Prostate cancer

You are here: 

Diagnosis of prostate cancer

Diagnosis is the process of finding out the cause of a health problem. Diagnosing prostate cancer usually begins with a visit to your family doctor. Your doctor will ask you about any symptoms you have and do a physical exam. Based on this information, your doctor may refer you to a specialist (called a urologist) or order tests to check for prostate cancer or other health problems.

The process of diagnosis may seem long and frustrating. It’s normal to worry, but try to remember that other health conditions can cause the same symptoms as prostate cancer. It’s important for the healthcare team to rule out other reasons for a health problem before making a diagnosis of prostate cancer.

The following tests are usually used to rule out or diagnose prostate cancer. Many of the same tests used to diagnose cancer are used to find out the stage (how far the cancer has progressed). Your doctor may also order other tests to check your general health and to help plan your treatment.

Health history and physical exam

Your health history is a record of your symptoms, risk factors and all the medical events and problems you have had in the past.

Your doctor will ask questions about your history of symptoms that suggest prostate cancer, such as changes in bladder habits.

Your doctor may also ask about a family history of:

  • prostate cancer
  • risk factors for prostate cancer
  • other cancers

Your doctor will also do a physical exam to look for any signs of prostate cancer. During a physical exam, your doctor may:

  • do a digital rectal exam (DRE) to check the size and shape of the prostate and feel for any lumps or abnormal areas
  • check other areas of your body, including the abdomen

Find out more about physical exams and the digital rectal exam (DRE).

Prostate-specific antigen (PSA) test

The PSA test is used to measure the level of PSA in the blood. PSA is a protein made by the prostate. When the PSA level is higher than normal, it may mean that a man has prostate cancer. For this reason, PSA is also a tumour marker.

PSA levels may also be high in men with non-cancerous conditions of the prostate, such as benign prostatic hyperplasia or prostatitis.

If you’ve been diagnosed with prostate cancer, your healthcare team will use the PSA test to measure your response to treatment or to check for signs that the cancer has come back (recurred) after treatment.

Find out more about the prostate-specific antigen (PSA) test.

Transrectal ultrasound (TRUS)

An ultrasound uses high-frequency sound waves to make images of structures in the body. A transrectal ultrasound (TRUS) uses an ultrasound probe placed in the rectum to make images of the prostate. It is used to:

  • guide a needle used to take tissue from the prostate during a biopsy
  • measure the size of the prostate
  • look for abnormal areas of the prostate

Find out more about a transrectal ultrasound (TRUS).

Biopsy

During a biopsy, the doctor removes tissues or cells from the body so they can be tested in a pathology lab. The report from the pathologist will confirm whether or not cancer cells are present in the sample.

Prostate biopsy

A prostate biopsy may be done if the doctor finds an abnormal area during a digital rectal exam (DRE) or transrectal ultrasound (TRUS). It may also be done if the PSA level is higher than normal or has gone up over time.

The type of biopsy used is called a core biopsy because the doctor uses a thin, hollow needle or probe to collect tissue samples (called cores). In most cases the doctor takes 10 to 12 samples (called cores) from several areas of the prostate, including any abnormal areas. Collecting the samples can cause some discomfort, so the doctor may inject an anesthetic into the prostate before doing the biopsy. Find out more about core biopsies.

Doctors use imaging tests to help them guide the needle into the prostate gland. Most prostate biopsies are done using TRUS, but sometimes an MRI is used. They can collect samples from the prostate through the wall of the rectum, the perineum or the urethra.

Men who have a prostate biopsy will be given antibiotics to prevent an infection (called prophylactic antibiotics) since there is a greater risk of infection with this type of biopsy.

Transrectal biopsy uses TRUS to guide the needle through the wall of the rectum and into the prostate.

Transperineal biopsy uses TRUS to guide the needle through the skin of the perineum (the area between the scrotum and the rectum). This technique is sometimes used when the rectum and anus have been removed. A transperineal biopsy may also be used if the PSA level continues to rise and a transrectal biopsy didn’t show any signs of prostate cancer (it showed a negative biopsy result).

 

The samples collected during a prostate biopsy are sent to the lab. The pathology report will say if cancer cells are in the sample. If there is cancer, the pathologist will also give a Gleason score (grade) of prostate cancer. The Gleason score describes how fast the prostate tumour is growing and how likely it is the cancer will spread.

Transurethral biopsy uses a cystoscope (a tube-like instrument with a light and tiny video camera) passed through the urethra to reach the prostate. The doctor collects samples with tools passed through the cystoscope. A transurethral biopsy is not usually used to diagnose prostate cancer.

Other biopsies

The following biopsies may be used to find out if cancer has spread to lymph nodes or other areas of the body outside of the prostate.

Laparoscopic biopsy uses a laparoscope, which is a thin, tube-like instrument with a light and tiny video camera. The doctor makes a small incision (surgical cut), in the abdomen to insert the laparoscope. The doctor uses a special tool on the laparoscope to remove samples or abnormal tissue from inside the abdomen or pelvis. A laparoscopic biopsy can also be used to remove lymph nodes in the pelvis so they can be checked for cancer.

Fine needle aspiration (FNA) uses a very thin needle and syringe to remove a small amount of fluid or cells. Doctors may use FNA to collect samples from lymph nodes around the prostate. Sometimes they use a CT scan to guide the biopsy needle. Find out more about a fine needle aspiration (FNA).

Complete blood count (CBC)

A CBC measures the number and quality of white blood cells, red blood cells and platelets. It is done to check your general health and for signs of infection.

Find out more about a complete blood count (CBC).

Blood chemistry tests

Blood chemistry tests measure certain chemicals in the blood. They show how well certain organs or parts of the body are working. Blood chemistry tests that can help stage prostate cancer include the following.

Blood urea nitrogen (BUN) and serum creatinine are measured to check kidney function. If they are higher than normal, it may mean that the prostate is blocking the tubes that carry urine from the kidneys to the bladder (called the ureters).

Calcium and alkaline phosphatase levels in the blood may be measured. Higher than normal levels may mean that prostate cancer has spread to the bones and damaged them.

Find out more about blood chemistry tests.

MRI

Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) uses powerful magnetic forces and radiofrequency waves to make cross-sectional images of organs, tissues, bones and blood vessels. A computer turns the images into 3-D pictures. Sometimes a dye (called a contrast medium) is injected into a vein before the MRI. The dye helps structures in the body show up better in the images.

Sometimes the images from MRI and TRUS are digitally combined to help identify men who are at risk of developing more aggressive disease.

An MRI is used to:

  • look for cancer in the front of the prostate that may be missed with other tests
  • look for prostate cancer when the doctor thinks it might be present but it isn’t found with a biopsy
  • measure the size of the prostate or a tumour in the prostate
  • plan radiation therapy to treat prostate cancer
  • guide the needle during a prostate biopsy

An MRI can also be used to see if cancer has spread outside of the prostate, such as to lymph nodes in the pelvis. This may be done for men who have higher than normal PSA levels, an abnormal area that was felt during a DRE and a high Gleason score because these factors mean the cancer is more likely to have spread.

The following specialized types of MRI may be used to diagnose prostate cancer.

Multiparametric MRI uses several different types of MRI tests (called MRI sequences) that show different details on the MRI image. While a standard MRI can find a tumour in the prostate, a multiparametric MRI gives more details about the exact location of the tumour, how aggressive it is and whether or not it has spread outside of the prostate. A multiparametric MRI can also help a doctor better target an abnormal area during a prostate biopsy when an MRI is used. It can also help doctors decide which men with prostate cancer should be treated right away and which men may benefit most from active surveillance.

MRI using an endorectal coil uses a thin wire surrounded by a small, inflated balloon that is placed inside the rectum. This type of MRI is sometimes used to get a better image of the prostate than a standard MRI. You may be given a mild sedative or a muscle relaxant to help make you more comfortable if you have an MRI using an endorectal coil.

Find out more about MRIs.

Bone scan

A bone scan uses bone-seeking radioactive materials (called radiopharmaceuticals) and a computer to create a picture of the bones. It is used to look for prostate cancer that has spread to the bones. Doctors don’t usually do a bone scan if you have a low PSA level, a normal DRE and a low Gleason score because these factors mean that the cancer is very unlikely to spread outside the prostate.

A bone scan is also used to monitor response to treatment in men with metastatic prostate cancer.

Find out more about bone scans.

CT scan

A computed tomography (CT) scan uses special x-ray equipment to make 3-D and cross-sectional images of organs, tissues, bones and blood vessels inside the body. A computer turns the images into detailed pictures. Sometimes a dye (called a contrast medium) is given by mouth or injected into a vein before the CT scan. The dye can help the doctor see structures of the body better.

A CT scan can be used to look for cancer that has spread outside of the prostate, such as to the chest, abdomen or pelvis. Doctors don’t usually do a CT scan to look for cancer spread if you have a low PSA level, a normal DRE and a low Gleason score because these factors mean that the cancer is less likely to have spread outside of the prostate. A CT scan can also be used to guide a needle during a biopsy of lymph nodes near the prostate.

Find out more about CT scans.

Questions to ask your healthcare team

Find out more about a diagnosis. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about a diagnosis.

pathology

The study of disease, including causes, development and effects on the body.

The symptoms, processes or conditions of a disease.

A doctor who specializes in the causes and nature of disease is called a pathologist. Pathologists help determine diagnosis, prognosis and treatment by studying cells and tissues under a microscope and using laboratory tests.

Pathological means referring to or having to do with pathology. It can also refer to something related to or caused by a disease, as in pathological fracture.

anesthetic

A drug that causes anesthesia (the loss of some or all feeling or awareness).

General anesthetics put a person to sleep. Regional anesthetics cause a loss of feeling in a part of the body, such as an arm or leg, but the person does not lose awareness. Local anesthetics numb only a small area of the body.

active surveillance

Treatment that uses regular and frequent tests to closely watch a slow-growing cancer. The goal of active surveillance is to help keep a good quality of life while delaying other treatments that can cause side effects for as long as possible. When test results show that the cancer is getting worse, treatments such as surgery or chemotherapy are offered.

Stories

Dr Mani Larijani Studying a cancer-causing protein in 3-D

Read more

Investing to reduce cancer burden

Icon - piggy bank

Last year CCS funded $40 million in cancer research, thanks to our donors. Discover how you can help reduce the burden of cancer.

Learn more

Cancer de la
prostate

Vous êtes ici:

Diagnostic du cancer de la prostate

Le diagnostic est le processus qui vise à déterminer la cause d’un problème de santé. Le processus diagnostique du cancer de la prostate débute habituellement par une visite à votre médecin de famille. Votre médecin vous questionnera sur les symptômes que vous éprouvez et effectuera un examen physique. En se basant sur ces informations, il pourrait vous diriger vers un spécialiste (appelé urologue) ou vous prescrire des examens afin de vérifier la présence d’un cancer de la prostate ou d’autres problèmes de santé.

Le processus diagnostique peut sembler long et décourageant. C’est normal de s’inquiéter, mais essayez de ne pas oublier que d’autres affections médicales peuvent provoquer les mêmes symptômes que ceux du cancer de la prostate. Il est important que l’équipe de soins élimine toute autre cause possible du problème de santé avant de poser un diagnostic de cancer de la prostate.

On a généralement recours aux épreuves qui suivent pour éliminer ou confirmer un diagnostic de cancer de la prostate. De nombreux examens permettant de poser un diagnostic de cancer sont également employés pour en déterminer le stade (étendue de la progression de la maladie). Votre médecin pourrait aussi prescrire d’autres examens pour évaluer votre état de santé général et aider à planifier votre traitement.

Antécédents de santé et examen physique

Les antécédents de santé consistent en un bilan des symptômes, des facteurs de risque et de tous les événements et troubles médicaux qu’une personne a éprouvés dans le passé.

Votre médecin vous demandera si vous avez déjà éprouvé des symptômes pouvant indiquer la présence d’un cancer de la prostate, comme des changements des habitudes urinaires.

Il pourrait aussi vous poser des questions sur vos antécédents familiaux de :

  • cancer de la prostate
  • facteurs de risque du cancer de la prostate
  • autres cancers

Votre médecin fera également un examen physique pour déceler tout signe du cancer de la prostate. Lors de l’examen physique, il pourrait :

  • effectuer un toucher rectal (TR) pour vérifier la taille et la forme de la prostate et déceler toute masse ou région anormale
  • évaluer d’autres parties du corps, dont l’abdomen

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’examen physique et sur le toucher rectal (TR).

Test de l’antigène prostatique spécifique (APS)

Le test de l’antigène prostatique spécifique (APS) permet de mesurer le taux d’APS dans le sang. L’APS est une protéine produite par la prostate. Un taux d’APS supérieur à la normale peut signifier qu’un homme est atteint du cancer de la prostate. C’est pourquoi l’APS est considéré comme un marqueur tumoral.

Le taux d’APS peut aussi être élevé en présence d’une affection non cancéreuse de la prostate, comme l’hyperplasie bénigne de la prostate (HBP) ou la prostatite.

Si vous avez reçu un diagnostic de cancer de la prostate, votre équipe de soins aura recours au test de l’APS pour évaluer votre réaction au traitement ou pour vérifier si la maladie réapparaît (récidive) après le traitement.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le test de l’antigène prostatique spécifique (APS).

Échographie transrectale (ETR)

Lors d’une échographie, on emploie des ondes sonores de haute fréquence pour produire des images des structures du corps. Pendant une échographie transrectale (ETR), on insère une sonde ultrasonore dans le rectum pour produire des images de la prostate. On y a recours pour :

  • guider l’aiguille qui sert à prélever un échantillon de tissu lors d’une biopsie
  • mesurer la taille de la prostate
  • vérifier la présence de régions anormales dans la prostate

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’échographie transrectale (ETR).

Biopsie

Lors d’une biopsie, le médecin prélève des tissus ou des cellules du corps afin qu’ils soient analysés par un laboratoire de pathologie. Le rapport de pathologie issu du laboratoire confirmera la présence ou l’absence de cellules cancéreuses dans l’échantillon.

Biopsie de la prostate

On peut effectuer une biopsie de la prostate si le médecin détecte une région anormale lors d’un TR ou d’une ETR. On peut aussi y avoir recours si le taux d’APS est supérieur à la normale ou s’il a augmenté au fil du temps.

Le type de biopsie pratiqué porte le nom de biopsie par forage parce que le médecin se sert d’une aiguille mince et creuse ou d’une sonde pour prélever des échantillons de tissu (appelés carottes). Dans la plupart des cas, le médecin recueille entre 10 et 12 échantillons qu’il prélève dans plusieurs régions différentes de la prostate, y compris dans toutes les régions anormales. Le prélèvement des échantillons peut provoquer un certain inconfort, donc le médecin pourrait injecter un anesthésique dans la prostate avant de procéder à la biopsie. Apprenez-en davantage sur la biopsie par forage.

Les médecins emploient des examens d’imagerie pour les aider à diriger l’aiguille jusque dans la prostate. Pour la plupart des biopsies de la prostate, ils ont recours à l’ETR, mais ils utilisent parfois l’imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM). Ils peuvent prélever des échantillons de la prostate en passant par la paroi du rectum, le périnée ou l’urètre.

Les hommes qui subissent une biopsie de la prostate reçoivent des antibiotiques pour prévenir l’apparition d’une infection (antibiotiques prophylactiques), car ce type de biopsie est associé à un risque accru d’infection.

Lors d’une biopsie transrectale, on a recours à l’ETR pour guider l’aiguille à travers la paroi du rectum jusque dans la prostate.

Lors d’une biopsie transpérinéale, on emploie l’ETR pour guider l’aiguille à travers la peau du périnée (la région située entre le scrotum et le rectum). Cette technique est parfois utilisée lorsque le rectum et l’anus ont été enlevés. Elle peut aussi servir si le taux d’APS continue d’augmenter alors qu’une biopsie transrectale n’a révélé aucun signe de cancer de la prostate (les résultats de la biopsie étaient négatifs).

 

Les échantillons prélevés au cours d’une biopsie de la prostate sont envoyés à un laboratoire. Le rapport de pathologie issu du laboratoire confirmera s’ils contiennent des cellules cancéreuses. S’il y en a, le pathologiste attribuera une cote de Gleason (grade) au cancer de la prostate. La cote de Gleason décrit la vitesse à laquelle la tumeur se développe et la probabilité que le cancer se propage.

Lors d’une biopsie transurétrale, on insère un cystoscope (instrument semblable à un tube muni d’une source lumineuse et d’une toute petite caméra) dans l’urètre et on le fait circuler jusque dans la prostate. Le médecin prélève des échantillons à l’aide d’outils glissés dans le cystoscope. On n’emploie habituellement pas la biopsie transurétrale pour diagnostiquer le cancer de la prostate.

Autres biopsies

On peut avoir recours aux types de biopsie suivants pour déterminer si le cancer s’est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques ou à d’autres régions du corps situées à l’extérieur de la prostate.

Lors d’une biopsie par laparoscopie, on utilise un laparoscope, c’est-à-dire un instrument mince semblable à un tube muni d’une source lumineuse et d’une toute petite caméra. Le médecin pratique une petite coupure (incision chirurgicale) dans l’abdomen puis il y insère le laparoscope. Cet instrument possède un outil particulier que le médecin emploie pour prélever des échantillons ou retirer du tissu anormal dans l’abdomen ou le bassin. La biopsie par laparoscopie peut également servir à enlever des ganglions lymphatiques du bassin afin qu’on puisse vérifier s’ils sont atteints par le cancer.

Lors d’une biopsie à l’aiguille fine (BAF), on a recours à une aiguille très fine et à une seringue pour prélever une petite quantité de liquide ou de cellules. Les médecins peuvent effectuer une BAF pour recueillir des échantillons dans les ganglions lymphatiques entourant la prostate. Ils emploient parfois la tomodensitométrie (TDM) pour guider l’aiguille. Apprenez-en davantage sur la biopsie à l’aiguille fine (BAF).

Formule sanguine complète (FSC)

La formule sanguine complète (FSC) permet d’évaluer la quantité et la qualité des globules blancs, des globules rouges et des plaquettes. On fait une FSC pour évaluer votre état de santé général et pour vérifier la présence d’une infection.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la formule sanguine complète (FSC).

Analyses biochimiques sanguines

Lors des analyses biochimiques sanguines, on mesure le taux de certaines substances chimiques dans le sang. Elles permettent d’évaluer le fonctionnement de certains organes ou de certaines parties du corps. Pour établir le stade du cancer de la prostate, on peut effectuer les analyses biochimiques sanguines suivantes.

On mesure le taux d’azote uréique du sang et de créatinine sérique pour évaluer la fonction rénale. Si ces taux sont plus élevés que la normale, cela peut signifier que la prostate bloque les uretères (tubes par lesquels l’urine s’écoule des reins jusqu’à la vessie).

On pourrait mesurer les taux de calcium et de phosphatase alcaline dans le sang. Des taux supérieurs à la normale peuvent indiquer que le cancer s’est propagé aux os et qu’il les a endommagés.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les analyses biochimiques sanguines.

Imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM)

Lors d’une imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM), on a recours à de puissantes forces magnétiques et à des ondes radio-électriques pour produire des images en coupes des organes, tissus, os et vaisseaux sanguins du corps. Un ordinateur assemble les clichés en images à 3 dimensions. On injecte parfois un colorant (appelé produit de contraste) dans une veine avant l’épreuve. Ce colorant aide à faire ressortir les structures du corps sur les clichés produits.

Les images obtenues par IRM et par ETR sont parfois combinées numériquement afin de déterminer quels hommes risquent d’être atteints d’un cancer agressif.

On emploie l’IRM pour :

  • déceler la présence de cancer que d’autres examens n’auraient pas détecté dans la partie avant de la prostate
  • rechercher le cancer de la prostate lorsque le médecin soupçonne sa présence, mais que la biopsie ne permet pas de le détecter
  • mesurer la taille de la prostate ou d’une tumeur de la prostate
  • planifier une radiothérapie visant à traiter le cancer de la prostate
  • guider l’aiguille lors d’une biopsie de la prostate

On peut également effectuer une IRM pour vérifier si le cancer s’est propagé à l’extérieur de la prostate, notamment dans les ganglions lymphatiques du bassin. On y a recours chez les hommes dont le taux d’APS est supérieur à la normale, dont la cote de Gleason est élevée et chez qui on a tâté une région anormale lors d’un TR, car il s’agit là de facteurs indiquant que le cancer risque davantage de s’être propagé.

Les types d’IRM spécialisés suivants peuvent être employés pour diagnostiquer le cancer de la prostate.

L’IRM multiparamétrique utilise plusieurs types d’épreuves d’IRM (séquences d’IRM) montrant différents détails sur les images produites. L’IRM classique permet de détecter une tumeur dans la prostate, mais l’IRM multiparamétrique fournit davantage de détails sur son emplacement exact, son agressivité et sa propagation à l’extérieur de la prostate. L’IRM multiparamétrique peut aussi aider le médecin à mieux cibler une région anormale pendant une biopsie de la prostate. Elle aide également les médecins à déterminer quels hommes atteints de cancer de la prostate devraient être traités immédiatement et chez lesquels il serait le plus avantageux d’opter pour la surveillance active.

L’IRM avec antenne endorectale emploie une tige mince entourée d’un petit ballon gonflable et insérée dans le rectum. Ce type d’IRM est parfois utilisé pour obtenir de meilleures images de la prostate que l’IRM classique. Si vous subissez une IRM avec antenne endorectale, on pourrait vous administrer un sédatif léger ou un relaxant musculaire afin que vous soyez plus confortable.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM).

Scintigraphie osseuse

Lors d’une scintigraphie osseuse, on emploie des matières radioactives (produits radiopharmaceutiques) qui se fixent sur les os et un ordinateur pour créer une image des os. On y a recours pour déterminer si le cancer de la prostate s’est propagé aux os. Les médecins ne font habituellement pas de scintigraphie osseuse si le taux d’APS est faible, la cote de Gleason est peu élevée et les résultats du TR sont normaux, car ces facteurs signifient que le cancer risque très peu de s’être propagé à l’extérieur de la prostate.

La scintigraphie osseuse sert aussi à évaluer la réaction au traitement chez les hommes atteints d’un cancer de la prostate métastatique.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la scintigraphie osseuse.

Tomodensitométrie (TDM)

Lors d’une tomodensitométrie (TDM), on emploie des appareils radiographiques particuliers pour produire des images à 3 dimensions et en coupes des organes, tissus, os et vaisseaux sanguins du corps. Un ordinateur assemble les clichés en images détaillées. Un colorant (appelé produit de contraste) est parfois administré oralement (par la bouche) ou injecté dans une veine avant l’épreuve. Ce colorant aide le médecin à mieux voir les structures du corps.

On peut effectuer une TDM pour vérifier si le cancer s’est propagé à l’extérieur de la prostate, par exemple dans la poitrine, l’abdomen ou le bassin. Les médecins n’ont habituellement pas recours à la TDM pour évaluer la propagation du cancer si le taux d’APS est faible, la cote de Gleason est peu élevée et les résultats du TR sont normaux, car ces facteurs signifient que le cancer risque moins de s’être propagé à l’extérieur de la prostate. La TDM peut aussi servir à guider l’aiguille lors d’une biopsie des ganglions lymphatiques situés près de la prostate.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la tomodensitométrie (TDM).

Questions à poser à votre équipe de soins

Apprenez-en davantage sur le diagnostic. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur le diagnostic à votre équipe de soins.

pathologie

Étude des maladies, dont leurs causes, leur évolution et leurs effets sur le corps.

Symptômes, processus ou manifestations d’une maladie.

Un médecin spécialisé dans la détermination des causes et de la nature des maladies est appelé pathologiste. Le pathologiste aide à préciser le diagnostic, le pronostic et le traitement d’une maladie en étudiant au microscope les cellules et les tissus prélevés et en faisant des tests de laboratoire.

Le terme pathologique désigne tout ce qui est relatif à la pathologie. Il peut aussi se rapporter à quelque chose qui est lié à une maladie ou causé par une maladie, comme une fracture pathologique.

anesthésique

Médicament qui cause l’anesthésie (perte partielle ou totale de sensation ou de conscience).

L’anesthésique général provoque le sommeil. L’anesthésique régional cause une perte de sensation dans une partie du corps, comme un bras ou une jambe, mais la personne reste consciente. L’anesthésique local engourdit seulement une petite région du corps.

surveillance active

Traitement constitué de tests qu’on effectue souvent selon un horaire régulier afin de surveiller étroitement un cancer qui évolue lentement. Le but de la surveillance active est d’aider la personne à maintenir une bonne qualité de vie tout en retardant le plus longtemps possible l’administration de traitements qui risquent de causer des effets secondaires. Quand les résultats de tests indiquent que le cancer s’aggrave, on propose des traitements comme la chirurgie ou la chimiothérapie.

Histoires

Dr Mani Larijani Étudier en 3D une protéine qui cause le cancer

Plus de details

Ensemble, nous pouvons réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – bécher

L’an dernier, avec les fonds dont nous disposions, nous avons réussi à financer seulement 40 pour cent des projets de recherche considérés comme de grandes priorités. Imaginez l’impact que nous pourrions avoir si nous étions capables d’en financer 100 pour cent.

Apprenez-en plus