Canadian Cancer Society logo

Prostate cancer

You are here: 

Malignant tumours of the prostate

Malignant tumours of the prostate are cancerous growths that have the potential to spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.


Gland cells in the prostate produce the prostatic fluid that is part of semen. More than 95% of prostate cancers develop from these gland cells and are called adenocarcinomas. Most adenocarcinomas are found in the peripheral zone of the prostate and may be felt during a digital rectal examination (DRE).

Adenocarcinomas are most commonly found in more than one site (multifocal) in the prostate. The gradegradeA description of a tumour that includes how different the cancer cells look from normal cells (differentiation), how quickly the cancer cells are growing and dividing, and how likely they are to spread. can vary in each site.

Rare prostate tumours

Other types of prostate cancer include:

  • transitional cell carcinoma
  • sarcoma
  • small cell (neuroendocrine) carcinoma
  • ductal carcinoma
  • mucinous carcinoma
  • large duct (endometrioid) carcinoma
  • primary lymphoma of the prostate

These rare types of prostate cancer make up less than 5% of all prostate cancers.


Dr Edward Chow A new standard for managing cancer pain

Read more

Clinical trial discovery improves quality of life

Illustration of test tubes

A clinical trial led by the Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials group found that men with prostate cancer who are treated with intermittent courses of hormone therapy live as long as those receiving continuous therapy.

Learn more

Cancer de la
prostate

Vous êtes ici:

Tumeurs malignes de la prostate

Une tumeur maligne de la prostate est une masse cancéreuse qui pourrait se propager (former des métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Adénocarcinome

Les cellules glandulaires de la prostate produisent la partie liquide du sperme. Plus de 95 % des cancers de la prostate prennent naissance dans les cellules glandulaires de la prostate; on les appelle adénocarcinomes. La majorité de ces adénocarcinomes sont situés dans la zone périphérique de la prostate et peuvent être palpés au cours d’un toucher rectal (TR).

Les adénocarcinomes apparaissent le plus souvent dans plus d’un endroit (multifocal) dans la prostate. Le gradegradeDescription d’une tumeur qui indique jusqu’à quel point les cellules cancéreuses diffèrent des cellules normales en apparence (différenciation), à quelle vitesse elles se développent et se divisent et quelle est leur tendance à se propager. peut varier à chacun de ces endroits.

Formes rares de cancer de la prostate

D’autres types de cancer de la prostate peuvent comprendre :

  • carcinome transitionnel
  • sarcome
  • carcinome à petites cellules (neuroendocrinien)
  • carcinome canalaire
  • carcinome mucineux
  • carcinome endométrioïde
  • lymphome primitif de la prostate

Ces formes rares de cancer de la prostate représentent moins de 5 % de tous les cancers de la prostate.

Histoires

Helen Storey Grâce aux fonds qu’elle a légués pour la recherche sur le cancer de l’ovaire, Helen Storey continue de veiller au mieux-être d’autrui.

Lisez l’histoire de Helen

Une célébration pour les survivants du cancer au Relais pour la vie

Illustration du Relais pour la vie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit une occasion en or de célébrer le courage des survivants du cancer dans la bataille contre la maladie. Lors des centaines d’événements du Relais pour la vie qui ont lieu d’un bout à l’autre du pays, des milliers de gens se réunissent pour effectuer le Tour des survivants.

Apprenez-en plus