Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

Fertility problems

Some cancers or their treatments affect the reproductive system, which can lead to fertility problems. If the reproductive system is damaged, it can affect a man’s ability to father children or a woman’s ability to become pregnant. Infertility, or the inability to conceive a child, can be a concern for some people after treatment is finished.

The types of fertility problems that can develop, and whether or not they are temporary or permanent, depend on:

  • your age
  • the type of cancer
  • the type or dose of treatment
  • the length of time since treatment

Causes

Fertility problems can be caused by different cancer treatments.

Surgery

Some surgeries for cancer can cause permanent infertility.

In men, the testicles make sperm and the male sex hormones. The prostate is a gland that makes fluid that, along with sperm, forms the semen. Removing 1 testicle shouldn’t affect a man’s fertility. But if both testicles are removed, the man’s body can’t make sperm. If the prostate is removed, the man’s body can’t make any semen. Surgery can sometimes damage the nerves that supply a reproductive organ such as the penis or prostate. This damage can cause erectile dysfunction, or impotence.

In women, the ovaries make eggs and the female sex hormones. The uterus, or womb, contains and nourishes a baby during pregnancy. If both ovaries are removed, a woman’s body can’t make any eggs and she won’t be able to have a baby. If the uterus is removed, there is nowhere for a baby to develop and grow.

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy to the pelvis or reproductive organs can cause temporary or permanent fertility problems. The more radiation the testicles or ovaries are exposed to, the greater the chance that infertility will be permanent.

Radiation to the testicles can lower the number of sperm and affect a sperm’s ability to function normally. Radiation for prostate cancer may cause erectile dysfunction, or impotence.

Radiation can cause permanent damage to a woman’s ovaries. This can lead to treatment-induced menopause and a permanent loss of reproductive function. Find out more about treatment-induced menopause.

Radiation therapy to the area of the brain that includes the pituitary gland can sometimes affect fertility. The pituitary gland makes hormones that stimulate the ovaries to make eggs and the testicles to make sperm.

Radioactive iodine used to treat thyroid cancer doesn’t usually affect fertility.

Chemotherapy

Some chemotherapy drugs or combinations of drugs can damage the ovaries or testicles. Whether or not chemotherapy affects fertility, and whether the effect is permanent, depends on the type, dose and number of drugs used. In general, alkylating drugs have the most damaging effects on fertility.

Many chemotherapy drugs can affect the testicles so they make less sperm. These drugs can also damage sperm cells so they don’t function normally.

Most chemotherapy drugs can affect a woman’s menstrual cycle so that she stops ovulating. This can result in premature menopause, which can be temporary or permanent depending on the woman’s age.

Although chemotherapy drugs can damage eggs and cells that make sperm, their effects on fertility may not be permanent. The reproductive cells may continue to function when treatment is finished and the person’s fertility may return. Younger men and women usually have a better chance of regaining their fertility. Women younger than 35 years of age are more likely to have their periods come back and remain fertile. The older a woman is, and the closer she is to natural menopause, the greater the chance that infertility will be permanent.

Hormonal therapy

Some hormonal therapies may block the effects of hormones involved in reproduction. This can affect fertility. Some women may go through natural menopause while taking hormonal therapy. Menstrual periods usually come back a few months after hormonal therapy stops.

Diagnosis

If you have fertility problems after your cancer treatment is finished, your doctor will do a physical exam to find out what is causing them. Your doctor will also ask questions about your health history and treatments you’ve received.

Find out more about physical exam.

Managing fertility problems

Talk to your doctor about the effects cancer treatment can have on your ability to have children, as well as your fertility and parenthood options. Fertility counselling should be done before treatment starts. Counselling includes discussing:

  • available options
  • which options may be best for you
  • possible future outcomes
  • costs of different options

Different medical procedures can be used to help prevent infertility or help couples conceive. These procedures may be called assistive reproductive technology (ART). The rates of a successful pregnancy vary depending on the method used. Some of the options given below may not be available in all provinces. Check with your provincial or territorial health insurance plan about which fertility options are covered.

Radiation shielding

When possible, the healthcare team will try to shield or protect the testicles in men and the ovaries in women during radiation treatments. This may help preserve fertility. Whether this will be possible or not depends on the type and location of the cancer.

Some women may have surgery to move the ovaries out of the radiation field before radiation therapy. They may be moved behind the uterus or closer to the pelvic bones. Moving the ovaries out of the treatment area may protect them from the damaging effects of radiation.

Sperm banking

Sperm banking may be an option for some men who wish to father children in the future. Sperm is collected and frozen before treatment starts. The sperm is stored for future use in fertilization procedures known as artificial insemination.

Intrauterine insemination inserts banked sperm into the woman’s uterus after ovulation.

In vitro fertilization (IVF) uses the man’s sperm to fertilize the woman’s egg in a test tube in the lab. The fertilized egg is later implanted into the woman’s uterus.

Intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI) injects a single sperm into a single egg. The fertilized egg is later implanted into the woman’s uterus.

Banking or freezing eggs

Banking or freezing eggs is also called oocyte banking or cryopreservation. Some of a woman’s eggs are removed from her ovaries and frozen. The eggs are later thawed and then fertilized with a man’s sperm. By 2009, more than 900 live births using frozen eggs had been reported world-wide.

The type of cancer, how quickly cancer treatment needs to be started and other factors may mean that egg banking or freezing isn’t an option.

Before the eggs are collected, the woman usually has to take hormones. These hormones increase the level of estrogren in the body, which can increase the number of mature eggs available for collection. Doctors may be able to collect 1 or 2 eggs without giving hormones, but having only this small number of eggs may lower the chances of a successful pregnancy.

Some women can’t take hormones before egg collection because they have a hormone-dependent type of cancer, such as breast cancer. This means that hormones can make the cancer grow. For example, the hormone pill clomiphene citrate (Clomid, Serophene) is usually offered, but it may cause hormone-dependent cancers to grow. Women with hormone-dependent cancers may also be offered letrozole (Femara). This drug may be given with or without other hormone pills. Both clomiphene citrate and letrozole stimulate the ovaries to help eggs mature, but letrozole helps prevent the high levels of estrogen in the body from causing cancer cells to grow.

Sometimes cancer treatment has to be delayed so that there are enough eggs available for collection. A larger number of eggs available increases a woman’s chances of getting pregnant in the future. Treatment may be delayed 2 weeks to prepare for egg collection and to collect the eggs for banking or freezing. Women who have to start cancer treatment as soon as they are diagnosed may not be eligible for egg banking or freezing. Young women who have reached puberty should be offered the option of banking or freezing their eggs before cancer treatment begins to preserve their fertility.

Some clinics will only offer egg banking or freezing to women within a certain age range. This is because younger women have more, and likely healthier, eggs. Different clinics may use different age ranges.

Unfortunately, eggs don’t freeze well. Not all the eggs that are frozen will survive the thawing process and can be fertilized with sperm. Recently, doctors have started to use a fast-freezing technique called vitrification. This process causes less damage to the eggs.

Banking or freezing eggs doesn’t result in as many successful pregnancies as banking or freezing embryos. But freezing eggs can be an option for women who don’t have the option of freezing embryos. This can include women without a male partner or women who don’t wish to use donor sperm.

Embryo freezing

Some people may want to look at the possibility of storing fertilized embryos. The woman’s eggs are collected during a surgical procedure and then fertilized with the man’s sperm. The fertilized eggs are then frozen and stored, or cryopreserved. The stored eggs may be implanted in the woman’s uterus at a later date.

Hormone injections are often used to increase the number of mature eggs available for collection. The type of cancer, how quickly cancer treatment needs to be started and other factors may mean that embryo freezing isn’t an option.

Other parenthood options

You may wish to look into the following parenthood options. You may also want to check with adoption agencies or seek legal advice on adoption or surrogacy.

Adoption

Having cancer doesn’t rule out the possibility of adoption. Some agencies may require that you wait for a certain amount of time after treatment before you can adopt a child. Agencies may also require your doctor’s approval.

Surrogacy

A surrogate is a woman who carries and bears a child for someone else. Some women may consider using a surrogate if their uterus is removed because of cancer and they can’t bear children themselves.

Using donor sperm or eggs

Some couples choose to use donor sperm or eggs in artificial insemination. The egg donor may be anonymous or known to the couple. Sperm donors are mostly anonymous and only frozen sperm are used.

Research in fertility options

Researchers are looking for new and better ways to help people have children after cancer and cancer treatment. Find out more about research in fertility options.

Stories

Dr Troy Harkness Finding new ways to treat drug-resistant cancers

Read more

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:

Troubles de la fertilité

Certains cancers ou leurs traitements affectent l’appareil reproducteur, ce qui peut engendrer des troubles de la fertilité. Si l’appareil reproducteur est endommagé, cela risque d’affecter la capacité d'un homme de donner la vie à des enfants ou d'une femme de tomber enceinte. L’infertilité, ou incapacité de concevoir un enfant, peut être préoccupante pour certaines personnes après le traitement.

Les types de troubles de la fertilité qui peuvent apparaître, et s’ils sont temporaires ou permanents, dépendent des facteurs suivants :

  • votre âge;
  • le type de cancer dont vous êtes atteint;
  • le type de traitement ou la dose administré;
  • le temps qui s'est écoulé depuis le traitement.

Causes

Les troubles de la fertilité peuvent être causés par différents traitements du cancer.

Chirurgie

Certaines chirurgies du cancer risquent de causer une infertilité permanente.

Chez l’homme, les testicules fabriquent les spermatozoïdes et les hormones sexuelles mâles. La prostate est une glande produisant un liquide qui, avec les spermatozoïdes, forme le sperme. Enlever 1 testicule ne devrait pas affecter la fertilité de l’homme. Mais si on enlève les 2 testicules, le corps de l’homme n’est plus en mesure de fabriquer des spermatozoïdes. Si on enlève la prostate, le corps de l’homme n’est plus en mesure de fabriquer du sperme. Il arrive parfois que la chirurgie endommage les nerfs qui sont reliés à un organe reproducteur, comme le pénis ou la prostate. Ces dommages peuvent causer un dysfonctionnement érectile (impuissance).

Chez la femme, les ovaires fabriquent les ovules et les hormones sexuelles femelles. L’utérus, ou matrice, porte et nourrit un bébé durant la grossesse. Si on enlève les 2 ovaires, le corps de la femme n’est plus en mesure de fabriquer des ovules, donc elle ne pourra pas concevoir de bébé. Si on enlève l’utérus, il n’y a pas de place pour qu’un bébé se développe et grossisse.

Radiothérapie

Une radiothérapie au bassin ou aux organes reproducteurs peut causer des troubles de la fertilité temporaires ou permanents. Plus les testicules ou les ovaires sont exposés à la radiation, plus le risque que l’infertilité soit permanente est grand.

Une radiothérapie aux testicules peut réduire le nombre de spermatozoïdes et affecter leur capacité à fonctionner normalement. Une radiothérapie administrée pour traiter un cancer de la prostate peut provoquer le dysfonctionnement érectile, ou impuissance.

La radiothérapie risque de causer des dommages permanents aux ovaires d’une femme. Cela peut engendrer une ménopause provoquée par le traitement et la perte permanente de la fonction de reproduction. Apprenez-en davantage sur la ménopause provoquée par le traitement.

Une radiothérapie à la région du cerveau qui comprend l’hypophyse peut affecter la fertilité à l’occasion. L’hypophyse fabrique des hormones qui incitent les ovaires à produire des ovules et les testicules à produire des spermatozoïdes.

L’iode radioactif utilisé pour traiter le cancer de la glande thyroïde n’affecte habituellement pas la fertilité.

Chimiothérapie

Certains agents chimiothérapeutiques ou associations d’agents chimiothérapeutiques peuvent endommager les ovaires et les testicules. Si la chimiothérapie affecte la fertilité et l’effet est permanent dépend du type de médicaments administré, de leur dose et de leur nombre. En général, les agents alkylants sont ceux qui nuisent le plus à la fertilité.

De nombreux agents chimiothérapeutiques risquent d’affecter les testicules, réduisant ainsi leur production de spermatozoïdes. Ces médicaments peuvent aussi endommager les spermatozoïdes et faire en sorte qu’ils ne fonctionnent pas normalement.

La plupart des agents chimiothérapeutiques peuvent affecter le cycle menstruel de la femme faisant ainsi cesser l'ovulation. Cela risque d’engendrer une ménopause prématurée, qui peut être temporaire ou permanente selon l’âge de la femme.

Bien que les agents chimiothérapeutiques soient susceptibles d'endommager les ovules et de détruire les cellules qui produisent les spermatozoïdes, leurs effets sur la fertilité pourraient ne pas être permanents. Les cellules reproductrices pourraient encore être fonctionnelles une fois le traitement fini et la personne pourrait redevenir fertile. Habituellement, les femmes et les hommes qui sont jeunes ont le plus de chance de retrouver leur fertilité. Les femmes âgées de moins de 35 ans sont plus susceptibles d’être de nouveau menstruées et de demeurer fertiles. Plus la femme est âgée et plus elle se rapproche de la ménopause naturelle, plus l’infertilité risque d’être permanente.

Hormonothérapie

Certaines hormonothérapies peuvent bloquer les effets d'hormones participant à la reproduction. Cela risque d’affecter la fertilité. Il y a des femmes qui passent à travers la ménopause naturellement tout en suivant une hormonothérapie. Les menstruations réapparaissent habituellement quelques mois après l’hormonothérapie.

Diagnostic

Si vous éprouvez des troubles de la fertilité après avoir été traité pour un cancer, votre médecin vous fera un examen physique afin d’en connaître la cause. Il vous posera aussi des questions sur vos antécédents médicaux et les traitements que vous avez reçus.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’examen physique.

Traitement des troubles de la fertilité

Discutez avec votre médecin des effets possibles du traitement du cancer sur votre capacité à concevoir des enfants, votre fertilité et vos options pour devenir parents. Le counseling en matière de fertilité devrait avoir lieu avant le traitement. On peut discuter des sujets suivants :

  • options disponibles
  • options les meilleures pour vous
  • répercussions futures possibles
  • frais liés aux différentes options

On peut avoir recours à différentes interventions médicales pour aider à prévenir l’infertilité ou aider les couples à concevoir un enfant. C’est la procréation médicalement assistée (PMA). Le taux de grossesses à terme varie selon la méthode employée. Certaines options mentionnées ici pourraient ne pas être offertes dans toutes les provinces. Consultez votre régime provincial ou territorial d’assurance-maladie pour savoir quelles options sont couvertes.

Protection radiologique par écran

Lorsque possible, l’équipe de soins essaie de protéger les testicules de l’homme et les ovaires de la femme lors des séances de radiothérapie. Cela peut aider à préserver la fertilité. Qu’on puisse le faire ou non dépend du type de cancer et de son emplacement.

Il arrive parfois que les femmes aient une chirurgie pour qu’on enlève leurs ovaires du champ de rayonnement avant la radiothérapie. On peut les déplacer derrière l’utérus ou plus près des os du bassin. Déplacer les ovaires hors de la zone de traitement peut les protéger des effets dommageables de la radiation.

Mise en banque de sperme

La mise en banque de sperme peut être une option pour certains hommes qui souhaitent concevoir des enfants un jour. On recueillie le sperme et on le congèle avant le traitement. On l’entrepose pour usage futur lors d'interventions de fécondation connues sous le nom d'insémination artificielle.

Lors de l’insémination intra-utérine (IIU), on injecte le sperme mis en banque dans l'utérus de la femme après l'ovulation.

Lors de la fécondation in vitro (FIV), on a recours au sperme de l’homme pour féconder l'ovule de la femme dans une éprouvette en laboratoire. L'ovule fécondé est ensuite implanté dans l'utérus de la femme.

Lors de l’injection intracytoplasmique d'un spermatozoïde (ICSI), on injecte un seul spermatozoïde dans un seul ovule. L’ovule fécondé est ensuite implanté dans l'utérus de la femme.

Mise en banque ou congélation d’ovules

La mise en banque ou la congélation d’ovules est aussi appelée mise en banque ou cryoconservation des ovocytes. On prélève des ovules dans les ovaires de la femme et on les congèle. On les décongèle plus tard avant de les féconder avec le sperme de l’homme. En 2009, plus de 900 naissances vivantes provenant d’ovules congelés avaient été consignées dans le monde entier.

Le type de cancer, la rapidité avec laquelle on doit commencer le traitement et d’autres facteurs peuvent signifier que la mise en banque ou la congélation d’ovules n’est pas une option.

Avant la collecte des ovules, la femme prend habituellement des hormones. Ces hormones font augmenter le taux d’œstrogène dans le corps, ce qui peut accroître le nombre d’ovules mûrs disponibles pour la collecte. Le médecin peut être en mesure de prélever 1 ou 2 ovules sans la prise d’hormones, mais en avoir aussi peu risque de réduire les chances d’aboutir à une grossesse réussie.

Certaines femmes ne peuvent pas prendre d’hormones avant la collecte des ovules puisque le type de cancer dont elles sont atteintes est hormonodépendant, comme le cancer du sein. Cela signifie que les hormones peuvent faire croître le cancer. On propose habituellement par exemple, la pilule hormonale appelée citrate de clomiphène (Clomid, Serophene), mais elle peut provoquer l’apparition d’un cancer hormonodépendant. On peut aussi proposer aux femmes atteintes d’un cancer hormonodépendant du létrozole (Femara). Ce médicament peut être associé à d’autres pilules hormonales. Le citrate de clomiphène et le létrozole incitent les ovaires à aider les ovules à mûrir, mais le létrozole aide aussi à empêcher le taux élevé d’œstrogène dans le corps à faire croître les cellules cancéreuses.

Il arrive parfois qu’on doive retarder le traitement du cancer afin qu’il y ait suffisamment d’ovules disponibles pour la collecte. Un nombre plus élevé d’ovules disponibles accroît les chances de grossesses futures chez la femme. On pourrait retarder le traitement de 2 semaines pour préparer la collecte d’ovules et prélever les ovules qui seront mis en banque ou congelés. La femme qui doit commencer à être traitée dès qu’elle reçoit son diagnostic de cancer pourrait ne pas être admissible à la mise en banque ou à la congélation d’ovules. On devrait proposer aux jeunes femmes qui ont atteint la puberté la mise en banque ou la congélation d’ovules avant le traitement du cancer afin de préserver leur fertilité.

Il y a des cliniques qui proposent la mise en banque ou la congélation d’ovules qu’aux femmes d’une certaine tranche d’âge. C’est que les jeunes femmes ont plus d’ovules qui sont probablement plus sains. Les tranches d’âges peuvent différer selon les cliniques.

Malheureusement, les ovules ne se congèlent pas bien. Ce ne sont pas tous les ovules congelés qui survivent à la décongélation et qui peuvent être fécondés avec du sperme. Des médecins ont récemment commencé à utiliser une technique de congélation rapide appelée vitrification. Ce processus cause moins de dommages aux ovules.

La mise en banque ou la congélation d’ovules n’engendre pas autant de grossesses réussies que la mise en banque ou la congélation d’embryons. Mais la congélation d’ovules peut être une possibilité pour les femmes qui n’ont pas l’option de congeler leurs embryons. Ce sont entre autres les femmes qui n’ont pas de partenaire masculin ou qui ne souhaitent pas avoir recours au sperme d’un donneur.

Congélation d'embryons

Certaines personnes peuvent souhaiter envisager la possibilité d'entreposer des embryons. Les ovules de la femme sont prélevés lors d'une intervention chirurgicale puis fécondés avec le sperme de son partenaire. Les ovules fécondés sont ensuite congelés et entreposés (cryoconservés). On peut implanter les ovules entreposés dans l’utérus de la femme à une date ultérieure.

On fait souvent des injections d’hormones pour accroître le nombre d’ovules mûrs disponibles pour le prélèvement. Le type de cancer, la rapidité à laquelle on doit commencer le traitement ainsi que d'autres facteurs peuvent faire en sorte que la congélation d’embryons n’est pas une option.

Autres options pour devenir parents

Vous pourriez souhaiter évaluer les options suivantes pour devenir parents. Vous pourriez aussi vouloir consulter des agences d’adoption ou assister à une consultation juridique pour avoir des renseignements sur l'adoption ou les mères porteuses.

Adoption

Avoir le cancer n'exclue pas la possibilité d'adopter des enfants. Certaines agences peuvent exiger que vous attendiez un certain temps après le traitement avant d’adopter un enfant. Elles peuvent aussi demander l'approbation du médecin.

Mère porteuse

La mère porteuse est une femme qui porte un enfant pour quelqu’un d’autre. Certaines femmes peuvent envisager cette option si on a enlevé leur utérus à cause du cancer, ce qui les rend incapables de porter l’enfant elles-mêmes.

Recours au don de sperme ou d’ovules

Certains couples choisissent d’avoir recours au don de sperme ou d’ovules par insémination artificielle. La donneuse d’ovules peut être anonyme ou connue du couple. Le donneur de sperme est la plupart du temps anonyme et on emploie seulement du sperme congelé.

Recherche sur les options de fertilité

Des chercheurs étudient de nouvelles méthodes plus efficaces pour aider les personnes à avoir des enfants après un cancer et son traitement. Apprenez-en davantage sur la recherche sur les options de fertilité.

Histoires

Sophie Lebel Ma famille est fière du travail que j’accomplis pour amener des changements positifs dans la vie des gens.

Lisez l’histoire de Dre Lebel

Un chez-soi loin de chez soi

Illustration d’une maison

La Société canadienne du cancer offre son hospitalité aux personnes atteintes de cancer qui doivent parcourir de longues distances pour recevoir leurs traitements.

Apprenez-en plus