Canadian Cancer Society logo

Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

Stem cell transplant for non-Hodgkin lymphoma

A stem cell transplant may be used to treat non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). A stem cell transplant replaces a person's stem cells. It is used to restore bone marrow when it has been damaged by disease or destroyed by high doses of chemotherapy or radiation therapy. A stem cell transplant may also be called a bone marrow transplant.

Stem cells are the basic cells from which all our blood cells develop. They are found in the bone marrow and in the bloodstream.

At one time, the bone marrow was the most common source of stem cells for transplant (bone marrow transplant). Now blood is being used more often as the source of stem cells (peripheral stem cell transplant).

Stem cell transplants may be considered for people with NHL in the following cases:

  • to treat people with high-grade or aggressive NHL that has recurred or relapsed, depending on the type of lymphoma
    • High-dose chemotherapy and a stem cell transplant may be useful, especially if the lymphoma was sensitive or responded to chemotherapy in the past.
  • used in some cases when the person's lymphoma is not responding to other treatments or standard treatment has failed to work (refractory disease)
  • occasionally considered to treat people with NHL who are in remission, but have a high risk of the lymphoma recurring (they have poor prognostic factors or high International Prognostic Index [IPI] scores)

Types of transplants

There are 3 basic types of stem cell transplants that may be used with NHL.

Autologous

The stem cells are taken from the person's own bone marrow or blood. An autologous transplant is the most common type done for NHL. There are advantages to having an autologous stem cell transplant, such as avoiding graft-versus-host disease and not needing to find a donor. Many people with lymphoma cannot have an allogeneic stem cell transplant using stem cells from another person (donor) because it can be difficult to find a match. However, an autologous transplant may not be possible for some types of lymphoma that have spread to the bone marrow or blood because it can be difficult to get stem cells that are free of lymphoma. Some people with NHL who have an autologous stem cell transplant will relapse after the transplant.

Allogeneic

The stem cells are taken from one person (donor) and are given to another person receiving the transplant (recipient). A donor may be a relative or an unrelated person. The donor and recipient are matched through a process called HLA typing.

One beneficial effect of having an allogeneic transplant is the graft-versus-lymphoma effect in which the donor cells attack remaining cancer cells. However, there are more toxicities and side effects associated with an allogeneic transplant than with an autologous transplant.

It is often hard to find a matched donor for an allogeneic transplant. The side effects of this type of transplant can also be very hard on older people. Therefore, this type of transplant may not be done as often for NHL.

Syngeneic

The stem cells are taken from a donor who is the identical twin of the recipient. It is an uncommon type of transplant.

Stem cell transplant procedure

A stem cell transplant is a risky and complex procedure. For this reason, stem cell transplants are done in specialized transplant centres or hospitals by a team of highly trained healthcare professionals.

The day the stem cells are given is usually referred to as Day 0. The days after transplant are numbered upward (for example, Day +1, Day +2 and so on). This system is useful to describe the timing of events, such as when new blood cells begin to appear (engraftment) or complications of the procedure.

There are 3 stages in a stem cell transplant procedure.

Preparation

Before the stem cell transplant, some procedures are done to check that the recipient is a good candidate. If the organs are functioning well and there are no hidden infections or other problems, the person receiving the transplant will be given counselling and signs a consent form for the procedure. Stem cells are collected for the transplant (called harvesting).

Transplant

The stem cell transplant procedure has 2 steps:

  • conditioning, or intensive, therapy – High-dose chemotherapy, with or without radiation therapy, is given to:
    • "condition" the person's bone marrow to accept donor stem cells (allogeneic or syngeneic transplant) so that the stem cells are not rejected
    • remove any remaining cancer cells in the body (autologous transplant)
    • destroy the bone marrow and "make room" for new stem cells
  • giving the stem cells (stem cell infusion) – The stem cells are given (infused) to the person over 20–30 minutes (or sometimes longer) through a central venous cathetercentral venous catheterA catheter (flexible tube) that is passed through a vein in the neck, groin or chest into the vena cava (the large vein leading into the heart)., similar to a blood transfusion.

Sometimes lower doses of chemotherapy or chemotherapy and radiation therapy are used to condition a person, particularly if they are older or have medical conditions that do not allow for full doses of therapy to be given. Such transplants are called mini- or non-myeloablative allogeneic transplant. These conditioning therapies are less toxic, so these types of transplants are done more frequently. Mini- or non-myeloablative transplants are only done with allogeneic transplants.

Aftercare

People are watched closely after they receive a stem cell transplant. They are also carefully followed up for a period of time after leaving the hospital. After a stem cell transplant, people are at high risk of infections, are often quite fatigued and may require blood transfusions. They need frequent medical checkups because they received high doses of chemotherapy. It may take several months to fully recover after a stem cell transplant as recipients’ immunity can take more than 6 months to return to normal.

See a list of questions to ask your doctor about stem cell transplant.

Stories

Researcher Dr Sohrab Shah Dr Sohrab Shah helped discover more than 100 new suspected cancer genes.

Learn more

Volunteers provide comfort and kindness

Illustration of volunteers

Thousands of Canadian Cancer Society volunteers work in regional cancer centres, lodges and community hospitals to support people receiving treatment.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Greffe de cellules souches pour un lymphome non hodgkinien

On peut faire une greffe de cellules souches pour traiter le lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH). La greffe de cellules souches permet de remplacer les cellules souches d'une personne. On y a recours pour rétablir la moelle osseuse lorsque celle-ci a été endommagée par la maladie ou détruite par de fortes doses de chimiothérapie ou de radiothérapie. La greffe de cellules souches peut aussi être appelée greffe de moelle osseuse.

Les cellules souches sont les cellules de base à partir desquelles toutes les cellules sanguines se développent. On les observe dans la moelle osseuse et la circulation sanguine.

Auparavant, la moelle osseuse était la source de cellules souches la plus courante pour une greffe (greffe de moelle osseuse). Aujourd'hui, on prélève de plus en plus les cellules souches dans le sang (greffe de cellules souches périphériques).

On peut envisager de pratiquer une greffe de cellules souches chez les personnes atteintes d’un LNH dans les cas suivants :

  • traitement d’un LNH de haut grade, ou agressif, qui a récidivé, selon le type de lymphome
    • Une chimiothérapie à forte dose ainsi qu’une greffe de cellules souches peuvent être utiles, en particulier si le lymphome a été sensible ou a réagi à la chimiothérapie auparavant.
  • parfois, si le lymphome ne réagit pas à d’autres traitements ou si le traitement standard n’a pas été efficace (maladie réfractaire)
  • occasionnellement, si la personne est en rémission mais que le risque de récidive est élevé (facteurs pronostiques défavorables ou score élevé selon l’Index pronostique international [IPI])

Types de greffes

On peut avoir recours à 3 types de greffes de cellules souches de base pour traiter le LNH.

Autogreffe

On prélève les cellules souches dans la moelle osseuse ou le sang de la personne atteinte. L’autogreffe est le type de greffe le plus couramment pratiqué pour un LNH. Il y a certains avantages à l’autogreffe de cellules souches, comme éviter la réaction du greffon contre l’hôte et ne pas avoir besoin de trouver un donneur. De nombreuses personnes atteintes d’un lymphome ne peuvent pas recevoir une greffe dont les cellules souches proviennent d’une autre personne (donneur) parce qu’il est difficile d’établir une compatibilité. Cependant, il est possible qu’on ne puisse pas faire d’autogreffe en présence de certains types de lymphome qui se sont propagés à la moelle osseuse ou au sang puisqu’il pourrait être difficile de prélever des cellules souches qui ne sont pas atteintes par le lymphome. Certaines personnes atteintes d’un LNH qui reçoivent une autogreffe auront une récidive après la greffe.

Allogreffe

On prélève les cellules souches chez une personne (donneur) pour les administrer à la personne qui a besoin de la greffe (receveur). Le donneur peut être apparenté ou non. On détermine la compatibilité du donneur et du receveur par le biais d’un procédé qui porte le nom de typage HLA.

L’un des bienfaits de l’allogreffe est l’effet du greffon contre le lymphome, c’est-à-dire que les cellules du donneur attaquent les cellules cancéreuses qui restent. Cependant, l’allogreffe engendre plus de toxicités et d’effets secondaires que l’autogreffe.

Il est souvent difficile de trouver un donneur compatible pour une allogreffe. Les effets secondaires de ce type de greffe peuvent aussi être très difficiles pour les personnes âgées. C’est pourquoi il est possible que ce type de greffe ne soit pas fait souvent pour traiter un LNH.

Isogreffe

On prélève les cellules souches d'un donneur qui est le vrai jumeau du receveur. Ce type de greffe est peu courant.

Intervention de greffe de cellules souches

La greffe de cellules souches est une intervention risquée et complexe. C'est pourquoi les greffes de cellules souches sont réalisées dans des centres ou des hôpitaux spécialisés dans la greffe par des équipes de professionnels de la santé hautement qualifiés.

Le jour où on administre les cellules souches est habituellement considéré comme le Jour 0. Les jours qui suivent la greffe sont numérotés dans un ordre ascendant (p. ex. Jour 1, Jour 2 et ainsi de suite). Ce système permet de tenir compte du moment où certains évènements tels que l’apparition de nouvelles cellules sanguines (prise du greffon) ou les complications se sont manifestés.

L'intervention de greffe de cellules souches comporte 3 étapes.

Préparation

Avant la greffe de cellules souches, on fait certaines interventions pour savoir si le receveur est un bon candidat à la greffe. Si ses organes fonctionnent bien et qu’il n’y a pas d’infections cachées ou d’autres problèmes, cette personne recevra du counseling et signera un formulaire de consentement. On prélève ensuite les cellules souches pour la greffe (collecte).

Thérapie

L'intervention de greffe de cellules souches comporte 2 étapes :

  • traitement préparatoire (conditionnement) ou intensif – on administre seulement une chimiothérapie à forte dose ou on l'associe à la radiothérapie afin de :
    • préparer, ou conditionner, la moelle osseuse du receveur à accepter les cellules souches du donneur (allogreffe ou isogreffe) afin qu’elles ne soient pas rejetées
    • détruire toute cellule cancéreuse qui pourrait rester dans l'organisme (autogreffe)
    • détruire la moelle osseuse, ce qui fera de la place pour les nouvelles cellules souches
  • perfusion des cellules souches – on administre les cellules souches (perfusion) à la personne pendant 20 ou 30 minutes, parfois plus, par le biais d'un cathéter veineux centralcathéter veineux centralCathéter (tube flexible) qui est inséré dans la veine cave (grosse veine qui mène au coeur) en passant par une autre veine du cou, de l’aine ou du thorax., ce qui ressemble à une transfusion sanguine

On administre parfois une chimiothérapie à plus faibles doses ou bien une chimiothérapie et une radiothérapie pour conditionner la personne, en particulier si elle est âgée ou atteinte de troubles médicaux qui ne permettent pas le recours aux doses complètes. De telles greffes sont appelées mini-allogreffes ou allogreffes non myéloablatives. Ces traitements préparatoires sont moins toxiques, alors on y a recours plus souvent. La minigreffe et la greffe non myéloablative ne peuvent être réalisées que pour une allogreffe.

Soins post-thérapeutiques

On surveille attentivement la personne qui a reçu une greffe de cellules souches. Elle est aussi étroitement suivie pendant un certain temps après son départ de l'hôpital. Après une greffe de cellules souches, le risque d’infection est élevé, la fatigue est souvent très présente et les transfusions sanguines pourraient être nécessaires. Il faut faire fréquemment des examens médicaux puisqu’on a administré de fortes doses de chimiothérapie. Plusieurs mois peuvent être nécessaires pour se remettre complètement sur pied après une greffe de cellules souches puisque l’immunité du receveur peut prendre plus de 6 mois avant de revenir à la normale.

Consultez la liste de questions à poser à votre médecin sur la greffe de cellules souches.

Histoires

Dr Guy Sauvageau Progrès au chapitre de certaines leucémies

Plus de details

Défense des intérêts des personnes atteintes de cancer

Illustration d’un mégaphone

Nos employés et bénévoles rencontrent les élus des divers paliers de gouvernement (municipal, provincial et fédéral) pour les convaincre de faire de la lutte contre le cancer une de leurs priorités.

Apprenez-en plus