Canadian Cancer Society logo

Rhabdomyosarcoma

You are here: 

Types of rhabdomyosarcoma

There are 2 main types of rhabdomyosarcoma.

Embryonal rhabdomyosarcoma

Embryonal rhabdomyosarcoma is the most common type of rhabdomyosarcoma diagnosed in children. It makes up about 50%–70% of all rhabdomyosarcomas diagnosed in children. It is more common in younger children and most commonly diagnosed in children under the age of 10 years.

Embryonal rhabdomyosarcoma can occur anywhere in the body but most commonly develops in the head and neck and in the organs of the reproductive system and urinary system.

Alveolar rhabdomyosarcoma

Alveolar rhabdomyosarcoma can occur more often in older children or teens. About 20% of all rhabdomyosarcomas diagnosed in children are alveolar. Alveolar rhabdomyosarcoma can occur anywhere in the body but most commonly develops in the muscles of the arms and legs, muscles of the trunk of the body (chest and abdomen) and the area around the anus.

Rare types of rhabdomyosarcoma

Anaplastic rhabdomyosarcoma rarely occurs in children.

Sometimes doctors can’t tell the type of soft tissue sarcoma because the cells don’t look like a specific type of cell. This is called undifferentiated sarcoma. Doctors may group undifferentiated sarcomas with rhabdomyosarcoma.

Stories

Researcher Dr Miriam Rosin Dr Miriam Rosin’s research is helping describe the link between HPV and oral cancer.

Learn more

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Rhabdomyosarcome

Vous êtes ici:

Types de rhabdomyosarcome

Il existe 2 types principaux de rhabdomyosarcome.

Rhabdomyosarcome embryonnaire

Le rhabdomyosarcome embryonnaire est le type de rhabdomyosarcome le plus souvent diagnostiqué chez l’enfant. Il représente environ 50 à 70 % de tous les rhabdomyosarcomes diagnostiqués chez l’enfant. Il affecte davantage les jeunes enfants et est le plus souvent diagnostiqué chez les enfants âgés de moins de 10 ans.

Le rhabdomyosarcome embryonnaire peut apparaître n’importe où dans le corps, mais il le fait le plus souvent à la tête et au cou et dans les organes de l’appareil reproducteur et de l’appareil urinaire.

Rhabdomyosarcome alvéolaire

Le rhabdomyosarcome alvéolaire peut apparaître plus souvent chez les enfants plus âgés et les adolescents. Environ 20 % des rhabdomyosarcomes diagnostiqués chez l’enfant sont de type alvéolaire. Le rhabdomyosarcome alvéolaire peut apparaître n’importe où dans le corps, mais il le fait le plus souvent dans les muscles des bras et des jambes, du tronc (thorax et abdomen) et dans la région entourant l’anus.

Types rares de rhabdomyosarcome

Le rhabdomyosarcome anaplasique affecte rarement les enfants.

Il arrive parfois que les médecins ne sont pas en mesure d’établir le type de sarcome des tissus mous parce que les cellules ne ressemblent pas à un type cellulaire spécifique. C’est ce qu’on appelle un sarcome indifférencié. Les médecins peuvent regrouper les sarcomes indifférenciés dans la catégorie des rhabdomyosarcomes.

Histoires

Dr Marc Therrien Le Dr Marc Therrien s’emploie à bloquer une protéine impliquée dans le développement du cancer.

Plus de details

Un chez-soi loin de chez soi

Illustration d’une maison

La Société canadienne du cancer offre son hospitalité aux personnes atteintes de cancer qui doivent parcourir de longues distances pour recevoir leurs traitements.

Apprenez-en plus