Pancreatic cancer

You are here: 

Grading pancreatic cancer

The grade is a description of how the cancer cells look compared to normal cells. To find out the grade of pancreatic cancer, the pathologist looks at a tissue sample from the tumour under a microscope. The pathologist gives pancreatic cancer a grade from 1 to 4. A lower number means the cancer is a lower grade.

How different the cancer cells are is described as differentiation.

Low grade means that the cancer cells are well differentiated. They look almost like normal cells. Lower grade cancer cells tend to be slow growing and are less likely to spread.

High grade means that the cancer cells are poorly differentiated or undifferentiated. They look less normal, or more abnormal. Higher grade cancer cells tend to grow more quickly than low-grade cancer cells.

Knowing the grade gives your healthcare team an idea of how quickly the cancer may be growing and how likely it is to spread. This helps them plan your treatment. The grade can also help the healthcare team predict future outcomes (your prognosis) and how the cancer might respond to treatment.

Stories

Researcher Dr Jennifer Brunet Dr Jennifer Brunet’s research is helping breast cancer survivors be more active.

Learn more

Establishing a national caregivers strategy

Illustration of caregivers

The Canadian Cancer Society is actively lobbying the federal government to establish a national caregivers strategy to ensure there is more financial support for this important group of people.

Learn more

Cancer du pancréas

Vous êtes ici:

Classification histologique du cancer du pancréas

Le grade est défini par l'apparence des cellules cancéreuses qu'on compare à celle des cellules normales. Pour établir le grade du cancer du pancréas, le pathologiste examine au microscope un échantillon de tissu prélevé dans la tumeur. Le pathologiste assigne un grade de 1 à 4 au cancer du pancréas. Plus ce nombre est bas, plus le grade l’est aussi.

On utilise le terme différenciation pour désigner à quel point les cellules cancéreuses sont différentes.

Les cellules cancéreuses de bas grade sont bien différenciées. Elles ont presque l’air de cellules normales. Elles ont tendance à se développer lentement et risquent moins de se propager.

Les cellules cancéreuses de haut grade sont peu différenciées ou indifférenciées. Leur apparence est moins normale, ou plus anormale. Elles ont tendance à se développer plus rapidement que les cellules cancéreuses de bas grade.

Connaître le grade donne à votre équipe de soins une idée de la rapidité à laquelle le cancer peut se développer et de sa probabilité de propagation. Cela l’aide à planifier votre traitement. Le grade peut aussi aider l’équipe de soins à déterminer l’issue possible de la maladie (pronostic) et à prévoir comment le cancer pourrait réagir au traitement.

Histoires

Le Dr Stuart Peacock, chercheur, Canadian Centre for Applied Research in Cancer Control Une étude menée au Canadian Centre for Applied Research in Cancer Control a donné lieu à une nouvelle norme d’analyse pour la leucémie.

Plus de details

Une communauté de soutien en ligne, digne de confiance

Illustration d’un ordinateur

Parlonscancer.ca est une communauté en ligne sur laquelle les personnes atteintes de cancer et leurs proches peuvent compter.

Apprenez-en plus