Canadian Cancer Society logo

Wilms tumour

You are here: 

Anatomy and physiology of the kidneys

The kidneys are part of the urinary system. There are 2 kidneys deep inside the upper part of the abdomen, one on either side of the spine under the lower ribs. The left kidney is slightly higher than the right kidney.

There is an adrenal gland just above each kidney. These glands are part of the body’s endocrine system, which is the group of glands and cells in the body that make and release hormones into the blood. These hormones control many functions such as growth, reproduction, sleep, hunger and metabolism.

The ureters are thin tubes about 25–30 cm (10–12 inches) long that connect the kidneys to the bladder. The urethra is a small tube that connects the bladder to the outside of the body.

Diagram of the location of the kidneys

Structure

The kidneys are bean-shaped organs, about the size of one’s fist. An adult kidney is about 12 cm (4–5 inches) long, 6 cm (2–3 inches) wide and 3 cm (1–2 inches) thick.

Each kidney is surrounded by the renal capsule, which is a layer of fibrous tissue. A layer of fatty tissue holds the kidneys in place against the muscle at the back of the abdomen. Outside the layer of fat is Gerota’s fascia, or renal fascia. It is a thin, fibrous tissue.

The inside of the kidney is made up of an outer part called the cortex and an inner part called the medulla. The renal pelvis is a hollow, funnel-shaped area in the centre of each kidney where urine collects.

Diagram of cross-section of the kidney

The renal artery brings blood to the kidney, and the renal vein takes blood away from the kidney. The area where the renal artery, renal vein and ureter enter the kidney is called the renal hilum.

Inside each kidney is a network of millions of small tubes called nephrons. Each nephron has corpuscles and tubules. The corpuscles contain tiny blood vessels called glomeruli that filter the blood. A glomerulus is surrounded by a layer of cells called Bowman’s capsule. Tubules are tiny tubes that collect the waste materials and chemicals from the blood as it moves through the kidney.

Function

The main function of the kidneys is to filter extra water, impurities and wastes from the blood.

Blood from the body enters the kidneys through the renal arteries. The blood passes through the nephrons, where waste products and extra water are removed. The clean blood is returned to the body through the renal veins.

The waste products filtered from the blood are then concentrated into urine. The urine is collected in the renal pelvis. The ureters move the urine to the bladder, where it is stored. Urine travels from the bladder and out of the body through the urethra.

The kidneys also make certain hormones, which are substances that control certain body functions. Hormones made by the kidneys are:

  • Erythropoietin (EPO) stimulates the bone marrow to make red blood cells.
  • Calcitriol, a form of vitamin D, helps the intestines absorb calcium from the diet.

Renin helps control blood pressure.

Stories

Dr Edward Chow A new standard for managing cancer pain

Read more

A home away from home

Illustration of house

For cancer patients who must travel a great distance to get to treatment, Canadian Cancer Society lodges offer a welcoming place to stay.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Tumeur de Wilms

Vous êtes ici:

Anatomie et physiologie des reins

Les reins font partie de l'appareil urinaire. Deux reins sont enfouis profondément dans la partie supérieure de l'abdomen, un de chaque côté de la colonne vertébrale sous les côtes inférieures. Le rein gauche est légèrement plus haut que le rein droit.

Il y a une glande surrénale juste au-dessus de chaque rein. Ces glandes font partie du système endocrinien, c’est-à-dire le groupe de glandes et de cellules qui fabriquent et libèrent des hormones dans le sang. Ces hormones contrôlent de nombreuses fonctions comme la croissance, la reproduction, le sommeil, la faim et le métabolisme.

Les uretères sont des tubes minces de 25 à 30 cm (10 à 12 po) de long qui relient les reins à la vessie. L'urètre est un petit tube qui relie la vessie à l'extérieur du corps.

Schéma de l'emplacement des reins

Structure

Les reins sont des organes en forme de haricot dont la taille ressemble à celle d’un poing. Un rein d’adulte mesure environ 12 cm (4 à 5 po) de hauteur, 6 cm (2 à 3 po) de largeur et 3 cm (1 à 2 po) d'épaisseur.

Chaque rein est entouré d’une capsule rénale, qui est une couche de tissu fibreux. Une couche de tissu graisseux maintient les reins en place contre le muscle situé à l'arrière de l'abdomen. À l'extérieur de la couche de graisse se trouve le fascia de Gerota, ou fascia rénal. C’est un tissu fin et fibreux.

L’intérieur du rein est fait d’une partie externe appelée cortex et d’une partie interne appelée médulla. Le bassinet du rein est une région creuse en forme d'entonnoir située au centre de chaque rein et dans laquelle l’urine s’accumule.

Schéma de la coupe transversale du rein

L'artère rénale amène le sang au rein, et la veine rénale évacue le sang du rein. La région où l’artère rénale, la veine rénale et l’urètre entrent dans le rein est appelée hile.

À l'intérieur de chaque rein se trouve un réseau de millions de petits tubes appelés néphrons. Chaque néphron est constitué d’un tubule et d’un corpuscule. Le corpuscule contient de minuscules vaisseaux sanguins appelés glomérules, qui filtrent le sang. Un glomérule est entouré d’une couche de cellules appelée capsule de Bowman. Le tubule est un tube minuscule qui recueille les déchets et les substances chimiques présents dans le sang lorsqu’il circule dans le rein.

Fonction

La fonction principale des reins est de filtrer l'eau en excès, les impuretés et les déchets du sang.

Le sang entre dans les reins par les artères rénales. Une fois dans les reins, le sang passe à travers les néphrons, là où les déchets et l'excès d'eau sont évacués. Le sang purifié retourne dans le corps par les veines rénales.

Les déchets filtrés du sang sont ensuite concentrés en urine. L'urine est recueillie par le bassinet du rein. Les uretères amènent l'urine dans la vessie, où elle est emmagasinée. L'urine circule ensuite de la vessie à l’extérieur du corps par l'urètre.

Les reins produisent également certaines hormones, des substances qui contrôlent des fonctions corporelles. Les hormones fabriquées par les reins sont :

  • l'érythropoïétine (EPO), qui incite la moelle osseuse à fabriquer des globules rouges;
  • le calcitriol, une forme de vitamine D qui aide l’intestin à absorber le calcium alimentaire;
  • la rénine, qui aide à régulariser la pression artérielle.

Histoires

Donna Blundon Curieusement, cette période parmi les plus sombres de ma vie a aussi été au nombre des plus enrichissantes, et c’est à Daffodil Place que je le dois.

Lisez l’histoire de Donna

Un coup de pouce pour les familles

Illustration d’une foule

La Société canadienne du cancer aide à défrayer les familles qui ont à assumer des coûts liés au traitement d’un enfant atteint de cancer.

Apprenez-en plus