Canadian Cancer Society logo

Stomach cancer

You are here: 

Radiation therapy for stomach cancer

Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. It is sometimes used to treat stomach cancer. In most cases, radiation therapy is given with chemotherapy (chemoradiation). Your healthcare team will consider your personal needs to plan the type and amount of radiation and when and how it is given. You may also receive other treatments.

Radiation therapy is given for different reasons. You may have radiation therapy to:

  • destroy the cancer cells in the body
  • shrink a tumour before surgery, with or without chemotherapy (called neoadjuvant therapy)
  • destroy cancer cells left behind after surgery, and usually combined with chemotherapy, to reduce the risk of the cancer coming back, or recurring (called adjuvant therapy)
  • relieve pain or control the symptoms of advanced stomach cancer (called palliative therapy)

Radiation used as palliative therapy may help control bleeding from the tumour or shrink a tumour that is causing a blockage. Relieving the blockage may also help a person eat.

The following are the types of radiation therapy most commonly used to treat stomach cancer.

External beam radiation therapy

During external beam radiation therapy, a machine directs radiation through the skin to the tumour and some of the tissue around it. Radiation therapy for stomach cancer must be very carefully planned by the healthcare team. Several organs are close to the stomach, including the liver, small intestine, kidneys, spinal cord and heart. The high dose of radiation needed to treat stomach cancer could damage these organs. Special shields are made to protect the other organs in the area as much as possible. Conformal radiation therapy is often used to help protect surrounding organs.

Chemoradiation

Radiation therapy is sometimes given during the same time period as chemotherapy for stomach cancer. This is called chemoradiation. The type of radiation therapy usually given in combination with chemotherapy is external beam radiation therapy, and it’s most often given with 5-fluoruracil (Adrucil, 5-FU) and leucovorin (folinic acid). This combination helps make the cancer cells more sensitive to the effects of radiation therapy.

Questions to ask about radiation therapy

Find out more about radiation therapy. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about radiation therapy.

Stories

Harold Johns His amazing career and legacy live on today, inspiring a new generation of scientists who are discovering new ways to harness the power of medical imaging to improve cancer diagnosis and treatment.

Read Harold's story

Clinical trial discovery improves quality of life

Illustration of test tubes

A clinical trial led by the Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials group found that men with prostate cancer who are treated with intermittent courses of hormone therapy live as long as those receiving continuous therapy.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer de l’estomac

Vous êtes ici:

Radiothérapie du cancer de l’estomac

En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. On a parfois recours à la radiothérapie pour traiter le cancer de l’estomac. Dans la plupart des cas, la radiothérapie est administrée en même temps que la chimiothérapie (chimioradiothérapie). Votre équipe de soins prendra vos besoins personnels en considération pour choisir le type et la dose de radiations ainsi que la façon de l’administrer et les horaires à suivre. Vous pourriez aussi recevoir d’autres traitements.

On administre la radiothérapie pour différentes raisons. Vous pourriez recevoir de la radiothérapie pour :

  • détruire les cellules cancéreuses dans le corps
  • réduire la taille d’une tumeur avant une chirurgie, avec ou sans chimiothérapie (on parle alors de traitement néoadjuvant)
  • détruire les cellules cancéreuses qui restent après une chirurgie et, habituellement en association avec de la chimiothérapie, réduire le risque de réapparition (récidive) du cancer (on parle alors de traitement adjuvant)
  • soulager la douleur ou maîtriser les symptômes d’un cancer de l’estomac de stade avancé (on parle alors de traitement palliatif)

La radiothérapie employée comme traitement palliatif peut aider à maîtriser le saignement d’une tumeur ou réduire la taille d’une tumeur qui cause un blocage. Traiter un blocage peut aussi aider une personne à manger.

On a le plus souvent recours aux types de radiothérapie suivants pour traiter le cancer de l’estomac.

Radiothérapie externe

Lors de la radiothérapie externe, un appareil émet des radiations à travers la peau jusqu’à la tumeur et une partie du tissu qui l’entoure. L’équipe soignante doit planifier très soigneusement la radiothérapie d’un cancer de l’estomac. Plusieurs organes, dont le foie, l’intestin grêle, les reins, la moelle épinière et le cœur, se trouvent près de l’estomac. La forte dose de radiation nécessaire pour traiter le cancer de l’estomac pourrait endommager ces organes. On fabrique des écrans spéciaux pour protéger le plus possible les autres organes dans cette région. On a souvent recours à la radiothérapie conformationnelle pour protéger les organes voisins.

Chimioradiothérapie

Pour traiter le cancer de l’estomac, on administre parfois de la chimiothérapie en même temps que la radiothérapie, une technique appelée chimioradiothérapie. Le type de radiothérapie habituellement employé en association avec la chimiothérapie est la radiothérapie externe. On l’associe le plus souvent au 5-fluorouracile (Adrucil, 5-FU) et à la leucovorine (acide folinique). Cette association aide à rendre les cellules cancéreuses plus sensibles aux effets de la radiothérapie.

Questions à poser sur la radiothérapie

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur la radiothérapie à votre équipe de soins.

Histoires

Dre Camilla Zimmermann La Dre Camilla Zimmermann a mis au point un modèle d’intervention hâtive en soins palliatifs.

Plus de details

Une célébration pour les survivants du cancer au Relais pour la vie

Illustration du Relais pour la vie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit une occasion en or de célébrer le courage des survivants du cancer dans la bataille contre la maladie. Lors des centaines d’événements du Relais pour la vie qui ont lieu d’un bout à l’autre du pays, des milliers de gens se réunissent pour effectuer le Tour des survivants.

Apprenez-en plus