Canadian Cancer Society logo

Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

Survival statistics for non-Hodgkin lymphoma

Cancer survival statistics are very general estimates and must be interpreted very carefully. Because survival statistics are based on the experience of groups of people in the general population, they cannot be used to predict a particular person’s chances of survival.

There are many different ways to measure and report cancer survival statistics.

Observed survival is the proportion of people with the same cancer who are alive at a given period of time after their diagnosis. Relative survival is a ratio that compares the observed survival of a group of people with cancer to survival of people in the general population who do not have cancer, but who share the same characteristics (such as age, sex, place of residence) as the people with cancer.

Survival statistics for non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL) are generally reported as 5-year relative survival. However, other types of survival statistics may be used.

The 5-year relative survival for NHL is 66%. This means that, on average, people diagnosed with NHL are 66% as likely to live 5 years (or more) after diagnosis as people in the general population who do not have cancer.

However, survival varies with each stage and particular type of NHL. There are over 30 different subtypes of NHL and each behaves and responds to treatment differently. Each subtype needs to be considered separately in terms of its behaviour, prognostic factors and expected response to treatment before the outcome can be predicted.

Prognostic indexes have been developed to predict the general outcome for indolent and aggressive lymphomas. Survival rates are included in these indexes.

Follicular Lymphoma International Prognostic Index (FLIPI)

Follicular Lymphoma International Prognostic Index (FLIPI) is a prognostic index that has been developed for follicular lymphoma, which is the most common slow-growing or indolent lymphoma. This index uses 5 prognostic factors to determine the level of risk of relapse for people with follicular lymphoma. One point is given for each poor prognostic factor. The points are added to give a score between 0 and 5, and then categorized into levels of risk. People with lower FLIPI scores have better survival rates.

Follicular lymphoma survival based on prognostic factors
Number of poor prognostic factorsLevel of risk5-year survival rates10-year survival rates

0–1

low

91%

71%

2

intermediate

78%

51%

3–5

high

53%

31%

People with lower-grade or indolent follicular lymphomas can live for several years and have a median survivalmedian survivalThe period of time (usually months or years) after diagnosis or treatment at which half the people with a given disease will live longer and the other half will live less. of about 8–10 years.

Aggressive lymphomas

Aggressive lymphomas tend to grow quickly and behave aggressively.

International Prognostic Index (IPI)

International Prognostic Index (IPI) is used to help estimate the outcome for many types of lymphomas. This index uses the 5 prognostic factors to determine the level of risk of relapse. One point is given for each poor prognostic factor. The points are added to give a score between 0 and 5, and then categorized into levels of risk. People with lower IPI scores have better survival rates.

Aggressive lymphoma survival based on prognostic factors
Number of poor prognostic factorsLevel of risk5-year relapse-free* survival rates

0–1

low

70%

2

low-intermediate

50%

3

high-intermediate

49%

4–5

high

26%

*Relapse-free survival is the length of time following treatment when there are no clinically detectable signs of a relapse, or the amount of time a person is free of relapsed disease or a recurrence. For example, 70% of people with NHL who had 0–1 poor prognostic factors were relapse-free 5 years after their cancer treatment. Therefore 7 out of every 10 people did not have any signs of relapsed disease for 5 years after treatment.

Questions about survival

People with cancer should talk to their doctor about their prognosis. Prognosis depends on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with a person’s medical history, type of cancer, stage, characteristics of the cancer, treatments chosen and response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

Stories

Dr Mohammad Akbari Dr Mohammad Akbari pinpointed a new breast cancer susceptibility gene.

Learn more

Access to services in your community

Illustration of houses side-by-side

The Canadian Cancer Society’s Community Services Locator helps cancer patients and their families find the services and programs they need in their community.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Statistiques de survie pour le lymphome non hodgkinien

Les statistiques de survie au cancer sont des estimations très générales qui doivent être interprétées avec prudence. Puisqu’elles sont fondées sur l’expérience de groupes de personnes dans la population générale, elles ne permettent pas de prévoir les chances de survie d’une personne en particulier.

Il existe de nombreuses méthodes différentes pour évaluer et consigner les statistiques de survie au cancer.

La survie observée correspond à la proportion de personnes atteintes d’un même type de cancer qui vivent encore après une période de temps spécifique à la suite de leur diagnostic. La survie relative est un ratio qui compare la survie observée chez un groupe de personnes atteintes de cancer à la survie prévue des personnes qui font partie de la population générale exemptes de cancer mais qui présentent les mêmes caractéristiques (comme l’âge, le sexe et le lieu de résidence).

Les statistiques de survie au lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH) correspondent généralement à une survie relative après 5 ans. Cependant, on peut avoir recours à d’autres types de statistiques de survie.

La survie relative après 5 ans au LNH est de 66 %, ce qui signifie qu’une personne diagnostiquée d’un LNH aurait, en moyenne, 66 % de chances de vivre 5 ans (ou plus) à la suite de son diagnostic comparativement à une personne dans la population générale qui n’est pas atteinte de cancer.

Cependant, la survie varie en fonction de chaque stade et du type particulier de LNH. Il existe plus de 30 sous-types différents de LNH dont le comportement et la réponse au traitement sont différents. On doit donc considérer chaque sous-type séparément en termes de comportement, de facteurs pronostiques et de réponse attendue au traitement avant de pouvoir faire un pronostic.

On a élaboré des index pronostiques permettant de prévoir l’issue générale des lymphomes indolents et des lymphomes agressifs. Les taux de survie sont compris dans ces index.

Follicular Lymphoma International Prognostic Index (FLIPI)

Le Follicular Lymphoma International Prognostic Index (FLIPI) est un index pronostique qui a été conçu pour le lymphome folliculaire, type de lymphome d’évolution lente, ou indolent, le plus courant. Cet index a recours à 5 facteurs pronostiques pour déterminer le niveau de risque de récidive chez les personnes atteintes d’un lymphome folliculaire. On assigne un point à chaque facteur pronostique défavorable. On additionne ensuite ces points pour obtenir un score entre 0 et 5, puis on les classe en niveaux de risque. Les personnes dont le score FLIPI est faible ont de meilleurs taux de survie.

Survie à un lymphome folliculaire selon les facteurs pronostiques
Nombre de facteurs pronostiques défavorablesNiveau de risqueTaux de survie après 5 ansTaux de survie après 10 ans

0 à 1

faible

91 %

71 %

2

intermédiaire

78 %

51 %

3 à 5

élevé

53 %

31 %

Les personnes atteintes d’un lymphome de bas grade ou indolent peuvent vivre plusieurs années et leur survie médianesurvie médianePériode de temps (habituellement calculée en mois ou en années) suivant le diagnostic ou le traitement au bout de laquelle la moitié des gens atteints d’une maladie donnée vivront encore et l’autre moitié auront vécu moins longtemps. est de 8 à 10 ans.

Lymphomes agressifs

Les lymphomes agressifs ont tendance à se développer rapidement et à se comporter agressivement.

International Prognostic Index (IPI)

L’International Prognostic Index (IPI) permet d’aider à évaluer l’issue de nombreux types de lymphomes. Cet index a recours à 5 facteurs pronostiques pour déterminer le niveau de risque de récidive. On assigne un point à chaque facteur pronostique défavorable. On additionne ensuite ces points pour obtenir un score entre 0 et 5, puis on les classe en niveaux de risque. Les personnes dont le score IPI est faible ont de meilleurs taux de survie.

Survie à un lymphome agressif selon les facteurs pronostiques
Nombre de facteurs pronostiques défavorablesNiveau de risqueTaux de survie après 5 ans sans récidive*

0 à 1

faible

70 %

2

intermédiaire-faible

50 %

3

intermédiaire-élevé

49 %

4 à 5

élevé

26 %

*La survie sans récidive est la période qui suit le traitement où il n’y a pas de signes cliniquement détectables d’une récidive, soit le temps pendant lequel la maladie ne réapparaît pas. Chez 70 % des personnes atteintes d’un LNH qui avaient de 0 à 1 facteur pronostique défavorable par exemple, il n’y a pas eu de récidive au cours des 5 années qui ont suivi le traitement du cancer. Donc, 7 personnes sur 10 ne présentaient pas de signe de récidive pendant les 5 années qui ont suivi le traitement.

Questions sur la survie

On conseille aux personnes atteintes de cancer de discuter de leur pronostic avec leur médecin. Le pronostic repose sur de nombreux facteurs. Seul un médecin qui connaît bien les antécédents médicaux de l’individu, le type de cancer dont il est atteint, son stade, ses caractéristiques, les traitements choisis et la réponse au traitement pourra examiner ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Histoires

Désormais, je sais que même après ma mort, je continuerai d’aider des femmes et des hommes atteints de cancer. C’est une trace que je veux laisser dans le monde.

Plus de details

Une célébration pour les survivants du cancer au Relais pour la vie

Illustration du Relais pour la vie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit une occasion en or de célébrer le courage des survivants du cancer dans la bataille contre la maladie. Lors des centaines d’événements du Relais pour la vie qui ont lieu d’un bout à l’autre du pays, des milliers de gens se réunissent pour effectuer le Tour des survivants.

Apprenez-en plus