Rhabdomyosarcoma

You are here: 

Stages of rhabdomyosarcoma

Staging describes or classifies a cancer based on how much cancer there is in the body and where it is when first diagnosed. This is often called the extent of cancer. Information from tests is used to find out where the tumour started, the size of the tumour, which parts of the organ have cancer, whether the cancer has spread from where it first started and where the cancer has spread.

Your healthcare team uses the stage to plan treatment and estimate the outcome (your prognosis). The stage also depends on where the tumour started and whether it’s favourable or unfavourable. The healthcare team also look at other factors like the clinical group and the risk group.

When describing the stage, doctors may use the words localized or metastatic. Localized means that the cancer is only in the area where it started or close to it, including in nearby lymph nodes. Metastatic means in a part of the body farther from the area where the cancer started.

A common staging system for rhabdomyosarcoma is the TNM system. For rhabdomyosarcoma there are 4 stages. Often the stages 1 to 4 are written as the Roman numerals I, II, III and IV. Generally, the higher the stage number, the more the cancer has spread. Talk to your doctor if you have questions about staging.

Find out more about staging cancer.

Where the tumour started

Where the tumour started is also called the site of the primary tumour. Doctors describe it as favourable or unfavourable. Favourable sites have a better (more favourable) prognosis. Unfavourable sites have a poorer (less favourable) prognosis.

Favourable sites include the:

  • area around the eye (called the orbit)
  • eyelid
  • head and neck areas but not areas near the meninges (also called non-parameningeal sites)
  • ovaries, fallopian tubes, uterus, cervix, vagina, area next to the testicles (paratesticular), penis, ureters and urethra

Unfavourable sites include all other sites, such as the:

  • bladder
  • prostate
  • muscles in an arm or leg
  • area around the skull (cranium)
  • head and neck areas close to the meninges (parameningeal), including the nasal passages, paranasal sinuses, middle ear and back of the upper throat
  • muscles in the central part of the body (trunk)
  • back of the abdomen (retroperitoneum)

Stage 1

The cancer is in a favourable site. It has not spread to a part of a body farther from where it started.

Stage 2

The cancer is in an unfavourable site. The tumour is 5 cm or smaller. It may have grown into surrounding areas.

Stage 3

The cancer is in an unfavourable site. The tumour is 5 cm or smaller. It may have grown into surrounding areas. The cancer has spread to nearby lymph nodes.

Or the cancer is in an unfavourable site. The tumour is larger than 5 cm. It may have grown into surrounding areas. The cancer may have spread to nearby lymph nodes.

Stage 4

The cancer is in any site. It has spread to other parts of the body (called distant metastasis). This is also called metastatic cancer.

Recurrent rhabdomyosarcoma

Recurrent rhabdomyosarcoma means that the cancer has come back after it has been treated. If it comes back in the same place that the cancer first started, it’s called local recurrence. If it comes back in tissues or lymph nodes close to where it first started, it’s called regional recurrence. It can also recur in another part of the body. This is called distant metastasis or distant recurrence.

Clinical groups

Clinical groups are assigned after surgery based on whether the cancer has spread and how much of the cancer was removed during surgery. The groups are assigned according to the Intergroup Rhabdomyosarcoma Study group system. Each group is given a number from 1 to 4. Generally, the higher the number, the more the cancer has spread.

Group 1

The tumour is localized. It was completely removed with surgery.

Group 2

The tumour is localized. It was removed with surgery, but cancer cells were found at the margin between the cancer and the surrounding healthy local tissue that was removed with the tumour, nearby lymph nodes or both.

Group 3

The tumour wasn’t completely removed with surgery. The cancer may have spread to nearby lymph nodes but not distant organs.

Group 4

The cancer has spread to other parts of the body, such as the lungs, the liver, the bones, the bone marrow, distant muscles or distant lymph nodes.

Risk groups

Risk groups help the doctor estimate the outcome and plan the best treatment for children diagnosed with rhabdomyosarcoma. These risk groups are assigned by the Soft Tissue Sarcoma Committee of the Children’s Oncology Group.

Risk groupType of rhabdomyosarcomaStageClinical group

low

embryonal

1

1, 2 or 3

2 or 3

1 or 2

intermediate

embryonal

2 or 3

3

alveolar

1, 2 or 3

1, 2 or 3

high

embryonal or alveolar

4

4

meninges

The membranes that cover and protect the brain and spinal cord.

The meninges are made up of 3 layers. The outer layer is called the dura mater. The middle layer is called the arachnoid mater. The inner layer is called the pia mater. Together, the arachnoid mater and pia mater are called the leptomeninges.

Meninges is the plural of meninx.

Stories

Dr Jessie Lee-McIsaac Preventing cancer through healthy living school policies

Read more

Reducing the burden of cancer

Icon - hand with dollar sign floating above it

Canadians can help CCS fund the best research and support people living with cancer by donating and volunteering.

Learn more

Rhabdomyosarcome

Vous êtes ici:

Stades du rhabdomyosarcome

La stadification décrit ou classe un cancer en fonction de la quantité de cancer présente dans le corps et de son emplacement lors du diagnostic initial. C’est ce qu’on appelle souvent l’étendue du cancer. On se sert de l’information révélée par les examens pour savoir où la tumeur a pris naissance, quelle est la taille de la tumeur, quelles parties de l’organe sont atteintes par le cancer, si le cancer s’est propagé à partir de son lieu d’origine et où il s’est propagé.

Votre équipe de soins a recours au stade pour planifier votre traitement et prévoir l’issue (votre pronostic). Le stade dépend aussi de l’emplacement où la tumeur a pris naissance et du fait qu’il soit favorable ou défavorable. L’équipe de soins prend également d’autres facteurs en considération, comme le groupe clinique et la catégorie de risque.

Quand les médecins décrivent le stade, ils peuvent employer les mots local ou métastatique. Local signifie que le cancer se trouve seulement dans la région où il a pris naissance ou tout près, dont les ganglions lymphatiques voisins. Métastatique signifie dans une partie du corps plus éloignée de la région où le cancer a pris naissance.

Un système de stadification fréquemment employé pour le rhabdomyosarcome est la classification TNM. Dans le cas du rhabdomyosarcome, il y a 4 stades. Pour les stades 1 à 4, on utilise souvent les chiffres romains I, II, III et IV. Mais dans le but de rendre le texte plus clair, nous emploierons les chiffres arabes 1, 2, 3 et 4. En général, plus le numéro du stade est élevé, plus le cancer s’est propagé. Parlez à votre médecin si vous vous posez des questions sur la stadification.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la stadification du cancer.

Où la tumeur a pris naissance

L’emplacement où la tumeur a pris naissance est aussi appelé siège de la tumeur primitive. Les médecins le décrivent comme étant favorable ou défavorable. Un siège favorable engendre un pronostic meilleur, ou plus favorable. Un siège défavorable engendre un pronostic sombre, ou moins favorable.

Les sièges favorables sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • région entourant l’œil (orbite)
  • paupière
  • régions de la tête et du cou sauf les régions situées près des méninges (aussi appelés sièges non paraméningés)
  • ovaires, trompes de Fallope, utérus, col de l’utérus, vagin, région à côté des testicules (paratesticulaire), pénis, uretères et urètre

Les sièges défavorables comprennent tous les autres sièges dont ceux-ci :

  • vessie
  • prostate
  • muscles du bras ou de la jambe
  • région entourant le crâne
  • régions de la tête et du cou situées près des méninges (paraméningées), dont les voies nasales, les sinus paranasaux, l’oreille moyenne et l’arrière de la partie supérieure de la gorge
  • muscles de la partie centrale du corps (tronc)
  • partie arrière de l’abdomen (rétropéritoine)

Stade 1

Le siège du cancer est favorable. Le cancer ne s’est pas propagé à une partie du corps plus éloignée de son lieu d’origine.

Stade 2

Le siège du cancer est défavorable. La tumeur mesure 5 cm ou moins. Elle peut avoir envahi les régions voisines.

Stade 3

Le siège du cancer est défavorable. La tumeur mesure 5 cm ou moins. Elle peut avoir envahi les régions voisines. Le cancer s’est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins.

OU

Le siège du cancer est défavorable. La tumeur mesure plus de 5 cm. Elle peut avoir envahi les régions voisines. Le cancer peut s’être propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins.

Stade 4

Le cancer est dans n’importe quel siège. Il s’est propagé à d’autres parties du corps (métastases à distance). On parle aussi de cancer métastatique.

Récidive de rhabdomyosarcome

La récidive d'un rhabdomyosarcome signifie que le cancer réapparaît à la suite du traitement. S’il réapparaît à l’endroit où il a d’abord pris naissance, on parle de récidive locale. S’il réapparaît dans des tissus ou des ganglions lymphatiques situés près de l’endroit où il a d’abord pris naissance, on parle de récidive régionale. Il peut aussi réapparaître dans une autre partie du corps : on parle alors de récidive ou de métastase à distance.

Groupes cliniques

On assigne un groupe clinique après la chirurgie en fonction de la propagation du cancer et de la quantité de cancer enlevée lors de l’opération. On classe chaque groupe selon le système de l’Intergroup Rhabdomyosarcoma Study (IRS). On assigne un numéro de 1 à 4 à chaque groupe. En général, plus le numéro est élevé, plus le cancer s’est propagé.

Groupe 1

La tumeur est localisée. On l’a enlevée complètement par chirurgie.

Groupe 2

La tumeur est localisée. On l’a enlevée par chirurgie, mais on a observé des cellules cancéreuses dans la marge située entre le cancer et le tissu local sain tout autour qu’on a enlevé avec la tumeur ou dans les ganglions lymphatiques voisins ou bien dans les deux.

Groupe 3

On n’a pas enlevé complètement la tumeur par chirurgie. Le cancer peut s’être propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins mais pas à des organes éloignés de la tumeur.

Groupe 4

Le cancer s’est propagé à d’autres parties du corps, comme les poumons, le foie, les os, la moelle osseuse ainsi que des muscles ou des ganglions lymphatiques éloignés de la tumeur.

Catégories de risque

Les catégories de risque aident le médecin à établir l’issue et à planifier le meilleur traitement qui soit pour les enfants ayant reçu un diagnostic de rhabdomyosarcome. Ces catégories de risque sont assignées par le Soft Tissue Sarcoma Committee of the Children's Oncology Group.

Catégorie de risqueType de rhabdomyosarcomeStadeGroupe clinique

Faible

embryonnaire

1

1, 2, ou 3

embryonnaire

2 ou 3

1 ou 2

Moyen

embryonnaire

2 ou 3

3

alvéolaire

1, 2 ou 3

1, 2, ou 3

Élevé

embryonnaire ou alvéolaire

4

4

méninge

Chacune des membranes qui recouvrent et protègent l’encéphale et la moelle épinière.

Les 3 couches des méninges sont la dure-mère, l’arachnoïde et la pie-mère. Le mot leptoméninges se rapporte à l’ensemble constitué de l’arachnoïde et de la pie-mère.

Histoires

Lisa Hamel Je suis la preuve qu’il est possible de mener une vie normale après le cancer.

Lisez l’histoire de Lisa

Réduisez votre risque

Icône – silhouette en train de courir

Le plus récent rapport Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer montre que le cancer est la première cause de mortalité au Canada. Apprenez comment vous pouvez réduire votre risque.

Apprenez-en plus