Canadian Cancer Society logo

Penile cancer

You are here: 

What is penile cancer?

Penile cancer is a malignant tumour that starts in cells of the penis. Malignant means that it can spread, or metastasize, to other parts of the body.

The penis is part of a man’s reproductive and urinary systems. It is made up of several types of tissue, including skin, nerves, smooth muscle and blood vessels. Inside the penis is the urethra, which carries urine from the bladder to the outside of the body. The penis is also a male sex organ. Semen is released from the penis during orgasm.

Cells in the penis sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous, or benign, conditions such as genital warts (also called condylomata).

Changes to cells of the penis can also cause precancerous conditions. This means that the cells are not yet cancer but there is a higher chance these abnormal changes will become cancer. The most common precancerous condition of the penis is penile intraepithelial neoplasia (PeIN).

In rare cases, changes to cells of the penis can cause cancer. Most often, penile cancer starts in flat, thin cells called squamous cells. These cells are in the skin of the penis and the head of the penis (called the glans). This type of cancer is called squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) of the penis. SCC can develop anywhere on the penis, but it develops most often on the foreskin (in uncircumcised men) or the glans.

Rare types of penile cancer can also develop. These include adenocarcinoma, melanoma and basal cell carcinoma (BCC).

Diagram of the male reproductive system

Stories

Stephanie Hermsen Thanks to the incredible progress in retinoblastoma research made possible by Canadian Cancer Society funding, my son won’t have to go through what I did.

Read Stephanie's story

Celebrating cancer survivors at Relay For Life

Relay For Life illustration

For cancer survivors, the Canadian Cancer Society provides a unique opportunity to celebrate their courage in the fight against cancer. During hundreds of Relay For Life events across the country, thousands of survivors join together for the Survivors’ Victory Lap.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer du pénis

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le cancer du pénis?

Le cancer du pénis est une tumeur maligne qui prend naissance dans les cellules du pénis. Le mot « maligne » signifie que la tumeur peut se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Le pénis fait partie de l’appareil reproducteur et de l’appareil urinaire de l’homme. Il est formé de plusieurs types de tissus, y compris de la peau, des nerfs, du muscle lisse et des vaisseaux sanguins. Le pénis comprend l’urètre, qui transporte l’urine de la vessie jusqu’à l’extérieur du corps. Le pénis est aussi un organe sexuel masculin. Le sperme est acheminé hors du pénis lors de l’orgasme.

Les cellules du pénis subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer des affections non cancéreuses, ou bénignes, comme les verrues génitales (aussi appelées condylomes).

Des modifications dans les cellules du pénis peuvent aussi entraîner des états précancéreux. Cela veut dire que les cellules ne sont pas encore cancéreuses, mais que leur risque de devenir cancéreuses est plus élevé. La néoplasie intra-épithéliale pénienne (PIN) est l’état précancéreux du pénis le plus courant.

Dans des cas rares, les cellules modifiées du pénis peuvent devenir cancéreuses. Le cancer se développe le plus souvent dans les cellules aplaties et minces appelées cellules malpighiennes. Ces cellules se trouvent dans la peau et le gland du pénis. Ce type de cancer porte le nom de carcinome épidermoïde du pénis. Il peut apparaître sur n’importe quelle partie du pénis, mais il se manifeste le plus souvent sur le prépuce (chez les hommes non circoncis) ou le gland.

Des types rares de cancers du pénis peuvent aussi se manifester. L’adénocarcinome, le mélanome et le carcinome basocellulaire en sont des exemples.

Schéma de l'appareil reproducteur masculin

Histoires

Paulette Hicks Un geste de bonté gratuit posé durant l’une des périodes les plus difficiles dans la vie d’une personne peut avoir beaucoup d’effet.

Plus de details

Défense des intérêts des personnes atteintes de cancer

Illustration d’un mégaphone

Nos employés et bénévoles rencontrent les élus des divers paliers de gouvernement (municipal, provincial et fédéral) pour les convaincre de faire de la lutte contre le cancer une de leurs priorités.

Apprenez-en plus