Canadian Cancer Society logo

Beware of exposure to
cancer-causing gas in your home

You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Take action on radon

Radon gas can cause lung cancer. Learn how to detect radon in your home.

Radon is a colourless, odourless and tasteless gas, and is the second leading cause of lung cancer. Ontario adopting the National Building Code standards on radon mitigation will protect people at home, work and school.

Tell your MPP that we need action on radon!

Learn more about the dangers of radon.

  • Connections to lung cancer

    Radon exists in almost all indoor air. In low concentrations, it does not pose any significant health risk; however, exposure to high concentrations over extended periods of time can lead to lung cancer.

    Public Health Ontario estimates that 13% of lung cancer deaths are attributable to radon. In Ontario, it is the second leading cause of lung cancer, and the leading cause amongst non-smokers.

    To learn more about radon and its link to lung cancer, click here.

    Tell your MPP that we need action on radon!

  • Public opinion polling

    To mark Lung Cancer Awareness and Radon Action Month in November, the Society commissioned public opinion polling in the fall of 2015. The polling was targeted to homeowners, with at least partially finished basements, and who have children under 18 years old.

    As radon is known to accumulate in basements, the Society wanted to better understand the amount of time that people spend in basements along with their awareness level about radon.

    Highlights of the poll, include:

    • 4 out of 10 parents have a child or teen who spends at least 3 hours per day in their at-home basements; furthermore, 20% of parents say their kids spend a minimum of 3 hours in basements or in ground-floor environments such as classrooms and daycares.
    • The vast majority of parents – 90% - do not know that radon can cause cancer
    • Just 5% of poll respondents have tested their homes for radon

    To learn more about our polling and to read our full press release, click here.

    Tell your MPP that we need action on radon!

     
  • Test your home for radon

    The only sure way to know if radon levels in your home are too high is to test. A long-term do-it-yourself kit can be purchased from your local home improvement store. The test, including analysis and reporting, costs between $50.00 and $80.00.

    Health Canada recommends that you should follow up with a radon professional about radon mitigation, if your test results come back higher than 200 becquerels per meter cubed. Radon mitigation costs between $1500.00 and $3000.00, depending on your home.

    To learn more about radon and to take action, click here.

    Tell your MPP that we need action on radon!



    Meet Janet. Lung cancer survivor and radon awareness advocate.

    In 2009, Janet Whitehead regularly went to the gym but her breathlessness extended far beyond a run on the treadmill. When she also developed a persistent cough, Janet decided to speak to her doctor.

    She was sent for some tests which later revealed devastating news. The then 55-year-old had lung cancer.

    As a non-smoker she was shocked by the news and decided to look into other explanations and found a suspect – radon gas. Colourless, odourless and tasteless, radon is the second leading cause of lung cancer in Canada.

    She decided to have her current and previous homes tested for radon gas. One of her former homes in Ottawa tested at 16 times higher than Health Canada’s radon guideline. As a stay-at-home mom, Janet spent about 18 hours a day in that home, mostly working from the basement where radon levels are more prevalent.

    Radon is responsible for 850 deaths in Ontario each year. Yet few people have taken action on this issue. According to a 2015 study by the Canadian Cancer Society, 90 per cent of Ontario families do not know radon causes cancer and only 5 per cent had tested their homes.

    “Most people aren’t aware that radon causes lung cancer. Testing your home for radon is inexpensive and it can save your life,” says Janet. “As a lung cancer survivor whose cancer is connected to radon, I am really passionate about helping people learn more about radon testing. I encourage everyone to have their home tested.”

  • Take Action

    To help eliminate the risk of radon exposure, the Society is calling on all parties in the provincial government to support the creation of legislation that would see the Ontario Building Code harmonized with the National Building Code, making comprehensive radon mitigation measures mandatory in all new buildings in Ontario.

    Additionally, the Society recommends that this legislation should also require a public education campaign on the dangers of radon.

    Sign to challenge your MPP to support this issue!

     
A-|A|A+

Stories

Parker Murchison My favourite thing about Camp Goodtime is being able to hang out with other kids who have survived cancer. They know what is going on in your life and can help you get through it.

Read Parker's story

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Passez à l’action contre le radon

Le radon est un gaz incolore, inodore et insipide et la deuxième principale cause de cancer du poumon. Le fait que l’Ontario adopte les normes du Code national du bâtiment sur la mitigation du radon protégera les gens à la maison, au travail et à l’école.

Dites à votre député provincial que nous avons besoin de passer à l'action!

Apprenez-en davantage sur les dangers du radon.

  • Liens avec le cancer du poumon

    Le radon existe dans presque tout l’air intérieur. De faibles concentrations de radon ne posent pas de risque important pour la santé; cependant, l'exposition à de fortes concentrations sur des périodes de temps prolongées peut mener au cancer du poumon.

    Santé publique Ontario estime que 13 % des cas de décès par cancer du poumon sont causés par le radon. En Ontario, il est la deuxième principale cause de cancer du poumon et la principale cause chez les non-fumeurs.  

    Pour en apprendre plus sur le radon et son lien avec le cancer du poumon, cliquez ici.

    Dites à votre député provincial que nous avons besoin de passer à l'action.

    Passez à l’action maintenant.

  • Sondage d’opinion

    Pour souligner le Mois de la sensibilisation au cancer du poumon et d’action sur le radon, la Société a demandé un sondage d’opinion à l’automne 2015. Le sondage a ciblé les propriétaires de maisons ayant au moins des sous-sols partiellement finis et ayant des enfants de moins de 18 ans.

    Étant donné que l’on sait que le radon s’accumule dans les sous-sols, la Société a voulu mieux comprendre la quantité de temps que les gens passent dans les sous-sols ainsi que leur niveau de sensibilisation au radon.

    Les points saillants du sondage comprennent :

    • 4 parents sur 10 ont un enfant ou un adolescent qui passe au moins 3 heures par jour dans les sous-sols de leur maison; de plus, 20 % des parents disent que leurs enfants passent un minimum de 3 heures dans les sous-sols ou dans des environnements au rez-de-chaussée comme des salles de classe et des garderies.
    • La grande majorité des parents, 90 %, ne savent pas que le radon peut causer le cancer.
    • Seulement 5 % des personnes interrogées ont fait un test de radon dans leurs maisons.

    Pour en apprendre davantage sur notre sondage et pour lire notre communiqué de presse, cliquez ici.

    Dites à votre député provincial que nous avons besoin de passer à l'action sur le radon.

    Passez à l’action maintenant.

  • Faites un test de radon dans votre maison

    La seule façon de savoir si les niveaux de radon dans votre maison sont trop élevés est de faire un test. Un test à long terme à faire soi-même peut être acheté dans une quincaillerie locale. Le test, incluant l'analyse et le rapport, coûte entre 50 $ et 80 $.

    Santé Canada recommande de consulter un professionnel du radon pour la mitigation du radon si les résultats de votre test indiquent que le niveau est supérieur à 200 becquerels par mètre cube. La mitigation du radon coûte entre 1 500 $ et 3 000 $, selon votre maison.

    Pour en apprendre davantage sur le radon et passer à l’action, cliquez ici.

    Dites à votre député provincial que nous avons besoin de passer à l'action.

    Passez à l’action maintenant.

    En 2009, Janet Whitehead allait régulièrement au gym mais son essoufflement s’étendait au-delà du tapis roulant. Lorsqu’elle a développé une toux persistante, Janet a décidé de consulter son médecin.

    Elle a subi des tests qui ont révélé une nouvelle dévastatrice. À 55 ans, elle avait un cancer du poumon.

    Étant non-fumeuse, elle a été choquée par son diagnostic et a décidé de chercher d’autres explications et a trouvé un suspect – le radon. Le radon est un gaz incolore, inodore et insipide et la deuxième principale cause de cancer du poumon au Canada.

    Elle a décidé de faire un test de radon dans sa maison actuelle et dans ses résidences antérieures. Une de ces anciennes résidences à Ottawa avait un niveau 16 fois plus élevé que la ligne directrice de Santé Canada. En tant que mère au foyer, Janet passait environ 18 heures par jour dans cette maison, travaillant principalement au sous-sol où les niveaux de radon sont plus importants.

    Le radon est responsable de 850 décès en Ontario chaque année. Pourtant peu de gens sont passés à l'action sur cette question. Selon une étude effectuée en 2015 par la Société canadienne du cancer, 90 % des familles ontariennes ne savent pas que le radon cause le cancer et seulement 5 % avaient effectué le test.

    « La plupart des gens ne savent pas que le radon cause le cancer du poumon. Il n’est pas dispendieux de faire le test et il peut vous sauver la vie », dit Janet. « En tant que survivante du cancer du poumon lié au radon, je désire aider les gens à en apprendre plus sur le test du radon. J’encourage tout le monde à faire un test dans leur maison. »

  • Passez à l'action

    Pour aider à éliminer la menace du radon, la Société fait appel à tous les partis du gouvernement provincial pour qu’ils adoptent le projet de loi 11 : Loi de 2014 sur la sensibilisation au radon et la protection contre l’infiltration de ce gaz. Cette loi comprend une campagne d’éducation publique sur les dangers du radon en plus d’un appel à l’harmonisation du Code du bâtiment de l’Ontario au Code national du bâtiment pour s'assurer que toutes les nouvelles maisons et immeubles en Ontario aient des mesures complètes de mitigation du radon.


    Signez pour lancer un défi à votre député provincial d’appuyer cette question!

    Passez à l’action maintenant.

 
A-|A|A+

Histoires

Dre Sheila Singh Dre Sheila Singh a découvert une nouvelle façon de détruire les cellules du cancer du cerveau à l’aide d’un médicament existant.

Plus de details

Financement d’essais cliniques qui sauvent des vies

Illustration d’instruments scientifiques

La Société canadienne du cancer subventionne des essais cliniques d’une importance vitale, qui permettent aux personnes atteintes de cancer d’avoir accès aux plus récents types de traitement.

Apprenez-en plus