Soft tissue sarcoma

You are here: 

Gastrointestinal stromal tumours (GISTs)

Gastrointestinal (GI) stromal tumours, or GISTs, start in interstitial cells of Cajal (ICCs). ICCs are specialized cells in the GI tract. They have characteristics of both smooth muscle cells and nerve cells. They receive signals from the brain to make muscles in the stomach, small intestine and large intestine tighten (contract) and relax (expand). The tightening and relaxing of these muscles is called peristalsis. This process moves food and liquid through the digestive system.

GISTs are a common type of soft tissue sarcoma. A GIST can occur anywhere in the GI tract, but they develop most often in the stomach. The small intestine is the second most common location. GISTs can also develop in the esophagus, colon, rectum, omentum and mesentery. The omentum is a fatty fold in the peritoneum (the membrane that lines the walls of the abdomen and pelvis) that covers and supports organs and blood vessels in the abdomen. The mesentery is fatty tissue that contains the blood vessels to the bowel as well as lymph nodes.

GISTs can develop at any age, but they usually occur in people over 50 years of age. Most GISTs have a mutation in the KIT, or c-Kit, gene. This mutation causes the body to make too much of the KIT protein. The second most common mutation in GISTs is in the platelet-derived growth factor receptor alpha (PDGFRA) gene. This mutation causes the body to make too much PDGFRA protein. Both the KIT and PDGFRA proteins are enzymes called tyrosine kinases, which signal cells to grow and can trigger some GISTs to grow in an uncontrolled way.

Risk factors

Almost all GISTs occur sporadically. This means there is no clear reason why they develop. In a small number of people, GIST develops due to a hereditary syndrome. These syndromes include:

  • familial GIST syndrome
  • neurofibromatosis type 1 (von Recklinghausen disease)
  • Carney-Stratakis syndrome
  • Carney’s triad

These syndromes are unavoidable, so there is no way for people who have them to lower their risk of developing GISTs.

Symptoms

GISTs usually don’t cause symptoms in the early stages. Symptoms tend to occur only when the tumour has grown large enough to cause problems. The symptoms of GISTs depend on if they develop in the stomach or small intestine. Signs and symptoms may include:

  • nausea
  • vomiting
  • loss of appetite
  • weight loss
  • a lump in the abdomen
  • abdominal pain or discomfort
  • bleeding from the GI tract, such as vomiting blood or blood in the stool
  • fatigue due to anemia caused by bleeding in the GI tract

GISTs are often discovered when you don’t have any symptoms. They may be found when you have an imaging test for another reason.

Diagnosis

Diagnosing GISTs usually begins with a visit to your family doctor. Your doctor will ask you about any symptoms you have and will do a physical exam. Based on this information, your doctor may refer you to a specialist or order tests to check for GISTs or other health problems. This may include the following:

  • complete blood count (CBC)
  • blood chemistry tests
  • fecal occult blood test (FOBT)
  • computed tomography (CT) scan or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of the abdomen and pelvis
  • ultrasound of the abdomen
  • gastroscopy or upper GI endoscopy
  • colonoscopy
  • endoscopic ultrasound
  • biopsy

Your doctor may do a biopsy during an endoscopy. The sample taken during endoscopy may be too small to give a definite diagnosis. Ideally, a tissue biopsy should be taken to confirm the diagnosis of a GIST before a treatment plan is started. This biopsy is usually done at a clinic by doctors with experience treating GISTs. A sarcoma specialist will plan the biopsy, which may be done by a specialized radiologist.

Types of GISTs

GISTs may be non-cancerous, or benign. This means that they usually do not spread, or metastasize, to other parts of the body. They are not usually life-threatening. Smaller tumours that are less than 2 cm in diameter are usually non-cancerous.

GISTs can also be cancerous, or malignant. Cancerous tumours can spread to other parts of the body. GISTs that are larger than 2 cm are more likely to be cancerous. In general, smaller tumours have a better prognosis than larger tumours. Other factors that are important in predicting the behaviour of GISTs are tumour location and grade.

Grading

Grade is the most important factor in planning treatment and predicting outcome for GISTs. To find the grade of a GIST, the pathologist looks at a tissue sample from the tumour under a microscope. The grade that the pathologist gives is based on the mitotic rate, which is how fast the cancer cells are growing and dividing. The grade is described as being either low or high. GISTs with a low mitotic rate have a better prognosis.

Knowing the grade gives your healthcare team an idea of how quickly the cancer may be growing and how likely it is to spread. This helps them plan your treatment. The grade can also help the healthcare team predict how you might respond to treatment.

GradeMitotic rateNumber of mitoses per 50 high-power fields (HPF)

low

low

less than 5

high

high

more than 5

Stages of GISTs

Staging describes or classifies a cancer based on how much cancer there is in the body and where it is when first diagnosed. This is often called the extent of cancer. Information from tests is used to find out the size of the tumour, where the cancer started, whether the cancer has spread from where it first started and where the cancer has spread. Your healthcare team uses the stage to plan treatment and estimate the outcome (your prognosis).

The most common staging system for GISTs is the TNM system. For GISTs there are 4 stages. Often the stages 1 to 4 are written as the Roman numerals I, II, III and IV. Generally, the higher the stage number, the more the cancer has spread. Talk to your doctor if you have questions about staging.

When describing the stage, doctors may use the words localized or metastatic. Localized means that the cancer is only in the organ or close to where it started and has not spread to other parts of the body. Metastatic means in a part of the body farther from where the GIST started.

The stages of GISTs also depend on the mitotic rate, which shows how quickly the cancer cells grow and divide.

Find out more about staging cancer.

Stages for GISTs of the stomach and omentum

Stage 1A – The tumour is 5 cm or smaller with a low mitotic rate.

Stage 1B – The tumour is larger than 5 cm, but not more than 10 cm. It has a low mitotic rate.

Stage 2 – The tumour is 5 cm or smaller with a high mitotic rate. Or the tumour is larger than 10 cm with a low mitotic rate.

Stage 3A – The tumour is larger than 5 cm, but not more than 10 cm. It has a high mitotic rate.

Stage 3B – The tumour is larger than 10 cm with a high mitotic rate.

Stage 4 – The cancer has spread to nearby lymph nodes or to other parts of the body (distant metastasis), such as to the liver or peritoneal cavity. This is also called metastatic cancer. The cancer has a low or high mitotic rate.

Stages for GISTs of the small intestine, esophagus, colon, rectum, mesentery and peritoneum

Stage 1 – The tumour is 5 cm or smaller with a low mitotic rate.

Stage 2 – The tumour is larger than 5 cm, but not more than 10 cm. It has a low mitotic rate.

Stage 3A – The tumour is 2 cm or smaller with a high mitotic rate. Or the tumour is larger than 10 cm with a low mitotic rate.

Stage 3B – The tumour is larger than 2 cm with a high mitotic rate.

Stage 4 – The cancer has spread to nearby lymph nodes or other parts of the body, such as to the liver. This is also called metastatic cancer. The cancer has a low or high mitotic rate.

Recurrent GIST

Recurrent GIST means that the cancer has come back after it has been treated. If it comes back in the same place or close to where the cancer first started, it’s called local recurrence. It can also recur in another part of the body. This is called a metastatic GIST.

Disease progression

GIST cells can spread from the GI tract to other parts of the body and develop into new tumours. The new tumour is called a metastasis or secondary tumour. If more than one tumour develops in another part of the body, they are called metastases.

Understanding how a type of cancer usually grows and spreads helps your healthcare team plan your treatment and future care. If GISTs spread, they are most likely to spread within the abdomen, particularly to the liver or peritoneal cavity (the space in the abdomen that contains the stomach, liver and intestines). GISTs can also spread to the lungs or bones, but this is uncommon.

Treatments

GISTs behave differently than other types of soft tissue sarcoma, so they are treated differently. When deciding which treatments to offer for GISTs, your healthcare team will consider:

  • if the tumour is larger than 2 cm
  • whether or not the tumour is in the stomach
  • if the tumour is cancerous (malignant) or non-cancerous (benign)
  • if it is high or low grade
  • stage
  • your overall health

Surgery

Surgery is usually the main treatment for a GIST that hasn’t spread. The goal of the surgery is to completely remove all of the cancer. Depending on the location of the tumour, the surgeon may also need to remove parts of nearby organs or tissues. Lymph nodes near the tumour are usually not removed because GISTs don’t often spread to the lymph nodes.

GISTs in the stomach

Surgery is the main treatment for GISTs in the stomach. The entire tumour and a margin of healthy tissue around it are removed. The types of surgery used may include:

  • wedge resection
  • partial or total gastrectomy (part or all of the stomach is removed)
  • removal of any nearby organs, such as the spleen, pancreas or diaphragm, that contain cancer

GISTs in the small intestine

Surgery is also the main treatment for GISTs in the small intestine. Different types of surgery may be done depending on where the GIST is in the small intestine. The types of surgery used may include:

  • bowel resection
  • partial removal of the duodenum (the first part of the small intestine) with reconstruction
  • Whipple procedure, or pancreaticoduodenectomy

Biological therapy

Imatinib (Gleevec) is a biological therapy drug used to treat GISTs. Biological therapy uses natural or artificial substances that change the way cells behave. Imatinib is also called a targeted therapy. Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on the surface of cancer cells. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells while limiting harm to normal cells. Imatinib blocks tyrosine kinase, which is an enzyme that the tumour needs to grow. Because it blocks this enzyme, imatinib is called a tyrosine kinase inhibitor.

Imatinib is used to treat GISTs that:

  • can’t be removed with surgery (are unresectable)
  • have come back after treatment, or recurred
  • have spread, or metastasized, to other parts of the body

Imatinib may also be used to shrink a tumour that is borderline resectable. This is done to make it possible to remove the tumour with surgery. It may also be done so the surgeon doesn’t have to completely remove organs that the GIST has grown into. For example, imatinib may be used to shrink GISTs in the rectum that have grown into the bladder or prostate so these organs don’t have to be removed.

Imatinib may be given after surgery when doctors think there is a high risk that the GIST will come back, or recur. Large or high-grade tumours or those that rupture (break open) during removal are usually considered high risk.

Imatinib is taken by mouth, usually every day for up to 3 years. Researchers are still studying this drug to find out how long people should take it for best results. Unfortunately, tumours may no longer respond to the imatinib or may become resistant to it when it is taken for a long time. If imatinib is no longer effective, you may be offered second-line drug therapy.

Second-line drug therapy

Sunitinib (Sutent) is another tyrosine kinase inhibitor. It works by stopping the tumour from creating new blood vessels. The process of making new blood vessels is called angiogenesis. Because sunitinib prevents blood vessels from forming, it is called an anti-angiogenic drug.

Sunitinib may be used when the cancer doesn’t respond to imatinib. It may also be used if you can’t tolerate imatinib. Sunitinib is not as “selective” as imatinib as it inihibits many other growth pathways. Therefore, people often experience a broader range of side effects when using sunitinib.

Radiation therapy

External beam radiation therapy may be offered to relieve symptoms of advanced disease, such as pain or bleeding (palliative radiation therapy).

Recurrent GISTs

Treatment options for GISTs that come back, or recur, after treatment depend on where the cancer comes back and how much cancer is in the body. For most recurrences, imatinib will be used because it offers the best chance of shrinking tumours. If imatinib does not work at first, the doctor may increase the dose or try sunitinib instead. Your healthcare team may also consider surgery to remove recurrent GISTs in certain situations.

For more detailed information on specific drugs, go to sources of drug information.

peritoneal cavity

The space between the parietal peritoneum (the membrane that lines the walls of the abdomen and pelvis) and the visceral peritoneum (the membrane that covers and supports most of the abdominal organs).

Stories

Gordie Gosse I never want anyone else to go through what I have been through.

Read Gordie's story

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Sarcome des tissus
mous

Vous êtes ici:

Tumeurs stromales gastro-intestinales (TSGI)

La tumeur stromale gastro-intestinale (GI), ou TSGI, prend naissance dans les cellules interstitielles de Cajal (CIC). Les CIC sont des cellules spécialisées du tube digestif, ou tractus gastro-intestinal (GI). Elles présentent des caractéristiques des cellules des muscles lisses et des cellules nerveuses. Elles reçoivent des signaux du cerveau qui leur indiquent de resserrer (contracter) et de détendre (relâcher) les muscles de l’estomac, de l’intestin grêle et du gros intestin. La contraction et le relâchement de ces muscles est appelé péristaltisme. Ce processus permet à la nourriture et aux liquides de se déplacer dans l’appareil digestif.

La TSGI est un type courant de sarcome des tissus mous. Ellepeut apparaître n'importe où dans le tube digestif, mais elle le fait le plus souvent dans l'estomac. L'intestin grêle est le deuxième emplacement le plus courant. La TSGI peut aussi se développer dans l'œsophage, le côlon, le rectum, l'épiploon et le mésentère. L’épiploon est un repli graisseux dans le péritoine (membrane tapissant les parois de l’abdomen et du bassin) qui recouvre et soutient les organes et les vaisseaux sanguins situés dans l’abdomen. Le mésentère est un tissu graisseux qui contient les vaisseaux sanguins se rendant à l’intestin ainsi que des ganglions lymphatiques.

La TSGI peut apparaître à n’importe quel âge, mais elle affecte habituellement les personnes qui ont plus de 50 ans. La plupart des TSGI présentent une mutation du gène KIT, ou C-Kit. Cette mutation fait que le corps produit une trop grande quantité de la protéine Kit. La deuxième mutation qui affecte le plus couramment la TSGI se trouve dans le gène du récepteur alpha du facteur de croissance dérivé des plaquettes (protéine PDGF-RA). Cette mutation fait que le corps fabrique une trop grande quantité de la protéine PDGF-RA. Ces deux protéines sont des enzymes appelées tyrosines kinases qui indiquent aux cellules de se développer et qui peuvent déclencher la croissance effrénée de certaines TSGI.

Facteurs de risque

Presque toutes les TSGI se manifestent sporadiquement. Cela signifie qu’aucune raison claire n’explique leur apparition. Chez un petit nombre de personnes, la TSGI se développe à cause d’un syndrome héréditaire. Ce sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • syndrome de TSGI familial
  • neurofibromatose de type 1 (maladie de von Recklinghausen)
  • syndrome de Carney-Stratakis
  • triade de Carney

Ces syndromes sont inévitables, alors il n’y a pas de façon pour les personnes qui en sont atteintes de réduire leur risque de TSGI.

Symptômes

La TSGI n’engendre habituellement pas de symptômes aux premiers stades de la maladie. Les symptômes ont tendance à se manifester seulement quand la tumeur a suffisamment grossi pour causer des problèmes. Les symptômes de la TSGI dépendent de l’emplacement où elle se développe, soit l’estomac ou l’intestin grêle. Les signes et symptômes peuvent comprendre ceux-ci :

  • nausées
  • vomissements
  • perte d’appétit
  • perte de poids
  • masse dans l’abdomen
  • douleur ou malaise abdominal
  • saignement dans le tube digestif, comme du sang dans les vomissures ou les selles
  • fatigue due à l’anémie causée par un saignement dans le tube digestif

On découvre souvent la TSGI alors qu’aucun symptôme n’est éprouvé. On peut l’observer quand vous passez un examen d’imagerie pour une autre raison.

Diagnostic

Le processus diagnostique d’une TSGI débute habituellement par une visite à votre médecin de famille. Il vous questionnera sur les symptômes que vous éprouvez et vous fera un examen physique. En se basant sur ces informations, votre médecin peut vous diriger vers un spécialiste ou prescrire des examens afin de vérifier la présence d’une TSGI ou d’autres problèmes de santé. Les examens peuvent être ceux-ci :

  • formule sanguine complète (FSC)
  • analyses biochimiques sanguines
  • recherche de sang occulte dans les selles (RSOS)
  • tomodensitométrie (TDM) ou imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM) de l’abdomen et du bassin
  • échographie de l’abdomen
  • tomographie par émission de positrons (TEP) – dans certains cas
  • gastroscopie ou endoscopie digestive haute
  • coloscopie
  • échographie endoscopique
  • biopsie

Votre médecin peut faire une biopsie au cours d’une endoscopie. Il est possible que l’échantillon prélevé lors de l’endoscopie soit trop petit pour poser un diagnostic définitif. Idéalement, il faudrait faire une biopsie tissulaire pour confirmer le diagnostic de TSGI avant l’élaboration d’un plan de traitement. La biopsie est habituellement pratiquée en clinique par des médecins étant expérimentés dans le traitement des TSGI. Un spécialiste des sarcomes planifiera la biopsie, qui pourrait être faite par un radiologiste spécialisé.

Types de TSGI

La TSGI peut être non cancéreuse, ou bénigne. Cela signifie qu’elle ne se propage habituellement pas à d’autres parties du corps (pas de métastases). Elle ne met généralement pas la vie en danger. Une petite tumeur mesurant moins de 2 cm de diamètre n’est habituellement pas cancéreuse.

La TSGI peut aussi être cancéreuse, ou maligne. Une tumeur cancéreuse peut se propager à d’autres parties du corps. La TSGI dont la taille est supérieure à 2 cm est plus susceptible d’être cancéreuse. En général, une petite tumeur engendre un meilleur pronostic qu’une grosse tumeur. D’autres facteurs importants pour prévoir le comportement de la TSGI sont l’emplacement et le grade.

Classification histologique

Le grade est le facteur le plus important pour planifier le traitement et prévoir l’issue de la TSGI. Pour établir le grade d’une TSGI, le pathologiste examine au microscope un échantillon de tissu prélevé dans la tumeur. Le grade que le pathologiste donne à la tumeur se base sur la fréquence des mitoses, c'est-à-dire la vitesse à laquelle les cellules cancéreuses se développent et se divisent. Le grade peut être bas ou haut. La TSGI dont la fréquence des mitoses est basse engendre un meilleur pronostic.

Connaître le grade de la tumeur donne une idée à votre équipe de soins de la rapidité à laquelle le cancer peut se développer et de la probabilité qu’il se propage. Cela les aide à planifier votre traitement. Le grade peut aussi les aider à prévoir comment vous pourriez réagir au traitement.

GradeFréquence des mitosesNombre de mitoses par 50 champs à fort grossissement (CFG)

bas

basse

moins de 5

haut

haute

plus de 5

Stades des TSGI

La stadification décrit ou classe un cancer en fonction de la quantité de cancer présente dans le corps et de son emplacement lors du diagnostic initial. C’est ce qu’on appelle souvent l’étendue du cancer. On se sert de l’information révélée par les examens pour savoir quelle est la taille de la tumeur, où le cancer a pris naissance, si le cancer s’est propagé à partir de son lieu d’origine et où il s’est propagé. Votre équipe de soins a recours au stade pour planifier votre traitement et prévoir l’issue (votre pronostic).

Le système de stadification le plus fréquemment employé pour les TSGI est la classification TNM. Dans le cas des TSGI, il y a 4 stades. Pour les stades 1 à 4, on utilise souvent les chiffres romains I, II, III et IV. Mais dans le but de rendre le texte plus clair, nous emploierons les chiffres arabes 1, 2, 3 et 4. En général, plus le numéro du stade est élevé, plus le cancer s’est propagé. Parlez à votre médecin si vous vous posez des questions sur la stadification.

Quand les médecins décrivent le stade, ils peuvent aussi employer les mots localisé ou métastatique. Localisé signifie que le cancer se trouve seulement dans l’organe où il a pris naissance ou tout près et qu’il ne s’est pas propagé à d’autres parties du corps. Métastatique signifie dans une partie du corps plus éloignée d’où la TSGI a pris naissance.

Le stade de la TSGI dépend également de la fréquence des mitoses, qui indique la rapidité à laquelle les cellules cancéreuses se développent et se divisent.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la stadification du cancer.

Stades pour la TSGI de l’estomac et de l’épiploon

Stade 1A – La tumeur mesure 5 cm ou moins et la fréquence des mitoses est basse.

Stade 1B – La tumeur mesure plus de 5 cm mais pas plus de 10 cm. La fréquence des mitoses est basse.

Stade 2 – La tumeur mesure 5 cm ou moins et la fréquence des mitoses est élevée ou bien la tumeur mesure plus de 10 cm et la fréquence des mitoses est basse.

Stade 3A – La tumeur mesure plus de 5 cm mais pas plus de 10 cm. La fréquence des mitoses est élevée.

Stade 3B – La tumeur mesure plus de 10 cm et la fréquence des mitoses est élevée.

Stade 4 – Le cancer s’est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins ou à d’autres parties du corps (métastases à distance), comme au foie ou à la cavité péritonéale. On parle aussi de cancer métastatique. La fréquence des mitoses est basse ou élevée.

Stades pour la TSGI de l’intestin grêle, de l’œsophage, du côlon, du rectum, du mésentère et du péritoine

Stade 1 – La tumeur mesure 5 cm ou moins et la fréquence des mitoses est basse.

Stade 2 – La tumeur mesure plus de 5 cm mais pas plus de 10 cm. La fréquence des mitoses est basse.

Stade 3A – La tumeur mesure 2 cm ou moins et la fréquence des mitoses est élevée ou bien la tumeur mesure plus de 10 cm et la fréquence des mitoses est basse.

Stade 3B – La tumeur mesure plus de 2 cm et la fréquence des mitoses est élevée.

Stade 4 – Le cancer s’est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins ou à d’autres parties du corps, comme au foie. On parle aussi de cancer métastatique. La fréquence des mitoses est basse ou élevée.

Récidive de TSGI

La récidive d'une TSGI signifie que le cancer réapparaît à la suite du traitement. S’il réapparaît à l’endroit où il a d’abord pris naissance ou tout près, on parle de récidive locale. Il peut aussi réapparaître dans une autre partie du corps : on parle alors de TSGI métastatique.

Évolution de la maladie

Les cellules de la TSGI peuvent se propager à partir du tube digestif à d’autres parties du corps et former de nouvelles tumeurs. Une nouvelle tumeur est appelée métastase, ou tumeur secondaire. Si plus d’une tumeur se forme dans une autre partie du corps, on parle alors de métastases au pluriel.

Comprendre comment progresse et se propage habituellement un type de cancer aide votre équipe de soins à planifier votre traitement et vos soins futurs. Si la TSGI se propage, elle le fait le plus souvent dans l’abdomen, en particulier au foie ou à la cavité péritonéale (espace dans l’abdomen qui contient l’estomac, le foie et l’intestin). La TSGI peut aussi se propager aux poumons et aux os, mais c’est plutôt rare.

Traitements

La TSGI se comporte différemment d’autres types de sarcomes des tissus mous, alors on la traite différemment. Quand votre équipe de soins décide quels traitements vous proposer, elle prend les éléments suivants en considération :

  • tumeur mesurant plus de 2 cm
  • tumeur présente dans l’estomac
  • tumeur cancéreuse (maligne) ou non cancéreuse (bénigne)
  • bas ou haut grade
  • stade
  • état de santé global

Chirurgie

La chirurgie est habituellement le traitement principal d'une TSGI qui ne s'est pas propagée. La chirurgie vise à enlever complètement tout le cancer. Selon l’emplacement de la tumeur, le chirurgien devra peut-être aussi enlever des parties d’organes ou de tissus voisins. En général, on n'enlève pas les ganglions lymphatiques situés près de la tumeur puisque la TSGI ne se propage pas souvent aux ganglions lymphatiques.

TSGI de l'estomac

La chirurgie est le traitement principal de la TSGI de l'estomac. On enlève toute la tumeur ainsi qu'une marge de tissu sain tout autour. Les types de chirurgies pratiqués peuvent comprendre :

  • la résection cunéiforme;
  • la gastrectomie partielle ou totale (on enlève l'estomac en partie ou en totalité);
  • l’ablation de tout organe voisin, comme la rate, le pancréas ou le diaphragme, qui est atteint par le cancer.

TSGI de l'intestin grêle

La chirurgie est également le traitement principal de la TSGI de l'intestin grêle. Différents types de chirurgie peuvent être pratiqués selon l'emplacement de la tumeur dans l'intestin grêle. Les types de chirurgies pratiqués peuvent comprendre :

  • la résection intestinale;
  • l’ablation partielle du duodénum (première partie de l’intestin grêle) avec reconstruction;
  • l’opération de Whipple, ou duodéno-pancréatectomie.

Thérapie biologique

L’imatinib (Gleevec) est un médicament biologique qui sert à traiter la TSGI. La thérapie biologique a recours à des substances naturelles ou synthétiques qui changent la manière dont les cellules se comportent. L’imatinib est aussi appelé médicament ciblé. Le traitement ciblé se sert de médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques, comme des protéines, présentes à la surface des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules participent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales. L’imatinibbloque la tyrosine kinase, une enzyme dont la tumeur a besoin pour croître. Puisqu’il bloque cette enzyme, on dit que l’imatinib est un inhibiteur de la tyrosine kinase.

On a recours à l’imatinib pour traiter les TSGI qui :

  • ne peuvent pas être enlevées par chirurgie (non résécables);
  • sont réapparues après avoir été traitées (récidive);
  • se sont propagées à d'autres parties du corps (métastases).

On peut aussi administrer l’imatinib pour réduire la taille d’une tumeur à la limite de la résécabilité. Il est donc ensuite possible d’enlever la tumeur par chirurgie. Cela peut aussi permettre de ne pas enlever complètement les organes dans lesquels la TSGI s’est développée. L’imatinib peut, par exemple, être administré pour traiter une TSGI au rectum qui s’est développée dans la vessie ou la prostate afin d’empêcher l’ablation de ces organes.

On peut administrer l’imatinib après la chirurgie quand les médecins pensent que le risque de réapparition (récidive) de la TSGI est élevé. Une grosse tumeur, une tumeur de haute grade ou une tumeur qui se rompt (s’ouvre) lorsqu’on l’enlève est habituellement considérée comme à risque élevé.

On prend l’imatinib par la bouche, en général chaque jour pendant jusqu’à 3 ans. Des chercheurs évaluent toujours ce médicament afin de savoir pendant combien de temps il faudrait le prendre pour obtenir les meilleurs résultats possibles. Malheureusement, il se peut que les tumeurs ne réagissent plus à l’imatinib ou qu’elles y deviennent résistantes quand ce médicament est administré sur une longue période. Si l’imatinib n’est plus efficace, on pourrait vous proposer un médicament de deuxième intention.

Traitement médicamenteux de deuxième intention

Le sunitinib (Sutent) est un autre inhibiteur de la tyrosine kinase. Il empêche la tumeur de former de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins. Le processus de formation de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins est appelé angiogenèse. Puisque le sunitinib empêche les vaisseaux sanguins de se former, on dit que c’est un médicament antiangiogénique.

On peut avoir recours au sunitinib quand le cancer ne réagit pas à l’imatinib. On peut aussi vous l’administrer si vous ne tolérez pas l’imatinib. Le sunitinib n’est pas aussi sélectif que l’imatinib puisqu’il inhibe de nombreuses autres voies de croissance. Donc, les personnes qui reçoivent du sunitinib éprouvent souvent une plus grande variété d’effets secondaires.

Radiothérapie

On peut proposer la radiothérapie externe pour soulager les symptômes d'une maladie avancée, comme la douleur ou les saignements (radiothérapie palliative).

Récidive de TSGI

Les options thérapeutiques pour la TSGI qui réapparaît, ou récidive, après avoir été traitée dépendent de l'emplacement de la récidive et de la quantité de cancer dans le corps. Dans la plupart des cas, on a recours à l'imatinib puisqu'il offre les meilleures chances de réduire la taille de la tumeur. Si l'imatinib n'est pas efficace la première fois, le médecin peut en augmenter la dose ou essayer plutôt le sunitinib. Votre équipe de soins peut aussi envisager la chirurgie pour enlever la TSGI récidivante dans certains cas.

Pour avoir plus de détails sur des médicaments spécifiques, consultez la section Sources d’information sur les médicaments.

cavité péritonéale

Espace compris entre le péritoine pariétal (membrane qui tapisse les parois de l’abdomen et du bassin) et le péritoine viscéral (membrane qui recouvre et soutient la plupart des organes dans l’abdomen).

Histoires

Dr Bruno Gagnon Intégrer les soins palliatifs aux soins du cancer avancé

Plus de details

D’immenses progrès ont été accomplis

Icône – flèche

Pour certains cancers, comme ceux de la thyroïde et du testicule, les taux de survie dépassent 90 pour cent. Pour d’autres cancers, comme ceux du pancréas, du cerveau et de l’œsophage, les taux de survie demeurent très bas.

Apprenez-en plus