Melanoma

You are here: 

If melanoma spreads

Melanoma cancer cells have the potential to spread from the skin to other parts of the body where they can grow into new tumours. This process is called metastasis. The tumours are also called metastasis (singular) or metastases (plural).

Understanding the usual progression of cancer helps the doctor to predict its probable course, plan treatment and anticipate further care.

In general, melanomas have 2 growth phases: radial and vertical. During the radial growth phase, malignant cells grow in an outward fashion, spreading across the epidermis. After time, most melanomas progress to the vertical growth phase, in which the malignant cells invade the dermis and develop the ability to spread or metastasize.

The majority of first metastases are local or regional sites, including regional lymph nodes. The most common distant sites where melanoma spreads are:

  • lung
  • liver
  • distant areas of the skin
  • brain
  • gastrointestinal tract
  • bone
  • adrenal gland

Stories

Dr Xiaoyan Jiang Dr Xiaoyan Jiang found a way to predict how a type of leukemia will respond to treatment.

Learn more

Clinical trial discovery improves quality of life

Illustration of test tubes

A clinical trial led by the Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials group found that men with prostate cancer who are treated with intermittent courses of hormone therapy live as long as those receiving continuous therapy.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Mélanome

Vous êtes ici:

Si le mélanome se propage

Les cellules du mélanome ont la capacité de se propager à partir de la peau vers d’autres parties du corps où elles peuvent former de nouvelles tumeurs. Ce processus porte le nom de métastase. Les nouvelles tumeurs sont aussi appelées métastase (au singulier, s'il n'y en a qu'une seule) ou métastases (au pluriel, s'il y en a plusieurs).

Comprendre comment progresse habituellement le cancer aide le médecin à prévoir son évolution probable et à planifier le traitement ainsi que les soins futurs.

En général, le mélanome suit 2 phases de croissance, soit radiale et verticale. Lors de la phase de croissance radiale, les cellules malignes se développent vers l’extérieur, à l’horizontale, se propageant dans l’épiderme. Après un certain temps, la plupart des mélanomes passent à la phase de croissance verticale, c’est-à-dire que les cellules malignes envahissent le derme et acquièrent la capacité de se propager (métastases).

La plupart des premières métastases se forment dans des sites locaux ou régionaux, dont les ganglions lymphatiques régionaux. Le mélanome se propage le plus couramment vers les emplacements éloignés suivants :

  • poumons
  • foie
  • surface de peau éloignées de la tumeur
  • cerveau
  • tube digestif
  • os
  • glande surrénale

Histoires

Tuli Chowdhury J’encourage tout le monde à faire du bénévolat pour la Société canadienne du cancer, et en particulier les jeunes, de poursuivre l’adolescente.

Lisez l’histoire de Tuli

Un coup de pouce pour les familles

Illustration d’une foule

La Société canadienne du cancer aide à défrayer les familles qui ont à assumer des coûts liés au traitement d’un enfant atteint de cancer.

Apprenez-en plus