Canadian Cancer Society logo

Wilms tumour

You are here: 

If Wilms tumour spreads

Cancer cells can spread from the kidney to other parts of the body and develop into a new tumour. The new tumour is called a metastasis or secondary tumour. If more than one tumour develops in another part of the body, they are called metastases.

Understanding how a type of cancer usually grows and spreads helps the healthcare team plan your child’s treatment and future care. If Wilms tumour spreads, it is most likely to spread to the following:

  • lymph nodes close to the kidneys
  • the large vein in the abdomen leading to the heart, called the inferior vena cava
  • lungs
  • liver
  • other kidney

Stories

Hannah What helped is being able to visit Camp Goodtimes together as a family.

Read Hannah's story

Clinical trial discovery improves quality of life

Illustration of test tubes

A clinical trial led by the Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials group found that men with prostate cancer who are treated with intermittent courses of hormone therapy live as long as those receiving continuous therapy.

Learn more

Tumeur de Wilms

Vous êtes ici:

Si la tumeur de Wilms se propage

Des cellules cancéreuses peuvent se propager du rein jusqu’à d’autres parties du corps et former une nouvelle tumeur. Cette nouvelle tumeur est appelée métastase ou tumeur secondaire. Si plus d’une tumeur se forme dans une autre partie du corps, on parle de métastases au pluriel.

Comprendre comment un type de cancer a l’habitude de croître et de se propager aide l’équipe de soins de votre enfant à planifier son traitement et ses soins futurs. Si la tumeur de Wilms se propage, elle est plus susceptible de le faire dans les structures suivantes :

  • les ganglions lymphatiques situés près des reins;
  • la grosse veine de l'abdomen qui mène au cœur et qu’on appelle veine cave inférieure;
  • les poumons;
  • le foie;
  • l'autre rein.

Histoires

Researchers Dr John White and Dr James Gleason Dr John White travaille à l’élaboration d’un nouveau traitement contre le cancer « 2 en 1 » afin de contrer la résistance aux médicaments.

Plus de details

Une meilleure qualité de vie grâce à un essai clinique

Illustration d’éprouvettes

Lors d’un essai clinique dirigé par le Groupe d’essais cliniques de l’INCC pour la Société, on a découvert que les hommes atteints d’un cancer de la prostate qui reçoivent un traitement hormonal intermittent vivent aussi longtemps que ceux dont le traitement est ininterrompu.

Apprenez-en plus