You are here: 

Bisphosphonates

Bisphosphonates are a group of drugs that can be used to help protect bones against the effects of some cancers and to treat some bone conditions. Sometimes bisphosphonates are called bone strengthening or bone hardening treatments.

Bisphosphonates may be used to treat multiple myeloma and bone metastases.

How bisphosphonates work

Bisphosphonates slow down the action of bone cells (osteoclasts) that dissolve small bits of bones to help remodel them and keep them strong. When cancer spreads to the bone (metastasizes), these cells become overactive, causing the bone to be destroyed faster than it’s rebuilt. When this happens, the damage can cause bones to become thinner and weaker causing:

  • pain in the affected bones
  • high calcium levels in the blood (hypercalcemia)
  • an increased risk of bones breaking (fracturing)

Uses of bisphosphonates

Bisphosphonates slow down the breakdown of bones. They may be used to:

  • reduce bone pain caused by bone metastases or multiple myeloma
  • reduce high levels of calcium in the blood
  • help strengthen bone and reduce the risk of breaks caused by cancer, bone metastases or osteoporosis

Bone pain

Most cancers that affect the bones have started in another part of the body and have spread to the bone. The most common types are breast cancer, prostate cancer and lung cancer. Cancer pain is often linked to bone metastases.

Multiple myeloma is a cancer of abnormal plasma cells (a type of white blood cell) that collect in the bone marrow. These abnormal cells make a substance that leads to bone damage and bone pain.

Hypercalcemia

When bone metastases and multiple myeloma cause bones to break down, calcium moves out of the bones and into the bloodstream. This can cause calcium levels in the blood to rise. A high level of calcium in the blood is called hypercalcemia. This can also cause bones to become weak and fragile so that they break easily.

Osteoporosis

A loss of bone mass (or bone density) is called osteoporosis. This condition causes bone to become weak and more likely to break. Some cancer treatments, such as long-term corticosteroid use, hormonal therapies and some chemotherapy drugs can increase the risk of osteoporosis. Osteoporosis can also happen because of factors not related to cancer. Bisphosphonates may be used to prevent and treat osteoporosis.

Types of bisphosphonates

The type of bisphosphonate used can depend on the type of cancer being treated. Common bisphosphonates used to treat bone metastases and multiple myeloma include:

  • clodronate (Bonefos) given by mouth or by an intravenous (IV) infusion (through a vein)
  • pamidronate (Aredia) given by an IV infusion
  • zoledronic acid (Zometa) given by an IV infusion

Bisphosphonates used to prevent and treat osteoporosis include alendronate (Fosamax), risedronate (Actonel) and etidronate (Didrocal, Didronel).

Taking bisphosphonates

Bisphosphonates can be taken as pills or by an IV infusion.

Pills are usually taken once or twice per day on an empty stomach.

IV infusions are usually given every 3 to 4 weeks. They can take anywhere from 15 minutes to 4 hours, depending on which bisphosphonate is given. They can be given at the hospital or at home by a homecare nurse.

Follow-up after bisphosphonates

Follow-up when bisphosphonates are given includes:

Side effects

Side effects can happen with any type of treatment, but everyone’s experience is different. Some people have many side effects. Other people have few or none at all.

If you develop side effects, they can happen any time during, immediately after or a few days or weeks after bisphosphonate therapy. Most side effects go away on their own or can be treated, but some side effects may last a long time or become permanent.

Side effects of bisphosphonate therapy will depend mainly on the type of bisphosphonate, the dose, how the drug is given and your overall health. Tell your healthcare team if you have these side effects or others you think might be from bisphosphonates. The sooner you tell them of any problems, the sooner they can suggest ways to help you deal with them.

The following are some side effects of bisphosphonate therapy.

Fatigue

Fatigue is a general lack of energy and tiredness that can happen during bisphosphonate therapy. Fatigue makes a person feel more tired than usual and can interfere with daily activities and sleep. It tends to be worse when you are also having other treatments, such as chemotherapy or radiation therapy.

Increased bone pain

Sometimes bone pain can temporarily become worse when you first take bisphosphonates. This side effect is often temporary. You may be given stronger pain relievers until this side effect goes away.

Digestive problems

Digestive problems can happen, especially when the bisphosphonate is taken as pills. Digestive problems include:

Flu-like symptoms

Flu-like symptoms can happen shortly after bisphosphonates are given. They include fever, chills, muscle and joint aches or pain and headaches. These side effects do not usually happen and are often temporary. They are more likely to happen after bisphosphonates are given by an IV infusion.

Low calcium levels

Bisphosphonates can lower blood calcium to below normal levels. This side effect does not usually happen and is often temporary. Calcium levels in the blood are often checked when you are given bisphosphonates.

Change in how the kidney works

Bisphosphonates can affect how the kidney works. It does not often cause any symptoms. Blood tests to check the kidney are done while you are taking bisphosphonates.

Osteonecrosis

Osteonecrosis is the death of bone caused by poor blood supply to the area. Osteonecrosis of the jaw bone underneath the teeth is a rare side effect of some bisphosphonates if they are taken for over a year. It is sometimes seen when a tooth is pulled in someone who is taking bisphosphonates. Osteonecrosis is not usually seen in people who take bisphosphonates as pills.

Osteonecrosis can cause loosening of the teeth and tooth loss and infection or open sores of the jaw bone that don’t heal. These sores are often hard to treat.

You may be advised by your doctor to get a dental check-up and have tooth or jaw problems treated before starting to take bisphosphonates. Maintaining good oral hygiene, making sure your dentures are well fitted and having regular dental check-ups might help prevent osteonecrosis of the jaw.

Information about specific cancer drugs

Details on specific drugs change regularly. Find out more about sources of drug information and where to get details on specific drugs.

corticosteroid

Any steroid hormone that acts as an anti-inflammatory by reducing swelling and lowering the body’s immune response (the immune system’s reaction to the presence of foreign substances).

Corticosteroids are made by the adrenal gland. They can also be produced in the lab.

hormonal therapy

Treatment that adds, blocks or removes hormones.

Hormonal therapy is used to slow or stop the growth of cancer cells that depend on hormones to grow. Hormonal therapies include using drugs, surgery or radiation therapy to change hormone levels.

Also called hormone therapy, hormone treatment and endocrine therapy.

Stories

Carol Leuken You can’t travel with Prairie Women on Snowmobiles and not be changed.

Read more

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how 16 factors affect your cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life! Presented in partnership with Desjardins.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:

Bisphosphonates

Les bisphosphonates forment un groupe de médicaments qu’on peut employer pour aider à protéger les os contre les effets de certains cancers et pour traiter des affections osseuses. Les bisphosphonates sont parfois appelés médicaments pour renforcer les os ou médicaments pour solidifier les os.

On peut avoir recours aux bisphosphonates pour traiter le myélome multiple et les métastases osseuses.

Mode d’action des bisphosphonates

Les bisphosphonates ralentissent l’action des cellules osseuses (ostéoclastes) qui désagrègent de petits fragments d’os afin d’aider à les remodeler et à les garder forts. Quand le cancer se propage aux os (métastases), ces cellules deviennent hyperactives, causant une destruction de l’os plus rapide que sa reconstruction. Quand cela se produit, les dommages ainsi causés peuvent rendre les os plus minces et plus faibles, donc engendrer :

  • de la douleur dans les os affectés;
  • un taux élevé de calcium dans le sang (hypercalcémie);
  • une hausse du risque de fracture.

Usage des bisphosphonates

Les bisphosphonates ralentissent la dégradation osseuse. On peut y avoir recours pour :

  • atténuer la douleur osseuse causée par des métastases osseuses ou un myélome multiple;
  • réduire un taux de calcium élevé dans le sang;
  • aider à renforcer les os et à réduire le risque de fractures causées par un cancer, des métastases osseuses ou l'ostéoporose.

Douleur osseuse

La plupart des cancers qui affectent les os ont pris naissance dans une autre partie du corps et s’y sont propagés. Les types de cancer qui le font le plus fréquemment sont les cancers du sein, de la prostate et du poumon. La douleur cancéreuse est souvent attribuable aux métastases osseuses.

Le myélome multiple est un cancer des plasmocytes (type de globule blanc) anormaux qui s’accumulent dans la moelle osseuse. Ces cellules anormales produisent une substance qui endommagent les os et qui causent de la douleur osseuse.

Hypercalcémie

Lorsque les métastases osseuses et le myélome multiple provoquent la dégradation des os, le calcium se retire des os et circule dans le sang, ce qui peut faire augmenter le taux de calcium sanguin. La hausse du taux de calcium dans le sang est appelée hypercalcémie. Elle risque d’affaiblir et de fragiliser les os, donc causer facilement des fractures.

Ostéoporose

L'ostéoporose est une perte de masse osseuse, ou densité osseuse, qui affaiblit les os et qui les rend plus susceptibles de casser. Des traitements du cancer, comme l'emploi prolongé de corticostéroïdes, l'hormonothérapie et certains agents chimiothérapeutiques, peuvent accroître le risque d’ostéoporose. L’ostéoporose peut aussi être causée par d'autres facteurs non liés au cancer. Il est possible d'avoir recours aux bisphosphonates pour prévenir et traiter l'ostéoporose.

Types de bisphosphonates

Le type de bisphosphonate administré peut dépendre du type de cancer traité. Voici des bisphosphonates auxquels on a fréquemment recours pour traiter les métastases osseuses et le myélome multiple :

  • clodronate (Bonefos) administré par la bouche ou par perfusion (dans une veine)
  • pamidronate (Aredia) administré par perfusion
  • acide zolédronique (Zometa) administré par perfusion

Les bisphosphonates employés pour prévenir et traiter l’ostéoporose sont entre autres l’alendronate (Fosamax), le risedronate (Actonel) et l’étidronate (Didrocal, Didronel).

Administration des bisphosphonates

On peut administrer les bisphosphonates sous forme de pilule ou par perfusion.

On prend généralement les pilules une ou deux fois par jour, l'estomac vide.

On fait habituellement une perfusion aux 3 à 4 semaines. Elle peut durer de 15 minutes à 4 heures selon le bisphosphonate employé. On l’administre à l'hôpital ou bien une infirmière peut le faire à la maison.

Suivi après un traitement aux bisphosphonates

Lors du suivi après un traitement aux bisphosphonates :

Effets secondaires

Peu importe le traitement, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent, mais chaque personne les ressent différemment. Certaines en ont beaucoup alors que d’autres en éprouvent peu ou pas du tout.

Si des effets secondaires se manifestent, ils peuvent le faire n’importe quand pendant l’administration du bisphosphonate, tout de suite après ou quelques jours voire quelques semaines plus tard. La plupart des effets secondaires disparaissent d’eux-mêmes ou peuvent être traités, mais certains risquent de durer longtemps ou d’être permanents.

Les effets secondaires du traitement aux bisphosphonates dépendent surtout du type de bisphosphonate, de la dose, de la façon de l’administrer et de votre état de santé global. Avisez votre équipe de soins si vous éprouvez ces effets secondaires ou d’autres que vous croyez liés à l’administration du bisphosphonate. Plus vite vous leur mentionnez tout problème, plus rapidement ils pourront vous dire comment aider à les soulager.

Voici certains effets secondaires du traitement aux bisphosphonates.

Fatigue

La fatigue est un manque d’énergie ou une lassitude généralisés qui peuvent apparaître lors d’un traitement aux bisphosphonates. La fatigue rend une personne plus lasse que d’habitude et peut nuire aux activités quotidiennes et au sommeil. Elle a aussi tendance à s’accentuer si l’on reçoit d’autres traitements, comme une chimiothérapie ou une radiothérapie.

Douleur osseuse plus intense

Il arrive que la douleur osseuse s'intensifie temporairement lorsqu'une personne reçoit des bisphosphonates pour la première fois. Cet effet secondaire est souvent passager. On pourrait alors vous donner des analgésiques plus puissants jusqu'à ce que cet effet se dissipe.

Troubles digestifs

Des troubles digestifs peuvent se manifester, en particulier lorsque le bisphosphonate est pris sous forme de pilule. Les troubles digestifs peuvent être les suivants :

Symptômes pseudo-grippaux

Les symptômes pseudo-grippaux peuvent apparaître peu de temps après l'administration du bisphosphonate, dont la fièvre, les frissons, les douleurs musculaires et articulaires ainsi que les maux de tête. Ces effets secondaires se manifestent rarement et sont souvent temporaires. Ils sont plus susceptibles de se produire si on administre les bisphosphonates par perfusion.

Taux de calcium peu élevé

Il est possible que les bisphosphonates fassent baisser le calcium sanguin sous le taux normal. Cet effet secondaire est rare et souvent temporaire. On vérifie fréquemment votre taux de calcium dans le sang quand vous recevez un bisphosphonate.

Changements de la fonction rénale

Les bisphosphonates peuvent affecter le fonctionnement des reins. Les symptômes sont rares. On fait souvent des analyses sanguines pour vérifier la fonction rénale quand vous prenez des bisphosphonates.

Ostéonécrose

L'ostéonécrose est la mort d’un os causée par un faible apport en sang dans la région. L'ostéonécrose de la partie de la mâchoire située sous les dents est un effet secondaire rare de certains bisphosphonates s’ils sont administrés pendant plus d’un an. Cela se produit parfois quand on extrait une dent à une personne qui reçoit des bisphosphonates. On observe rarement l'ostéonécrose chez les personnes qui prennent un bisphosphonate par la bouche.

L'ostéonécrose peut causer la mobilité des dents et la perte de dents ainsi que l’infection de la mâchoire ou l’apparition de lésions ouvertes qui ne guérissent pas. Ces lésions sont souvent difficiles à traiter.

Votre médecin pourrait vous conseiller de passer un examen dentaire et de faire traiter tout problème de dents ou de mâchoire avant de commencer à prendre des bisphosphonates. Avoir une bonne hygiène buccodentaire, s’assurer que vos prothèses dentaires sont bien ajustées et passer régulièrement un examen dentaire peut aider à prévenir l’ostéonécrose de la mâchoire.

Informations sur des médicaments anticancéreux spécifiques

Les renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques changent régulièrement. Apprenez-en davantage sur les sources d’information sur les médicaments ainsi que sur les sites où vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques.

corticostéroïdes

Hormones stéroïdiennes qui agissent comme anti-inflammatoire en réduisant l’enflure et en affaiblissant la réaction immunitaire (réaction du système immunitaire à la présence de substances étrangères).

Les corticostéroïdes sont sécrétés par les glandes surrénales. Ils peuvent aussi être fabriqués en laboratoire.

hormonothérapie

Traitement qui consiste à ajouter ou à supprimer des hormones ou à bloquer leur effet.

L’hormonothérapie est utilisée pour ralentir ou stopper la croissance des cellules cancéreuses qui dépendent des hormones pour croître. Les hormonothérapies incluent le recours à des médicaments, à la chirurgie ou à la radiothérapie pour modifier les taux d’hormones.

L’hormonothérapie est aussi appelée thérapie hormonale, traitement hormonal ou traitement endocrinien.

  • Besoin de plus d’information?

    Appelez-nous sans frais au 1 888 939-3333

    « Ou écrivez-nous. Nous vous répondrons par courriel ou par téléphone si vous nous laissez vos coordonnées. Si nous ne pouvons pas vous joindre par téléphone, nous vous laisserons un message vocal. »

    Si vous êtes à l'extérieur du Canada

    Nous pouvons fournir des renseignements sur les soins et les services de soutien pour le cancer au Canada uniquement. Si vous recherchez un organisme de lutte contre le cancer dans votre pays, visitez les sites de l’Union For International Cancer Control ou de l’International Cancer Information Service Group.

Histoires

Researcher Dr John Bell Combattre le cancer au moyen de virus sur mesure

Plus de details

Ensemble, nous pouvons réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – bécher

L’an dernier, avec les fonds dont nous disposions, nous avons réussi à financer seulement 40 pour cent des projets de recherche considérés comme de grandes priorités. Imaginez l’impact que nous pourrions avoir si nous étions capables d’en financer 100 pour cent.

Apprenez-en plus