging to improve cancer diagnosis and treatment.

Read Harold's story

Cancer information in over a hundred languages

Illustration of question mark

The Canadian Cancer Society’s Cancer Information Service (CIS) is Canada’s only national, bilingual, toll-free service that offers personalized comprehensive cancer information in over 100 languages.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Additifs alimentaires et cancer

Les additifs alimentaires sont des substances chimiques qu'on ajoute aux produits alimentaires afin de prolonger la durée de conservation des aliments, de leur donner une couleur appétissante et d'en rehausser la saveur.

Toutefois, il est hautement improbable que les additifs alimentaires soient une cause de cancer.

Les additifs alimentaires font l'objet de tests visant à vérifier leur innocuité avant que la Direction des aliments du Bureau d'innocuité des produits chimiques de la Santé Canada considère d'en approuver l'emploi. Une fois que leur utilisation est approuvée et a commencé, tous les additifs alimentaires font l'objet d'une surveillance continue visant la détection de réactions et d'effets indésirables dus à leur consommation. Si, à un moment donné, un additif alimentaire se révèle nocif pour la santé, il est retiré du marché.

Tous les colorants alimentaires et les produits cosmétiques dont l'emploi a été lié au cancer dans le passé ont été bannis au Canada.

Édulcorants artificiels
L’aspartame (également connue sous le nom de Nutrasweet) n’est pas carcinogène. Les cyclamates et la saccharine, à fortes doses, ont causé le cancer chez des rats de laboratoire, mais il n’existe aucun lien confirmé entre ces substances et le cancer chez les humains. Il est quand même préférable de consommer les édulcorants artificiels avec modération.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Rebecca and James Hamm Nous trouvions très important que la collecte se fasse en l’honneur de mon oncle, car c’était un formidable moyen pour nous de lui manifester notre solidarité.

Lisez l’histoire de James et Rebecca

Financement d’essais cliniques qui sauvent des vies

Illustration d’instruments scientifiques

La Société canadienne du cancer subventionne des essais cliniques d’une importance vitale, qui permettent aux personnes atteintes de cancer d’avoir accès aux plus récents types de traitement.

Apprenez-en plus