Canadian Cancer Society logo

Testicular cancer

You are here: 

Survival statistics for testicular cancer

Survival statistics for testicular cancer are very general estimates and must be interpreted very carefully. Because these statistics are based on the experience of groups of people, they cannot be used to predict a particular person’s chances of survival.

There are many different ways to measure and report cancer survival statistics. Your doctor can explain the statistics for testicular cancer and what they mean to you.

Relative survival

Relative survival looks at how likely people with cancer are to survive after their diagnosis compared to people in the general population who do not have cancer but who share similar characteristics (such as age and sex).

In Canada, a 5-year relative survival statistic is reported for testicular cancer. The 5-year relative survival for testicular cancer is 97%. This means that, on average, men diagnosed with testicular cancer are 97% as likely to live 5 years after their diagnosis as people in the general population.

Survival by stage

Testicular cancer often responds well to cancer treatments and has a very good outcome. Survival varies with each stage of testicular cancer. The following factors can also affect survival for testicular cancer. Generally, the earlier testicular cancer is diagnosed and treated, the better the outcome.

There are no specific Canadian statistics available for the different stages of testicular cancer. The following information comes from a variety of sources and may include statistics from other countries. Survival statistics for testicular cancer are grouped by where the cancer has spread.

Testicular cancer survival

Stage5-year relative survival

localized

The cancer is only in the testicle.

99%

regional

The cancer has spread to lymph nodes near the testicle.

96%

distant

The cancer has spread to organs or lymph nodes farther from the testicle (such as the lungs).

74%

Questions about survival

People with cancer should talk to their doctor about their prognosis. Prognosis depends on many factors, including:

  • your medical history
  • type of cancer
  • stage
  • characteristics of the cancer
  • treatments chosen
  • response to treatment

Only a doctor familiar with these factors can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

Stories

Morgan Smith Even though we are high school students, we were able to raise so much money for the Canadian Cancer Society. It just goes to show what can happen when a small group of people come together for a great cause.

Read Morgan's story

Funding lifesaving clinical trials

Illustration of science instruments

The Canadian Cancer Society is funding lifesaving clinical trials that give people with cancer access to the newest types of treatment.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer du testicule

Vous êtes ici:

Statistiques de survie pour le cancer du testicule

Les statistiques de survie au cancer du testicule sont des estimations très générales qui doivent être interprétées avec prudence. Puisqu’elles sont fondées sur l’expérience de groupes d’hommes, elles ne permettent pas de prévoir les chances de survie d’un homme en particulier.

Il existe de nombreuses méthodes différentes pour évaluer et consigner les statistiques de survie au cancer. Votre médecin peut vous expliquer les statistiques relatives au cancer du testicule et ce qu’elles signifient pour vous.

Survie nette

La survie nette représente la probabilité de survivre au cancer en l’absence d’autres causes de décès. Elle permet d’estimer le pourcentage de personnes qui survivront à leur cancer.

Au Canada, la survie nette après 5 ans pour le cancer du testicule est de 96 %, ce qui signifie qu’en moyenne, environ 96 %  des hommes diagnostiqués d’un cancer du testicule survivront au moins 5 ans.

Survie relative

La survie relative sert à déterminer quelle est la probabilité qu’une personne atteinte de cancer soit encore en vie après son diagnostic comparativement à des personnes qui font partie de la population générale et qui n’ont pas le cancer, mais qui présentent des caractéristiques semblables, comme l’âge et le sexe.

Survie selon le stade

Le cancer du testicule réagit souvent bien aux traitements et son issue est très bonne. La survie varie selon le stade du cancer du testicule. Les facteurs suivants peuvent aussi affecter la survie au cancer du testicule. En général, plus on diagnostique et on traite le cancer du testicule à un stade précoce, meilleur est le pronostic.

On ne dispose pas de statistiques canadiennes spécifiques sur les différents stades du cancer du testicule. Les renseignements suivants sont tirés de diverses sources et peuvent comprendre des statistiques provenant d’autres pays. Les statistiques de survie au cancer du testicule sont regroupées en fonction d’où le cancer s’est propagé.

Survie au cancer du testicule
StadeSurvie relative après 5 ans

Localisé

Le cancer ne se trouve que dans le testicule.

99 %

Régional

Le cancer s’est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques situés près du testicule.

96 %

À distance

Le cancer s’est propagé à des organes ou à des ganglions lymphatiques éloignés du testicule (comme les poumons).

74 %

Questions sur la survie

Discutez de votre pronostic avec votre médecin. Le pronostic repose sur de nombreux facteurs dont ceux-ci :

  • vos antécédents de santé
  • le type de cancer
  • le stade du cancer
  • certaines caractéristiques du cancer
  • les traitements choisis
  • comment le cancer réagit au traitement

Seul un médecin qui connaît bien ces facteurs peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Histoires

Dr Senthil Muthuswamy Des tumeurs pancréatiques expérimentales

Plus de details

Une meilleure qualité de vie grâce à un essai clinique

Illustration d’éprouvettes

Lors d’un essai clinique dirigé par le Groupe d’essais cliniques de l’INCC pour la Société, on a découvert que les hommes atteints d’un cancer de la prostate qui reçoivent un traitement hormonal intermittent vivent aussi longtemps que ceux dont le traitement est ininterrompu.

Apprenez-en plus