Canadian Cancer Society logo

Soft tissue sarcoma

You are here: 

Risk factors for soft tissue sarcoma

A risk factor is something that increases the risk of developing cancer. It could be a behaviour, substance or condition. Most cancers are the result of many risk factors. But sometimes soft tissue sarcoma develops in people who don’t have any of the risk factors described below.

The following are risk factors for soft tissue sarcoma. Most of the known risk factors are not modifiable. This means that you can’t change them. Until we learn more about these risk factors, there are no specific ways you can reduce your risk.

Risk factors are generally listed in order from most to least important. But in most cases, it is impossible to rank them with absolute certainty.

Significant evidence shows that there is no link between injury or trauma and increased soft tissue sarcoma risk.

Known risk factors

There is convincing evidence that the following factors increase your risk for soft tissue sarcoma.

Radiation therapy

People who receive radiation therapy as treatment for another cancer have a higher risk of developing soft tissue sarcoma. This is particularly true for people who received radiation therapy for Hodgkin lymphoma, non-Hodgkin lymphoma or breast cancer. The soft tissue sarcoma often develops in the area of the body that was treated with radiation. The average time between radiation exposure and a diagnosis of sarcoma is 10 years.

Less than 5% of sarcomas are caused by radiation therapy. The benefit of using radiation therapy to treat cancer outweighs the higher risk of developing sarcoma.

Genetic conditions

The following rare inherited conditions increase the risk of developing soft tissue sarcoma.

Retinoblastoma

Retinoblastoma is a cancerous tumour that develops in the light-sensitive lining of the eye (called the retina). It occurs mostly in children.

The hereditary form of retinoblastoma is caused by a mutation in the RB1 gene.

Werner syndrome

Werner syndrome is a very rare condition caused by a mutation in the WRN gene. It causes people to age very quickly and prematurely after puberty.

Li-Fraumeni syndrome

Li-Fraumeni syndrome usually involves a mutation of the TP53 gene or the CHEK2 gene. It is associated with an increased risk of developing several types of cancer, including soft tissue sarcoma.

Neurofibromatosis type 1

Neurofibromatosis is a condition that causes tumours to form in nerve tissues in and under the skin. It is caused by a mutation in the NF1 gene. People with neurofibromatosis type 1 (also known as von Recklinghausen disease) have a higher risk of developing certain cancers, including soft tissue sarcoma.

Gardner syndrome

Gardner syndrome is a rare condition caused by a mutation in the APC gene. It causes large numbers of polyps in the colon, along with tumours in the bone and soft tissues.

Basal cell nevus syndrome

Basal cell nevus syndrome is also called Gorlin syndrome or nevoid basal cell carcinoma syndrome. It is a rare disorder caused by a mutation in a gene that suppresses tumours, known as the patched gene (PTCH1). This syndrome causes different problems with the skin, eyes, nervous system, endocrine glands and jawbone.

Personal history of cancer

People who have had another type of cancer have a higher risk of developing soft tissue sarcoma. This increased risk may be due to common risk factors, such as genetics or cancer treatments.

Chronic lymphedema

Lymphedema is a buildup of fluid in body tissues. Long-term, or chronic, lymphedema can cause lymphangiosarcoma (also called Stewart-Treves syndrome). This is a rare type of soft tissue sarcoma that develops in lymph vessels.

Viral infections

The following viral infections may increase the risk of developing soft tissue sarcoma.

Kaposi sarcoma herpes virus (KSHV)

Kaposi sarcoma herpes virus (KSHV) is also called human herpes virus 8 (HHV-8) or Kaposi sarcoma-associated herpes virus. Doctors believe that this virus causes a rare type of sarcoma called Kaposi sarcoma (KS). This virus is found in the lesions of all people with AIDS-related KS.

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)

In addition to having a higher risk of developing KS, people with HIV have a higher risk of developing soft tissue sarcoma.

Exposure to vinyl chloride

Vinyl chloride is used in the plastics industry to make polyvinyl chloride (PVC), which is used in many products. Occupational exposure to vinyl chloride increases the risk of developing both hepatocellular carcinoma and angiosarcoma of the liver.

Exposure to thorium dioxide

Thorium dioxide (Thorotrast) is a radioactive solution that was used as a contrast medium in the 1950s to improve x-ray images of the blood vessels and arteries, nasal passages and sinus cavities. Thorium dioxide was injected into a vein and collected in the liver, spleen and bone marrow.

People who were exposed to thorium dioxide have a greater risk of developing angiosarcoma of the liver. Higher doses of thorium dioxide increase the risk. The cancer may develop as many as 45 years after exposure.

Possible risk factors

The following factors have been linked with soft tissue sarcoma, but there is not enough evidence to show they are known risk factors. Further study is needed to clarify the role of these factors for soft tissue sarcoma.

Chemotherapy

Certain chemotherapy drugs, particularly alkylating agents, may be linked with the development of soft tissue sarcoma. Soft tissue sarcoma can develop many years after treatment with chemotherapy. The benefit of using chemotherapy to treat cancer outweighs the increased risk of developing sarcoma.

Exposure to dioxin

Some studies suggest that exposure to dioxin increases the risk of developing soft tissue sarcoma. People can be exposed to dioxin by working in certain industries or when it is released into the air from waste incinerators.

Unknown risk factors

It isn’t known whether or not exposure to herbicides is linked with soft tissue sarcoma. It may be that researchers can’t show a definite link or that studies have had different results. Further study is needed to see if exposure to herbicides is a risk factor for soft tissue sarcoma.

Questions to ask your healthcare team

To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about risks.

Stories

Eleanor Rudd We realize that our efforts cannot even be compared to what women face when they hear the words ... ‘you have cancer.’

Read more

Facing the financial burden of cancer

Illustration of coins

The Canadian Cancer Society provides helpful information about government income programs, financial resources and other resources available to families struggling to make sense of the personal financial burden they face.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Sarcome des tissus
mous

Vous êtes ici:

Facteurs de risque du sarcome des tissus mous

Un facteur de risque est quelque chose comme un comportement, une substance ou un état qui accroît le risque d’apparition d’un cancer. La plupart des cancers sont attribuables à de nombreux facteurs de risque. Mais il arrive parfois que le sarcome des tissus mous se développe chez des personnes qui ne présentent aucun des facteurs de risque décrits ci-dessous.

Les éléments qui suivent sont des facteurs de risque du sarcome des tissus mous. La plupart des facteurs de risque connus ne sont pas modifiables. Cela signifie que vous ne pouvez pas les changer. D’ici à ce qu’on en sache davantage sur ces facteurs de risque, il n’y a pas de façon spécifique de réduire votre risque.

Les facteurs de risque sont habituellement classés du plus important au moins important. Mais dans la plupart des cas, il est impossible de les classer avec une certitude absolue.

Des données probantes montrent qu’il n’existe aucun lien entre les lésions ou traumatismes et un risque accru de sarcome des tissus mous.

Facteurs de risque connus

Des preuves convaincantes permettent d’affirmer que les facteurs suivants font augmenter votre risque de sarcome des tissus mous.

Radiothérapie

Les personnes qui reçoivent une radiothérapie comme traitement d'un autre cancer risquent davantage d'être atteintes d'un sarcome des tissus mous. C’est particulièrement vrai pour les personnes qui ont reçu une radiothérapie pour un lymphome hodgkinien, un lymphome non hodgkinien ou un cancer du sein. Le sarcome des tissus mous se manifeste souvent dans la région du corps qui a été traitée par radiothérapie. Il se passe en moyenne 10 ans entre l’exposition à la radiation et le diagnostic de sarcome.

Moins de 5 % des sarcomes sont causés par la radiothérapie. Les avantages de la radiothérapie comme traitement du cancer surpassent le risque accru d'être atteint d'un sarcome.

Troubles génétiques

Les troubles héréditaires rares qui suivent font augmenter le risque d'être atteint d'un sarcome des tissus mous.

Rétinoblastome

Le rétinoblastome est une tumeur cancéreuse qui se manifeste dans le revêtement de l'œil qui est sensible à la lumière (rétine). Il affecte surtout les enfants.

La forme héréditaire du rétinoblastome est causée par une mutation du gène RB1.

Syndrome de Werner

Le syndrome de Werner est un trouble très rare causé par une mutation du gène WRN. Les personnes qui en sont atteintes vieillissent très rapidement et prématurément après la puberté.

Syndrome de Li-Fraumeni

Le syndrome de Li-Fraumeni est habituellement causé par une mutation du gène TP53 ou du gène CHEK2. On l'associe à un risque accru de plusieurs types de cancer, dont le sarcome des tissus mous.

Neurofibromatose de type 1

La neurofibromatose est une affection qui entraîne la formation de tumeurs dans les tissus nerveux, dans la peau et sous la peau. Elle est causée par une mutation du gène NF1. Les personnes atteintes de neurofibromatose de type 1, aussi appelée maladie de von Recklinghausen, présentent un risque plus élevé de certains cancers, dont le sarcome des tissus mous.

Syndrome de Gardner

Le syndrome de Gardner est une affection rare causée par la mutation du gène APC. Il engendre la formation d'un grand nombre de polypes dans le côlon, ainsi que de tumeurs dans les os et les tissus mous.

Nævomatose basocellulaire

La nævomatose basocellulaire est aussi appelée syndrome de Gorlin ou carcinomatose basocellulaire. C’est un trouble héréditaire rare causé par une mutation dans un gène suppresseur de tumeur appelé gène patched (PTCH1). Ce syndrome cause différents problèmes à la peau, aux yeux, au système nerveux, aux glandes endocrines et à la mâchoire.

Antécédents personnels de cancer

Les personnes qui ont eu un autre type de cancer risquent davantage d’être atteintes d’un sarcome des tissus mous. Ce risque accru peut être attribuable à des facteurs de risque courants, comme la génétique ou les traitements du cancer.

Lymphœdème chronique

Le lymphœdème est une accumulation de liquide dans les tissus du corps. Un lymphœdème qui dure longtemps (chronique) peut causer un lymphangiosarcome, aussi appelé syndrome de Stewart et Treves. C’est un type rare de sarcome des tissus mous qui apparaît dans les vaisseaux lymphatiques.

Infections virales

Les infections virales suivantes peuvent accroître le risque de sarcome des tissus mous.

Herpès-virus lié au sarcome de Kaposi (HVSK)

L’herpès-virus lié au sarcome de Kaposi (HVSK) est aussi appelé herpès-virus humain 8 (HHV-8). Les médecins croient que ce virus cause le développement d'un type rare de sarcome appelé sarcome de Kaposi (SK). On observe ce virus dans les lésions de toutes les personnes atteintes du SK lié au sida.

Virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (VIH)

En plus de présenter un risque accru de SK, les personnes atteintes du VIH risquent davantage de développer un sarcome des tissus mous.

Exposition au chlorure de vinyle

Le chlorure de vinyle est utilisé dans l'industrie des matières plastiques pour fabriquer du polychlorure de vinyle (PVC), qu'on trouve dans de nombreux produits. L'exposition professionnelle au chlorure de vinyle accroît le risque de carcinome hépatocellulaire et d'angiosarcome du foie.

Exposition au dioxyde de thorium

Le dioxyde de thorium (Thorotrast) est une solution radioactive qu'on utilisait dans les années 1950 comme produit de contraste pour accroître l'efficacité des images radiologiques des vaisseaux sanguins et des artères, des voies nasales et des cavités des sinus. Le dioxyde de thorium était injecté dans une veine et il s'accumulait ensuite dans le foie, la rate et la moelle osseuse.

Les personnes qui ont été exposées au dioxyde de thorium risquent davantage de développer un angiosarcome du foie. Des doses élevées font augmenter le risque. Le cancer peut apparaître jusqu'à 45 ans après l'exposition.

Facteurs de risque possibles

On a établi un certain lien entre les facteurs qui suivent et le sarcome des tissus mous, mais on ne possède pas suffisamment de preuves pour dire qu'ils sont des facteurs de risque connus. On doit faire plus de recherches pour clarifier le rôle de ces facteurs dans l’apparition du sarcome des tissus mous.

Chimiothérapie

Certains agents chimiothérapeutiques, en particulier les agents alkylants, peuvent être liés à l’apparition du sarcome des tissus mous. Le sarcome des tissus mous peut apparaître de nombreuses années après un traitement de chimiothérapie. Les bienfaits de la chimiothérapie comme traitement du cancer surpassent le risque accru de sarcome.

Exposition à la dioxine

Certaines études laissent entendre que l'exposition à la dioxine fait augmenter le risque de sarcome des tissus mous. Les personnes peuvent être exposées à la dioxine en travaillant dans certaines industries ou lorsque cette substance est rejetée dans l'air à partir d'incinérateurs de déchets.

Facteurs de risque inconnus

On ne sait pas s’il y a un lien entre l’exposition aux herbicides et le sarcome des tissus mous. C’est peut-être parce que les chercheurs ne parviennent pas à établir définitivement ce lien ou que les études ont engendré différents résultats. Il faut mener d’autres études afin de savoir si l’exposition aux herbicides est un facteur de risque du sarcome des tissus mous.

Questions à poser à votre équipe de soins

Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur les risques à votre équipe de soins.

Histoires

Eleanor Rudd Nos efforts n’ont rien de comparable à ce que les femmes vivent lorsqu’on leur dit : “vous avez le cancer”.

Plus de détails

Une communauté de soutien en ligne, digne de confiance

Illustration d’un ordinateur

Parlonscancer.ca est une communauté en ligne sur laquelle les personnes atteintes de cancer et leurs proches peuvent compter.

Apprenez-en plus