Canadian Cancer Society logo

Parathyroid cancer

You are here: 

Radiation therapy for parathyroid cancer

Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. Radiation therapy has no established role in treating parathyroid cancer.

Occasionally, radiation may be used after surgery to destroy cancer cells left behind and to reduce the risk of the cancer recurring (adjuvantadjuvantTreatment given in addition to the first-line therapy (the first or standard treatment) to help reduce the risk of a disease (such as cancer) coming back (recurring). radiation therapy).

The amount of radiation given during treatment, and when and how it is given, will be different for each person.

External beam radiation therapy

When radiation therapy is given after surgery for parathyroid cancer, external beam radiation therapy is used. A machine directs radiation to the area from where the tumour was removed and some of the surrounding tissue.

Stories

Tuli Chowdhury I would encourage everyone to volunteer for the Canadian Cancer Society, especially young people.

Read Tuli's story

Celebrating cancer survivors at Relay For Life

Relay For Life illustration

For cancer survivors, the Canadian Cancer Society provides a unique opportunity to celebrate their courage in the fight against cancer. During hundreds of Relay For Life events across the country, thousands of survivors join together for the Survivors’ Victory Lap.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer de la parathyroïde

Vous êtes ici:

Radiothérapie pour le cancer de la parathyroïde

En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. Il n’y a pas de rôle établi pour la radiothérapie dans le traitement du cancer de la parathyroïde.

On peut occasionnellement administrer une radiothérapie après la chirurgie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses qui restent et réduire le risque de réapparition du cancer (radiothérapie adjuvanteadjuvanteTraitement administré en plus du traitement de première intention (premier traitement ou traitement standard) pour aider à réduire le risque de réapparition (récidive) de la maladie (comme le cancer).).

La dose de radiations émise lors du traitement ainsi que la façon de l'administrer et les horaires suivis varient d’une personne à l’autre.

Radiothérapie externe

Quand on a recours à la radiothérapie après la chirurgie d’un cancer de la parathyroïde, on administre une radiothérapie externe. Un appareil dirige la radiation vers la région où la tumeur a été enlevée et certains des tissus qui l'entourent.

Histoires

Dr Shawn Li Je suis infiniment reconnaissant envers la Société canadienne du cancer pour son soutien à ma recherche par une Subvention pour l’innovation.

Plus de détails

Du soutien de la part de quelqu’un qui « est passé par là »

Illustration d’une conversation

Le programme de soutien par les pairs de la Société canadienne du cancer est un service d’entraide téléphonique qui consiste à jumeler les personnes atteintes de cancer et leurs aidants à des bénévoles ayant reçu une formation spéciale.

Apprenez-en plus