Canadian Cancer Society logo

Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

T-cell large granular lymphocytic leukemia

T-cell large granular lymphocytic (TLGL) leukemia is a rare lymphoproliferative cancer of T-cell origin. Lymphoproliferative means that T lymphocytes are produced in large amounts. TLGL leukemia is characterized by large granular lymphocytes, which are bigger than normal lymphocytes. It may also be called T-cell granular lymphocytic leukemia.

TLGL leukemia occurs most often in older adults. The average age at diagnosis is about 60. However, it can occur in all age groups.

TLGL leukemia is often associated with autoimmune disorders.

  • About 25–35% of people with TLGL leukemia have rheumatoid arthritis.
  • Felty’s syndrome is a rare disorder also associated with TLGL leukemia. It includes a combination of rheumatoid arthritis, an enlarged spleen (splenomegaly) and a low white blood cell count (neutropenia).
  • Other autoimmune disorders are less frequently associated with TLGL leukemia. They include:
    • systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE or lupus)
    • Hashimoto’s thyroiditisHashimoto’s thyroiditisAn autoimmune disease that affects the thyroid and causes hypothyroidism (lowered thyroid function). Symptoms include fatigue, aches and pain, constipation, dry skin and depression.
    • Sjogren’s syndromeSjogren’s syndromeAn autoimmune disease in which antibodies attack the sweat, tear and salivary glands. Signs and symptoms include dry eyes and dry mouth..

Some people with TLGL leukemia do not have any symptoms (asymptomatic). Others have recurring infections and anemiaanemiaA reduction in the number of healthy red blood cells. due to lower numbers of blood cells (cytopenia). The bone marrow, spleen and liver often are affected with TLGL leukemia. Lymph nodes are rarely enlarged.

In most cases, TLGL leukemia behaves in an indolent manner and grows slowly. The prognosis is often quite good for people with indolent TLGL leukemia. Although rare, TLGL leukemia can also behave aggressively.

Treatment

Treatment of TLGL leukemia depends on whether the person has symptoms or if the disease is causing problems. Since TLGL leukemia is a slow-growing (indolent) disease, it may not need to be treated right away.

Watchful waiting

People with TLGL leukemia may not need to be treated right away if they do not have symptoms or problems. The person is observed and treatment is started when TLGL leukemia causes symptoms or problems, such as:

  • recurring infections
  • very low white blood cell counts (neutropenia)
  • anemia
  • low platelet counts (thrombocytopenia)
  • an enlarged spleen that causes discomfort
  • other symptoms develop that require treatment

Chemotherapy

Drugs that suppress the immune system and work against the cancerous T cells are the main therapy for TLGL leukemia. The drugs most commonly used to treat TLGL leukemia are:

  • methotrexate
  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)
  • cyclosporine (Neoral)

Methotrexate, cyclophosphamide and cyclosporine are all effective. Each of these drugs may be used in combination with prednisone (Deltasone). Although prednisone alone improves cytopenia in most people, it can rarely produce a long-standing response on its own.

Other drugs that have been useful and may play a role in treating some people with TLGL leukemia include:

  • fludarabine (Fludara)
  • cladribine (2-CDA, Leustatin)
  • pentostatin (deoxycoformycin, Nipent)
  • alemtuzumab (Campath)

These drugs may be used if people do not respond to methotrexate, cyclophosphamide and cyclosporine.

Aggressive TLGL leukemia is often treated with more intensive chemotherapy, similar to that used to treat acute lymphocytic leukemia (ALL). For more information on ALL-like treatments used for aggressive TLGL leukemia, go to ALL.

For more detailed information on specific drugs, go to sources of drug information.

Stories

Paul Newcombe Volunteering during Daffodil Month is an incredibly rewarding experience, whether you have been touched by cancer or not.

Read Paul's story

Advocating for cancer patients

Illustration of a bullhorn

Our staff and volunteers meet with elected officials from local, provincial and national governments to persuade them to make the fight against cancer one of their top priorities.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Leucémie à grands lymphocytes granuleux T

La leucémie à grands lymphocytes granuleux T (GLG-T) est un cancer lymphoprolifératif rare qui se développe à partir de la lignée des lymphocytes T. Lymphoprolifératif signifie que les lymphocytes T sont produits en grande quantité. La leucémie à GLG-T est caractérisée par de grands lymphocytes granuleux, qui sont plus gros que les lymphocytes normaux.

La leucémie à GLG-T affecte le plus souvent les personnes âgées. L'âge moyen au diagnostic est de 60 ans. Cependant, elle peut se manifester chez tous les groupes d'âge.

La leucémie à GLG-T est souvent associée aux troubles auto-immuns.

  • Environ 25 à 35 % des personnes atteintes d'une leucémie à GLG-T font de l'arthrite rhumatoïde.
  • Le syndrome de Felty est un trouble rare aussi associé à la leucémie à GLG-T. Il est caractérisé par la coexistence d'arthrite rhumatoïde, de l'enflure de la rate (splénomégalie) et d'un nombre peu élevé de globules blancs (neutropénie).
  • D'autres troubles auto-immuns sont moins souvent associés à la leucémie à GLG-T. On parle de :
    • lupus érythémateux disséminé (LED, ou simplement lupus)
    • thyroïdite de Hashimotothyroïdite de HashimotoMaladie auto-immune qui affecte la glande thyroïde et qui cause l’hypothyroïdie (diminution de la fonction thyroïdienne). Les symptômes sont la fatigue, la douleur légère, la constipation, la sécheresse de la peau et la dépression.
    • syndrome de Sjögrensyndrome de SjögrenMaladie auto-immune qui consiste en une attaque des glandes qui secrètent la sueur, les larmes et la salive par des anticorps. Les signes et symptômes incluent une sécheresse des yeux et de la bouche.

Certaines personnes atteintes de leucémie à GLG-T n'ont pas du tout de symptômes (asymptomatiques). D'autres font des infections à répétition et de l'anémieanémieDiminution du nombre de globules rouges sains dans le sang. parce que leur nombre de cellules sanguines est bas (cytopénie). La moelle osseuse, la rate et le foie sont souvent affectés par la leucémie à GLG-T. Les ganglions lymphatiques sont rarement enflés.

Dans la plupart des cas, la leucémie à GLG-T se comporte de façon indolente, c'est-à-dire qu'elle évolue lentement. Le pronostic est souvent assez bon quand la leucémie à GLG-T est indolente. Bien que rare, la leucémie à GLG-T peut aussi se comporter agressivement.

Traitement

Le traitement de la leucémie à GLG-T dépend de la présence de symptômes ou de problèmes causés par la maladie. Puisque la leucémie à GLG-T évolue lentement (indolente), il est possible qu'on n'ait pas besoin de la traiter tout de suite.

Observation vigilante

Il se pourrait que les personnes atteintes d'une leucémie à GLG-T n'aient pas besoin d'être traitées tout de suite si elles n'ont pas de symptômes ou de problèmes. On les observe et on commence à les traiter lorsque la leucémie à GLG-T cause des symptômes ou des problèmes tels que ceux-ci :

  • infections à répétition
  • nombre de globules blancs très bas (neutropénie)
  • anémie
  • nombre peu élevé de plaquettes (thrombocytopénie)
  • rate enflée qui cause de l'inconfort
  • autres symptômes qui se manifestent et qui doivent être traités

Chimiothérapie

L'administration de médicaments qui inhibent le système immunitaire et qui agissent contre les cellules T cancéreuses est le traitement principal de la leucémie à GLG-T. Les médicaments les plus couramment employés dans le cadre du traitement de la leucémie à GLG-T sont les suivants :

  • méthotrexate
  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)
  • cyclosporine (Neoral)

Le méthotrexate, la cyclophosphamide et la cyclosporine sont tous efficaces. Chacun de ces médicaments peut être associé à la prednisone (Deltasone). Bien que l'emploi unique de prednisone améliore la cytopénie chez la plupart des gens, elle peut rarement engendrer une réponse de longue durée d'elle-même.

D'autres médicaments se sont avérés utiles et pourraient jouer un rôle dans le traitement de certaines personnes atteintes d'une leucémie à GLG-T :

  • fludarabine (Fludara)
  • cladribine (2-CDA, Leustatin)
  • pentostatine (déoxycoformycine, Nipent)
  • alemtuzumab (Campath)

On peut avoir recours à ces médicaments si une personne ne réagit pas au méthotrexate, à la cyclophosphamide et à la cyclosporine.

La leucémie à GLG-T agressive est souvent traitée par chimiothérapie plus intensive, semblable à celle qu'on administre pour traiter la leucémie aiguë lymphoblastique (LAL). Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les traitements de la leucémie à GLG-T agressive semblables aux traitements de la LAL, consultez la section « Traitement de la LAL ».

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques, consultez la section Sources d’information sur les médicaments.

Histoires

Dr Vuk Stambolic Le Dr Vuk Stambolic et ses collègues se penchent sur la capacité d’un médicament antidiabétique à combattre le cancer.

Plus de details

De l’aide pour les fumeurs qui veulent cesser de fumer

Illustration du symbole d’interdiction de fumer

Il est normal d’avoir besoin d’aide pour cesser de fumer. La Société canadienne du cancer est là pour soutenir les fumeurs qui sont prêts à arrêter et même ceux qui ne le sont pas.

Apprenez-en plus