Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

Drug shortages

Drug shortages are increasing in Canada and around the world. We know that shortages are deeply worrying to patients and their families – it’s simply not acceptable to go without the medication you need.

  • Our position

    Drug shortages are a national problem and they will not be resolved without a Canada-wide approach. We’re calling on the federal government to lead the way and develop a national strategy to prevent and manage drug shortages. This strategy must include:

    • cooperation with provinces, territories and industry to anticipate, identify and manage drug shortages
    • a requirement that drug manufacturers report to Health Canada any disruption or discontinuation in the production of drugs as soon as they become aware of the possibility

    If you’re worried about not being able to get the medication you need, talk to your doctor or pharmacist.



photo of Mathieu At the end of the day, Mathieu gave me a big hug and left with a smile on his face.

Read Mathieu's story

Facing the financial burden of cancer

Illustration of coins

The Canadian Cancer Society provides helpful information about government income programs, financial resources and other resources available to families struggling to make sense of the personal financial burden they face.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Pénuries de médicaments

Les pénuries de médicaments sont un phénomène croissant au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde. Nous savons que ce genre de situation est une grande source d’inquiétude pour les patients et leurs familles – il est tout simplement inacceptable d’être privé de médicaments essentiels.

  • Notre position

    Les pénuries de médicaments constituent un problème d’envergure nationale et, à ce titre, ne pourront être résolues que par une intervention à l’échelle canadienne. C’est pourquoi nous demandons au gouvernement de prendre les choses en main et d’élaborer une stratégie nationale visant à prévenir et à gérer les pénuries de médicaments. Cette stratégie doit inclure :

    • la collaboration avec les provinces, les territoires et l’industrie en vue de prévoir, détecter et gérer les pénuries de médicaments;
    • l’obligation pour les fabricants de médicaments de signaler à Santé Canada toute perturbation ou interruption de la production de médicaments, et ce, dès qu’ils sont au fait d’une telle éventualité.

    Si vous craignez de ne pouvoir vous procurer le médicament dont vous avez besoin, parlez-en à votre

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Researcher Dr Ming-Sound Tsao Dr Ming-Sound Tsao a élaboré un modèle de laboratoire réaliste pour l’étude du cancer du poumon.

Plus de details

Information sur le cancer dans plus de cent langues

Illustration d’un point d’interrogation

Le Service d’information sur le cancer (SIC) de la Société canadienne du cancer est le seul service téléphonique national, bilingue et sans frais au Canada à offrir de l’information sur le cancer dans plus de cent langues.

Apprenez-en plus