You are here: 

Colostomy and ileostomy

A colostomy creates an opening from the colon to the outside of the body through the abdominal wall. An ileostomy creates an opening from the ileum to the outside of the body through the abdominal wall. The opening created by a colostomy or an ileostomy is called a stoma.

A colostomy or an ileostomy can be temporary or permanent. The doctor may do a temporary colostomy or ileostomy to allow the intestine to rest and heal after surgery. It will be permanent if the anal sphincter and the lower part of the rectum are removed.

A colostomy or an ileostomy may also be called a bowel diversion.

Why a colostomy or an ileostomy is done

A colostomy or an ileostomy is done when part of the intestine needs to be removed or bypassed. A colostomy or an ileostomy may be done as part of treatment for:

  • cancer of the colon, rectum or anus
  • an inflammatory bowel disease, such as ulcerative colitis or Crohn’s disease
  • familial adenomatous polyposis (FAP)
  • a blockage in the intestine (called a bowel obstruction)
  • an injury that damages the intestine
  • diverticulitis
  • birth defects of the intestines

Sites of a colostomy or an ileostomy

The site of a colostomy or an ileostomy depends on the part of the intestine that is affected. The different types of colostomies are named based on where they are in the colon.

  • A sigmoid colostomy is in the sigmoid colon, which is the part of the colon that connects to the rectum. A sigmoid colostomy is the most common type of colostomy.
  • A descending colostomy is in the descending colon, which is the part of the colon that goes down the left side of the abdomen.
  • A transverse colostomy is in the transverse colon, which is the part of the colon that goes across the upper abdomen.
  • An ascending colostomy is in the ascending colon, which is the first part of the colon. It starts at the cecum and goes up the right side of the abdomen. An ascending colostomy is not commonly done because doctors prefer to do an ileostomy.
  • An ileostomy is in the ileum, which is the last part of the small intestine.

Diagram of colostomy sites

The location of the colostomy or ileostomy will affect the type and consistency of stool (poop). Your colon normally absorbs water so when some or all of the colon is removed or bypassed, water may not be absorbed from stool as usual. For example, the stool from an ileostomy is mostly liquid because it doesn’t travel through the colon, which would normally remove most of the water. If you have a descending or sigmoid colostomy, your stool will be formed and solid as usual.

Types of colostomy and ileostomy

A colostomy or an ileostomy can be done in different ways depending on why it is needed. Your doctor will decide which type of colostomy or ileostomy is best for you.

End colostomy or ileostomy

An end colostomy or ileostomy attaches one end of the colon or ileum to an opening in the abdominal wall (called the end stoma). An end colostomy is often in the sigmoid colon. An end ileostomy is often in the last part of the ileum. The rest of the colon may be completely removed.

Diagram of an end stoma

End colostomy or ileostomy with rectal stump

An end colostomy or ileostomy can be made with a rectal stump. This surgery may also be called the Hartmann procedure.

It involves attaching one end of the colon or ileum to an opening in the abdominal wall (called the end stoma). The rectum and anus are left in place, and the cut end is closed with staples or stitches. The rectal stump is not functional (stool doesn’t pass through it), but it may still make mucus that passes out of the body through the anus.

This type of colostomy or ileostomy can be temporary. After the intestine has healed, the doctor can join the remaining intestine to the rectum.

Diagram of an end stoma with a rectal stump

End colostomy with mucous fistula

An end colostomy with mucous fistula is also called a double-barrel colostomy. It is usually done when part of the transverse colon or descending colon is removed and the sigmoid colon, rectum and anus are not removed.

This type of colostomy is created with 2 stomas. Part of the colon is removed, and each cut end of the colon is attached to a separate opening in the abdominal wall (called the end stoma). One stoma is created from the first part of the colon on the right side of the body. This is called a functional stoma (end stoma) because stool passes through it. A second stoma (called a mucous fistula) is created from the last part of the colon. The mucous fistula passes mucus out of the body.

Diagram of an end stoma with a mucous fistula

Loop colostomy or ileostomy

A loop colostomy or ileostomy is usually temporary. It is done so that stool leaves the body before it reaches the diseased or injured part of the intestine. The intestine can be connected again after it has healed.

To create a loop colostomy or ileostomy, a loop of the colon or ileum is brought out through a cut (incision) in the abdomen. A plastic rod is sometimes placed through the loop to hold it in place and to support the area during healing. Sometimes flaps of skin are used instead of a plastic rod.

The doctor then makes a cut in the colon or ileum to open it, but doesn’t cut all the way through it. The 2 sides of the opening become a stoma on the abdomen. Stool and mucus leave the body through the stoma. Some stool and mucus may also leave through the anus.

Diagram of a loop stoma

Preparing for a colostomy or an ileostomy

Before surgery, tests will be done to check your general health. Blood tests, a chest x-ray and an electrocardiogram (ECG) may be done to check the health of certain organs. Find out more about these tests and procedures.

Your healthcare team will tell you if you need to follow a special diet before surgery. They will also tell you when to stop eating and drinking before surgery.

You may need to empty your intestine before surgery. This usually means taking a laxative 1 to 2 days before surgery. You may also be given cleansing enemas at the hospital.

Your surgeon or ostomy nurse will usually mark the abdomen where the stoma will be to make sure it is in a convenient and comfortable place. Your surgeon or healthcare team may also discuss the type of pouch that you will need to use after the surgery. You may be given antibiotics before surgery to help prevent infection.

How a colostomy or an ileostomy is done

A colostomy or an ileostomy is done in a hospital using general anesthesia (you will be asleep).

The surgeon can use an open technique or a laparoscopic technique.

  • With the open technique, a cut is made in the abdomen to reach the intestine.
  • With the laparoscopic technique, small cuts are made in the abdomen. An endoscope and tools are inserted through the cuts to do the surgery.

The open technique is used more commonly than the laparoscopic technique for colostomy or ileostomy.

Depending on the reason for doing the colostomy or ileostomy, a bowel resection may be done first. A bowel resection is used to completely remove the diseased or damaged part of the intestine. Find out more about bowel resection.

To create an end colostomy or ileostomy, one end of the colon or ileum is brought to an opening on the surface of the abdomen. The surgeon stitches the edges of the cut part of the colon or ileum to the skin of the abdomen to make the stoma. The surgeon closes the other cut end of the colon or ileum with stitches or staples.

  • For an end colostomy or ileostomy with mucous fistula, the other cut end of the colon or ileum is attached to another part of the abdomen to make a second stoma.
  • For a loop colostomy or ileostomy, the surgeon stitches the cut edges of the colon or ileum to the skin on the abdomen to make a stoma with 2 openings.

A tube may be placed in the abdomen to drain fluids. This helps prevent infection and allow the area to heal properly. A special pouch (called an ostomy appliance) is placed around the stoma. This pouch collects stool that passes out of the body through the stoma.

Side effects

Side effects can happen with any type of surgery, but everyone’s experience is different. Some people have many side effects. Other people have few or none at all.

Side effects of a colostomy or ileostomy include:

  • pain
  • bleeding
  • infection
  • blood clots
  • a hernia near the stoma
  • the stoma falling into the abdomen
  • the intestine coming out of the stoma more than expected (called prolapse)
  • damage to nearby organs
  • dehydration
  • a bowel obstruction

Find out more about side effects of surgery.

After surgery

After surgery, you will need to stay in the hospital for several days. You will be given pain medicines to keep you comfortable. You will drink clear fluids for 1 to 2 days after surgery. Solid foods will be introduced slowly.

The stoma is usually swollen right after surgery. It is soft, moist and reddish-pink in colour, much like the lining in the mouth. There is no feeling in the stoma so it will not hurt if you touch it. There are many blood vessels on the surface of the stoma, so it may bleed a little if you rub or wipe it too hard.

When you have a colostomy or an ileostomy, you can’t control your bowel movements. You will need to wear a pouch over the ostomy all the time.

While you are in the hospital, an ostomy nurse will teach you how to live with and care for the ostomy. Before you go home, the healthcare team or ostomy nurse will talk to you about:

  • changing the bandages or dressing
  • showering and bathing
  • how and when to take any medicines
  • eating and drinking
  • physical activity
  • what to do if you have problems
  • when to visit the surgeon for follow-up

You may be referred to an oncologist if a bowel resection was done to remove cancer.

If the colostomy or ileostomy is temporary, your healthcare team will talk to you about how long you need to have it. A temporary colostomy or ileostomy is usually in place for a few months. Once the rest of the large intestine has healed, you will have another surgery to rejoin the 2 ends of the ileum or colon. This procedure is called anastomosis. The surgeon will also close the opening on your abdomen. After this second surgery, you will be able to pass stool from the anus normally.

Find out more about living with an ostomy.

Managing your diet

Most people with a colostomy or an ileostomy can eat as they did before surgery. You may need to make some changes to your diet to help you manage the following problems.

Gas

Gas can be caused by certain foods and drinks. It can be difficult to control and is sometimes embarrassing. You can help control gas by eating regular meals and chewing your food slowly. You may also want to limit foods that can cause gas, including dried beans and peas, broccoli, cabbage, onions, strong cheeses and carbonated drinks.

Odour

Certain foods can cause odour from the pouch or ostomy appliance. You may want to limit foods that can cause odour, including onions, cabbage, garlic, fish, eggs and fried foods.

Some foods, including yogurt, buttermilk and parsley, can help control odour. You can also add deodorants to the pouch to control odour.

Talk to your ostomy nurse if you are concerned about odour from the pouch.

Blocked or irritated stoma

Sometimes the colon or ileum can become narrow near the stoma. Certain foods may get stuck in the narrowed part of the colon or ileum and cause an obstruction (blockage). These same foods could also make the stoma swollen and irritated. An obstruction is more likely to happen with an ileostomy than with a colostomy.

Drinking extra fluids can help prevent an obstruction. You may also want to limit foods that tend to block or irritate the stoma, including nuts, popcorn, coconut, corn, celery, apples with the skin and foods with seeds, such as raspberries, strawberries and tomatoes.

Tell your doctor or healthcare team right away if you vomit or feel nauseous and nothing is coming from the stoma. You may have a blockage.

Special considerations for children

Preparing children before a test or procedure can help lower their anxiety, increase their cooperation and develop their coping skills. This includes explaining to children what will happen during the test, such as what they will see, feel and hear.

Preparing a child for a colostomy or an ileostomy depends on the age and experience of the child. Find out more about helping your child cope with tests and treatments.

colon

The longest part of the large intestine that receives almost completely digested food from the cecum (the first part of the large intestine), absorbs water and nutrients and passes waste (stool or feces) to the rectum.

The colon is made up of 4 parts. The ascending colon starts at the cecum and goes up the right side of the abdomen. The transverse colon goes across the upper abdomen. The descending colon goes down the left side of the abdomen. The sigmoid colon is the last part of the colon that connects the descending colon to the rectum.

Sometimes called the lower intestine or large bowel.

ileum

The last part of the small intestine that receives almost completely digested food from the jejunum, absorbs more nutrients and fat, then passes digested food to the large intestine.  

familial adenomatous polyposis (FAP)

An inherited condition that causes hundreds to thousands of polyps to develop, mainly on the lining of the colon and rectum.

People with FAP have a higher risk of colorectal cancer and small intestine cancer. It also increases the risk of stomach, adrenal gland and thyroid cancers.

diverticulitis

A condition in which small pouches or sacs (called diverticula) in the lining of the intestine become irritated and inflamed. The pouches usually form in the colon, but they can also develop in the small intestine. Symptoms include abdominal pain, fever, nausea, diarrhea and constipation.

cecum

The first part of the large intestine that receives almost completely digested food from the ileum (the last part of the small intestine) and passes it to the colon.

oncology

The study of cancers, including development, diagnosis, treatment and prevention.

A doctor who specializes in diagnosing and treating cancers is called an oncologist. Different types of oncologists include medical oncologist, surgical oncologist, radiation oncologist, gynecologic oncologist, urologic oncologist and pediatric oncologist.

Stories

Dr Edward Chow A new standard for managing cancer pain

Read more

Great progress has been made

Icon - arrow

Some cancers, such as thyroid and testicular, have survival rates of over 90%. Other cancers, such as pancreatic, brain and esophageal, continue to have very low survival rates.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:

Colostomie et iléostomie

La colostomie consiste à créer une ouverture dans le côlon vers l’extérieur du corps à travers la paroi abdominale. L’iléostomie consiste à pratiquer une ouverture dans l’iléon vers l’extérieur du corps à travers la paroi abdominale. L’ouverture créée lors de la colostomie ou de l’iléostomie porte le nom de stomie.

La colostomie et l’iléostomie sont temporaires ou permanentes. Le médecin peut pratiquer une colostomie ou une iléostomie temporaire afin de permettre à l’intestin de se reposer et de guérir après une chirurgie. Elle sera permanente si on enlève le sphincter anal et la partie inférieure du rectum.

La colostomie et l’iléostomie peuvent aussi être appelées dérivation intestinale.

Pourquoi on fait une colostomie ou une iléostomie

On pratique une colostomie ou une iléostomie lorsqu’une partie de l’intestin doit être enlevée ou contournée. Ces interventions peuvent être effectuées dans le cadre d’un traitement pour ce qui suit :

  • cancer du côlon, du rectum ou de l’anus
  • maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin (MII), comme la colite ulcéreuse ou la maladie de Crohn
  • polypose adénomateuse familiale (PAF)
  • obstruction de l’intestin (occlusion intestinale)
  • lésion qui endommage l’intestin
  • diverticulite
  • anomalies congénitales de l’intestin

Site de colostomie ou d’iléostomie

Le site de colostomie ou d’iléostomie dépend de la partie de l’intestin qui est affectée. On nomme les différents types de colostomie d’après l’endroit où l’intervention sera effectuée dans le côlon.

  • On fait la colostomie sigmoïdienne dans le côlon sigmoïde, soit la partie du côlon qui est reliée au rectum. La colostomie sigmoïdienne est le type le plus courant de colostomie.
  • On fait la colostomie descendante dans le côlon descendant, soit la partie du côlon qui descend du côté gauche de l’abdomen.
  • On fait la colostomie transverse dans le côlon transverse, soit la partie du côlon qui va d’un côté à l’autre dans le haut de l’abdomen.
  • On fait la colostomie ascendante dans le côlon ascendant, soit la première partie du côlon qui commence au cæcum et qui remonte du côté droit de l’abdomen. On ne pratique pas souvent de colostomie ascendante puisque les médecins privilégient l’iléostomie.
  • On fait l’iléostomie dans l’iléon, soit la dernière partie de l’intestin grêle.

Schéma des sites de colostomie

L’endroit où est effectuée la colostomie ou l’iléostomie détermine le type de selles et leur consistance. Normalement, votre côlon absorbe l’eau, alors lorsqu’une partie du côlon ou tout le côlon est enlevé ou contourné, il est possible que l’eau contenue dans les selles ne soit pas absorbée comme d’habitude. Par exemple, à la suite d’une iléostomie, les selles sont principalement liquides puisqu’elles ne passent pas par le côlon qui aurait normalement enlevé la plus grande partie de l’eau. Si vous avez subi une colostomie descendante ou sigmoïdienne, vos selles seront formées et solides comme d’habitude.

Types de colostomie et d’iléostomie

On peut pratiquer la colostomie ou l’iléostomie de différentes façons, selon les raisons qui expliquent la nécessité de cette intervention. Votre médecin déterminera quel type de colostomie ou d’iléostomie est le meilleur pour vous.

Colostomie ou iléostomie terminale

Lors d’une colostomie ou d’une iléostomie terminale, on relie une extrémité du côlon ou de l’iléon à une ouverture pratiquée dans la paroi abdominale appelée stomie terminale. La colostomie terminale est souvent effectuée dans le côlon sigmoïde. On fait souvent l’iléostomie terminale dans la dernière partie de l’iléon. Le reste du côlon pourrait être totalement enlevé.

Schéma de la stomie terminale

Colostomie ou iléostomie terminale avec moignon rectal

La colostomie ou l’iléostomie terminale peut être réalisée avec un moignon rectal. Cette intervention se nomme aussi intervention de Hartmann.

On relie une extrémité du côlon ou de l’iléon à une ouverture pratiquée dans la paroi abdominale appelée stomie terminale. Le rectum et l’anus demeurent en place et l’extrémité coupée est refermée à l’aide d’agrafes ou de points de suture. Le moignon rectal n’est pas fonctionnel, c’est-à-dire que les selles ne le traversent pas, mais il peut quand même produire du mucus qui est expulsé du corps par l’anus.

Ce type de colostomie ou d’iléostomie peut être temporaire. Lorsque l’intestin a guéri, le médecin peut relier l’intestin restant au rectum.

Schéma de la stomie terminale avec moignon rectal

Colostomie terminale avec fistule muqueuse

La colostomie terminale avec fistule muqueuse se nomme aussi colostomie à double abouchement. Elle est habituellement réalisée lorsqu’une partie du côlon transverse ou du côlon descendant est enlevée et que le côlon sigmoïde, le rectum et l’anus demeurent en place.

Ce type de colostomie se fait en créant 2 stomies. On retire une partie du côlon, puis chaque extrémité coupée du côlon est fixée à une ouverture séparée dans la paroi abdominale appelée stomie terminale. On crée une stomie avec la première partie du côlon sur le côté droit du corps. Cette stomie porte le nom de stomie fonctionnelle, ou terminale, puisque les selles passent à travers elle. Une deuxième stomie, appelée fistule muqueuse, est créée avec la dernière partie du côlon. Cette fistule muqueuse expulse le mucus du corps.

Schéma de la stomie terminale avec fistule muqueuse

Colostomie ou iléostomie latérale

La colostomie ou l’iléostomie latérale est habituellement temporaire. Elle est pratiquée pour que les selles soient expulsées du corps avant d’atteindre la partie malade ou affectée de l’intestin. On peut relier l’intestin à nouveau lorsqu’il a guéri.

Pour effectuer la colostomie ou l’iléostomie latérale, on fait sortir une anse du côlon ou de l’iléon par une coupure (incision) pratiquée dans l’abdomen. On met parfois une tige en plastique dans l’anse pour la maintenir en place et pour supporter la région pendant qu’elle guérit. Il arrive qu’on utilise des lambeaux de peau à la place d’une tige en plastique.

Le médecin fait ensuite une incision dans le côlon ou l’iléon pour l’ouvrir, mais il ne le coupe pas entièrement. Les 2 côtés ouverts deviennent une stomie dans l’abdomen. Les selles et le mucus sont évacués du corps par la stomie, mais il se peut qu’il y ait des selles et du mucus qui soient aussi évacués par l’anus.

Schéma de la stomie latérale

Préparation à la colostomie ou à l’iléostomie

Avant la chirurgie, on vous fait des examens afin de vérifier votre état de santé général. Il est possible qu’on fasse des analyses sanguines, une radiographie pulmonaire ainsi qu’un électrocardiogramme (ECG) afin de vérifier la santé de certains organes. Apprenez-en davantage sur ces tests et interventions.

Votre équipe de soins vous dira si vous devez suivre une diète spéciale avant la chirurgie. Elle vous indiquera également à quelle heure il faut cesser de boire et de manger avant l’opération.

Vous pourriez devoir vider votre intestin avant la chirurgie. Cela signifie habituellement prendre un laxatif 1 ou 2 jours avant l’opération. On pourrait aussi vous administrer des lavements nettoyants à l’hôpital.

Le chirurgien ou l’infirmière spécialisée en soins des stomies fait habituellement une marque sur l’abdomen à l’endroit où la stomie sera créée afin de s’assurer qu’elle se trouve à un emplacement approprié qui ne causera pas d’inconfort. Votre chirurgien ou votre équipe de soins peut aussi discuter du type de sac collecteur que vous devrez utiliser après l’opération. Il est possible qu’on vous administre des antibiotiques juste avant l’intervention pour aider à prévenir les infections.

Comment se déroulent la colostomie et l’iléostomie

La colostomie et l’iléostomie se déroulent à l’hôpital sous anesthésie générale (vous serez endormi).

Le chirurgien peut avoir recours à une technique ouverte ou laparoscopique.

  • Dans le cas de la technique ouverte, on fait une incision dans l’abdomen pour atteindre l’intestin.
  • Dans le cas de la technique laparoscopique, on fait de petites incisions dans l’abdomen, puis on y insère un endoscope et des instruments pour effectuer la chirurgie.

La technique ouverte est plus fréquemment employée que la technique laparoscopique pour la colostomie et l’iléostomie.

Selon les raisons expliquant pourquoi on doit faire une colostomie ou une iléostomie, on pourrait d’abord effectuer une résection de l’intestin. On pratique une résection de l’intestin pour enlever toute la partie malade ou endommagée de l’intestin. Apprenez-en davantage sur la résection de l’intestin.

Pour réaliser une colostomie ou une iléostomie terminale, on fait sortir une extrémité du côlon ou de l’iléon par une ouverture pratiquée à la surface de l’abdomen. Le chirurgien fixe les bords de la partie coupée du côlon ou de l’iléon à la peau de l’abdomen à l’aide de points de suture afin de créer la stomie. Il referme l’autre extrémité coupée du côlon ou de l’iléon à l’aide de points de suture ou d’agrafes.

  • Dans le cas d’une colostomie ou d’une iléostomie avec fistule muqueuse, l’autre extrémité coupée du côlon ou de l’iléon est fixée à une autre partie de l’abdomen pour créer une deuxième stomie.
  • Pour une colostomie ou une iléostomie latérale, le chirurgien attache les bords de la partie coupée du côlon ou de l’iléon à la peau de l’abdomen pour faire une stomie à 2 ouvertures.

Il est possible qu’on insère un tube dans l’abdomen pour évacuer les liquides. Cela aide à prévenir les infections et permet à la région de guérir adéquatement. On place un sac spécial (appareillage pour stomie) autour de la stomie. Ce sac sert à recueillir les selles lorsqu’elles sont évacuées du corps par la stomie.

Effets secondaires

Peu importe la chirurgie, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent, mais chaque personne les ressent différemment. Certaines en ont beaucoup alors que d’autres en éprouvent peu ou pas du tout.

Les effets de la colostomie ou de l’iléostomie peuvent être les suivants :

  • douleur
  • saignement
  • infection
  • caillots sanguins
  • hernie près de la stomie
  • stomie qui tombe dans l’abdomen
  • intestin qui sort de la stomie plus que prévu (prolapsus)
  • dommages aux organes voisins
  • déshydratation
  • occlusion intestinale

Apprenez-en davantage sur les effets secondaires de la chirurgie.

Après la chirurgie

Après la chirurgie, vous devrez rester à l’hôpital pendant plusieurs jours. On vous donnera des antidouleurs afin que vous vous sentiez bien. Vous boirez d’abord des liquides clairs pendant 1 ou 2 jours. Les aliments solides seront réintégrés peu à peu.

La stomie est habituellement enflée juste après la chirurgie. Elle est molle, humide et rose rougeâtre, un peu comme l’intérieur de la bouche. Il n’y a pas de sensations dans la stomie, elle ne fera donc pas mal si vous lui touchez. Comme il y a beaucoup de vaisseaux sanguins en surface, c’est possible qu’elle saigne légèrement si vous la frottez ou l’essuyez trop fort.

Après avoir eu une colostomie ou une iléostomie, vous ne pouvez pas maîtriser l’évacuation de vos selles. Vous devrez porter un sac sur la stomie en tout temps.

Pendant que vous êtes à l’hôpital, une infirmière spécialisée en soins des stomies vous apprendra comment vivre avec une stomie et en prendre soin. Avant votre retour à la maison, l’équipe de soins ou l’infirmière spécialisée en soins des stomies vous renseignera sur les sujets suivants :

  • changement des bandages ou des pansements
  • comment prendre sa douche et son bain
  • comment et quand prendre ses médicaments
  • quoi boire et manger
  • activité physique
  • que faire en cas de problèmes
  • fréquence des visites de suivi avec le chirurgien

On pourrait vous diriger vers un oncologue si une résection de l’intestin a été faite pour enlever un cancer.

Si la colostomie ou l’iléostomie est temporaire, votre équipe de soins vous indiquera pendant combien de temps vous devrez garder la stomie. À la suite d’une colostomie ou d’une iléostomie temporaire, la stomie reste habituellement en place pendant quelques mois. Lorsque le reste du gros intestin est guéri, on vous fera une autre chirurgie qui permettra de relier les 2 extrémités de l’iléon ou du côlon. Cette intervention est appelée anastomose. Le chirurgien refermera aussi l’ouverture sur votre abdomen. Après cette deuxième chirurgie, vous pourrez évacuer vos selles par l’anus normalement.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la façon de vivre avec une stomie.

Adaptation du régime alimentaire

La plupart des personnes qui ont subi une colostomie ou une iléostomie peuvent s’alimenter de la même façon qu’avant l’intervention. Il est possible que vous deviez adapter votre régime alimentaire pour vous aider à gérer les problèmes suivants.

Gaz

Les gaz peuvent être causés par certains aliments que l’on mange ou boit. Ils peuvent être difficiles à maîtriser et parfois nous embarrasser. Vous pouvez favoriser un meilleur contrôle des gaz en mangeant vos repas à des heures régulières et en mastiquant les aliments lentement. Vous pouvez aussi limiter votre consommation d’aliments susceptibles de causer des gaz, dont les haricots et pois secs, le brocoli, le chou, l’oignon, les fromages forts et les boissons gazéifiées.

Odeurs

Certains aliments peuvent provoquer des odeurs provenant du sac (appareillage pour stomie). Vous pourriez limiter votre consommation d’aliments qui risquent de causer des odeurs, dont l’oignon, le chou, l’ail, le poisson, les œufs et les aliments frits.

Certains aliments tels que le yogourt, le babeurre et le persil aident à maîtriser les odeurs. Vous pouvez aussi ajouter des désodorisants au sac pour maîtriser les odeurs.

Discutez avec votre infirmière spécialisée en soins des stomies si les odeurs provenant du sac vous préoccupent.

Stomie bloquée ou irritée

Parfois, le côlon ou l’iléon peut devenir étroit près de la stomie. Certains aliments peuvent rester coincés dans la partie étroite du côlon ou de l’iléon et provoquer une obstruction (occlusion). Ces mêmes aliments peuvent aussi causer l’inflammation et l’irritation de la stomie. L’obstruction est plus susceptible de se produire avec une iléostomie qu’avec une colostomie.

Boire plus de liquides peut aider à prévenir l’occlusion. Vous pourriez aussi limiter votre consommation d’aliments qui ont tendance à bloquer ou à irriter la stomie, dont les noix, le maïs soufflé, la noix de coco, le maïs, le céleri, les pommes avec la pelure et les aliments avec des graines, comme les framboises, les fraises et les tomates.

Avisez immédiatement votre médecin ou votre équipe de soins si vous avez des nausées ou des vomissements et que rien ne sort par la stomie. Il pourrait alors y avoir une obstruction.

Considérations particulières pour les enfants

Préparer un enfant à un examen ou à une intervention peut permettre de réduire son anxiété et d’accroître sa collaboration et l’aider à acquérir des habiletés d’adaptation. La préparation comprend l’explication de ce qui va se passer pendant l’intervention, dont ce qu’il verra, ressentira et entendra.

La préparation d’un enfant à une colostomie ou à une iléostomie dépend de son âge et de son expérience. Apprenez-en davantage sur la façon d’aider votre enfant à faire face aux tests et au traitement.

côlon

Partie la plus longue du gros intestin qui reçoit les aliments presque entièrement digérés venant du cæcum (premier segment du gros intestin), absorbe l’eau et les éléments nutritifs et rejette les déchets (selles, ou matières fécales) dans le rectum.

Le côlon comporte 4 parties. Le côlon ascendant part du cæcum et monte le long du côté droit de l’abdomen. Le côlon transverse traverse la partie supérieure de l’abdomen. Le côlon descendant descend le long du côté gauche de l’abdomen. Le côlon sigmoïde forme la dernière partie du côlon qui relie le côlon descendant au rectum.

Le côlon est parfois appelé gros intestin ou intestin inférieur.

iléon

Dernière partie de l’intestin grêle qui reçoit les aliments presque entièrement digérés provenant du jéjunum et absorbe la plupart des éléments nutritifs et des graisses avant de rejeter les aliments digérés dans le gros intestin.

polypose adénomateuse familiale (PAF)

Affection héréditaire caractérisée par la formation de centaines voire de milliers de polypes, surtout sur le revêtement du côlon et du rectum.

Les personnes atteintes de PAF risquent davantage d’avoir un cancer colorectal et un cancer de l’intestin grêle. Leur risque d’avoir un cancer de l’estomac, des glandes surrénales et de la glande thyroïde augmente également.

diverticulite

Affection caractérisée par l’irritation et l’inflammation de petites poches, ou sacs, appelées diverticules, présentes dans le revêtement de l’intestin. Les poches se forment habituellement dans le côlon, mais elles le font également dans l’intestin grêle. Les symptômes sont entre autres la douleur abdominale, la fièvre, la nausée, la diarrhée et la constipation.

caecum

Première partie du gros intestin qui reçoit les aliments presque entièrement digérés venant de l’iléon (dernière partie de l’intestin grêle) et les fait passer dans le côlon.

oncologie

Étude des cancers, y compris le développement, le diagnostic, le traitement et la prévention des cancers.

Un médecin spécialisé dans l’établissement du diagnostic et dans le traitement des cancers est appelé oncologue. Il existe différents types d’oncologues : oncologue médical, chirurgien oncologue, radio-oncologue, gynécologue oncologue, urologue oncologue et pédiatre oncologue.

  • Besoin de plus d’information?

    Appelez-nous sans frais au 1 888 939-3333

    « Ou écrivez-nous. Nous vous répondrons par courriel ou par téléphone si vous nous laissez vos coordonnées. Si nous ne pouvons pas vous joindre par téléphone, nous vous laisserons un message vocal. »

    Si vous êtes à l'extérieur du Canada

    Nous pouvons fournir des renseignements sur les soins et les services de soutien pour le cancer au Canada uniquement. Si vous recherchez un organisme de lutte contre le cancer dans votre pays, visitez les sites de l’Union For International Cancer Control ou de l’International Cancer Information Service Group.

Histoires

Le Dr Christopher O’Callaghan, chercheur, Groupe canadien des essais sur le cancer Le Groupe canadien des essais sur le cancer fait grimper le taux de survie au glioblastome chez les aînés.

Plus de details

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez comment 16 facteurs peuvent affecter votre risque de cancer et comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie! Présenté en partenariat avec Desjardins.

Apprenez-en plus