Vaginal cancer

You are here: 

Prognosis and survival for vaginal cancer

If you have vaginal cancer, you may have questions about your prognosis. A prognosis is the doctor’s best estimate of how cancer will affect someone and how it will respond to treatment. Prognosis and survival depend on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with your medical history, the type, stage and characteristics of your cancer, the treatments chosen and the response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

A prognostic factor is an aspect of the cancer or a characteristic of the person that the doctor will consider when making a prognosis. A predictive factor influences how a cancer will respond to a certain treatment. Prognostic and predictive factors are often discussed together. They both play a part in deciding on a treatment plan and a prognosis.

The following are prognostic and predictive factors for vaginal cancer.

Stage

The most important prognostic factor for vaginal cancer is the stage of the disease. The earlier the stage, the more favourable the prognosis.

Tumour size, tumour volume and local extent

Tumour size is the tumour’s widest part, or greatest dimension. Tumour volume refers to all 3 dimensions of the tumour – its height, width and thickness. Data shows that smaller tumour size and volume is a more favourable prognostic factor than larger tumour size and volume.

Local extent is how far the tumour grows into the wall of the vagina and into surrounding tissues. The farther the tumour has grown into the wall of the vagina and surrounding tissue, the less favourable the prognosis.

Type of tumour

The type of vaginal tumour is an important prognostic factor. Squamous cell carcinoma has a more favourable prognosis than other tumour types, such as vaginal melanoma. Clear cell carcinoma in women whose mothers took diethylstilbestrol while pregnant appears to have a better prognosis than other types of adenocarcinomas.

Grade

Low-grade tumours, which grow slower and are less likely to spread, have a more favourable prognosis.

Spread to lymph nodes

Vaginal cancer that has not spread to lymph nodes has a better prognosis than vaginal cancer that has spread to lymph nodes.

Location of the tumour

Tumours in the middle and lower third of the vagina or those on the back wall of the vagina have a less favourable prognosis.

Symptoms

Women who have symptoms at the time of diagnosis tend to have a less favourable prognosis.

Age and general health

Younger women tend to have a better outlook than women older than 60. Women who have good general health other than the cancer also tend to have a better prognosis.

Stories

Gordie Gosse I never want anyone else to go through what I have been through.

Read Gordie's story

A helping hand for families

Illustration of crowd

The Canadian Cancer Society helps with expenses for children in cancer treatment and their families.

Learn more

Cancer du vagin

Vous êtes ici:

Pronostic et survie pour le cancer du vagin

Si vous êtes atteinte d’un cancer du vagin, vous vous posez peut-être des questions sur votre pronostic. Le pronostic est l’acte par lequel le médecin évalue le mieux comment le cancer affectera une personne et comment il réagira au traitement. Le pronostic et la survie dépendent de nombreux facteurs. Seul un médecin qui connaît bien vos antécédents médicaux, le type, le stade et les caractéristiques du cancer dont vous êtes atteinte, les traitements choisis et la réaction au traitement peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Un facteur pronostique est un aspect du cancer ou une caractéristique de la personne atteinte que le médecin prend en considération lorsqu’il établit un pronostic. Un facteur prédictif influence la façon dont le cancer réagit à un traitement donné. On aborde souvent les facteurs pronostiques et les facteurs prédictifs ensemble. Ils jouent tous les deux un rôle dans le choix du plan de traitement et dans l’établissement du pronostic.

Les éléments suivants sont des facteurs pronostiques et des facteurs prédictifs du cancer du vagin.

Stade

Le stade du cancer est le facteur pronostique le plus important du cancer du vagin. Plus le stade est précoce, meilleur est le pronostic.

Taille de la tumeur, volume tumoral et étendue locale

La taille de la tumeur correspond au diamètre le plus large de la tumeur (à sa plus grande dimension). Le volume tumoral fait référence aux 3 dimensions de la tumeur : sa hauteur, sa largeur et son épaisseur. Les données existantes indiquent que le pronostic est plus favorable si la taille et le volume sont petits que s’ils sont grands.

L’étendue locale désigne la profondeur à laquelle la tumeur a envahi la paroi du vagin et les tissus environnants. Plus elle s’y est développée en profondeur, moins le pronostic est favorable.

Type de tumeur

Le type de tumeur vaginale est un facteur pronostique important. Le carcinome épidermoïde engendre un meilleur pronostic que les autres types de tumeur, comme le mélanome du vagin. Il semble que le carcinome à cellules claires, qui survient chez des femmes dont la mère a pris du diéthylstilbestrol (DES) au cours de la grossesse, soit associé à un pronostic plus favorable que les autres types d’adénocarcinome.

Grade

Les tumeurs de bas grade, qui évoluent lentement et risquent moins de se propager, engendrent un pronostic plus favorable que les tumeurs de haut grade.

Propagation aux ganglions lymphatiques

Le pronostic d’un cancer du vagin qui ne s’est pas propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques est meilleur que celui d’un cancer qui s’y est propagé.

Emplacement de la tumeur

Le pronostic des tumeurs situées dans les tiers médian et inférieur du vagin ou de celles se trouvant dans la paroi postérieure du vagin est moins favorable.

Symptômes

Le pronostic des femmes qui présentent des symptômes au moment du diagnostic est généralement moins favorable.

Âge et état de santé général

Le pronostic des jeunes femmes est généralement meilleur que celui des femmes âgées de 60 ans ou plus. De plus, le pronostic est habituellement plus favorable chez les femmes ayant un bon état de santé général.

Histoires

Dr Mani Larijani Étudier en 3D une protéine qui cause le cancer

Plus de details

Défense des intérêts des personnes atteintes de cancer

Illustration d’un mégaphone

Nos employés et bénévoles rencontrent les élus des divers paliers de gouvernement (municipal, provincial et fédéral) pour les convaincre de faire de la lutte contre le cancer une de leurs priorités.

Apprenez-en plus