Rhabdomyosarcoma

You are here: 

What is rhabdomyosarcoma?

Rhabdomyosarcoma starts in muscle cells or in tissues that are precursors to muscle cells. It is a cancerous (malignant) tumour that can invade, or grow into, and destroy nearby tissue. It can also spread, or metastasize, to other parts of the body.

Muscle is a type of soft tissue. Different types of soft tissues have different jobs. They give shape to and support the body. They also protect other body tissues and structures and hold them together. There are many different types of soft tissue throughout the body, including muscle, fat, tendons, ligaments and blood vessels.

Rhabdomyosarcoma is the most common type of soft tissue sarcoma that occurs in children. It is rare in adults.

Rhabdomyosarcoma can develop in any muscle in the body. The most common type of rhabdomyosarcoma is called embryonal rhabdomyosarcoma. It makes up 50%–70% of all rhabdomyosarcomas diagnosed in children.

Stories

Researcher Dr Jennifer Brunet Dr Jennifer Brunet’s research is helping breast cancer survivors be more active.

Learn more

Funding lifesaving clinical trials

Illustration of science instruments

The Canadian Cancer Society is funding lifesaving clinical trials that give people with cancer access to the newest types of treatment.

Learn more

Rhabdomyosarcome

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le rhabdomyosarcome?

Le rhabdomyosarcome prend naissance dans les cellules musculaires ou dans les tissus qui sont des précurseurs des cellules musculaires. C’est une tumeur cancéreuse (maligne) qui peut envahir et détruire le tissu voisin. Il peut aussi se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Le muscle est une sorte de tissu mou. Les différents types de tissus mous accomplissent des fonctions variées. Ils déterminent la forme du corps et lui apportent du soutien. Ils protègent aussi d’autres structures et tissus du corps en les maintenant ensemble. On retrouve beaucoup de sortes différentes de tissus mous dans tout le corps, comme le tissu graisseux, les muscles, les tendons, les ligaments et les vaisseaux sanguins.

Le rhabdomyosarcome est le type le plus courant de sarcome des tissus mous chez l’enfant. Il apparaît rarement chez l’adulte.

Le rhabdomyosarcome peut prendre naissance dans n’importe quel muscle du corps. Le type le plus fréquent est le rhabdomyosarcome embryonnaire. Il représente de 50 à 70 % de tous les rhabdomyosarcomes diagnostiqués chez l’enfant.

Histoires

Dr Connie Eaves Suivre la croissance des cellules souches

Un chez-soi loin de chez soi

Illustration d’une maison

La Société canadienne du cancer offre son hospitalité aux personnes atteintes de cancer qui doivent parcourir de longues distances pour recevoir leurs traitements.

Apprenez-en plus