Canadian Cancer Society logo

Prostate cancer

You are here: 

Precancerous conditions of the prostate

Precancerous conditions of the prostate have the potential to develop into prostate cancer. With a precancerous condition, abnormal changes have taken place in the cells of the prostate. Some of these abnormal changes may turn into prostate cancer.

The most common precancerous conditions of the prostate are:

  • prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (PIN)
  • proliferative inflammatory atrophy (PIA)
  • atypical small acinar proliferation (ASAP)

Prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (PIN)

The well recognized precancerous condition of the prostate is prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (PIN). It may occur in several different areas of the prostate at the same time (multifocal). PIN is often found in the peripheral zone of the prostate, where most prostate cancers are also found. PIN may be either low or high gradegradeA description of a tumour that includes how different the cancer cells look from normal cells (differentiation), how quickly the cancer cells are growing and dividing, and how likely they are to spread.. Only high-grade PIN is considered a precancerous condition.

Not all high-grade PIN sites will advance to prostate cancer during a man's lifetime. It is difficult to predict in an individual man if PIN will progress to cancer. It may take more than 10 years for PIN to progress to prostate cancer.

Risk factors

The risk factors for developing PIN are thought to be the same as those for developing prostate cancer. PIN is found more frequently in men older than 50 years of age.

Signs and symptoms

PIN does not cause any signs or symptoms.

Diagnosis

Diagnostic tests are not done for PIN. It is found when a biopsy sample is examined by a pathologist after a man has had a transrectal ultrasound guided biopsy of the prostate. A biopsy is ordered if the doctor suspects prostate cancer.

Treatment

PIN is usually not treated unless it progresses to cancer. Not all men with PIN will develop prostate cancer.

If multiple sites of high-grade PIN are found on a repeat biopsy, then treatment may be considered. Treatment with 5-alpha-reductase inhibitors, anti-androgens or selective estrogen receptor modulators (SERMs) may be used as a form of prostate cancer prevention. These drugs may reverse high-grade PIN, possibly reducing the risk of prostate cancer, but this has not been shown.

Follow-up

Men who have been diagnosed with high-grade PIN are followed closely to watch for evidence of prostate cancer. Any new symptoms or symptoms that don't go away should be reported to the doctor without waiting for the next scheduled appointment. Follow-up visits will usually be scheduled every 6 months, for at least 2 years.

Follow-up visits usually include:

  • complete physical examination, including a digital rectal examination (DRE)
  • prostate-specific antigen (PSA) test
  • biopsy
    • Follow-up biopsies are not usually done on a regular basis.
    • The urologist will order another biopsy if there is any suspicion of cancer.

If prostate cancer is found during follow-up for PIN, the specialist (urologist) will discuss the treatment options with the man.

Proliferative inflammatory atrophy (PIA)

PIA is characterized by abnormal epithelial cells that are dividing more rapidly in areas of chronic inflammation. Areas of the prostate with PIA changes are 20% more likely to develop prostate cancer. Some studies suggest that PIA is an early change that may later develop into prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (PIN) or prostate cancer.

Atypical small acinar proliferation (ASAP)

ASAP is abnormal growth of gland cells that can change into prostate cancer. In men with ASAP, the likelihood of finding prostate cancer in a future biopsy sample is about 40–50%.

Stories

 Bree Garnier at Relay For Life I think the hope is that it creates awareness – that others see Bree as someone who is making a difference.

Read Bree's story

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer de la
prostate

Vous êtes ici:

États précancéreux de la prostate

Les états précancéreux de la prostate pourraient se transformer en cancer de la prostate. Un état précancéreux se caractérise par des changements anormaux dans les cellules de la prostate dont certains peuvent devenir cancéreux.

Les états précancéreux de la prostate les plus courants sont les suivants :

  • néoplasie intra-épithéliale de la prostate (NIP)
  • atrophie inflammatoire proliférative (AIP)
  • petite prolifération acinaire atypique (ASAP)

Néoplasie intra-épithéliale de la prostate (NIP)

La néoplasie intra-épithéliale de la prostate (NIP) est un état précancéreux de la prostate bien reconnu. Elle peut survenir au même moment dans plusieurs endroits différents de la prostate (multifocale). La NIP se manifeste souvent dans la zone périphérique de la prostate, endroit où on observe la plupart des cancers de la prostate. La NIP peut être de bas ou de haut gradegradeDescription d’une tumeur qui indique jusqu’à quel point les cellules cancéreuses diffèrent des cellules normales en apparence (différenciation), à quelle vitesse elles se développent et se divisent et quelle est leur tendance à se propager.. Seule la NIP de haut grade est considérée comme un état précancéreux.

Ce ne sont pas toutes les NIP de haut grade qui se transforment en cancer de la prostate au cours de la vie d’un homme. Il est difficile de prédire pour un homme si la NIP deviendra cancéreuse. Cela peut prendre plus de 10 ans pour qu’une NIP se transforme en cancer de la prostate.

Facteurs de risque

On croit que les facteurs de risque de la NIP sont les mêmes que ceux du cancer de la prostate. La NIP survient plus souvent chez les hommes âgés de plus de 50 ans.

Signes et symptômes

La NIP n’entraîne aucun signe ou symptôme.

Diagnostic

On n’effectue pas d’épreuves diagnostiques pour la NIP. On la détecte lorsqu’un pathologiste examine un prélèvement biopsique après qu’un homme a subi une biopsie guidée par échographie transrectale. Le médecin demandera une biopsie s’il soupçonne la présence d’un cancer de la prostate.

Traitement

On n’administre habituellement pas de traitement pour la NIP à moins qu’elle se transforme en cancer. Les hommes atteints d’une NIP n’auront pas tous un cancer de la prostate.

Lorsqu’on détecte une NIP de haut grade à plusieurs emplacements lors d’une biopsie, on étudie alors la possibilité d’administrer un traitement. On peut avoir recours à un traitement à base d’inhibiteurs de la 5-alpha-réductase, d’anti-androgènes ou de modulateurs sélectifs des récepteurs oestrogéniques (SERM) comme forme de prévention du cancer de la prostate. Ces médicaments pourraient renverser la NIP de haut grade et ainsi réduire le risque de cancer de la prostate, mais cela n’a pas été démontré.

Suivi

Les hommes qui ont reçu un diagnostic de NIP de haut grade sont suivis très attentivement afin de déceler tout signe d’apparition du cancer de la prostate. Tout symptôme nouveau ou persistant doit être mentionné immédiatement au médecin, sans attendre le prochain rendez-vous. Les visites de suivi ont habituellement lieu tous les 6 mois pendant au moins 2 ans.

Les visites de suivi comprennent habituellement :

  • examen physique complet, incluant un toucher rectal (TR)
  • test de l’antigène prostatique spécifique (APS)
  • biopsie
    • On ne pratique habituellement pas de biopsie de suivi sur une base régulière.
    • L’urologue prescrira une autre biopsie s’il soupçonne la présence d’un cancer.

Si on détecte un cancer de la prostate au cours d’une visite de suivi pour une NIP, le spécialiste (urologue) discutera des options de traitement avec l’homme atteint.

Atrophie inflammatoire proliférative (AIP)

L’AIP se caractérise par une division accélérée de cellules épithéliales anormales dans des zones d’inflammation chronique. Le risque d’apparition d’un cancer de la prostate est 20 % plus élevé dans les zones de la prostate touchées par une AIP. Certaines études suggèrent qu’une AIP est une transformation qui peut devenir une néoplasie intra-épithéliale de la prostate (NIP) ou un cancer de la prostate.

Petite prolifération acinaire atypique (ASAP)

L’ASAP est une croissance anormale de cellules glandulaires qui peut se transformer en cancer de la prostate. Chez les hommes qui présentent une ASAP, le risque de découvrir un cancer de la prostate au cours d’une biopsie est d’environ 40 à 50 %.

Histoires

Dre Christine Friedenreich Prévenir le cancer par l’activité physique

Plus de details

Un chez-soi loin de chez soi

Illustration d’une maison

La Société canadienne du cancer offre son hospitalité aux personnes atteintes de cancer qui doivent parcourir de longues distances pour recevoir leurs traitements.

Apprenez-en plus