Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

How hormonal therapy works

Hormones are substances that regulate specific body functions, such as metabolismmetabolismThe chemical processes in the body that create and use energy. It includes breaking down food and transforming it into energy, eliminating wastes and toxins, breathing, circulating blood and regulating temperature., growth and reproduction. They travel in the blood and control the activity or growth of certain cells. For example, the hormones estrogen and testosterone control the growth, development and function of female and male reproductive organs.

Some cancer cells need hormones to grow. For example, some breast cancer cells need estrogen to grow. Cancer cells that need hormones to grow are called hormone dependent.

Hormonal therapy is a cancer treatment that adds, blocks or removes certain hormones to slow or stop the growth of cancer cells that are hormone dependent. Drugs, surgery or radiation therapy to specific organs can be used to change hormone levels. Hormonal therapy affects hormone levels throughout the body, so it is considered a systemic therapysystemic therapyTreatment that travels through the bloodstream to reach cells all over the body..

Hormones

Natural hormones are produced by glandsglandsA specialized organ or group of cells that produces or releases substances (such as hormones, saliva, digestive juices, sweat, tears or milk) to perform different functions in the body. or organs in the body. Artificial or synthetic hormones can be made in a lab.

Glands and organs that produce hormones
Gland or organDescriptionHormone produced

ovaries

small reproductive organs on either side of the uterus (womb), close to the end of the Fallopian tubes

estrogen and progesterone – female hormones involved in reproduction

testicles (testes)

small reproductive organs in the scrotum (the loose skin sac at the base of the penis)

testosterone – male hormone involved in reproduction

pituitary gland

small gland at the base of the brain

luteinizing hormone (LH) – stimulates the testicles and ovaries

adrenocorticotropic hormone (ACTH) – stimulates the adrenal glands

follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) – stimulates the ovaries and testicles

thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) – stimulates the thyroid gland

adrenal glands

small glands above the kidneys

corticosteroidscorticosteroidsAny steroid hormone that acts as an anti-inflammatory by reducing swelling and lowering the body’s immune response (the immune system’s reaction to the presence of foreign substances). (steroids) – lower the body’s immune response

mineralocorticoids (for example, aldosterone) – help maintain water and electrolyteelectrolyteA substance in the blood and other body fluids that carries an electric charge. Electrolytes are responsible for the movement of nutrients and wastes into and out of cells to keep body fluids balanced and to allow muscles to function properly. balance in the body

estrogen (in post-menopausalpost-menopausalThe time after menopause. women)

testosterone (in small amounts) – involved in reproduction

pancreas

gland located behind and below the stomach

glucagon – raises blood sugar level

insulin – lowers blood sugar level

Hormone treatment

Changing hormone levels in the body can affect cancer cells that are hormone dependent. There are 3 ways to change hormone levels:

  • remove the gland or organ that makes the hormone
  • treat the gland or organ with radiation to destroy hormone-producing cells
  • take hormones or other drugs that interfere with or stop the production of the hormone

Hormone-dependent cancer cells have receptors on their surfaces. Receptors are sites where the hormones attach to the cells and tell them to grow. Certain drugs can block the hormone receptors on the surface of cancer cells. The use of drugs to control or block hormones is called hormonal drug therapy.

Sometimes a sample of the tumour is tested to find out:

  • the type of hormone receptor on the surface of the cancer cells
  • the amount of receptor (hormone receptor level)
  • if hormonal therapy is likely to be effective

Generally, the higher the hormone receptor level (positive test), the more responsive the tumour will be to hormonal drug therapy. If there are no receptors or very few receptors on the cancer cells (negative test), hormones will probably not affect cancer cell growth and other cancer therapies may be more effective. Breast cancer tumours are most commonly tested for estrogen (ER) and progesterone (PR) receptors. Although there are tests for other receptors involved in other types of cancer, measuring them is not part of current practice.

Goals of hormonal therapy

Hormonal therapy may be used for early stage, advanced or metastatic cancers that are sensitive to changes in hormone levels (hormone dependent).

Hormonal therapy is an effective treatment for some cancers. Some tumours may respond to hormone treatment at first, but then stop responding (become refractory). The tumours may start growing again and don’t respond to further hormonal therapy. Other tumours may respond to a different hormonal therapy. For example, if a person stops responding to tamoxifen (Nolvadex, Tamofen), a different hormonal drug, such as anastrozole (Arimidex) or letrozole (Femara), may be useful.

Hormonal therapy and other treatments

Hormonal therapy may be used as the first-line therapy (the primary, most common or preferred treatment). It may also be used with other treatments as part of your treatment plan.

  • Hormonal therapy may be used as neoadjuvant therapy. It is given before surgery to shrink the tumour and make it easier to remove. It may also be given before radiation therapy to shrink the tumour so radiation is given to a smaller area.
  • Sometimes hormonal therapy is used as adjuvant therapy. It is given in addition to the primary treatment (such as surgery or radiation therapy) to more effectively treat the cancer and to lower the risk that the cancer will recur (come back).

The side effects of hormonal therapy depend on the type of hormonal therapy used.

Stories

Researcher Dr Ming-Sound Tsao Dr Ming-Sound Tsao created a realistic lab model of lung cancer.

Learn more

Providing rides to cancer treatment

Illustration of car

For more than 50 years, the Canadian Cancer Society’s transportation program has enabled patients to focus their energy on fighting cancer and not on worrying about how they will get to treatment.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:

Comment agit l’hormonothérapie

Les hormones sont des substances qui régulent des fonctions spécifiques de l’organisme, comme le métabolismemétabolismeProcessus chimiques se produisant dans le corps qui permettent de créer de l’énergie et de l’utiliser. Ce sont entre autres la décomposition des aliments et leur transformation en énergie, l’élimination des déchets et des toxines, la respiration, la circulation du sang et la régulation de la tempéra, la croissance et la reproduction. Elles circulent dans le sang et contrôlent l’activité ou la croissance de certaines cellules. L’oestrogène et la testostérone, par exemple, sont deux hormones qui contrôlent la croissance, le développement et le fonctionnement des organes reproducteurs mâle et femelle.

Certaines cellules cancéreuses ont besoin d’hormones pour croître. Par exemple, certaines cellules du cancer du sein ont besoin d’oestrogène pour se développer. Les cellules cancéreuses qui ont besoin d’hormones pour croître sont dites hormonodépendantes.

L’hormonothérapie est un traitement du cancer qui ajoute, bloque ou enlève certaines hormones afin de ralentir ou de faire cesser la croissance de cellules cancéreuses qui sont hormonodépendantes. On peut avoir recours à des médicaments, à la chirurgie et à la radiothérapie axés vers des organes spécifiques pour modifier les taux d’hormones. L’hormonothérapie affecte les taux d’hormones de tout l’organisme, elle est donc considérée comme un traitement systémiquetraitement systémiqueTraitement qui consiste à administrer une substance qui voyage par les vaisseaux sanguins pour atteindre les cellules du corps tout entier..

Hormones

Les hormones naturelles sont sécrétées par les glandesglandesOrgane ou groupe de cellules organisé qui produit ou libère des substances, comme des hormones, de la salive, des sucs digestifs, de la sueur, des larmes ou du lait, pour accomplir différentes fonctions dans le corps. ou les organes du corps. Les hormones artificielles ou synthétiques peuvent être fabriquées en laboratoire.

Glandes et organes qui sécrètent des hormones
Glande ou organeDescriptionHormone produite

Ovaires

Petits organes reproducteurs situés de chaque côté de l’utérus (matrice), près de l’extrémité des trompes de Fallope

Oestrogène et progestérone – hormones femelles qui jouent un rôle dans la reproduction

Testicules

Petits organes reproducteurs logés dans le scrotum (sac de peau flasque situé à la base du pénis)

Testostérone – hormone mâle qui joue un rôle dans la reproduction

Hypophyse

Petite glande située à la base du cerveau

Hormone lutéinisante (LH) – elle stimule les testicules et les ovaires

Corticotrophine (ACTH) – elle stimule les glandes surrénales

Hormone folliculostimulante (FSH) – elle stimule les ovaires et les testicules

Thyréostimuline (TSH) – elle stimule la glande thyroïde

Glandes surrénales

Petites glandes situées au-dessus des reins

CorticostéroïdesCorticostéroïdesHormones stéroïdiennes qui agissent comme anti-inflammatoire en réduisant l’enflure et en affaiblissant la réaction immunitaire (réaction du système immunitaire à la présence de substances étrangères). (stéroïdes) – ils affaiblissent la réaction immunitaire du corps

Minéralocorticoïdes (aldostérone, p. ex.) – ils aident à conserver l’équilibre entre l’eau et les électrolytesélectrolytesSubstance présente dans le sang et d’autres liquides corporels qui est porteuse d’une charge électrique. Les électrolytes sont responsables de l’entrée des éléments nutritifs dans les cellules et de l’évacuation des déchets hors des cellules afin de maintenir l’équilibre des liquides dans le corps e du corps

Oestrogène (chez la femme postménopauséepostménopauséePériode qui suit la ménopause.)

Testostérone (en petite quantité) – elle joue un rôle dans la reproduction

Pancréas

Glande située derrière et sous l’estomac

Glucagon – il élève le taux de sucre dans le sang

Insuline – elle réduit le taux de sucre dans le sang

Traitement hormonal

Modifier les taux d’hormones dans l’organisme peut affecter les cellules cancéreuses qui sont hormonodépendantes. Il existe 3 façons de modifier les taux d’hormones :

  • enlever la glande ou l’organe qui sécrète l’hormone
  • irradier la glande ou l’organe pour détruire les cellules sécrétrices d’hormones
  • administrer des hormones ou d’autres médicaments qui agissent sur l’activité hormonale ou qui font cesser la production de l’hormone

Les cellules cancéreuses hormonodépendantes ont des récepteurs situés à leur surface. Les récepteurs sont des zones où les hormones peuvent se fixer aux cellules et leur dire de croître. Certains médicaments peuvent bloquer les récepteurs hormonaux situés à la surface des cellules cancéreuses. L’emploi de médicaments pour maîtriser ou bloquer les hormones est appelé hormonothérapie.

Parfois, on examine un prélèvement tumoral afin de :

  • connaître le type de récepteur hormonal situé à la surface des cellules cancéreuses
  • connaître la quantité de récepteurs (niveau des récepteurs hormonaux)
  • savoir si l’hormonothérapie pourrait être efficace

En général, plus le niveau de récepteurs est élevé (résultats positifs), plus la tumeur réagira à l’hormonothérapie. S’il y a très peu ou pas du tout de récepteurs sur les cellules cancéreuses (résultats négatifs), les hormones n’affecteront probablement pas la croissance des cellules cancéreuses et d’autres traitements du cancer seraient probablement plus efficaces. Dans le cas du cancer du sein, on recherche le plus fréquemment les récepteurs de l’oestrogène et de la progestérone. Bien qu’il existe des examens permettant d’évaluer d’autres récepteurs jouant un rôle dans d’autres types de cancer, le fait de les doser ne fait pas partie de la pratique actuelle.

Buts de l’hormonothérapie

On peut avoir recours à l’hormonothérapie dans les cas de cancers précoces, avancés ou métastatiques qui sont sensibles à la modification des taux d’hormones (hormonodépendants).

L’hormonothérapie est un traitement efficace contre certains cancers. Il est possible qu’une tumeur réponde au traitement hormonal au début, mais qu’elle n’y soit plus sensible par la suite (tumeur réfractaire). La tumeur peut recommencer à se développer et ne plus réagir à l’hormonothérapie. D’autres tumeurs peuvent répondre à une hormonothérapie différente. Si, par exemple, un cancer cesse de réagir au tamoxifène (Nolvadex, Tamofen), il est possible qu’il réponde à un autre médicament hormonal, comme l’anastrozole (Arimidex) ou le létrozole (Femara).

Hormonothérapie et autres traitements

On peut avoir recours à l’hormonothérapie comme traitement de première intention (traitement principal, le plus courant ou privilégié). On peut aussi l’associer à d’autres traitements dans le cadre de votre plan thérapeutique.

  • On peut employer l’hormonothérapie comme traitement néoadjuvant. On l’administre avant de pratiquer une chirurgie afin de réduire la taille de la tumeur et la rendre plus facile à enlever. On peut aussi l’administrer avant la radiothérapie afin de réduire la taille de la tumeur et ainsi irradier une plus petite région.
  • On emploie parfois l’hormonothérapie comme traitement adjuvant. On l’administre en plus du traitement principal (comme la chirurgie ou la radiothérapie) pour mieux traiter le cancer et réduire le risque de réapparition (récidive) du cancer.

Les effets secondaires de l’hormonothérapie dépendent du type de traitement hormonal employé.

Histoires

Morgan Smith Même si nous sommes des élèves du secondaire, nous avons été capables de recueillir un bon montant pour la Société canadienne du cancer. Cela montre ce qu’un petit groupe de personnes est capable de faire en unissant ses efforts pour une bonne cause.

Lisez l’histoire de Morgan

Un chez-soi loin de chez soi

Illustration d’une maison

La Société canadienne du cancer offre son hospitalité aux personnes atteintes de cancer qui doivent parcourir de longues distances pour recevoir leurs traitements.

Apprenez-en plus