Testicular cancer

You are here: 

What is testicular cancer?

Testicular cancer starts in the cells of the testicle. A cancerous (malignant) tumour is a group of cancer cells that can grow into nearby tissue and destroy it. The tumour can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.

The testicles are part of a man’s reproductive system. They are 2 egg-shaped organs. The testicles are covered by a sac of skin called the scrotum. The scrotum hangs below the penis, between the legs. Each testicle is held in the scrotum by a spermatic cord, a bundle of nerves, ducts and blood vessels leading to and from the testicles. The spermatic cord contains the vas deferens (the duct that moves sperm from the testicle to the urethra), blood vessels, lymph vessels and nerves. The testicles make sperm. They also make a male sex hormone called testosterone.

Cells in a testicle sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous (benign) conditions such as epididymitis, orchitis and hydrocele. They can also lead to non-cancerous tumours such as some forms of benign sex cord stromal tumours.

Changes to cells of a testicle can also cause precancerous conditions. This means that the abnormal cells are not yet cancer, but there is a chance that they may become cancer if they aren’t treated. The most common precancerous condition of the testicle is germ cell neoplasia in situ (GCNIS).

But in some cases, changes to testicle cells can cause cancer. Most often, testicular cancer starts in germ cells. These cells make sperm. These types of tumours are called germ cell tumours. The 2 main types of germ cell tumours that develop in the testicles are seminomas and non-seminomas.

Rare types of testicular cancer can also develop. These include cancerous sex cord stromal tumours and non-Hodgkin lymphoma of the testis.

Stories

Dr Edward Chow A new standard for managing cancer pain

Read more

What’s the lifetime risk of getting cancer?

Icon - 1 in 2

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report shows about half of Canadians are expected to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.

Learn more

Cancer du testicule

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le cancer du testicule?

Le cancer du testicule est une tumeur maligne qui prend naissance dans les cellules d’un testicule. Le mot « maligne » signifie que la tumeur peut se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Les testicules font partie de l’appareil reproducteur masculin. Ce sont 2 organes en forme d’œuf. Les testicules sont recouverts d’un sac de peau appelé scrotum. Le scrotum pend sous le pénis, entre les jambes. Chaque testicule est maintenu dans le scrotum par un cordon spermatique. Ce cordon contient le canal déférent, des vaisseaux sanguins, des vaisseaux lymphatiques et des nerfs. Les testicules fabriquent les spermatozoïdes. Ils produisent aussi une hormone sexuelle mâle appelée testostérone.

Les cellules du testicule subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer des tumeurs non cancéreuses, ou bénignes, comme le tératome bénin et la tumeur bénigne du stroma des cordons sexuels. Ils peuvent aussi causer des affections non cancéreuses comme l’épididymite, l’hydrocèle et l’orchite.

Des modifications dans les cellules d’un testicule peuvent également causer des états précancéreux. Cela veut dire que les cellules ne sont pas encore cancéreuses, mais que leur risque de devenir cancéreuses est plus élevé. L’état précancéreux du testicule le plus courant est la néoplasie germinale intratubulaire (NGIT) de type non classé.

Dans certains cas, les cellules modifiées du testicule peuvent devenir cancéreuses. Plus de 90 % de tous les cancers du testicule sont des tumeurs germinales. Les cellules germinales du testicule fabriquent les spermatozoïdes. Les 2 types principaux de tumeur germinale qui se forment dans le testicule sont le séminome et le non-séminome.

Des types rares de cancer du testicule peuvent aussi apparaître. Les tumeurs du stroma des cordons sexuels et le lymphome non hodgkinien du testicule en sont des exemples.

Schéma de l'appareil reproducteur masculin

Histoires

Tyler Cook La recherche a sauvé ma vie et celle de ma sœur. Sans ces travaux, le cancer de l’estomac aurait décimé la majeure partie de notre famille.

Lisez l’histoire de Tyler

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus