Canadian Cancer Society logo

Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

Treatment of advanced stage indolent non-Hodgkin lymphoma

The following are treatment options for advanced stage indolent non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). The types of treatments given are based on the unique needs of the person with lymphoma. Indolent lymphomas tend to be widespread, so most people have advanced stage disease when they are first diagnosed.

Indolent NHLs are often quite sensitive to treatment initially and even an advanced indolent lymphoma can often be controlled for many years.

Watchful waiting

Watchful waiting may be offered to some people with advanced stage indolent NHL who do not have symptoms. An indolent lymphoma may not need to be treated right away because these lymphomas grow slowly and there may be long periods of time where there is no change in the disease. Early treatment has not shown to improve survival in this subset of lymphomas. People are usually treated only when symptoms appear or the lymphoma progresses.


Chemotherapy is used for advanced stage indolent lymphoma that is causing symptoms or seems to be progressing. The types of chemotherapy treatment are:

  • single drugs
    • chlorambucil (Leukeran)
    • fludarabine (Fludara)
    • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)
  • a combination of chemotherapy drugs
    • CVP – cyclophosphamide, vincristine (Oncovin) and prednisone (Deltasone) – is most commonly used in people who need chemotherapy treatment. It is often given in combination with biological therapy

Radiation therapy

External beam radiation therapy may also be given to specific areas to control symptoms of advanced stage indolent NHL.

Biological therapy

Biological therapy may be offered for some advanced stage indolent NHLs. Rituximab (Rituxan) is the biological therapy used most often. It is only used for B-cell lymphomas. It may be given alone, but is most often used in combination with chemotherapy.

Clinical trials

People with advanced stage indolent NHL may be offered the opportunity to participate in clinical trials. For more information, go to clinical trials.


photo of Mathieu At the end of the day, Mathieu gave me a big hug and left with a smile on his face.

Read Mathieu's story

Celebrating cancer survivors at Relay For Life

Relay For Life illustration

For cancer survivors, the Canadian Cancer Society provides a unique opportunity to celebrate their courage in the fight against cancer. During hundreds of Relay For Life events across the country, thousands of survivors join together for the Survivors’ Victory Lap.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Traitement du lymphome non hodgkinien indolent de stade avancé

Les options suivantes permettent de traiter le lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH) indolent de stade avancé. Les types de traitements administrés se basent sur les besoins uniques de la personne atteinte d’un lymphome. Le lymphome indolent a tendance à se répandre, alors la maladie est la plupart du temps à un stade avancé quand on pose le diagnostic initial.

Le LNH indolent est souvent assez sensible au traitement initial et même un lymphome indolent de stade avancé peut souvent être maîtrisé pendant bien des années.

Observation vigilante

On pourrait proposer l’observation vigilante à certaines personnes atteintes d’un LNH indolent de stade avancé qui n’éprouvent pas de symptômes. Il se peut qu’on n’ait pas besoin de traiter le lymphome indolent immédiatement puisque ce type de lymphome évolue lentement et qu’il peut y avoir aucun changement pendant de longues périodes. L’administration d’un traitement précoce n’a pas démontré une amélioration de la survie dans ce sous-groupe de lymphomes. On traite habituellement les gens seulement quand des symptômes apparaissent ou que le lymphome évolue.

Chimiothérapie

On a recours à la chimiothérapie pour traiter le lymphome indolent de stade avancé qui cause des symptômes ou qui semble évoluer. Les types de chimiothérapies administrés sont les suivants :

  • un seul médicament
    • chlorambucil (Leukeran)
    • fludarabine (Fludara)
    • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)
  • une association d’agents chimiothérapeutiques
    • protocole CVP – cyclophosphamide, vincristine (Oncovin) et prednisone (Deltasone) – protocole le plus souvent administré aux personnes qui ont besoin d’une chimiothérapie et souvent associé à la thérapie biologique

Radiothérapie

On pourrait aussi administrer une radiothérapie externe à des régions spécifiques pour maîtriser les symptômes d’un LNH indolent de stade avancé.

Thérapie biologique

On pourrait proposer une thérapie biologique pour certains LNH indolents de stade avancé. Le rituximab (Rituxan) est le médicament biologique le plus souvent employé et on y a recours seulement pour les lymphomes B. On peut l’administrer seul, mais on l’associe le plus souvent à la chimiothérapie.

Essais cliniques

On peut offrir aux personnes atteintes d’un LNH indolent de stade avancé la possibilité de participer à des essais cliniques. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez la section "Essais cliniques

".

Histoires

Paulette Hicks Un geste de bonté gratuit posé durant l’une des périodes les plus difficiles dans la vie d’une personne peut avoir beaucoup d’effet.

Plus de details

Une célébration pour les survivants du cancer au Relais pour la vie

Illustration du Relais pour la vie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit une occasion en or de célébrer le courage des survivants du cancer dans la bataille contre la maladie. Lors des centaines d’événements du Relais pour la vie qui ont lieu d’un bout à l’autre du pays, des milliers de gens se réunissent pour effectuer le Tour des survivants.

Apprenez-en plus