Canadian Cancer Society logo

Small intestine
cancer

You are here: 

Adenocarcinoma of the small intestine

Adenocarcinomas develop in the glandular cells (tissues) in the inner lining (mucosa) of the small intestine. Adenocarcinomas are the most common type of small intestine tumour. They account for about 30%–40% of all small intestine cancers.

About one-half of all small intestine adenocarcinomas develop in the duodenum (the first part of the small intestine closest to the stomach). The next most common site is the jejunum, followed by the ileum.

These tumours often grow and block (obstruct) the intestine.

Most people with adenocarcinoma are diagnosed with advanced disease, usually stage III or higher. At diagnosis, most people with adenocarcinoma will have cancer that has spread to the lymph nodes, liver or peritoneumperitoneumThe membrane that lines the walls of the abdomen and pelvis (parietal peritoneum), and covers and supports most of the abdominal organs (visceral peritoneum). (abdominal lining).

Stories

Dr Simon Graham Developed a new technology for brain cancer surgery

Read more

Providing rides to cancer treatment

Illustration of car

For more than 50 years, the Canadian Cancer Society’s transportation program has enabled patients to focus their energy on fighting cancer and not on worrying about how they will get to treatment.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer de l’intestin grêle

Vous êtes ici:

Adénocarcinome de l’intestin grêle

L’adénocarcinome prend naissance dans les cellules glandulaires (tissus) du revêtement interne (muqueuse) de l’intestin grêle. L’adénocarcinome est le type le plus courant de tumeur de l’intestin grêle. Il représente environ 30 à 40 % de tous les cancers de l’intestin grêle.

Environ la moitié de tous les adénocarcinomes de l’intestin grêle se développent dans le duodénum (première partie de l’intestin grêle la plus proche de l’estomac). Le deuxième emplacement le plus courant est le jéjunum, suivi de l’iléon.

Ces tumeurs croissent et bloquent (obstruent) souvent l’intestin.

La plupart des personnes atteintes d’un adénocarcinome reçoivent leur diagnostic alors que la maladie est avancée, soit habituellement de stade III ou plus. Quand on les diagnostique, la plupart des adénocarcinomes se sont déjà propagés aux ganglions lymphatiques, au foie ou au péritoinepéritoineMembrane qui tapisse les parois internes de la cavité abdominale et pelvienne (péritoine pariétal) et qui recouvre et soutient la plupart des organes abdominaux (péritoine viscéral). (revêtement de l’abdomen).

Histoires

Researcher Dr John Bell Combattre le cancer au moyen de virus sur mesure

Plus de details

De l’aide pour les fumeurs qui veulent cesser de fumer

Illustration du symbole d’interdiction de fumer

Il est normal d’avoir besoin d’aide pour cesser de fumer. La Société canadienne du cancer est là pour soutenir les fumeurs qui sont prêts à arrêter et même ceux qui ne le sont pas.

Apprenez-en plus