Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

Bras and breast cancer

Over the past few years, there have been reports, e-mails and websites that say wearing a bra might cause breast cancer.

At this time, there is no reliable, scientific evidence that shows a link between wearing a bra and developing breast cancer. If any well-designed, peer-reviewed studies are done on this subject, the Canadian Cancer Society will review the research and the results.

The Canadian Cancer Society understands that Canadians are concerned about breast cancer, but recommends being careful when evaluating any medical information or claims on the Internet. The Internet can be a great source of information, but you should always discuss personal health concerns with a qualified health professional.



photo of Dan I feel honoured that I was a part of these people’s lives … honoured to have been there for them, to have listened and offered hope that it will be okay.

Read Dan's story

Clinical trial discovery improves quality of life

Illustration of test tubes

A clinical trial led by the Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials group found that men with prostate cancer who are treated with intermittent courses of hormone therapy live as long as those receiving continuous therapy.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Soutiens-gorge et cancer du sein

Au cours des dernières années, des reportages, courriels et sites Web ont avancé que le port du soutien-gorge pourrait causer le cancer du sein.

Il n'existe présentement aucune preuve scientifique sérieuse démontrant un lien entre le port du soutien-gorge et le cancer du sein. Si éventuellement des études bien conçues et soumises à des évaluations scientifiques rigoureuses sont réalisées sur ce sujet, la Société canadienne du cancer en analysera les résultats.

La Société canadienne du cancer comprend l’inquiétude que suscite le cancer du sein chez les Canadiens mais elle recommande la vigilance en ce qui concerne toute information ou affirmation médicale provenant d’un site Web non reconnu. Bien que le Web puisse être une source importante d’information, vous devriez toujours discuter de votre santé avec un professionnel de la santé qualifié.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Rebecca and James Hamm Nous trouvions très important que la collecte se fasse en l’honneur de mon oncle, car c’était un formidable moyen pour nous de lui manifester notre solidarité.

Lisez l’histoire de James et Rebecca

Information sur le cancer dans plus de cent langues

Illustration d’un point d’interrogation

Le Service d’information sur le cancer (SIC) de la Société canadienne du cancer est le seul service téléphonique national, bilingue et sans frais au Canada à offrir de l’information sur le cancer dans plus de cent langues.

Apprenez-en plus