Canadian Cancer Society logo

Penile cancer

You are here: 

Sexuality and penile cancer

Many men continue to have strong, supportive relationships and a satisfying sex life after penile cancer. If sexual problems occur because of penile cancer treatment, there are ways to manage them.

Penile surgery

Several conservative therapies may be used to treat early stage penile cancer, including topical chemotherapy, wide local excision, Mohs surgery, laser surgery, cryosurgery or brachytherapy. Men who have these treatments can usually still get an erection, have an orgasm and ejaculate. Their ability to have and enjoy sex is usually not affected.

For many men, having the penis removed is worse than the disease. Men treated with a partial penectomy often have enough of the penis left to have an erection suitable for penetration during sex. Although the most sensitive area of the penis (head or glans) has been removed, men can still have an orgasm, ejaculate and enjoy sex. At first, they may lose interest in sex and feel embarrassed about the reduced size of their penis.

Men who have a total penectomy cannot have an erection or penetrative sexual intercourse. This can have a serious effect on their self-image, sex life and intimate relationships. Some men are tempted to give up sex altogether after a total penectomy. However, men can still have sexual pleasure after a total penectomy. They may be able to have an orgasm when sensitive areas like the scrotum, skin behind the scrotum or upper thighs are stroked or touched. Sexual fantasies can help with sexual excitement and reaching orgasm. Men can also ejaculate into their urethrostomy (the opening made between the anus and scrotum that they urinate through). There are others ways a man can provide pleasure to his partner that do not involve intercourse.

Reconstruction

Men who have had a partial or total penectomy may be able to have reconstructive surgery to allow penetration during intercourse. Reconstruction of the penis can also help a man to urinate standing up.

Counselling

Some men might need help to deal with sexual concerns or problems. Health professionals who specialize in sexual problems can provide information and support to people with cancer and their partners. Sexual counselling can be done on a one-to-one basis, with a partner or in a group. Counselling can help people talk openly about their problems, work through their concerns and discover new ways of coping or finding sexual pleasure.

Erectile dysfunction

Erectile dysfunction (ED) is the inability to get and keep an erection firm enough to have sex. ED is a potential side effect of radiation therapy when external beam radiation is used to treat the pelvic lymph nodes. Radiation therapy may be used to treat men with penile cancer who do not wish to have, or cannot have, surgery. ED usually gets better after treatment is finished. ED is not a common side effect after brachytherapy.

Treatment

Many men find they can have sexual pleasure without an erection. They may explore other ways of sexually satisfying their partner and themselves. Some men and their partners find it helpful to talk to a professional who is comfortable discussing sex issues and can give them information or counselling. There are several types of treatment available for ED. Most of the available treatments need a prescription from a doctor. Each treatment has side effects and should be used as directed.

Medication

Oral medication may be used for mild to moderate erection problems. These drugs enhance an erection and cause more blood flow into the penis. They are taken about an hour before sex and an erection may last up to one hour or longer.

Injections and suppositories

Drugs such as alprostadil improve the blood flow to the penis by causing blood vessels to widen (dilate). They keep blood in the penis for a while and produce an erection. The erection occurs fairly soon after the injection of the drug and may last for 30–90 minutes.

Vacuum devices

Men who cannot use medications may think about using a vacuum erection device. These devices can increase blood flow by drawing blood into the penis. Erections may be maintained for up to 30 minutes.

Penile implant

A penile implant is a device that is surgically placed into the penis to help it become erect. A penile implant is also called a penile prosthesis.

Dildos or vibrators

Some men may choose to use a dildo or vibrator with their partners. A strap-on dildo has a harness usually worn around the waist that connects the dildo (which resembles a penis) to the wearer’s body. This allows the wearer to go through the hip movements of having sex.

Infertility

Some forms of penile cancer treatment can affect a man’s ability to father children. Infertility is the inability to conceive a child. Infertility can occur after the following treatments for penile cancer:

  • surgery to remove the testicles (orchiectomy)
    • Orchiectomy is only done in men whose penile cancer has spread to the testicles or scrotum.
  • radiation therapy
  • chemotherapy

Most men who develop penile cancer are over the age of 60. These men often have already completed their families. However, penile cancer can occur in men under the age of 40. Men who wish to father a child have several fertility options. It is recommended that men receive fertility counselling before treatment starts. Fertility options may include:

  • sperm banking
  • embryo freezing
  • Researchers are also studying other fertility options.

If a man cannot use his own sperm, there are other ways for him to father a child:

  • adoption
  • using donor sperm to fertilize his partner’s egg

Stories

Dr Shana Kelley An ultrasensitive blood test for cancer

Read more

Celebrating cancer survivors at Relay For Life

Relay For Life illustration

For cancer survivors, the Canadian Cancer Society provides a unique opportunity to celebrate their courage in the fight against cancer. During hundreds of Relay For Life events across the country, thousands of survivors join together for the Survivors’ Victory Lap.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer du pénis

Vous êtes ici:

Sexualité et cancer du pénis

Beaucoup d'hommes continuent de vivre des relations solides, pleines de soutien, et d’avoir une vie sexuelle satisfaisante après un cancer du pénis. Si des troubles sexuels se manifestent à cause du traitement du cancer du pénis, il y a des façons d'y remédier.

Chirurgie du pénis

On peut avoir recours à plusieurs approches conservatrices pour traiter le cancer du pénis précoce, comme la chimiothérapie topique, l’excision locale large, la chirurgie micrographique de Mohs, la chirurgie au laser, la cryochirurgie ou la curiethérapie. Les hommes qui reçoivent un traitement conservateur sont habituellement encore en mesure d'avoir une érection et un orgasme et d'éjaculer. En général, leur capacité d'avoir des relations sexuelles et de les apprécier n'est pas affectée.

Pour de nombreux hommes, se faire enlever le pénis est pire que la maladie même. Chez les hommes traités par pénectomie partielle, la partie du pénis qui reste suffit souvent pour qu'ils aient une érection adéquate à la pénétration. Bien qu'on ait enlevé la région la plus sensible du pénis (tête, ou gland), il leur est encore possible d’avoir un orgasme, d’éjaculer et d’apprécier leurs relations sexuelles. Au début, ils risquent de moins s’intéresser au sexe et d’être mal à l'aise puisque leur pénis est moins long.

Les hommes ayant subi une pénectomie totale sont incapables d'avoir une érection ou des relations sexuelles avec pénétration, ce qui peut avoir des conséquences graves sur l'image de soi, la vie sexuelle et les relations intimes. Certains hommes pensent à renoncer totalement au sexe après avoir subi une telle intervention. Cependant, ils peuvent quand même ressentir un certain plaisir sexuel après une pénectomie totale. Il est possible d'avoir un orgasme lorsque des régions sensibles comme le scrotum, la peau derrière le scrotum ou la partie supérieure des cuisses sont caressées ou touchées. Les fantasmes sexuels peuvent aider à parvenir à l'excitation et à l'orgasme. Ces hommes peuvent également éjaculer dans leur urétrostomie, soit l'ouverture faite entre l'anus et le scrotum par laquelle ils urinent. Un homme peut faire plaisir à sa partenaire autrement que par les rapports sexuels.

Reconstruction

Un homme qui a subi une pénectomie partielle ou totale pourrait avoir une chirurgie reconstructive qui permet la pénétration lors des relations sexuelles. La reconstruction du pénis peut aussi aider un homme à uriner debout.

Counseling

Certains hommes pourraient avoir besoin d’aide pour faire face à leurs préoccupations ou à leurs troubles sexuels. Des professionnels de la santé qui se spécialisent dans les troubles sexuels peuvent renseigner et soutenir les personnes atteintes de cancer et leur partenaire. Le counseling sexuel peut se dérouler sur une base individuelle, avec le partenaire ou en groupe. Le counseling peut aider les gens à parler ouvertement de leurs problèmes, à se libérer de leurs préoccupations et à découvrir de nouvelles façons d’être satisfaits sexuellement.

Dysfonctionnement érectile

Le dysfonctionnement érectile (DÉ) est l’incapacité, pour un homme, d'avoir une érection et de la maintenir assez ferme pour avoir une relation sexuelle avec pénétration. Le DÉ est un effet secondaire possible de la radiothérapie externe administrée pour traiter les ganglions lymphatiques du bassin. On peut avoir recours à la radiothérapie pour traiter un homme atteint d’un cancer du pénis qui ne souhaite pas, ou ne peut pas, subir de chirurgie. Le DÉ s’atténue habituellement une fois que le traitement est fini. Le DÉ n’est pas un effet secondaire courant de la curiethérapie.

Traitement

De nombreux hommes constatent qu’ils peuvent éprouver du plaisir sans érection. Ils peuvent explorer de nouvelles façons de satisfaire sexuellement leur partenaire ainsi qu’eux-mêmes. Certains hommes et leur partenaire trouvent utile de parler avec un professionnel qui est à l’aise de discuter de questions sexuelles et qui peut leur offrir des renseignements ou du counseling. Plusieurs types de traitement sont offerts contre le DÉ. La plupart doivent être prescrits par un médecin. Chaque traitement engendre des effets secondaires et devrait être administré tel que recommandé.

Médicaments

On peut avoir recours aux médicaments oraux pour traiter des troubles érectiles qui sont légers à modérés. Ces médicaments augmentent l'érection et font circuler plus de sang dans le pénis. On les prend environ une heure avant la relation et l'érection peut durer jusqu'à une heure et même plus.

Injections et suppositoires

Des médicaments comme l’alprostadil intensifient la circulation sanguine vers le pénis en faisant augmenter le volume (dilatation) des vaisseaux sanguins. Ils permettent au sang de rester dans le pénis pendant un certain temps et engendrent une érection. L’érection se produit peu de temps après l’injection du médicament et peut durer de 30 à 90 minutes.

Pompes à vide

Les hommes qui ne peuvent pas avoir recours aux médicaments peuvent songer à employer une pompe à vide pour obtenir une érection. Cette pompe peut accroître la circulation sanguine en dirigeant le sang vers le pénis. Il est possible de maintenir une érection jusqu'à 30 minutes.

Implants péniens

Un implant pénien est un dispositif qu'on installe dans le pénis lors d'une chirurgie pour l'aider à se raidir. On l’appelle aussi prothèse pénienne.

Godemichets et vibrateurs

Certains hommes peuvent opter pour un godemichet ou un vibrateur pour satisfaire leur partenaire. Il y a des godemichets qui sont constitués d'un harnais habituellement fixé autour de la taille et qui relie le dispositif (qui ressemble à un pénis) au corps de la personne qui le porte. Cela permet à la personne qui le porte d'effectuer les mouvements de hanche qui imitent le rapport sexuel.

Infertilité

Certaines formes de traitement du cancer du pénis peuvent affecter la capacité de procréer d’un homme. L'infertilité est l'incapacité d'engendrer un enfant. Elle peut se manifester après les traitements du cancer du pénis qui suivent :

  • chirurgie pour enlever les testicules (orchidectomie)
    • On fait une orchidectomie seulement si le cancer du pénis s’est propagé aux testicules ou au scrotum.
  • radiothérapie
  • chimiothérapie

La plupart des hommes qui sont atteints d’un cancer du pénis sont âgés de plus de 60 ans. Ces hommes ont souvent déjà fondé leur famille. Cependant, le cancer du pénis peut affecter des hommes âgés de moins de 40 ans. L’homme qui souhaite concevoir un enfant a plusieurs options de traitement de la fertilité. On lui recommande de recevoir du counseling en matière de fertilité avant le traitement. Les options de traitement de l’infertilité peuvent être les suivantes :

  • mise en banque de sperme
  • congélation d’embryons
  • autres options étudiées par des chercheurs

Si un homme ne peut pas utiliser son propre sperme, il peut être père d’autres façons :

  • adoption
  • recours au sperme d’un donneur pour fertiliser l’ovule de sa partenaire

Histoires

Carrie Walker Boyd Faire du bénévolat pour la Société canadienne du cancer m’a permis de constater le travail colossal qu’elle fait pour les personnes aux prises avec le cancer.

Lisez l’histoire de Carrie

Une communauté de soutien en ligne, digne de confiance

Illustration d’un ordinateur

Parlonscancer.ca est une communauté en ligne sur laquelle les personnes atteintes de cancer et leurs proches peuvent compter.

Apprenez-en plus