Canadian Cancer Society logo

Small intestine
cancer

You are here: 

Sarcoma of the small intestine

Sarcomas are cancers that can develop in any soft tissue in the body, such as fat, muscle, fibrous tissue (like tendons and ligaments), synovial tissue (in joints), blood vessels, lymph vessels or nerves. Small intestine sarcomas account for about 10% of all small intestine cancers. Most small intestine sarcomas are gastrointestinal stromal tumours (GISTs), which can develop anywhere in the gastrointestinalgastrointestinalReferring to or having to do with the digestive organs, particularly the stomach, small intestine and large intestine. (GI) tract. After the stomach, GISTs develop most commonly in the small intestine.

A small intestine GIST starts in the interstitial cells of Cajal, which are cells in the wall of the small intestine. Most GISTs have a particular gene mutation called KIT, which distinguishes them from other sarcomas. GISTs occur throughout the small intestine, but most occur in the jejunum and ileum.

Most people with GISTs present with bleeding in the GI tract. These tumours have a lot of blood vessels in them, so bleeding is a common symptom. They can also cause a perforation or obstruction in the small intestine, which can lead to abdominal pain and weight loss.

GISTs may become quite large before a person is diagnosed. Many tumours are larger than 5 cm (2 inches) at diagnosis. Large tumours are more aggressive than small ones. These tumours commonly spread (metastasize) to the liver and lungs. GISTs rarely spread to nearby (regional) lymph nodes.

GISTs of the small intestine are graded and staged differently than carcinomas of the small intestine.

Stories

Catherine Coulson Slowly, it dawned on me that I, too, could be a survivor

Read Catherine's story

Funding lifesaving clinical trials

Illustration of science instruments

The Canadian Cancer Society is funding lifesaving clinical trials that give people with cancer access to the newest types of treatment.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer de l’intestin grêle

Vous êtes ici:

Sarcome de l’intestin grêle

Le sarcome est un cancer qui se développe dans n’importe quel tissu mou du corps, comme la graisse, les muscles, le tissu fibreux (tendons et ligaments par exemple), le tissu synovial (dans les articulations), les vaisseaux lymphatiques et les nerfs. Le sarcome de l’intestin grêle représente environ 10 % de tous les cancers de l’intestin grêle. La plupart des sarcomes de l’intestin grêle sont des tumeurs stromales gastro-intestinales (TSGI), qui peuvent se développer n’importe où dans le tube digestif (tractus gastro-intestinal). Après l’estomac, c’est dans l’intestin grêle que la TSGI apparaît le plus souvent.

Une TSGI de l’intestin grêle prend naissance dans les cellules interstitielles de Cajal, qui se trouvent dans la paroi de l’intestin grêle. La plupart des TSGI présentent une mutation génétique particulière appelée Kit, qui les distinguent des autres sarcomes. La TSGI se développe n’importe où dans l’intestin grêle mais surtout dans le jéjunum et l’iléon.

La plupart des personnes atteintes d’une TSGI consultent le médecin pour un saignement dans le tube digestif. Cette tumeur contient de nombreux vaisseaux sanguins, c’est pourquoi les saignements sont un symptôme courant. Elle peut aussi perforer ou obstruer l’intestin grêle, ce qui risque d’engendrer une douleur abdominale et une perte de poids.

La TSGI peut devenir très grosse avant le diagnostic. De nombreuses tumeurs mesurent plus de 5 cm (2 po) quand on les diagnostique. Une grosse tumeur est plus agressive qu’une petite tumeur. Cette tumeur se propage couramment (métastases) au foie et aux poumons. La TSGI se propage rarement aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins (régionaux).

On établit la classification histologique et le stade de la TSGI de l’intestin grêle différemment des carcinomes de l’intestin grêle.

Histoires

Dre Camilla Zimmermann La Dre Camilla Zimmermann a mis au point un modèle d’intervention hâtive en soins palliatifs.

Plus de details

Information sur le cancer dans plus de cent langues

Illustration d’un point d’interrogation

Le Service d’information sur le cancer (SIC) de la Société canadienne du cancer est le seul service téléphonique national, bilingue et sans frais au Canada à offrir de l’information sur le cancer dans plus de cent langues.

Apprenez-en plus