Canadian Cancer Society logo

Small intestine
cancer

You are here: 

Risk factors for small intestine cancer

A risk factor is something (such as a behaviour, substance or condition) that increases the risk of developing cancer. Most cancers are the result of many risk factors, but sometimes small intestine cancer develops in people who don’t have any of the risk factors described below.

The risk of developing small intestine cancer increases with age. The average age of diagnosis is about 60. Men develop small intestine cancer slightly more often than women.

Risk factors are generally listed in order from most to least important. But in most cases, it is impossible to rank them with absolute certainty.

Known risk factors

There is convincing evidence that the following factors increase your risk for small intestine cancer.

Familial adenomatous polyposis (FAP)

Familial adenomatous polyposis (also known as familial polyposis or FAP) is an inherited condition caused by a mutation of the adenomatous polyposis coli (APC) genegeneThe basic biological unit of heredity passed from parents to a child. Genes are pieces of DNA and determine a particular characteristic of an individual.. FAP causes hundreds to thousands of polyps to develop on the lining of the colon (part of the large intestine) and rectum. These polyps have the potential to develop into cancer. Each polyp is no more likely to develop into cancer than polyps in people who don’t have FAP. However, the large number of polyps means there is a greater risk that cancer could develop.

FAP can also cause polyps to grow in the small intestine. People with FAP are at higher risk of developing adenocarcinoma of the small intestine. Most small intestine tumours linked to FAP develop in the duodenum (the first part of the small intestine).

Lynch syndrome

Lynch syndrome (also called hereditary non-polyposis colorectal cancer, or HNPCC) is an inherited condition caused by mutations in some of the genes that repair damage to DNA. Lynch syndrome causes polyps to grow in the lining of the colon (part of the large intestine) and rectum, but not as many polyps as in FAP.

Lynch syndrome puts people at high risk for developing colon and other cancers, including small intestine cancer. People with Lynch syndrome have up to a 4% greater risk of developing small intestine cancer compared to people in the general population. Small intestine cancer often occurs at a younger age in people with Lynch syndrome.

Crohn’s disease

Crohn’s disease is an inflammation of the gastrointestinal tract. It commonly affects the small intestine, especially the ileum (the last part of the small intestine). People with Crohn’s disease have an increased risk of developing small intestine cancer.

Generally, small intestine cancer occurs at a younger age in people with Crohn’s disease. However, the risk of small intestine cancer does not generally increase until a person has had Crohn’s disease for more than 10 years.

Celiac disease

Celiac disease (sprue) damages the small intestine so that it doesn’t absorb nutrients from food as well as it should. People with celiac disease are sensitive to gluten (a protein found in grains such as wheat, rye and barley). They also have an increased risk of enteropathy associated T cell lymphoma (EATL) and adenocarcinoma tumours in the small intestine. These tumours most often develop in the jejunum (the middle part of the small intestine).

Peutz-Jeghers syndrome

Peutz-Jeghers syndrome is a rare inherited condition. People with Peutz-Jeghers syndrome have a mutation of the STK11 (also called LKB1) gene. The STK11 gene is normally involved in making a tumour suppressor enzyme. This enzyme helps control cell growth and keeps cells from growing and dividing too fast. Mutations in the STK11 gene prevent this enzyme from working properly so that cells divide too often. People with Peutz-Jeghers syndrome often have hamartomas (a special kind of polyp) form in their intestine. These polyps increase the risk of developing colorectal and small intestine cancer.

People with Peutz-Jeghers syndrome have about an 18 times greater risk of developing small intestine cancer compared to people in the general population.

Neurofibromatosis type 1

Neurofibromatosis type 1 (also called von Recklinghausen disease) is an uncommon inherited condition that affects the nerves, muscles, bones and skin. It is caused by a mutation in the NF1 gene, which is a tumour suppressor gene. People with neurofibromatosis type 1 have a higher risk of developing certain cancers. The condition has been linked to small intestine cancer, particularly gastrointestinal stromal tumours (GIST).

Weakened immune system

People with a weakened immune system have a higher risk of developing some types of cancer, including small intestine cancer. The immune system can become weakened for a number of reasons, including AIDS (acquired immunodeficiency syndrome). People with AIDS have a greater risk of developing lymphoma of the small intestine.

Cystic fibrosis

Cystic fibrosis is a genetic condition that affects glands that make mucus and sweat, which can in turn affect how well the lungs and digestive tract function. People with cystic fibrosis have a higher risk of developing small intestine cancer. There is also some evidence that suggests people with cystic fibrosis have a greater risk for small intestine cancer after they receive an organ transplant. However, the overall risk of small intestine cancer in people with cystic fibrosis is still very low.

Other cancers

People who have a personal history of other cancers, particularly colorectal cancer, have a higher risk of small intestine cancer. However, the overall risk of small intestine cancer is still low.

Possible risk factors

The following factors have been linked with small intestine cancer, but there is not enough evidence to say they are known risk factors. Further study is needed to clarify the role of these factors for small intestine cancer.

Diet

Some studies have reported that people who eat a diet high in fat – especially animal fat – may have a higher risk of small intestine cancer. Researchers have also found that people who eat large amounts of red meat develop small intestine cancer more often than people who eat less red meat.

Being overweight or obese

There is conflicting evidence on the link between small intestine cancer and being overweight or obese. Some studies suggest that having a higher body mass index (BMI) may increase the risk of developing small intestine cancer.

Unknown risk factors

It isn’t known whether or not the following factors are linked with small intestine cancer. It may be that researchers can’t show a definite link or that studies have had different results. Further study is needed to see if the following are risk factors for small intestine cancer:

  • smoking
  • alcohol
  • radiation therapy to the abdomen

Questions to ask

To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about risks.

Stories

Dr John Dick Solving the mysteries of cancer stem cells

Read more

Establishing a national caregivers strategy

Illustration of caregivers

The Canadian Cancer Society is actively lobbying the federal government to establish a national caregivers strategy to ensure there is more financial support for this important group of people.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer de l’intestin grêle

Vous êtes ici:

Facteurs de risque du cancer de l'intestin grêle

Un facteur de risque est quelque chose, comme un comportement, une substance ou un état, qui accroît le risque d’apparition d’un cancer. La plupart des cancers sont attribuables à de nombreux facteurs de risque, mais il arrive parfois que le cancer de l’intestin grêle se développe chez des personnes qui ne présentent aucun des facteurs de risque décrits ci-dessous.

Le risque d’être atteint d’un cancer de l'intestin grêle augmente avec l'âge. Il est diagnostiqué à un âge moyen de 60 ans environ. Les hommes sont légèrement plus touchés que les femmes.

Les facteurs de risque sont habituellement classés du plus important au moins important. Mais dans la plupart des cas, il est impossible de les classer avec une certitude absolue.

 

Facteurs de risque connus

Des preuves convaincantes permettent d’affirmer que les facteurs suivants font augmenter votre risque de cancer de l’intestin grêle.

Polypose adénomateuse familiale (PAF)

La polypose adénomateuse familiale, aussi appelée polypose familiale ou PAF, est une affection héréditaire causée par une mutation du gènegèneUnité biologique fondamentale responsable de la transmission des caractères héréditaires des parents à leur enfant. Les gènes sont des segments d’ ADN qui déterminent les caractéristiques particulières d’une personne. de la polypose adénomateuse colique (APC). La PAF est caractérisée par le développement de centaines voire de milliers de polypes dans le revêtement du côlon (partie du gros intestin) et du rectum. Ces polypes peuvent se transformer en cancer. Individuellement, ces polypes ne sont pas plus susceptibles de devenir cancéreux que les polypes observés chez une personne non atteinte de PAF. Cependant, leur présence en nombre élevé accroît le risque d’apparition d’un cancer.

La PAF peut aussi engendrer la formation de polypes dans l'intestin grêle. Les personnes atteintes de PAF risquent davantage de développer un adénocarcinome de l'intestin grêle. La plupart des tumeurs de l'intestin grêle liées à la PAF apparaissent dans le duodénum (première partie de l’intestin grêle).

Syndrome de Lynch

Le syndrome de Lynch, aussi appelé cancer colorectal héréditaire sans polypose ou HNPCC, est une affection héréditaire causée par des mutations dans certains gènes qui réparent l'ADN endommagé. Le syndrome de Lynch provoque la formation de polypes dans le revêtement du côlon (partie du gros intestin) et du rectum, mais pas en aussi grand nombre que dans le cas de la PAF.

Le syndrome de Lynch engendre une hausse du risque de cancer du côlon et d’autres cancers, en particulier de cancer de l'intestin grêle. Ce risque peut être jusqu'à 4 % plus élevé chez les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Lynch comparativement à l’ensemble de la population. Le cancer de l'intestin grêle se manifeste souvent à un plus jeune âge chez les personnes qui souffrent du syndrome de Lynch.

Maladie de Crohn

La maladie de Crohn, c’est l’inflammation du tube digestif. Elle se manifeste couramment dans l'intestin grêle, surtout dans l'iléon (dernière partie de l’intestin grêle). Les personnes atteintes de la maladie de Crohn risquent davantage de développer un cancer de l'intestin grêle.

En général, le cancer de l’intestin grêle apparaît à un plus jeune âge chez les personnes atteintes de la maladie de Crohn. Cependant, la maladie de Crohn doit habituellement avoir été présente pendant plus de 10 ans pour faire augmenter le risque de cancer de l'intestin grêle.

Maladie cœliaque

La maladie cœliaque (sprue cœliaque) endommage l'intestin grêle de façon à ce qu’il n’absorbe pas aussi bien qu’il le devrait les éléments nutritifs provenant des aliments. Les personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaque ont une intolérance au gluten (protéine présente dans les grains dont le blé, le seigle et l'orge). Elles risquent également davantage d’être atteintes d’un lymphome T associé à une entéropathie (LTAE) et d'un adénocarcinome de l'intestin grêle. Ces tumeurs se développent le plus souvent dans le jéjunum (partie centrale de l’intestin grêle).

Syndrome de Peutz-Jeghers

Le syndrome de Peutz-Jeghers est une affection héréditaire rare. Les personnes qui en sont atteintes ont une mutation du gène STK11, aussi appelé LKB1. Le gène STK11 participe habituellement à la fabrication d’une enzyme suppresseur de tumeur. Cette enzyme aide à contrôler la croissance cellulaire et empêche les cellules de croître et de se diviser trop rapidement. Les mutations présentes dans le gène STK11 empêchent cette enzyme de faire son travail correctement alors les cellules se divisent trop souvent. Les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Peutz-Jeghers développent souvent des hamartomes (type particulier de polype) dans l'intestin. Ces polypes font augmenter le risque de cancer colorectal et de cancer de l'intestin grêle.

Le syndrome de Peutz-Jeghers engendre un risque d’apparition du cancer de l'intestin grêle qui est 18 fois plus élevé environ que celui de l’ensemble de la population.

Neurofibromatose de type 1

La neurofibromatose de type 1, aussi appelée maladie de von Recklinghausen, est une affection héréditaire peu courante qui affecte les nerfs, les muscles, les os et la peau. Elle est causée par une mutation du gène NF1, un gène suppresseur de tumeur. Les personnes atteintes d'une neurofibromatose de type 1 risquent davantage de développer certains cancers. On a observé un lien entre cette affection et le cancer de l'intestin grêle, en particulier les tumeurs stromales gastro-intestinales (TSGI).

Système immunitaire affaibli

Les personnes qui ont un système immunitaire affaibli risquent davantage d’être atteintes de certains types de cancer, dont le cancer de l'intestin grêle. Le système immunitaire peut être affaibli pour un certain nombre de raisons dont le sida (syndrome d'immunodéficience acquise). Les personnes atteintes du sida risquent davantage de développer un lymphome de l'intestin grêle.

Fibrose kystique

La fibrose kystique est une maladie génétique qui affecte les glandes qui fabriquent du mucus et de la sueur, ce qui risque donc de nuire au fonctionnement des poumons et du tube digestif. Les personnes atteintes de fibrose kystique risquent davantage de développer un cancer de l’intestin grêle. D’après certaines autres observations, les personnes atteintes de fibrose kystique risquent davantage de développer un cancer de l’intestin grêle après une greffe d’organe. Cependant, le risque global de cancer de l’intestin grêle chez les personnes atteintes de fibrose kystique est quand même très bas.

Autres cancers

Les personnes qui ont des antécédents personnels d’autres cancers, en particulier de cancer colorectal, risquent davantage d’être atteintes d’un cancer de l’intestin grêle. Cependant, le risque global de cancer de l’intestin grêle chez ces personnes est quand même bas.

Facteurs de risque possibles

On a établi un lien entre les facteurs qui suivent et le cancer de l'intestin grêle, mais on ne possède pas suffisamment de preuves pour dire qu'ils sont des facteurs de risque connus. On doit faire plus de recherches pour clarifier le rôle de ces facteurs dans le développement du cancer de l'intestin grêle.

Alimentation

Certaines études ont permis de constater qu'une alimentation riche en matières grasses, en particulier de graisse animale, peut engendrer une hausse du risque de cancer de l'intestin grêle. Les chercheurs ont également constaté que les personnes qui mangent une grande quantité de viande rouge sont plus souvent atteintes d’un cancer de l’intestin grêle que celles qui en consomment moins.

Surplus de poids ou obésité

Les preuves scientifiques portant sur le lien possible entre le cancer de l’intestin grêle et le surplus de poids ou l’obésité sont contradictoires. Certaines études laissent entendre qu’un indice de masse corporelle (IMC) élevé peut accroître le risque d’apparition d’un cancer de l’intestin grêle.

Facteurs de risque inconnus

On n’arrive pas encore à déterminer si les facteurs suivants sont liés au cancer de l’intestin grêle. C’est peut-être parce que les chercheurs ne parviennent pas à établir définitivement ce lien ou que les études ont engendré différents résultats. Il faut mener d’autres études afin de savoir si les éléments qui suivent sont des facteurs de risque du cancer de l’intestin grêle :

  • tabac
  • alcool
  • radiothérapie à l’abdomen

Questions à poser à votre équipe de soins

Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur les risques à votre équipe de soins.

Histoires

Stella Gentil-Perret C’est un formidable système de soutien

Lisez l'histoire de Stella

Création d’une stratégie nationale pour les proches aidants

Illustration d’aidants

La Société canadienne du cancer fait pression auprès du gouvernement fédéral afin qu’il adopte une stratégie nationale pour les aidants, de telle sorte que cet important groupe de personnes bénéficie d’un meilleur soutien financier.

Apprenez-en plus