Wilms tumour

You are here: 

If Wilms tumour spreads

Cancer cells can spread from the kidney to other parts of the body and develop into a new tumour. The new tumour is called a metastasis or secondary tumour. If more than one tumour develops in another part of the body, they are called metastases.

Understanding how a type of cancer usually grows and spreads helps the healthcare team plan your child’s treatment and future care. If Wilms tumour spreads, it is most likely to spread to the following:

  • lymph nodes close to the kidneys
  • the large vein in the abdomen leading to the heart, called the inferior vena cava
  • lungs
  • liver
  • other kidney

Stories

Dr Bruno Gagnon Integrating palliative care into advanced cancer care

Read more

Facing the financial burden of cancer

Illustration of coins

The Canadian Cancer Society provides helpful information about government income programs, financial resources and other resources available to families struggling to make sense of the personal financial burden they face.

Learn more

Tumeur de Wilms

Vous êtes ici:

Si la tumeur de Wilms se propage

Des cellules cancéreuses peuvent se propager du rein jusqu’à d’autres parties du corps et former une nouvelle tumeur. Cette nouvelle tumeur est appelée métastase ou tumeur secondaire. Si plus d’une tumeur se forme dans une autre partie du corps, on parle de métastases au pluriel.

Comprendre comment un type de cancer a l’habitude de croître et de se propager aide l’équipe de soins de votre enfant à planifier son traitement et ses soins futurs. Si la tumeur de Wilms se propage, elle est plus susceptible de le faire dans les structures suivantes :

  • les ganglions lymphatiques situés près des reins;
  • la grosse veine de l'abdomen qui mène au cœur et qu’on appelle veine cave inférieure;
  • les poumons;
  • le foie;
  • l'autre rein.

Histoires

Dr Robert Bristow La recherche du Dr Robert Bristow sur le cancer de la prostate pourrait servir à la personnalisation du traitement.

Plus de details

Faire face au fardeau financier du cancer

Illustration de pièces de monnaie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit de précieux renseignements sur les programmes gouvernementaux en matière de revenu, l’aide financière et les autres ressources à la disposition des familles qui essaient de boucler leur budget en cette période difficile.

Apprenez-en plus