Canadian Cancer Society logo

Prostate cancer

You are here: 

Gleason classification for prostate cancer

The most common grading system for prostate cancer is the Gleason classification system. It is used to describe how aggressive a prostate cancer tumour is, and how likely it is to spread. The Gleason classification is used only for adenocarcinoma, the most common type of prostate cancer.

The Gleason classification reflects how different the tumour tissue is from normal prostate tissue. It uses a scale from 1 to 5. The doctor gives the cancer a number based on the patterns and growth of the cancer cells. The lower the number, the more normal the cancer cells look and the lower the grade. The higher the number, the less normal the cancer cells look and the higher the grade. Grades 1 and 2 are not commonly used because the tumour tissue looks and acts like normal tissue. Most prostate tumours are grade 3 or higher.

GradeDescription

3

The cancer cells are well differentiated, which means they still form well-defined glands.

The cancer has grown into, or invaded, the surrounding prostate tissue.

The cancer is less aggressive and has a favourable prognosis.

4

The cancer cells are between grade 3 and grade 5

5

The cancer cells are poorly differentiated, which means they are very abnormal and don’t look and act like normal glands.

The cancer is more aggressive and has a less favourable prognosis.

To assign a Gleason score (also called Gleason sum), the pathologist looks at the biopsy sample of the tumour to find the 2 most common types of glandular growth patterns within the tumour. A grade from the scale is given to each of these 2 patterns. The 2 grades are added together to get the total Gleason score. For example, if the grade given to the most common growth pattern is 3 and the grade given to the second most common growth pattern is 4, the total Gleason score is 7.

The Gleason score is always between 6 and 10. Higher Gleason scores indicate more aggressive tumours. Most prostate cancer tumours are low and intermediate grades (Gleason score 6–7). Gleason scores below 6 are not usually given because it is difficult for the pathologist to determine with certainty that the lowest grade tumours are in fact cancer.

Stories

photo of Cheryl Let no one else have to hear those 3 words: ‘You have cancer.’

Read Cheryl-lyn's story

Help for smokers trying to quit

Illustration of no smoking symbol

It’s okay to need help to quit smoking. The Canadian Cancer Society is here to support people who are ready to quit and even those people who aren’t ready.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer de la
prostate

Vous êtes ici:

Classification de Gleason pour le cancer de la prostate

Le système de classification histologique le plus couramment utilisé pour le cancer de la prostate est la classification de Gleason. Elle sert à décrire le degré d’agressivité d’une tumeur cancéreuse de la prostate et à évaluer la probabilité qu’elle se propage. On a recours à la classification de Gleason seulement pour les adénocarcinomes, type de tumeur de la prostate le plus fréquent.

La classification de Gleason reflète jusqu’à quel point le tissu de la tumeur diffère du tissu normal de la prostate. Elle se base sur une échelle de 1 à 5. Le médecin assigne un nombre au cancer en fonction de l’aspect et de la croissance des cellules cancéreuses. Plus le nombre est bas, plus les cellules cancéreuses semblent normales et plus le grade est bas. Plus le nombre est élevé, moins les cellules cancéreuses semblent normales et plus le grade est haut. On n’a pas souvent recours aux grades 1 et 2 puisque le tissu de la tumeur ressemble à du tissu normal et agit comme lui. La plupart des tumeurs de la prostate sont de grade 3 ou plus.

GradeDescription

3

Les cellules cancéreuses sont bien différenciées, ce qui signifie que la glande est encore bien définie.

Le cancer a envahi le tissu prostatique voisin.

Le cancer est moins agressif et engendre un pronostic plus favorable.

4

Les cellules cancéreuses se classent entre le grade 3 et le grade 5.

5

Les cellules cancéreuses sont peu différenciées, ce qui signifie qu’elles sont très anormales et qu’elles ne ressemblent pas à celles d’une glande normale et qu’elles n’agissent pas comme elles.

Le cancer est plus agressif et engendre un pronostic moins favorable.

Pour attribuer une cote de Gleason (également appelée score de Gleason), le pathologiste observe un prélèvement biopsique de la tumeur au microscope afin d’identifier les 2 types de modèles de croissance glandulaire les plus courants dans la tumeur. Il assigne un nombre à chacun de ces 2 modèles. Il additionne ensuite les 2 nombres pour obtenir la cote de Gleason. Si, par exemple, le nombre assigné au modèle de croissance le plus courant est de 3 et que le nombre assigné au modèle de croissance qui arrive au deuxième rang est de 4, la cote de Gleason est de 7.

La cote de Gleason se situe toujours entre 6 et 10. Plus la cote est élevée, plus la tumeur est agressive. La plupart des tumeurs cancéreuses de la prostate sont de bas grade ou de grade intermédiaire (cote de Gleason de 6 ou 7). On n’attribue habituellement pas de cote inférieure à 6, car il est difficile pour le pathologiste de déterminer avec certitude qu’une tumeur de bas grade est cancéreuse.

Histoires

Dr Roger Zemp Le Dr Roger Zemp a conçu une technique innovatrice de suivi des cellules cancéreuses.

Plus de details

Accès aux services offerts dans votre communauté

Illustration de maisons côte à côte

Le répertoire de services à la communauté de la Société canadienne du cancer aide les personnes atteintes de cancer et leurs familles à trouver les services et programmes disponibles dans leur communauté.

Apprenez-en plus